List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade Thread - 2025 Edition Vol 3

Quick Links

List Changes - 2025
In:
  • Brandon Starcevich arrives at West Coast in a three team deal
  • Tylar Young (Richmond) arrived at West Coast in exchange for Pick 38.
  • Deven Robertson (Brisbane) has agreed to join West Coast and will be signed on to the rookie list after being delisted by Brisbane
Out:
  • Oscar Allen joins Brisbane as a FA - West Coast receive Pick 2 as compensation
  • Liam Ryan and a 2027 R3 pick has been traded to St Kilda for a 2026 R2 pick
  • Campbell Chesser has been traded to Carlton for Pick 41
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Coen Livingstone joins the list of players not offered a new contract

Players Out of Contract - 2025 (0)
  • Jamie Cripps and Malakai Champion seem to have been offered new contracts despite there being no official announcement. Means that all players out of contract for 2025 have been given new contracts despite or removed from the playing list

2025 Draft Order

Current Draft Picks:
Round 1: 1, 2, 13
Round 2: 34, 41
Round 3: 53, 58 (These picks are in excess of available list spots so will be forfeited if we don’t consolidate our 2025 picks up the order or trade some for future picks)

List Spots Available (39 of 48):
• Main list (33 of 38) - 5* (in: Starcevich, Young out: Allen, Ryan, Chesser, Hunt, Petruccelle, Jamieson)
• Cat A rookie list (5 of 8) - 3* (in: Robertson (pending), out: Rawlinson)
• Cat B rookie list (1 of 2) - 2 (out: Livingstone)

* Based on Dewar being upgraded after the maximum 3 years on the rookie list. Hutchinson may also have been upgraded but this isn’t confirmed - if it is we will have 4 main and 4 rookie list spots open

* Matthew Clarke has stated we have 5 main list spots

Matt Clarke wraps up the trade period - 6PR

Good interview with Dursma on Sen this morning, interesting with the news about Dean coming out he was asked who he would draft at number 1 if he wasn’t that pick and he said Charlie Dean

Spoke very well and mature answers, seems like a really grounded good kid.

I don't think we could go wrong with calling his name out at pick 1.

It feels to me we have zero strategy when it comes to our rookie picks. We should get moving and do something insane like communicate our intentions with them.

Whats their to hide exactly? To me it just looks like they got NFI what they are doing

Dude it’s known you have NFI what you are posting at the best of times

Is he still that guy? Titch from 2-3 years ago would’ve been great. One of the all time accumulators. Hard worker, professional, brownlow medalist etc. But for a guy that used to rack up 40+ in his sleep (once got 64 in NEAFL and 54 in the AFL) his last two VFL returns were 17 and 21 disposals which puts him right back in the pack. Unless he was still lacking fitness or playing a different role. Better to target a younger fringe accumulator like some of the inside mids mentioned and hope they step up. Would love him for the professional standards aspect but if we didn’t even ask the question of Steele it would be surprising to go after Mitchell.
Leaving out his first VFL match this year when he was on managed time coming back from injury, he averaged 23.5 disposals and 8.5 tackles per match. At AFL level his stats were similar. No he’s not a 30+ disposal machine any more but those are hardly Chesser-on-the-gimp-wing stats.

As for another post worrying about him taking mid time away from Gross and Hall, I’d like to see a pretty healthy rotation through the mids this year. Last year we regularly got belted in fourth quarters and whilst I hope that building fitness is a focus this offseason, I also think that a lot of the 19-22 year old group have trouble running out a full match playing mostly in the guts. Even a guy like Harley I think could benefit a lot from more spells up forward (and he can obviously be pretty damaging up there).

Spoke very well and mature answers, seems like a really grounded good kid.

I don't think we could go wrong with calling his name out at pick 1.

Can’t lie - I wasn’t keen at all on Duursma earlier in the year. Fell for the trap of likening he (and his family) to the Mortons plus the usual phobia of him being a potential flight risk

Clearly I was wrong and had NFI (which isn’t uncommon when talking about draftees)

He looks every bit the No.1 pick and deserves to have his name called out first on November 19.

Don’t trade pick 1 and leave the bids for pick 2 then go all ArdentEagle on the banana benders and Dean

Can’t lie - I wasn’t keen at all on Duursma earlier in the year. Fell for the trap of likening he (and his family) to the Mortons plus the usual phobia of him being a potential flight risk

Clearly I was wrong and had NFI (which isn’t uncommon when talking about draftees)

He looks every bit the No.1 pick and deserves to have his name called out first on November 19.

Don’t trade pick 1 and leave the bids for pick 2 then go all ArdentEagle on the banana benders and Dean

Very impressive kid and has said all the right things.

Because we want players to entertain us and not chase tails all the time?

Plenty of teams communicate list strategies. Hawks/Brisbane the main 2 who have had success just going after what they need. Before Dunlley joined they spoke for a good 2 years about wanting a big body in the middle and it sets the tone of where your club is going

Hiding behind secrets around list direction leads to nothing good. Infact its been a fairly common complaint from Gov/Barrass/Allen. The club is clearly directionless to the ffans and the players too
]
west_coast.png

GoEaglesGoSGIO

Brownlow Medallist​

Id like to see us go apeshit over George Steven. 4 year deal.

Just get something that is ****ing logical done.

Wtf Is Going On What GIF by truTV’s Hack My Life

This kind of list strategy? Throw heaps at a bloke who just got delisted. You’re either a troll or the dumbest Kent in this room.

Was actually in the same boat, however as the season progressed so did he.

What significantly changed my tune were the games that he played in the VFL, in which he lifted a level or even two and matched it with the more mature bodies.
His footy smarts shone out as did his superior athleticism and elite pack marking.

He also used his line breaking, run and carry to great advantage.

Like that he models his running patters on the Bont as he does that so well.

I can see a really good AFL career ahead of him, hope its with us.

He is going be a very damaging and dangerous weapon on the outside and his work overhead combined with his speed and endurance will make him a difficult match up for opposition coaches.

I can also see McQualter loving the way he plays and thinking that he fits right in with the game style that he is wanting to instil in the team.

I reckon that he would be banging the desk and insisting that we use pick 1 to draft Duursma.

It feels to me we have zero strategy when it comes to our rookie picks. We should get moving and do something insane like communicate our intentions with them.

Whats their to hide exactly? To me it just looks like they got NFI what they are doing
I know the post is getting canned, but you know what? I’m kinda with the dude here.

Maybe not now, but a wrap up post draft and the strategy behind it given how shit we are on the field isn’t the worst idea in the world.

When I was a new BigFooty grasshopper and still school aged, the club used to do events for those on the membership waitlist. It was at those events you’d get access to someone like a list manager or recruiter and they’d explain their thinking to an extent.

Now, social media was in its infancy and my phone then could record potato quality pictures so I know this is something at an old man yells at cloud moment - 17/18 year olds weren’t recording gotchas for TikTok - but the club on the whole should do better to re engage the members - I know Miguel Sanchez definitely shares my sentiment there.

So. Post draft tie the two up. Have an event where 100 members get to go chat to Matt Clarke and ask him the nitty gritty.

Well yes. Do you think they personally ring each player to tell them about our plans? Put it out in public so the AFL world knows what we want

Hiding it to everyone including our own players is amateur hour

Im genuinely surprised here how a 1 win team is seen as doing everything right by you lot :D
If they don't tell the nuffies on Bigfooty the exact details of plans to fill the rookie list, they have no idea, right?

I'm sure there's a plan, but it's really not important to tell you. Or me, or Woodcock or ....

Plus you don't want your entire strategy out there, just in case it clashes with another team's strategy, causing them to make choices that you needed them not to do.

]
west_coast.png

GoEaglesGoSGIO

Brownlow Medallist​

Id like to see us go apeshit over George Steven. 4 year deal.

Just get something that is ****ing logical done.

Wtf Is Going On What GIF by truTV’s Hack My Life

This kind of list strategy? Throw heaps at a bloke who just got delisted. You’re either a troll or the dumbest Kent in this room.

He’s always an advocate of throwing stupid amounts of money at any player you can name.

Until it’s a player we’ve actually thrown stupid amounts of money at, then it’s gross negligence.

Like that he models his running patters on the Bont as he does that so well.
What impressed me even more was that he said he also tries to incorporate Will Day's style into his game, solely due to his current size and body type, being a slender bloke like day. Shows he's someone who really thinks about his attributes and how he can constantly improve.