No Oppo Supporters General AFL discussion and other club’s news - Part 10

Based on tonight, looking at their draw round 11 and 12 are their only other chance for a win. One is in WA v eagles so may be one win for the year v Richmond even then tigers would be favourites. So highly likely 0 wins for the year. But as a contract is sacred then Brad would still be coach till end of 2027?
They’re not beating the eagles over there on what I’ve seen from both teams. I reckon also Merrett giving them the big F you(maybe not intentionally but more subconsciously). Hold me hostage and pass up a fair deal then a first rounder will be overs.

Having watched quite a few games since the season start I’m starting to get bullish that our athelitic profile will start to shine and have a demonstrable impact on results. Early days to make such a call but very impressed with the Sydney win and how we ran that one out, compared to how gassed a lot of teams are appearing near the end of games.

No Heeney no gulden we did what we had to. If this was horse racing I’m not convinced of our form line. Lost first up, best an imploding EFC and did what was expected. Next 2 weeks is a better barometer

Agreed.

West Coast starting to get to a critical mass of talent, finally.

A few upsets this year, an unexpected run, borderline finals next year should be the trajectory.

West Coast starting to get to a critical mass of talent, finally.

A few upsets this year, an unexpected run, borderline finals next year should be the trajectory.

Norf have had a critical mass of talent for years. I’d argue Weagles have a clear game plan with several absolute competitors in the team.

In terms of stats, Port should be ahead - but they have some really inaccurate forwards + their forward setup just seems off.

They’ve got a good bunch of guys who are happy to get their hands dirty and shithouse a bit.

As embarrassing as north, eagles, * etc. have been over the last few years Port losing to North and Eagles within 3 weeks is right up there.

Only thing that’s saving them from total embarrassment is that the * lost to them

I have heard a lot of accolades for Ken Hinkley’s commentary so far this year which is probably just a new voice with different views. A bit like Simmo and Horse last year.

However, listening to his commentary of his former side against the Eagles, he needs to be aware that he needs to be neutral. Hope someone at Fox has the balls to tell him this.

Honestly this season so far has thrown a raft of problems and issues that the AFL simply have to address.

1) The standard if umpiring is as poor as I've ever seen it. How can 4 people miss so many infringements, make so many wrong calls and worst of all - directly contribute to 1-2 goals per game due to their errors?
It has to be addressed.

A possible solution - the boundary Umps have had their roles reduced, so perhaps use this season to educate them, work out a pay structure and have them next season as full-authority boundary umpires. They must be on equal footing as field umps so they don't just get overruled every time.

2) The standard of care for head injuries - that incident with Answorth and the physio must never happen again. The AFL have ticked it off 'as there was no spinal injury'!!
How the hell would the physio know that when he was dragging a semi-conscious player off the ground by his jumper?
Dreadful look - and after all the 'rhetoric' about preventing long-term had injury complications.

3) Player behaviour pushing the limits.
Xerri should get months not weeks for that disgusting act. A clear breach of the blood rule protocols and just generally vile behaviour.
But wait - 'Hold My Beer' says Lance Collard. Not content with starting a brawl with a late swinging arm, he then resorts to homophobic abuse - again. Apparently a 6 week ban 18 months ago wasn't clear enough that this is no longer acceptable anywhere in AFL footy.

Weeks clearly aren't working so the AFL needs to find another way. I hate to say it - but could draft sanctions or even points be docked for stuff like these 2 have pulled this weekend. I would hope there is another way.

Both have got to be looking at 8 weeks surely?

4) The biggest issue - the chasm opening up between the top and bottom teams. It's now a serious issue.
Essendon are Fitzroy bad. North continue to squander every shred of help given and remain a rabble. West Coast may have bottomed out but are still looking at a 2 or 3 win season. I have now had my first doubts about Richmonds rebuild and Post Adelaide and Melbournes lists are lacking talent all over the ground.

The reality is that again we will probably have 3 maybe 4 teams that might only win 3 or 4 games this year.

3 of them possibly in Victoria. Under the present system the gap is simply too hard to close to the others by the draft alone.

With the stadium in Tassie being delayed - is it too late to send a Vic team?

The system is broken and the AFL need to fix it fast before we have a league where 6 of 19 teams simply cannot compete for decades.

And it's only Round 3!
on point 4, well, west coast now have that 2nd win
port are now just on the downswing having been up (without GF appearances) so that's fine
melbourne are on the rebuild
essendon are essendon and only "just" acknowledged they are rebuilding (as opposed to their BF fans who have at least identified that need 12-24 months earlier)
though I would be OK with sending Essendon to be the tassie team and avoid the shitness of a 19 team fixture

What’s the fastest a coach has been sacked? Carr won’t be there long if he keeps these performances up

Blight got sacked by mid seasonish from memory at the Saints

Would have been a funny game to watch. All the Port fans convinced the umpires were favoring Eagles, and the Eagles fans convinced the umpires were favoring Port :)
probably means a fair umpiring performance then

on point 4, well, west coast now have that 2nd win
port are now just on the downswing having been up (without GF appearances) so that's fine
melbourne are on the rebuild
essendon are essendon and only "just" acknowledged they are rebuilding (as opposed to their BF fans who have at least identified that need 12-24 months earlier)
though I would be OK with sending Essendon to be the tassie team and avoid the shitness of a 19 team fixture
There’s a massive gap between the top and bottom teams and it’s only getting bigger. North and Eagles are still as bad as they normally are.

It’s just the other teams have joined them.

The AFL has gone out of its way with the fixture to have these teams play against each other as many times as possible so they can at least get some wins by the end of the year so it doesn’t look so bad.