Unofficial Preview Round 2, 2019: Changes/pre-match discussion vs Brisbane Lions

Those two realised what sort of players that had at their dosposal and adjusted their game style to match accordingly.

Scott will not do that.
Scott is not capable of doing that

Montagna knew that we were going to kick the thing to Fremantle players?

The man's a genius.

Lyon is milking this for all he's worth as prior to yesterday 90% of the shitfish supporters wanted him gone.

Not sure how we can beat the Lions. Just don't see it happening.

Genuinely concerned another bad loss will occur.
Dont worry we can always drop a spare man back.... oh wait.

There's no one to kick to and these two in particular dont have elite foot skills to pick the defence apart. They're damned either way.
Or maybe they are just shit?

If you don’t have elite foot skills why keep trying to hit targets that only an elite kick can hit?

It’s not ****ing rocket science. Play within your limitations.

Bailey Scott was the perfect example yesterday. Looked to to execute within in his capabilities, not trying to be a hero and turn it over like the two other dumb ****s who should know better.

Structures muttley, structures. Brad is a chess player. And the new kids are his pawns. You can almost read the minds of the young players at North - 'my mind tells me to take the game on and play to my instincts' BUT 'Brad reminded me that I don't have any experience and should handball to my more experienced team-mates (ie. LDU giving off to LMac) as rule number one'.

Brad has his structure and looks at where players can fit in that structure rather than seeing the players skills and building a gameplay to maximise those said skills. As much as I dislike Buckley the Figjam, to give a first-year player like Stephenson the forward line to take advantage of his unique skill, his pace, is something unthinkable under Brad's system.

Would he have the balls to pick TT and Curtis Taylor alongside Bailey for the Brissie game? Maybe a slight chance. But would he give them free reign to play with that 'intangibility'? Not likely. Sadly, his weaknesses as a gameday coach feed into the breakdown of the natural abilities of our young guns. You could contrast first-gamer Scotty's spark with the dour, second-guessing approach of Simpkin, LDU, and BMac that seems to be a common thread amongst our young players.

Out: Chess
In: Risk
I reckon the LDU handball to LMac was a case of a more experienced player calling for an easy possession.

Montagna knew that we were going to kick the thing to Fremantle players?

The man's a genius.

Lyon is milking this for all he's worth as prior to yesterday 90% of the shitfish supporters wanted him gone.
Give it 3 weeks and they will want him gone and he would be harassing a new intern in the interim.

Structures muttley, structures. Brad is a chess player. And the new kids are his pawns. You can almost read the minds of the young players at North - 'my mind tells me to take the game on and play to my instincts' BUT 'Brad reminded me that I don't have any experience and should handball to my more experienced team-mates (ie. LDU giving off to LMac) as rule number one'.

Brad has his structure and looks at where players can fit in that structure rather than seeing the players skills and building a gameplay to maximise those said skills. As much as I dislike Buckley the Figjam, to give a first-year player like Stephenson the forward line to take advantage of his unique skill, his pace, is something unthinkable under Brad's system.

Would he have the balls to pick TT and Curtis Taylor alongside Bailey for the Brissie game? Maybe a slight chance. But would he give them free reign to play with that 'intangibility'? Not likely. Sadly, his weaknesses as a gameday coach feed into the breakdown of the natural abilities of our young guns. You could contrast first-gamer Scotty's spark with the dour, second-guessing approach of Simpkin, LDU, and BMac that seems to be a common thread amongst our young players.

Out: Chess
In: Risk

The game I was watching didn't have any structure at all. Was like watching junior footy, scratching my head at times wondering if there was any game plan at all. Still bombing it to Brown vs 3 scenario basically in hope of him earning a free kick. Leaving out Ahern when missing inside hard nuts anderson and jacobs, head scratch. With 666 rule, winning that centre clearance all important. Goldy dominated first quarter, but seems they adjusted after quarter time, and we did nothing. Why not put ziebell in there rather than standing around in the fwd line, or would that impact the "structure" too much?

. I've decided to back Scott on and give him another chance.
This is an illusion of choice. We have none. I mean what the f*** else are we gon do?

Complain on the internet? That'll show em.

We must stay the course. We are at our hardwick/buckley point now.

LOL we have stayed the course for a decade. His second rebuild. And we're getting pantsed in round one.

Honestly I want to take the quickest path to success. I'd actually like to understand what the club sees as success. 10+ goals in round 1 certainly ain't it for me.

Knowing us, we may well come out and smash Brisbane this week. As good as they were at home in round 1, it was a typical Gabba performance where they handled the wet slippery ball well and got lots of close range goals by smalls. That's unlikely to work at Marvel. And if we manage to bring the right pressure, they will crumble I feel. However, I don't have any confidence that we can bring that pressure, as we haven't really done it in any game this year included the JLT.

But I would still not be surprised with a 10 goal win.

I have to admit, I've been thinking along these lines a bit for most of the pre season. Caveat being that I've never seen him play at VFL level so can't comment on how he went down back last year. I think he'll be better in a more stable backline but at the moment I definitely think we need another genuine tall forward. Seems more physically ready than Larkey and we don't seem likely to play Watson. I'd be inclined to do what you're saying rather than dropping McKay if we decide there's no spot in the backline next week. FWIW I thought McKay was pretty solid for a guy that's played less than 5 games in a team that was getting absolutely flogged across the entire ground.
I've seen him dominate a couple of times in the VFL last year, but there wasn't a whole lot of spoiling going on, mostly just contested marking in the backline.

Knowing us, we may well come out and smash Brisbane this week. As good as they were at home in round 1, it was a typical Gabba performance where they handled the wet slippery ball well and got lots of close range goals by smalls. That's unlikely to work at Marvel. And if we manage to bring the right pressure, they will crumble I feel. However, I don't have any confidence that we can bring that pressure, as we haven't really done it in any game this year included the JLT.

But I would still not be surprised with a 10 goal win.

10 goal win is unlikely against a strengthened Brisbane side. Whom, had just overran the reigning premiers after being 20+ down.

If we start well early, we have to maintain it. Those Lions players will be very fit because they train in really humid conditions.

We have to be perfect. They are not pushovers anymore.

I am worried we might get off to a good start then drop off. We are coming back from Perth as well.

I reckon the LDU handball to LMac was a case of a more experienced player calling for an easy possession.
When he should have been backing LDU in to take the shot himself. I just see a culture that constrains young players rather than gives them licence. If the kids were fully encouraged to take the game on they wouldn't think twice about taking a shot from 40 metres out.

Anyone interested in buying two general admin tickets for $20 for this game? My membership still has not arrived so the club have issued me with tickets for the Brisbane game which I cant actually go too as we are away in Tassie. They e-tickets so I can just email them over

When he should have been backing LDU in to take the shot himself. I just see a culture that constrains young players rather than gives them licence. If the kids were fully encouraged to take the game on they wouldn't think twice about taking a shot from 40 metres out.

Yeah, I dont mind Higgins calling for it like that, but not luke, didnt even make the distance

Anyone interested in buying two general admin tickets for $20 for this game? My membership still has not arrived so the club have issued me with tickets for the Brisbane game which I cant actually go too as we are away in Tassie. They e-tickets so I can just email them over

This is just as bewildering as yesterdays game.

The entire place has fallen to pieces.

They blaming auspost, says it was produced in Feb but their system doesnt show Aus post as having collected it, what ever that means

WTF?

Mine came by registered mail!

The game I was watching didn't have any structure at all. Was like watching junior footy, scratching my head at times wondering if there was any game plan at all. Still bombing it to Brown vs 3 scenario basically in hope of him earning a free kick. Leaving out Ahern when missing inside hard nuts anderson and jacobs, head scratch. With 666 rule, winning that centre clearance all important. Goldy dominated first quarter, but seems they adjusted after quarter time, and we did nothing. Why not put ziebell in there rather than standing around in the fwd line, or would that impact the "structure" too much?
Brad's zoning structures have always fallen down against teams that use the ball well or force turnovers. Without our manic pressure, we are always chasing tail. As for adjustments during the game, you are clearly referring to a Plan B, which for Brad means reinforcing Plan A using a different tone of voice.
Not that it is going to happen, but anyway. Like a few others, I want McKay forward, but I doubt the coaching staff would make such a drastic change. Dumont back out to the wing; the tagger experiment was a flawed notion before it even started. I assume Cunners is out for a stupid hit, although Wilson made the most of it. L Mac would be close to being dropped. Pittard did a few ok things defensively, so he can play the EVW/L Mac role for now. Brad won't drop Turner, no matter how much we whinge on BF. If cunners is not suspended, I would drop Thomas from my team and rotate Cunners and Ahern in the midfield.

B: Williams - Tarrant - Thompson
HB: J Mac - McKay - Murphy
C: Dumont - Ahern - Polec
HF: Hall - Larkey - Taylor
F: Ziebell - Brown - Turner
RR: Goldy - Higgins - Tyson
I/C: Pittard - Thomas (forward) - LDU - Scott

Ins: Taylor, Thomas, Ahern, Larkey and Murphy

Outs: Simpkin, Cunnington (suspended), L Mac, Wood and EVW (ACL)

Most likely to happen:
In: Ahern and Murphy
Out: Cunnington (suspended) and EVW (injured)
I reckon Ahern and Thompson will be the automatic ins for Cunners and EVW and Thomas, Murphy, Larkey, Watson, Taylor, and Zurhaar come into the mix if there is some serious swinging of the axe. Wood should be dropped for Larkey or Watson on Sunday's showing. And I reckon Thomas will likely be given his debut and the cynic in me can see Brad and the club's media machine milking it to avoid too much forensic truth-telling.

Look this comment might come back to bite me, but we should win this weekend and I think we are a good bet. If the result yesterday doesn’t put a rocket up them and fire them the **** up then nothing will. We will come out breathing fire and the Lions won’t be preparered for it. On our home deck too we’d want to put in a shift. On the flip side If we meekly bow down and are well beaten again then severe questions need to be asked and answered.

Not that it is going to happen, but anyway. Like a few others, I want McKay forward, but I doubt the coaching staff would make such a drastic change. Dumont back out to the wing; the tagger experiment was a flawed notion before it even started. I assume Cunners is out for a stupid hit, although Wilson made the most of it. L Mac would be close to being dropped. Pittard did a few ok things defensively, so he can play the EVW/L Mac role for now. Brad won't drop Turner, no matter how much we whinge on BF. If cunners is not suspended, I would drop Thomas from my team and rotate Cunners and Ahern in the midfield.

B: Williams - Tarrant - Thompson
HB: J Mac - McKay - Murphy
HF: Hall - Larkey - Taylor
RR: Goldy - Higgins - Tyson
I/C: Pittard - Thomas (forward) - LDU - Scott

Ins: Taylor, Thomas, Ahern, Larkey and Murphy

Outs: Simpkin, Cunnington (suspended), L Mac, Wood and EVW (ACL)

Most likely to happen:
In: Ahern and Murphy
Out: Cunnington (suspended) and EVW (injured)

Get Cunners back in mate, and Thompson too.

Just saw the report.

B: Williams - Tarrant - McKay
HB: J Mac - Thompson - Pittard
HF: Hall - Larkey - Scott
RR: Goldy - Higgins - Cunnington
I/C: LDU - Atley - Tyson - Murphy

Ins: Thompson, Larkey, Ahern, Murphy

Outs: EVW, Wood, Simpkin, L Mac

Most likely to happen:
In: Ahern and Thompson