Coach Alastair Clarkson - NMFC Senior Coach - Coaching & Football Discussion II

• Thread starter Thread starter giantroo

Surely could have brought Simmo in instead of letting him to go to Carlton
He's doing part time (keeping his media gig also) + it sounds like it's more a coaching director role (coaching consultant) than actual coaching. Sure we offered him something, but probably don't have room for expensive part timers

I can almost picture Simmo sitting in a sunlounger on the beach at Waikiki sipping pina colada and strumming a ukelele.

Alastair Clarkson simply must deliver for North Melbourne in 2026.
That is the opinion of club champion David King who says the Kangaroos have to improve in Clarkson’s fourth season at the helm.

The Roos have won just 11 games (and drawn one) across the last three seasons and now is the time for them to stand up.

King was asked which North player is primed for a breakout season but instead opted to put the acid on Clarko.

“The only person who needs a breakout year at North is the coach,” King said on SEN Breakfast.

“Everyone is talking about the players, and who needs to do this and who needs to do that.

“But at the end of the day it’s a huge year for Alastair Clarkson. Fourth year in - we all know about the first year and the difficulties there, but the bottom line is four pre-seasons - you need to see a return.

“There’s got to be decisions made ongoing with footy clubs. I think the North Melbourne fans are just waiting on the coach to impact this football club.

“There’s only one game next year that is on free-to-air TV and that’s Good Friday. From a marketing point of view you’d have to question where it sits in 2026.

“And from a football point of view there hasn’t been a lot to celebrate.”

The four-time Hawthorn premiership coach is contracted with North until the end of the 2027 season.

The Roos will kick off their 2026 campaign against Port Adelaide at Marvel Stadium on March 15.

That is the opinion of club champion David King who says the Kangaroos have to improve in Clarkson’s fourth season at the helm.

The Roos have won just 11 games (and drawn one) across the last three seasons and now is the time for them to stand up.

King was asked which North player is primed for a breakout season but instead opted to put the acid on Clarko.

“The only person who needs a breakout year at North is the coach,” King said on SEN Breakfast.

“Everyone is talking about the players, and who needs to do this and who needs to do that.

“But at the end of the day it’s a huge year for Alastair Clarkson. Fourth year in - we all know about the first year and the difficulties there, but the bottom line is four pre-seasons - you need to see a return.

“There’s got to be decisions made ongoing with footy clubs. I think the North Melbourne fans are just waiting on the coach to impact this football club.

“There’s only one game next year that is on free-to-air TV and that’s Good Friday. From a marketing point of view you’d have to question where it sits in 2026.

The four-time Hawthorn premiership coach is contracted with North until the end of the 2027 season.

The Roos will kick off their 2026 campaign against Port Adelaide at Marvel Stadium on March 15.
Fair.

I got to say that King really comes across as a North Melbourne "fan" in the first instance. He's supportive but puts the heat on when required.

Perfectly said Kingy

Exactly what a number of us have been saying for a while now - good stuff Kingy!

Fair.

I got to say that King really comes across as a North Melbourne "fan" in the first instance. He's supportive but puts the heat on when required.
He has this thing about trying extremely hard to be "neutral" in his commentary on SEN / Fox etc. but on the north fan pages / talk you can tell North is where his heart is and it's deeply north. Unfortunately, his colleagues in the media don't have the same desire to be neutral so he really comes off as one of the few who don't go into bat for their side, which hurts a bit.

Spot on from David. And it's a huge year for Todd Viney - the General Manager of Football - also into his 4th year.

He has this thing about trying extremely hard to be "neutral" in his commentary on SEN / Fox etc. but on the north fan pages / talk you can tell North is where his heart is and it's deeply north. Unfortunately, his colleagues in the media don't have the same desire to be neutral so he really comes off as one of the few who don't go into bat for their side, which hurts a bit.
I also think when we are really poor his defense mechanism is to be overly complimentary to the opponent - others can't give him shit and wind him up if he is already doing it himself. I reckon he is pretty heart on his sleeve so props from me.

If we waste this bloke I’m blaming the senior players like Zurhaar, LDU, Simpkin plus zoning.

The girls team have beautifully mastered zone defence on the same ground width and with less players. While our boys are running around like headless chooks and whinging it’s too complicated.

If we waste this bloke I’m blaming the senior players like Zurhaar, LDU, Simpkin plus zoning.

The girls team have beautifully mastered zone defence on the same ground width and with less players. While our boys are running around like headless chooks and whinging it’s too complicated.

lol. That's not relevant, that you think it may be, is absolutely hilarious and complete inline with most of your other thoughts on football and life.

That's about as relevant as hoping we have a good season in 2026, because you once had a good net session at cricket training.

Fair.

I think he’s great.
Very good balance.

I like Kingy & Montagna.

Simpkin’s response to being asked to play on a wing was pretty revealing about his mindset.

Seriously? He has had three seasons and we haven't seen a competitive game plan or defensive structure yet. And we have had to put up with idiocy like Daniel in the backline, and a midfield who can't run.

He has blamed the senior players in the past and brought in his own. His gameplan still didn't work and he pissed off the incumbents. Not sure how you can still think the senior players are the main issue.

Hopefully next year is better, the list looks stronger, and we have brought in someone to help with strategy. Hopefully Clarko listens to them.

Seriously? He has had three seasons and we haven't seen a competitive game plan or defensive structure yet. And we have had to put up with idiocy like Daniel in the backline, and a midfield who can't run.

He has blamed the senior players in the past and brought in his own. His gameplan still didn't work and he pissed off the incumbents. Not sure how you can still think the senior players are the main issue.

Hopefully next year is better, the list looks stronger, and we have brought in someone to help with strategy. Hopefully Clarko listens to them.
Wonder what the excuse will be if he fails to deliver this year….

Agree.. a game plan with no midfield accountability, forward pressure and an attacking game plan too heavily reliant on kicking skills..
Implement some defensive mind set across the whole game plan and some attacking run.
Hopefully Johnny Long Socks can make the changes needed, and we can start banking some early wins.

Agree.. a game plan with no midfield accountability, forward pressure and an attacking game plan too heavily reliant on kicking skills..
Implement some defensive mind set across the whole game plan and some attacking run.
Hopefully Johnny Long Socks can make the changes needed, and we can start banking some early wins.

I am expecting 3-0 and heading to Docklands for the a game against Carlton to go 4-0. That is what's ahead of us if we can hit a few targets and kick straight.

I'll wait until February before I get too nervous but, surely we won't **** this up.