Lore
Moderator ❀
- Dec 14, 2015
- AFL Club
- Essendon
- #10,220
There we go, that's the clip:

BigFooty AFLW Notice Img
AFLW 2025 - AFLW Trade and Draft - All the player moves
Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Ahh a WCE supporter saying I should be pissed at the Hawks trying to grant a bloke his wish after he approached them.Perhaps you should be more pissed at your own club for being so reckless when you’ve already been told no.
1. The bids mean nothing as Essendon cannot access those players taken with those picks anyway. It is the most redundant conversation of all trade periods.
2. They can still make moves on their list. They can delist players and bring others in via draft, DFAs and SSP. Their list isnt locked in. The list isnt finalised until post christmas.
3. Giving them pick 9, allows them to make a proper approach to get up in the draft if they want to, or potentially push one of their top 10 picks into next year
Genuine question, how have you landed on them swapping Merrett for Hustwaite.
The amount of capital that Hawthorn offered is worth more than what Brisbane sent to Freo for Neale (25 years old), more than what Richmond gave GWS for Taranto (25 years old) and more than what WCE paid for Kelly (24 years old).
Holding their best contracted player will backfire, will it?This will backfire spectacularly for Essendon.
Just because you fail to understand Essendon's list position, doesn't mean others do.You might have just set us all up for a genuinely terrifying journey to an alternative reality if they tries to answer your question

Happily answer your question after you answer my question about this pattern you have noticed.biggest ever? i doubt it. a plodder who’s been in the system for 3 years and only managed 10 games or whatever isn’t exactly a “great deal”, neither are devalued first round picks and future picks when drafts are compromised as is.
didn’t answer my question, anyway.
Maybe they’d be cheerier if they didn’t just have the worst season in AFL historyHere come the WCE supporters.
We all know why.![]()
Really strange take.
At pick 9 in the open draft there’s likely to be three of Grlj, X Taylor, Schubert, Cumming, Sharp, Marsh, Phillipou, Farrow, Lindsay available.
After that it drops off to more speculative picks. The Bombers will grab three of these with 5, 6 and 9 if they are smart.
Hawthorns pick next year won’t be mid 20s like it will be this year with the new bidding rules, it will come in to 15-18, in a much better draft than this year.
If they netted a haul of X Taylor, Sharp and Schubert that would give them a good grounding to reset with the other juniors that have arrived in the last couple of years.
Add HH who could be something or nothing, but will definitely get his chance, a couple of firsts and seconds next year and then putting a watches toward a free agent or two, they have a chance to reset before Tassie comes in.
Hawks have made the play. If they throw in one more F2 I think the Bombers would be mad not to take it for a 30 year old that doesn’t want to be there.
Yes, because it's a public draft thread and this is yet another shitty offer from Hawthorn to a club for a top-tier player that we can all laugh at.Here come the WCE supporters.
We all know why.![]()
It’s all about them cracking the dads about the idiots running their club chose Hawthorns draft picks rather than Carlton’s for the Barrass deal.Maybe they’d be cheerier if they didn’t just have the worst season in AFL history
So the best ever offer for a 30yo in trade history is a shitty offer?Yes, because it's a public draft thread and this is yet another shitty offer from Hawthorn to a club for a top-tier player that we can all laugh at.
i'm happy if they want to share their opinion without being intentionally inflammatory. i'll disagree because it's objectively a torrid deal for essendon lol.Happily answer your question after you answer my question about this pattern you have noticed.
Of course you are pushing for more Duh.I reckon we will see movement today RE McKenzie or Lewis or ZM stays.
Andrew Wu & Peter Ryan said it pretty well on their Real Footy podcast this morning.
I was happy with the deal before, but more i think about it i like us pushing for more.
Of course you are pushing for more Duh.
But I can tell you are setting yourself up for disappointment about Frenchie.
So the best ever offer for a 30yo in trade history is a shitty offer?
Wow do you want us to be as dumb as the WCE were, with the Tim Kelly trade?
“Grant a bloke his wish”, spare me.Ahh a WCE supporter saying I should be pissed at the Hawks trying to grant a bloke his wish after he approached them.
We all know why a WCE supporter is arse sore about the Hawks and why you chimed in, it’s sooo predictable.
You’ve also offered more than we did for Kelly just fyiSo the best ever offer for a 30yo in trade history is a shitty offer?
Wow do you want us to be as dumb as the WCE were, with the Tim Kelly trade?
They should change their name to the Hawthorn Genies.“Grant a bloke his wish”, spare me.
Will hawthorn bend over further and include McKenzie(Frenchie as we call him on the Essendon board)?
Kevin Sheedy has said, via his mouthpiece Tim Watson, There is no chance of this trade happening. You should all go home.
I personally hope not.Will hawthorn bend over further and include McKenzie(Frenchie as we call him on the Essendon board)?
I personally hope not.
Would rather walk than give him up.