No Oppo Supporters General AFL discussion and other club’s news - Part 10

As usual the amateur football league rules committee show themselves to be total twats.

Yay last touch free kick. Morons.

All you do now, if your hemmed in, is boot the ball OOF as far as possible down field, to relieve pressure and then set up. If you need a rest, boot it OOF as far down field as possible and just don't run after it, sit back and wait for the return kick - how exciting.

It's truly just force'em backs now. Ruby union at its worse this will turn out to be.

Maybe bring back the rushed behind you morons, to get rid of this ugly forward press crap, that being able to relieve pressure by simply booting the ball out will absolutely exacerbate.

One step outside the forward 50 under pressure, no worries just boot it as far as possible down field OOF then just sit back.

Hell if you have players that can boot it 70m you can inch up the ground by booting it OOF - good thinking AFL = morons.

If they really want to shave dead time off the game, get rid of the "hit the post" rule and subsequent score review like every other football code currently functions.

Makes for more exciting play too, if the ball bounces back into the field then play on.
Would quite happily take a play on if it comes back into play or you get the result for where the ball goes thru.

As usual the amateur football league rules committee show themselves to be total twats.

All you do now, if your hemmed in, is boot the ball OOF as far as possible down field, to relieve pressure and then set up. If you need a rest, boot it OOF as far down field as possible and just don't run after it, sit back and wait for the return kick - how exciting.

It's truly just force'em backs now. Ruby union at its worse this will turn out to be.

Maybe bring back the rushed behind you morons, to get rid of this ugly forward press crap, that being able to relieve pressure by simply booting the ball out will absolutely exacerbate.

One step outside the forward 50 under pressure, no worries just boot it as far as possible down field OOF then just sit back.

Hell if you have players that can boot it 70m you can inch up the ground by booting it OOF - good thinking AFL = morons.
It's not last touch it's last disposal.

Really, so you just drop it then - lets see, you're as useless as Worple at keeping your feet, you fall over and the ball spills because well your clumsy, is that a disposal ? I'm sure it won't be for some players, as usual, instead of the good old "dropping the ball" that worked well until Kevin Bartlet carried on enough about it to get it scrapped.

How effing stupid can this get.

Point remains mate, with the crap forward press that's all the rage from previous stupid rules bought in, you now know you're going to get pinged for sure, so you just boot it out and be done with the current play. There is zero reason for a coach to now tell players to try and keep in, zero, it's the exact opposite.

I also guess the boundary umps will have to tip toe around the boundary carrying balls, otherwise when players (from coaches) learn that kicking it 25 rows back gives them a bigger rest then a boundary throw in, you watch it become a tactic. Nothing surer. Teams that have poor crowd attendances, how long before the ball gets back into play from a well timed hoof into the upper deck ?

Rucks - knocking it straight out - is that a "disposal" or are we back to "deliberate" - how stupid can the rules get.

Hell why have a ruck if zero boundary throw ins are the real goal combined with the new "shrug rule" a free kick at every bit of congestion to "keep the game in motion to shorten the game" is plucked out (for some teams/players more than others of course)

These morons that advocate this shit advocate it because they can't coach and will listen to (are paid by) some dumb twat at a tv network who thinks they know what people want.

Really, so you just drop it then - lets see, you're as useless as Worple at keeping your feet, you fall over and the ball spills because well your clumsy, is that a disposal ?

This rule has been in the SANFL for ages and it works fine, and mostly eliminates the infuriating "what am I thinking" non-sufficient intent rule.

My god the backlash to the last disposal rule. People are carrying on like the sky is falling and that this rule will cause chaos.

If only they trialled this rule for 10 years in another football competition instead of making this shit up on the run blah, blah, blah. :rolleyes:

SANFL is hailing the sustained success of its Last Disposal Out of Bounds rule which continues to have a positive impact 10 years since its introduction.

As the AFL considers following suit by introducing the same concept as early as next season, the latest data released from the 2025 Hostplus SANFL League illustrates its ongoing influence since 2016.

Across the last decade, averages for total points scored, scoring shots and inside 50s have increased considerably with the ball in motion for longer periods.

As a byproduct of this, total stoppages, ball ups and throw ins have reduced significantly, making the game attractive to watch for SANFL fans.

”The introduction of the Last Disposal Out of Bounds Rule throughout all SANFL competitions has been extremely positive and widely embraced by fans, players and coaches,” SANFL General Manager Football Matt Duldig said.

”Its impact has been two-fold across the past decade as it has not only increased scoring and scoring opportunities but it has also reduced the amount of stoppages in each match.”

Since its introduction, SANFL’s Last Disposal Out of Bounds rule has been applied to the entire field – not just between the arcs – which has promoted a higher-level of skill across all grades, including Reserves, Under-18s and Under-16s.

”This has led to a much more attacking, and attractive, brand of football being played whilst the ball remains in motion for longer periods of the match,” Duldig said, adding that the League competition averages five Last Disposal Out of Bounds calls per game..

”From an umpiring perspective, the introduction of the Last Disposal Out of Bounds rule has simplified their decision-making when it comes to making a call on Deliberate Out of Bounds.”

The rule has also been adopted by all Community Football Leagues in South Australia, emphasising the football community’s confidence in the impact it has on the game.

Last disposal rule is one of the best rules that the AFL has introduced. Gets rid of the ridiculous "insufficient intent" and it really should have been introduced years ago.

I am also liking the forcing the player to stand rather than run up to the mark, then run back outside 5. It was ridiculous that players were able to essentially be on the mark already and then just run back outside 5 (and we always did it).
It will definitely just go through some adjustment period at the start and there will be some bad 50's paid but once it settles it will be a positive thing imo.

May and Prestia have just been charged by police for involvement in a brawl on Boxing Day 2024. Wouldn't have picked them as the type ;)

If they really want to shave dead time off the game, get rid of the "hit the post" rule and subsequent score review like every other football code currently functions.

Makes for more exciting play too, if the ball bounces back into the field then play on.

I think if it comes back into play it should still be a behind or OOB on point post. But off the post and in should just be a goal.

Also touched off the boot doesn't need reviewing, next time touch it more so it doesn't fly through the goals.

This. Boundary umps cover the point post, goal umpire between the goals = pretty damn simple and virtually 100% accurate.

Also like the removal of "touched" for scoring = if it goes through the goals - no matter how - it's a goal.

Just imagine - last seconds of a tight game, Meeky grabs the ball out of the ruck in the goal-square and mauls his way across the line for the "touchdown".

I think if it comes back into play it should still be a behind or OOB on point post. But off the post and in should just be a goal.

Also touched off the boot doesn't need reviewing, next time touch it more so it doesn't fly through the goals.
Honestly I've come around to it just being if it goes through the sticks. If the ball stays in, it's in, if it goes out it's out of bounds or a behind or a goal depending where.

It is arguably a more common sense change than most they're bringing in, the only hesitance is because it might call into question goal tallies and records.

Why do you think booting it OOF down field is the most likely outcome of this change?

The rule is for last disposal out of bounds. And a disposal is already defined as a handball or kick. A ruck tap or a fumble aren’t disposals and are already covered by existing rules (can’t tap it out over the line and incorrect disposal respectively).

If a player is hemmed in on the boundary between the arcs without a good option inboard then they’re likely to do exactly what they have been doing already: Attempt to have the tackle carry them out of bounds before holding the ball can be called.

Coaches will never instruct their players to take any action that guarantees giving clear possession to the opposition.

This is also one of the few rule changes that has been properly tested in other competitions and analyzed thoroughly for impact. Short of one of the more tactically minded coaches coming up with an innovative way to take advantage of it, it’s unlikely to change the way the game is played significantly outside of slightly reducing instances of kicking down the line to gain territory.

Honestly I've come around to it just being if it goes through the sticks. If the ball stays in, it's in, if it goes out it's out of bounds or a behind or a goal depending where.

It is arguably a more common sense change than most they're bringing in, the only hesitance is because it might call into question goal tallies and records.
Plenty of rule changes over the years have had an impact on goal tallies and records though. Even if less directly.

The way hands in the back is adjudicated, the 6-6-6 rule, changes to the interchange, length of quarters (including time on), number of games in a season and finals, running an arc/kicking over the mark, etc.

All these things have modified the opportunities forwards have to kick goals in a game/season.

Score reviews have impacted whether or not a goal would have been awarded relative to years without that system.

Even changes that just impact how the game is played (ruck changes, holding the ball/prior opportunity, stand rule, protected area, etc) have flow on impacts to scoring.

Come on mate, I'm just trying to fit in around here.

But instead of going on and on and on about how the scum ruined our trading party or whatever handnags are doing today or what some bias twat in the media has said I've decided the rules committee should be todays sook fest.

Can't bloody win unless you're a certified sook with at least a decade of posting crap on here, oh well only 9yrs 300 odd days to go before I'm accepted "sigh".
confused jeff bridges GIF

Can't wait for the carry on if the ball doesn't come back (quickly) from an errant kick when you are the away side so the home team can set up.

New rule change for next year, there will be ball boys/girls around the ground with spare footballs like in soccer.

Can't wait for the carry on if the ball doesn't come back (quickly) from an errant kick when you are the away side so the home team can set up.

New rule change for next year, there will be ball boys/girls around the ground with spare footballs like in soccer.
Don't talk sense it's offensive around here. Coaches would never dream of telling players of doing such things to stop a teams run on. Image a Nth game at GWS how quickly a ball gets back from being booted OOF on a wing let alone OOTG.

Hope they have a balls allowance.

10 years this rule has been in the SANFL and this isn't an issue.

But sure, the sky is falling.

Really, so you just drop it then - lets see, you're as useless as Worple at keeping your feet, you fall over and the ball spills because well your clumsy, is that a disposal ? I'm sure it won't be for some players, as usual, instead of the good old "dropping the ball" that worked well until Kevin Bartlet carried on enough about it to get it scrapped.

Point remains mate, with the crap forward press that's all the rage from previous stupid rules bought in, you now know you're going to get pinged for sure, so you just boot it out and be done with the current play. There is zero reason for a coach to now tell players to try and keep in, zero, it's the exact opposite.

I also guess the boundary umps will have to tip toe around the boundary carrying balls, otherwise when players (from coaches) learn that kicking it 25 rows back gives them a bigger rest then a boundary throw in, you watch it become a tactic. Nothing surer. Teams that have poor crowd attendances, how long before the ball gets back into play from a well timed hoof into the upper deck ?

Rucks - knocking it straight out - is that a "disposal" or are we back to "deliberate" - how stupid can the rules get.

Hell why have a ruck if zero boundary throw ins are the real goal combined with the new "shrug rule" a free kick at every bit of congestion to "keep the game in motion to shorten the game" is plucked out (for some teams/players more than others of course)

These morons that advocate this shit advocate it because they can't coach and will listen to (are paid by) some dumb twat at a tv network who thinks they know what people want.
No the ball must have been kicked or handballed and go out between the arcs for a free kick to be awarded (Same as the women's game, where it works incredibly well) any time the ball is punched over the line it is a throw in.

Don't talk sense it's offensive around here. Coaches would never dream of telling players of doing such things to stop a teams run on. Image a Nth game at GWS how quickly a ball gets back from being booted OOF on a wing let alone OOTG.

Hope they have a balls allowance.
Overthinking Not That Deep GIF

10 years this rule has been in the SANFL and this isn't an issue.

But sure, the sky is falling.
They have similar between the arcs for the AFLW and it's fine there as well.

The AFLW fixturing is baffling. In the period where North Melbourne have had a ridiculous 27 game win streak, they have not played the Hawks once.

Hopefully one day they will actually get to play Australian Rules Football and not the modified version they currently play.

Nah, the whole point (sorry) is to eliminate the "did it hit the post or not?" question.

If the ball is over the line fully then determine which side of the post it crossed, otherwise play on. That's how it's done in I think every other football-type sport.
But if it hits the post and comes back into the field of play there is no doubt it it the post.

If it hits the post and goes through the goals fine it's still a goal. If it hits the post (goal or point post) and goes in behinds it's a behind. IF it hits a post and goes OOB it's out of Bounds.

But rebounding back into play has been trailed and it didn't work well.

I'm all for proper change management protocols being applied to rule changes in a multi million dollar professional sport, just as it would be done for a 15 person accounting firm changing email systems.

Changes need to be peer reviewed, stake holder approved, tested in lab environment, deployed to a test group, review trial results then make a decision. They must also have mandatory notice periods that allow for list management, training of players etc.

So the window to approve new rules for 2027 season, is between mid season draft 2025 and FA period opening. That way you have 2 full trade, FA, draft, mid-season drafts to adjust your list to suit the new rule, and all the trial evidence to show you which players are best impacted by the new rules.

You could also likely get a new coach if you needed one.

It's NOT last touch out of bounds. It's last Disposal.

And it's probably one of the ONLY rule changes ever that has been tested properly before being implemented.

No Oppo Supporters General AFL discussion and other club’s news - Part 10