Coach Alastair Clarkson - NMFC Senior Coach - Coaching & Football Discussion II

• Thread starter Thread starter giantroo

Being able to yell at the players more won't get us a functional gameplan. He isn't setting the team up to compete, that's on him.
It's having the mentality of having to reign himself in. It simply may stifle him too much creatively across the board.

I don't buy it. The main issue we have is that his gameplan/s don't work and his solutions to this have only made things worse. I don't care if he is creative or not, right now I'd be happy for him to copy what other teams are doing and try attacking from the back half.

You're missing the over-arching point.

Has gone from Jeff to us. How anyone could perform under our leadership (unless they were a woman themselves) is basically impossible.

It's disheartening at best.

Darren Crocker seems to be going okay.

What do you think the Pres is preventing Clarko from doing that would make us better? He doesn't have a functional gameplan. That is all Clarko.

Darren Crocker seems to be going okay.

What do you think the Pres is preventing Clarko from doing that would make us better? He doesn't have a functional gameplan. That is all Clarko.
Crocks!? I reckon you could coach our chicks.

Get what you're implying and that's cool. I just think we have (as others have said) neutered him somewhat. But then responding to your post, I'm suggesting he needs to be judged when we get everyone on the park. We're forced to play certain players due to injury, some of our most dynamic players... you saw Zane's Q1(wait til he's fit), we still have Goater, George, Whitlock, Dawson, Goad.

Once they're in, and we're still shit, I will go pretty hard, but happy to wait for that day. 2027 onwards IMO

Do you guys remember even when Hawthorn were at the peak of their powers under Clarko… they had to play with 1 condition to win. Play angry.
The Hawks were criticised and often beaten when they played ‘ nice’ football.
We play ‘nice’ football.
Playing ‘angry’ would allow them to win the contested ball count, and play with a higher pressure rating.
It’s the diffference between spoiling a short pass back to the turf or accepting the ball being chipped around. It’s the difference between winning or losing a stoppage. When these acts happen 150 times a game, small loses add up to big results.

Do you guys remember even when Hawthorn were at the peak of their powers under Clarko… they had to play with 1 condition to win. Play angry.
The Hawks were criticised and often beaten when the played ‘ nice’ football.
We play ‘nice’ football.
Playing ‘angry’ would allow them to win the contested ball count, and play with a higher pressure rating.
It’s the diffference between spoiling a short pass, or accepting being beaten. It’s the difference between winning or losing a stoppage. When these acts happen 150 times a game, small loses add up to big results.
Unsociable Hawks was the term often used

I don't buy it. The main issue we have is that his gameplan/s don't work and his solutions to this have only made things worse. I don't care if he is creative or not, right now I'd be happy for him to copy what other teams are doing and try attacking from the back half.
Mate you might be right.

I'm just scrambling to understand how you get basically the post Y2K GOAT coach and initial list notwithstanding, still look like a bucket of shit getting on 4 years later

Mate you might be right.

I'm just scrambling to understand how you get basically the post Y2K GOAT coach and initial list notwithstanding, still look like a bucket of shit getting on 4 years later
Well because it is a massive bucket of shit, not a regular bucket of shit. We upsized when we got to the front of the queue.

"Hey could we also get a Toby Pink and **** it, throw in a Fisher as well"

Well because it is a massive bucket of shit, not a regular bucket of shit. We upsized when we got to the front of the queue.

"Hey could we also get a Toby Pink and **** it, throw in a Fisher as well"
Lol. Yeah I wonder what Fisher’s doing these days.

The same Bozo's (or are they 'campaigners'?) heralding his arrival with fanfare are the same bozo's now wanting him gone.

I still wouldnt tempt fate and try to raise Clarko's dander up.

We lost to a team who wanted it just a bit more. So what. We move on to next week.
I desperately wanted him appointed and was thrilled when he was announced as coach. I desperately want him gone now because I believe the Hawthorn racism saga has done untold damage and the game has well and truly gone past him.

We have been losing to teams “who just wanted it a bit more than us” for the best part of 6 years.

It is the most feeble and pathetic excuse, it implies that we were equal with our opponent i.e. game plan, skills, physicality, team structure & coaching and it was only their heightened desperation that separated the two teams.

Whereas nothing could be further from the truth we are so far behind so many other teams in the aforementioned areas that “just wanting it a bit more” makes f*ck all difference to us winning.

We are the opposite the 'Devonshire Tea' brigade, tea scones, jam and cream on us for any teams willing to compete against us for four quarters.
Spot on.. I’m not a fan of Clarko’s Gameplan.
The gameplan won’t work unless we start playing ‘unsociable’. High pressure, high clearances. Defensively getting into position super quickly, playing physical, and getting the ball back to the turf

The same Bozo's (or are they 'campaigners'?) heralding his arrival with fanfare are the same bozo's now wanting him gone.

I still wouldnt tempt fate and try to raise Clarko's dander up.

We lost to a team who wanted it just a bit more. So what. We move on to next week.
This is the issue.

Every team wants it more.

The Hawks were criticised and often beaten when they played ‘ nice’ football.
We play ‘nice’ football.
It’s the diffference between spoiling a short pass back to the turf or accepting the ball being chipped around. It’s the difference between winning or losing a stoppage. When these acts happen 150 times a game, small loses add up to big results.

The only time we've played angry since we beat the Hawks in 2014 was in 2019 under Shaw.

When Noble was asked why he didn't do something similar he said it didn't work and stopped the players working on their game plan.

This is the issue.

Every team wants it more.

The cope I have seen from some on here is depressing.

"They wanted it more, it happens"
"West Coast won't be that bad this year"
"It was 30c"

The club has broken people.

The cope I have seen from some on here is depressing.

The club has broken people.

People deal with a non performing footy team in different ways.

We can call it "cope" but what does it really matter? It's not impacting onfield.

Why is there no discernible system to transition the ball from the backline after four years?

Truly baffling.
It is baffling.

I’m starting to think it’s as simple as every other team’s forwards are just better smarter players than our backs.

(And every other team’s backs are fitter and work harder than our forwards)

It is baffling.

I’m starting to think it’s as simple as every other team’s forwards are just better smarter players than our backs.

(And every other team’s backs are fitter and work harder than our forwards)
There is absolutely an intelligence vacuum on field.

Jeepers, settle down guys and girls. We are a (very slowly) developing team that has finished in the bottom 3 of the ladder for years. I understand the impatience but there will be ups and (massive) downs until the younger members of the team mature. A lot of the issues from the weekend I believe were work rate or (poor) skill/disposal related.

The match was terrible from a north perspective and a very hard watch; but lets not get too emotional after one bad loss (as there will be more this season).

Also, lets not forget that Zane Littlejohn has his fingerprints on the strategy side of things, so its not just Clarkson (and his bees). With a young group, consistency is always an issue, especially when our 'leaders' aren't as reliable as other teams.

I am disappointed in the result and how the result occurred on the weekend; but we still need to appreciate the green shoots from our emerging young players (such as Duursma's first quarter) no matter how hard they are to find - as that is where our club is at.

Jeepers, settle down guys and girls. We are a (very slowly) developing team that has finished in the bottom 3 of the ladder for years. I understand the impatience but there will be ups and (massive) downs until the younger members of the team mature. A lot of the issues from the weekend I believe were work rate or (poor) skill/disposal related.

The match was terrible from a north perspective and a very hard watch; but lets not get too emotional after one bad loss (as there will be more this season).

Also, lets not forget that Zane Littlejohn has his fingerprints on the strategy side of things, so its not just Clarkson (and his bees). With a young group, consistency is always an issue, especially when our 'leaders' aren't as reliable as other teams.

I am disappointed in the result and how the result occurred on the weekend; but we still need to appreciate the green shoots from our emerging young players (such as Duursma's first quarter) no matter how hard they are to find - as that is where our club is at.

Yeh don't know what everyone is fussing about.

How you go from players creating options for uncontested marks to players hanging around the vicinity of a long down the line kick.. their actions aren't "role" based or coaches orders.. they're playing by their own sense of the game.

No way WC, with an extra in def, can deny our kickers good options if our guys intended to give them some.

Amateur hour. Stern words had better been shared with old mate Clarksons.

Clarko has become the Joe Biden of AFL coaching.

I was thrilled when we signed him, but alarm bells have been ringing from very early on.

I don't see one area where we have improved as a team under his reign.

It's been a total disaster.

But we do have stability.