Player Watch 2025 AFL Draft Thread (Welcome to our new Central Districts overlords!)

He's an unbearable flog. Just like Fly. People are starting to wake up to it.
Agree.

That Mr nice guy act was fully exposed as rubbish when he stated that when he was an AFL assistant coach he gave a homeless guy his LAST $50.
Everyone knows that was complete and utter 100% bullshit.

Agree.

That Mr nice guy act was fully exposed as rubbish when he stated that when he was an AFL assistant coach he gave a homeless guy his LAST $50.
Everyone knows that was complete and utter 100% bullshit.

Nobody had a problem with him but as soon as he shows a bit of a bias to Essendon (which really wasn't even that overt btw) and suddenly he's a flog.

Like it's not that serious. If he was Hawks guy it'd be celebrated.

Nobody had a problem with him but as soon as he shows a bit of a bias to Essendon (which really wasn't even that overt btw) and suddenly he's a flog.

Go read what I said again.

I don’t give a shit about his Essendon bias.

I give a shit about the obvious anti Hawks stuff he spewed out when their captain asked our club to perform an intervention.
Sure it was subtle like that Geelong dweeby Whiteley, but it was there.

Hopefully I have made my opinion clearer the 2nd time around.

Dons may take Lindsay at 9.
We're strong on him at 10.
Hopefully it’s MM playing chess and throwing them off the scent, nice to get some payback for Merrett. After a long marketing campaign mate you’ve won me over. Tonight get ready for the Griller in Manila!

MazHawk emergency coffee please find out for a few of us why we haven’t been rumoured to trade 22 to suns for 24? They get a few extra points we get the same pick as 22/23 get absorbed in bids and its first pick of night 2 so maybe trade offers. Seems like a no brainer.
Indeed it does.

It might depend on when the academy pick bids occur on the night. If they are later in the draft they may not trade as there is a perceived benefit to have the #1 draft pick on Day 2. If the trade happens I expect that it will happen live during the draft.

I wonder if the unknown player we are targeting is Addinsall? Good at clearances, tested well at the draft combine, and fair chance the GC won't have the points to match our bid. I know he is a smaller mid, but he's taller than Butters, so...

Dons may take Lindsay at 9.
We're strong on him at 10.

Feel we are looking at Grilj, Oscar Taylor and Lindsay.

I wasn't that big on Lindsay, but have come around. We love speedsters, but our quick ball movement isn't as built off that as we think.

It's built off brilliant ball use first and foremost.

Of the 3 mentioned Lindsay is ready to go in 2026 and could be a an added weapon.

He's a very safe pick and will play plenty of AFL. Grilj come with more risks and will need to develop, but ceiling is probably higher.

The more I think , the more Lindsay and his high footy IQ, professionalism and lethal left foot just screams Hawks.

He's a good journo re: draft stuff and seems like a decent bloke in an industry where that isn't all that common. Yeah he's a Dons nuff occasionally, nobody's perfect.

His bias towards Essendon is getting worse the more senior and respected he has become. I'd honestly question the integrity of some of his reporting lately.

I wasn't that big on Lindsay, but have come around. We love speedsters, but our quick ball movement isn't as built off that as we think.

Of the 3 mentioned Lindsay is ready to go in 2026 and could be a an added weapon.

He's a very safe pick and will play plenty of AFL. Grilj come with more risks and will need to develop, but ceiling is probably higher.

The more I think , the more Lindsay and his high footy IQ, professionalism and lethal left foot just screams Hawks.

I wasn't super keen on Lindsey, but then I had an epiphany. Maybe. Speculative, but maybe.

Did you know there is a player on our list who is part of the very rare and small 'quadruple double' club? (Thats 10 kicks, 10 Handballs, 10 marks and 10 tackles in a single game. Jai has gone close, but missed it by 2 marks in a game in 2023).
Did you know this player actually spent a fair bit of time at his previous club playing in the midfield?
We have never considered the move, likely because he is too valuable at half back.

BUT, to fill am immediate midfield hole, I can absolutely see a world where recruiting Josh Lindsey allows us to play Karl Amon as a midfielder.

I'm a massive Griller fan, but Lindsay's kicking is mouth watering. I'm happy with either.

FoxSports projecting that we will pick Harley Barker now instead of NHH. Also mention agin that we are talking to the Suns and Lions for a pick upgrade

Big YES to Soul Glow Barker

coming to america GIF

It might depend on when the academy pick bids occur on the night. If they are later in the draft they may not trade as there is a perceived benefit to have the #1 draft pick on Day 2. If the trade happens I expect that it will happen live during the draft.
There’s no world with their current or potential hand that 24 isn’t eaten up by the first 2 bids they will not hold pick 24 after about pick 5 tonight hence why it’s a no brainer. Yes picks can only be traded live now once the draft starts the window shut last week.

A month ago it wasn't even worth having a pick in this draft. There's only a slim chance the players we pick will get senior time in 2026.

I want to be excited about this - but as I see. We're the only finals team with a live pick in the top 15 (I think GWS might have one around there actually). And you gotta always look for ways to leap the competition.

We need to do better out of this draft than our nearest rivals (Academy BS makes this difficult) but if we can improve more than Adelaide, doggies and GWS out of tonight I think it's been a good night.

In terms of specific players - I try not to get attached as much as I've joked about Grjl. Knowing the club put times into Greeves makes me want him - but other than than I'll be more interested in looking at who we actually get rather than who we should or might get.

If he bumps someone in the head it'll make headlines.
Shame Silk wasn't still playing, imagine the commentary line Burgers to Grjl

Burgers, Sizzle... Grjl?

Not since the 1990s half forward line included Condon and Bone has this board been so excited.

We could do a lot worse than drafting a guy a prospect who can smash out repeat sprints as fast as and often as Grjl can.

If he's the best available at our pick.