Autopsy Round 1 2019: Hawks defeats the Crows

McEvoy took 5 contested marks yesterday.

He owned the crows in the air.

Talk about good backline structures

Imply 13 intercepts
Stratton 9 intercepts
Sicily 8 intercepts
Hardwick 8 intercepts
Mirra 8 intercepts
Scrimshaw 8 interreceipts
Frawley 5 intercepts
Defence was outstanding last night. Best I’ve seen them since the threepeat years

I can assure you he isn't. Even some of our own supporters lay the boots in to him.

No chance. Point out to me one of our supporters that doesn't rate him or like him. The guy is only about footy. Glorious to watch. Team player. Fair player. Champion. Well spoken.

Funnily enough, it is the last time we played here. crows top of the ladder, Hawks 17th. Burton gave Walker a hell of a touch up - in fact he kicked more goals than Walker.

Abasi is spot on. We don't rate Walker. Nor does he really come to play against us. When the chips were down in that 3rd quarter for his team what did the co-captain do? Started to snipe & wrestle Sicily. He's a flat track bully.

Walker, after the death of Walsh, gained huge credits with the way he handled that time.
Since then, he’s eroded all those credits and is now widely viewed as a flog of the highest order, and a flat tracker. Shit effort in and after GF, His whinging over lever leaving then happily accepting Gibbs topped it all off. Plus, never seen him wrestle or tussle with anyone of his own size.

One player I really dislike, and love it we have it over him

I loved how halfway through the 3rd or 4th quarter one of the commentators said.
Crows missed finals and Hawks finished top 4 but everyone thought Crows would rise and Hawks would fall this year.
Maybe we all made a mistake

The shots were pretty balanced.
13 scoring shots from mids and 12 from forwards.
It was the return that wasn't
10.3 mids 2.10 forwards

With that forward conversation rate it tells me there is plenty of upside when they get this right. Thankfully we won.

No chance. Point out to me one of our supporters that doesn't rate him or like him. The guy is only about footy. Glorious to watch. Team player. Fair player. Champion. Well spoken.
MinerBoy and I could literally provide you pages of posts slagging off Breust during our threepeat and afterwards.
Calls to trade him, posts that he was soft, lazy, disinterested and worth less than half the mids in the comp that various posters wanted us to trade him for.

You may not have noticed it but it happened a lot

Who comes out for Scully and Wingard

Stiff as after last night but position wise you’d think

Nash/Pops for Wingard
Henderson for Scully

Maybe Morrison for Scully but I liked his game a heap last night

That would have to be very, very close mate.

However it's very stiff on Henderson who has been one of our better and most consistent contributors since coming across.

I'm wondering if perhaps it may be something like:

OUT: Nash IN: Wingard
OUT: Cousins IN: Scully

I know that Clarko has said that he'll be playing Wingard forward, but if you look at the team selection prior to yesterday, he had Sicily playing forward.

He always trolls the opposition with the team selection positions and I'm wondering if perhaps he might rotate all of Breust/Puopolo/Wingard between FWD/MID to keep the opposition guessing.

I also believe that all of the above mentioned would bring more to the side than Cousins does at this point in time.

I could then perhaps see Henderson playing forward who loves a tackle, can take a grab and has also been a reliable source of goals for us too.

I also believe that he offers more to the team at this point in time than what Nash can offer.

If we're serious about contending this year then it might not be as clean cut as straight positional swaps for incoming players.

It might be more a case of thinking outside the box and moving a few players around, especially with the injury to TOM.

Also by no means am I taking a potshot at either of Cousins or Nash, I just think there are others that would make the team better.

I do believe that given time that both these boys will develop into clear best 22 players, but is that time now?

Anyway, I'm glad that we're not the ones making these decisions because it'd be bloody tough at times.

MinerBoy and I could literally provide you pages of posts slagging off Breust during our threepeat and afterwards.
Calls to trade him, posts that he was soft, lazy, disinterested and worth less than half the mids in the comp that various posters wanted us to trade him for.

Wow, really? I mean I can understand when people say he's had a dud or quiet game. His position lends itself to, apparently, ordinary games when we lose.

He seemed, for a while, to get caught up trying to "step inside and break a tackle" whenever the opportunity presented and seemed to fail more than succeed. I'd like him to keep that in his arsenal but use it sparingly and more as a shock tactic, I mean he's not the Worpedo.

Amazing start to the season. As others have said Impey was almost a reborn player, taking intercept marks and extremely clean with the contested ball. Let’s hope this confidence stays with him for the season.
Worpel was playing like a seasoned veteran let alone a 12 game player. He has an amazing confidence about him that normally comes with experience but he already knows better and that he doesn’t just belong but can really influence games. Strong through the hips.
I only recall Nash kicking the ball twice, one was a brilliant pass to a running Gunston(?) and of course his deft handball to Cousins running into goal. It feels as though if he plays all season we will have a lot of fun watching him put it all together piece by piece. He’s too much of a freak athlete not to.
JOM was very good, in my mind I thought he was a more contested player than what I’m seeing but if he’s a rolls Royce outside midfielder then I can handle that too. A couple of ripping goals but a couple of selfish attempts too.

Why does it sound so much worse coming out of your mouth than mine? :tearsofjoy:
Only joking.....what I will say is that Breuster's less flattering performances usually coincide with lesser - shall we say 'gusto' - for the contest or flat our running. It's truly rare that his skills are down.
So when he's quiet you see him lose 1 v 1 contests and not look like it means EVERYTHING to him.
Contrast with Pop, who can have just as quiet or even quieter game, but usually it feels like he is simply out of form or running to the wrong spots or can't get in to the game. Never looks like he's going at 70%, so he doesn't cop the flak by some here.

I've come to understand one thing. The team simply plays better or functions better with some players in it, regardless of how I might judge their output. Breust is one and should never leave our colors.
One I've pulled for to get a good run at it is Cousins because I think he's exactly the same mold, and think his 18 possessions result in a completely different dynamic for the team and how it combines than the same 18 possies for a JOR for example.

Got to trust the Little General on players. He's made one boo boo for mine, letting Joey feel he was less than integral, because I just think Clarko didn't believe the youngest Kanga could get himself to the level he did.
That's a good strike record so I'll be more careful going forward in my assessment of the fellas that he gives a regular guernsey to.:thumbsu:

Loved the opening bounce of the 4th. Silk out of the middle straight down Gunston's throat.
Pity he missed, but was sublime.
So sweet to stick it up all these so called "experts"!
But like they say:- 1 swallow don't make a summer.

Why are posters bashing Eddie Betts? He's kicked over 550 goals playing as a small forward, and most of his career he was at bottom feeding Carlton. That an all-time great small forward effort.

He was cooked last year, so there's not much point rubbishing him now. He's at the end of his career.
Because they’re young and silly

People don't remember the repeated calls to trade Breust, because he was overrated by opposition teams, and might help us get someone better?

Every year. I certainly remember them very well...

I saw posts saying he had a down game, which could easily be argued against, but no one says he gets cheap, easy goals and derides him. No one.

People for years have been saying he should be traded for years for a multitude of reasons and none of them justifiable.

Perhaps all of those sticking up for opposition players should show the same respect to our own.

Why does it sound so much worse coming out of your mouth than mine? :tearsofjoy:
Only joking.....what I will say is that Breuster's less flattering performances usually coincide with lesser - shall we say 'gusto' - for the contest or flat our running. It's truly rare that his skills are down.
So when he's quiet you see him lose 1 v 1 contests and not look like it means EVERYTHING to him.
Contrast with Pop, who can have just as quiet or even quieter game, but usually it feels like he is simply out of form or running to the wrong spots or can't get in to the game. Never looks like he's going at 70%, so he doesn't cop the flak by some here.

I've come to understand one thing. The team simply plays better or functions better with some players in it, regardless of how I might judge their output. Breust is one and should never leave our colors.
One I've pulled for to get a good run at it is Cousins because I think he's exactly the same mold, and think his 18 possessions result in a completely different dynamic for the team and how it combines than the same 18 possies for a JOR for example.

Got to trust the Little General on players. He's made one boo boo for mine, letting Joey feel he was less than integral, because I just think Clarko didn't believe the youngest Kanga could get himself to the level he did.
That's a good strike record so I'll be more careful going forward in my assessment of the fellas that he gives a regular guernsey to.:thumbsu:
Punky to me is very much in the Dunstall mould on field, just gets on with it and plays the ball.

Can make him look disinterested at times.

We judge the boys often on how we read their attitude through the TV set. I remember players getting roasted after a loss for smiling or god forbid having a laugh with a mate they grew up playing with.

Works both ways though, battlers can endear themselves and gain cult status based on it as well

Do we offload Mitchell to the Gold Coast for two first round picks?
If Dylan Shiel is worth 2 first round picks, Mitchell is worth 3!

Look harder then sunshine, or are your eyes just painted on?

People for years have been saying he should be traded for years for a multitude of reasons and none of them justifiable.

Perhaps all of those sticking up for opposition players should show the same respect to our own.
Perhaps you should stop treating this like the bay and leave the patronising language for elsewhere.

Hardwick is such a good player. Hard to believe how his development has led him to become a key defender in our setup.

Frawley looks different. Haven't seen him look this good since the Melbourne days. Must be fit for once.

Harry is outstanding.

Not sure how we drop a couple of players to fit in Scully and Wingard.

Imagine how hard it is going to be fitting in Mitchell and Coniglio plus whatever low gold draft pick we somehow find :)

Hardwick is such a good player. Hard to believe how his development has led him to become a key defender in our setup.

Frawley looks different. Haven't seen him look this good since the Melbourne days. Must be fit for once.

Harry is outstanding.

Not sure how we drop a couple of players to fit in Scully and Wingard.

Imagine how hard it is going to be fitting in Mitchell and Coniglio plus whatever low gold draft pick we somehow find :)

#hawthornproblems