No Oppo Supporters General AFL discussion and other club’s news - Part 10

The rule is if you choose to shrug & cant break the tackle that it will be deemed as prior so a free will be paid, but if you shrug & break free as a Newk type does then play on
And this is how it should have been umpired all along.

So without meaning to carry this discussion on longer than it needs to; does anyone know how the 'within the arcs' applies with regards to last possession?

Is it the ball goes out between the arcs, ball is disposed of between the arcs, either, or both?

What I love about this is that every team gets a window. Norf haven't looked remotely close to having a premiership window since 1999 - but yeah sure they'll have one open up in a few years. Carlton's list is a complete mess and have stuff all young elite talent - but sure they will be competing in 2028-2030.

So without meaning to carry this discussion on longer than it needs to; does anyone know how the 'within the arcs' applies with regards to last possession?

Is it the ball goes out between the arcs, ball is disposed of between the arcs, either, or both?
Rule will be last disposal, handball or kick.
IMO, If last possession, eg contested ball and the ball goes out, it’s a throw in. Same with a marking contest, spoil etc.

Yeah as Tony said any sort of handball or kick will result in a free if that explains your question

That.

Doesn't matter where it was disposed of. So, if it was disposed of from within D50 and goes out outside the D50, it'll be a free.

so, you can deliberately kick it out of bounds as long as it's not between the arcs? or there is still some sort of insufficient?

you can deliberately put the ball out of bounds between the arcs, so long as you don't kick or handball it?
Think I may not be following you, but to answer the second one, last touch means a free either way, deliberate or not?
I believe insufficient intent will still apply within the 50s of each goal

so, you can deliberately kick it out of bounds as long as it's not between the arcs? or there is still some sort of insufficient?

you can deliberately put the ball out of bounds between the arcs, so long as you don't kick or handball it?
So if I'm understanding it correctly, if the ball goes out in between the arcs, its last possession UNLESS the player from the same team there is shepherded or blocked or the opposition player doesn't try to keep it in. If the ball goes out within F50 or D50 its a throw-in unless the usual insufficient intent applies.

I actually can't think of too many cases where it would apply resulting in a free kick. Does it occur a lot in the SAFL?

Think I may not be following you, but to answer the second one, last touch means a free either way, deliberate or not?
I believe insufficient intent will still apply within the 50s of each goal
Need to stop saying "last touch".

It is last disposal. So if a kick or handball goes out of bounds outside of f50 or d50 it's a free kick. If it goes out inside f50 or d50 it will then be judges insufficient intent or not. So a shank shot at goal that bounces out will be a boundary through in. I shank clearing kick out of d50 that rolls out is a free kick regardless of intent.

Tapping the ball out, and running it out will be judged the same as now all over the ground. So you can still get pinged for it. Kicking off the ground I am not sure if it counts as a disposal or not.

What I love about this is that every team gets a window. Norf haven't looked remotely close to having a premiership window since 1999 - but yeah sure they'll have one open up in a few years. Carlton's list is a complete mess and have stuff all young elite talent - but sure they will be competing in 2028-2030.
And they picked 9 teams to be in the premiership window in 2030. So the top 8 in 2030 will actually be top 9:

North
Port
St.kilda

No Brisbane, Geelong, Collingwood, Sydney or Hawthorn.

The last time we had a finals series where not at least one of these teams competed was..... 1947.

‘Stand’ isn’t really a new rule, though. It’s just clarification and stricter interpretation of an existing rule that’s already a few seasons old. I’d suggest the AFL’s apprentice-level wording around it has caused far more confusion when clarity was required.

Agree with what you say about other decades-old rules, which goes to my earlier point about Aussie Rules being the hardest sport to umpire.
Stand is a dumb**** rule. Just dont come towards the player who has been paid the mark any closer than 5m until play on is signaled. Sideways movement should be OK. And no issues with moving away from player with mark.

And they picked 9 teams to be in the premiership window in 2030. So the top 8 in 2030 will actually be top 9:

North
Port
St.kilda

The last time we had a finals series where not at least one of these teams competed was..... 1947.
how the hell are gold coast not there with all the freeplay academies

North
Port
St.kilda

The AFL need to sell these clubs the hope of early draft picks.

It's the hope of equalisation.

Pretty tough decision for CJ to leave Hawks.
Ripper fella and I can't help but wish him all the best in his career at Demons.

Pretty tough decision for CJ to leave Hawks.
Ripper fella and I can't help but wish him all the best in his career at Demons.

Think he will be a great pick up for them.

Wouldn't be surprised at all if he's one of the signings of the season in 2026. CJ with confidence and a settled position + a good run at it is a thing of beauty to watch.

Just had too many ahead of him at HBF and on the wing.

Think he will be a great pick up for them.

Wouldn't be surprised at all if he's one of the signings of the season in 2026. CJ with confidence and a settled position + a good run at it is a thing of beauty to watch.

Just had too many ahead of him at HBF and on the wing.
The G definitely suits him more than Tassie and Marvel too. Feel like he struggles on smaller grounds

I genuinely wish and hope CJ does well at the Demons.

His time was up at the Hawks despite the flashes. He realised this and so too did the club.

Best wishes CJ
There is probably a club that will play him up on the wing in a purely attacking role and he will thrive.

Melbourne could be that team - depending on how their backline and rebound sets up under Steven King

There is probably a club that will play him up on the wing in a purely attacking role and he will thrive.

Melbourne could be that team - depending on how their backline and rebound sets up under Steven King
They've got him to play halfback.

The untested role for CJ is as a pressure forward. We never tried him there and I reckon he’s suited as the hunter not the hunted as when he get a finger laid on him in a tackle he’s cooked. Really wish him well he’s a ripping bloke and so much potential.

No Oppo Supporters General AFL discussion and other club’s news - Part 10