Preview Geelong v Melbourne Sat 30 March at GMHBA

- Geelong to “manage” players in Round 3.
- Melbourne an “outside” team.

Place has gone mad.

Im not bothering to read back... are people really suggesting we start managing players already???? WTF... the season just started!!!!!
Also... there is nothing "outside" about Brayshaw, Oliver, Viney and co. They are one of the "hardest at the ball' midfields in the competition.
I shake my head at his place sometimes...

Im not bothering to read back... are people really suggesting we start managing players already???? WTF... the season just started!!!!!
Also... there is nothing "outside" about Brayshaw, Oliver, Viney and co. They are one of the "hardest at the ball' midfields in the competition.
I shake my head at his place sometimes...

Yep... Exactly right!

100% correct. Arguably the best contested side in the competition.

A few things on this.

Melbourne will be ready for any physical tactics and will respond in kind. They thrive on that stuff more than us. We are undisciplined more than intimidating when this stuff kicks off.

People are underestimating the ability of Ryder and Lycett if they think that was only reason Gawn got turned over. Ryder when fit is probably a better player than Gawn.

Stanley’s game is not rough stuff, let him play his natural game.

Port outran Melbourne, not outfought them.
Very underrated post. Stanley simply needs to concentrate on playing his own game and using his pace to trouble Gawn. If Stanley starts winning clearances and bursting through the middle like last week, and when he was in form last year, Gawn will have more worries than a few body bumps and bruises. Because from what I seen of Gawn last week he won't be able to go with him.

Well I think we just lost the game ... Scott basically said we won't be physically targeting Gawn.

Our tactic against Gawn is for Stanley and Sav to jump all over him. Gawn said Stanley was a tough match up for him last year because of that reason.

No doubt though after the Dees sooking he is going to be more protected than Cox and Grundy were combined last week.

Are Melbourne really sulking about some physicality directed at Gawn? Wow, they have short memories. Selwood ring a bell?

- Geelong to “manage” players in Round 3.
- Melbourne an “outside” team.

Place has gone mad.

I've just read the whole thread over the last hour (first time all week I've had the opportunity to actually read a bulk section of discussion).

Regarding discussion around our Rnd 3 team, I don't think people are talking about managing players as in trying to keep them fresh, but it's more around the fact we will be coming off a 5-day break from our match against the Demons before travelling interstate to play the Crows. There may be a need to ensure players pull up ok from Saturday nights matc, not taking a risk with some of the younger players, a veteran like Taylor or those who had interrupted pre-seasons and ensuring we put our best team on the park against the Crows.

Yes we need to reward those in form, and those doing the right things during matches - but we also need to be sensible & acknowledge that we don't need to run players into the ground after 3 rounds if we have suitable options waiting in the wings should a player from Saturday night not be 100% ahead of our Rnd 3 match.

I've just read the whole thread over the last hour (first time all week I've had the opportunity to actually read a bulk section of discussion).

Regarding discussion around our Rnd 3 team, I don't think people are talking about managing players as in trying to keep them fresh, but it's more around the fact we will be coming off a 5-day break from our match against the Demons before travelling interstate to play the Crows. There may be a need to ensure players pull up ok from Saturday nights matc, not taking a risk with some of the younger players, a veteran like Taylor or those who had interrupted pre-seasons and ensuring we put our best team on the park against the Crows.

Yes we need to reward those in form, and those doing the right things during matches - but we also need to be sensible & acknowledge that we don't need to run players into the ground after 3 rounds if we have suitable options waiting in the wings should a player from Saturday night not be 100% ahead of our Rnd 3 match.

I understand the fact we will be coming off a 5 day break but if you are fit to play, you play. Plain and simple. No one is getting run into the ground after 3 rounds either; we are talking about elite athletes here. Injuries aside, we should pick our best 22 every single week.

Kolo out for a small

We should beat Melbourne it's too early in the season for outside teams to do well as their skills aren't up to it yet. Being at home is a further advantage.

Should win by 5+ goals
You have absolutely no idea if you think Melbourne are an outside team... Literally the most contested side in the comp.

Port exposed them on the outside and it was the difference in the match.

Are Melbourne really sulking about some physicality directed at Gawn? Wow, they have short memories. Selwood ring a bell?

Wonder how many times the umps will overcompensate him with a free on Saturday night?

If Guthrie is an automatic selection the match committee have learnt nothing from previous years. Will be livid if he comes in at the expense of one of the debutants. Time to set some standards again.

He will be, and no, we've seen nothing yet to suggest standards will change at the club.

Mediocrity is accepted if a certain player is high enough on the club's talent hierarchy, we've seen this in the Scott era. Guthrie is.

On paper though, Guthrie should absolutely be picked. Age 26, 141 games, signed up until the end of 2021? Maybe the club is frightened at the thought of having him sitting in the VFL for the next 3 years on AFL money...

I reckon Melbourne will aggressively play the man this week, and none moreso than Selwood, Clarke and Miers

This bothers me. They're sure to come out in response to Gawn's treatment.

We're such a poor side in terms of physicality too across the board, or have been. It's driven me nuts for years now. Rohan & Dahlhaus are both harder than 3/4 of our list though, which is a +. The amount of soft tacklers we have is alarming... let alone those unwilling to crash and bash around the footy. We need some more unsociable behavior in the side. By that I don't mean soft, stupid reports (Hawkins), real toughness around the footy and aggression in-play. Think Scarlett, Milburn, Mooney, Chapman, Rooke, etc.

This bothers me. They're sure to come out in response to Gawn's treatment.

We're such a poor side in terms of physicality too across the board, or have been. It's driven me nuts for years now. Rohan & Dahlhaus are both harder than 3/4 of our list though, which is a +. The amount of soft tacklers we have is alarming... let alone those unwilling to crash and bash around the footy. We need some more unsociable behavior in the side. By that I don't mean soft, stupid reports (Hawkins), real toughness around the footy and aggression in-play. Think Scarlett, Milburn, Mooney, Chapman, Rooke, etc.

They'll come out hard, very hard, for sure.

In doing so, they'll know they can knock Selwood off his game, and I reckon they'll target Clarke and Miers because they're new, still finding their feet, and are therefore probably the easiest ......and if it's successful, they've then disrupted our backline, midfield, and forward line.

Yep, and what will our players do about it? Nothing!! If recent history is anything to go by anyway.

Just how many times have we seen Selwood more or less beaten up, yet not one of his teammates responds at all with aggressive physical intent? It's part of the game! Sides were scared of us in the past, we had enforcers on every line ready to stand up for teammates. Not today.

My only knock on Ablett Jnr to be honest. He's still the best midfielder I've ever seen though.. No ones perfect.

Yep, and what will our players do about it? Nothing!! If recent history is anything to go by anyway.

Just how many times have we seen Selwood more or less beaten up, yet not one of his teammates responds at all with aggressive physical intent? It's part of the game! Sides were scared of us in the past, we had enforcers on every line ready to stand up for teammates. Not today.

My only knock on Ablett Jnr to be honest. He's still the best midfielder I've ever seen though.. No ones perfect.

Yes, we're physically intimidated far more easily these days.

Will be interesting to watch the response if Melbourne do go after the boys.

Yes, we're physically intimidated far more easily these days.

Will be interesting to watch the response if Melbourne do go after the boys.

If we maintain the pressure from last week - the physical intimidation will be null. Last week if either Geelong or Collingwood had started trying to go the whack, I suspect it would have been a gamebreaker. We're far better off adopting the tactics from last week in terms of pressure.

From what I viewed of the Dees on the weekend, this approach will tax them far more physically than us trying to respond to physical intimidation.

If we maintain the pressure from last week - the physical intimidation will be null. Last week if either Geelong or Collingwood had started trying to go the whack, I suspect it would have been a gamebreaker. We're far better off adopting the tactics from last week in terms of pressure.

From what I viewed of the Dees on the weekend, this approach will tax them far more physically than us trying to respond to physical intimidation.

My biggest concern is their ability to maintain focus in the face of intimidation.

How they respond will enlighten us about the credentials of this team.

My biggest concern is their ability to maintain focus in the face of intimidation.

How they respond will enlighten us about the credentials of this team.

I'll be interested to see if the Dees do try and intimidate - as has been documented, they had a quite a significant surgery list over summer. Trying to intimidate, via a physical style can be quite taxing so I'll be interested as to how long they could keep it up.

I guess many of us will find it hard not to compare to our effort against the same opposition in the EF.

I'll be interested to see if the Dees do try and intimidate - as has been documented, they had a quite a significant surgery list over summer. Trying to intimidate, via a physical style can be quite taxing so I'll be interested as to how long they could keep it up.

I guess many of us will find it hard not to compare to our effort against the same opposition in the EF.

Yeah, it's one thing to talk, but to walk it, when injured, is a whole other matter.

It'd be a daring move on their part, and could backfire spectacularly if they can't maintain it.

But always be wary of a team that is injured and cornered.

Of course not. Don't forget too, we were horrid last week in the second quarter (especially) and some of the third, our pressure was all but non existent. We really got lucky that the Pies couldn't convert. It was the same as previous years, no pressure up forward and an open corridor.

We're not that side, one that brings close to their peak defensive intent most weeks, it's what's hurt us most in finals. Where it matters the most.

Judging any side on what was seen last week is foolish. The sides that didn't turn up (Melbourne, Kangaroos, West Coast, Essendon, etc) will almost certainly be hard to beat this week.

I understand the fact we will be coming off a 5 day break but if you are fit to play, you play. Plain and simple. No one is getting run into the ground after 3 rounds either; we are talking about elite athletes here. Injuries aside, we should pick our best 22 every single week.

I agree we should pick our best 22 every week, but we need to be mindful that some players just might not be right or ready to go off a 5-day break and that not all players have the benefit of building up fitness levels over 5/6+ pre-seasons.

As an example, if Taylor & Miers have good games on Saturday night but are only at 80% ahead of the Crows match, would it not be smarter to look at guys like Henderson & Narkle to come into the team.

I just don't see the point in running players into the ground this early in the season and potentially risking injury through players pushing too hard

A few things on this.

Melbourne will be ready for any physical tactics and will respond in kind. They thrive on that stuff more than us. We are undisciplined more than intimidating when this stuff kicks off.

People are underestimating the ability of Ryder and Lycett if they think that was only reason Gawn got turned over. Ryder when fit is probably a better player than Gawn.

Stanley’s game is not rough stuff, let him play his natural game.

Port outran Melbourne, not outfought them.

Nail on head

I agree we should pick our best 22 every week, but we need to be mindful that some players just might not be right or ready to go off a 5-day break and that not all players have the benefit of building up fitness levels over 5/6+ pre-seasons.

As an example, if Taylor & Miers have good games on Saturday night but are only at 80% ahead of the Crows match, would it not be smarter to look at guys like Henderson & Narkle to come into the team.

I just don't see the point in running players into the ground this early in the season and potentially risking injury through players pushing too hard

I don’t believe in preemptively managing players to avoid injury. Each and every player is taking a risk by running onto the ground from week to week.

How do you define 80% fitness? If the requirement is 100% then we would not have enough players to fill the 22.

Nobody is getting run into the ground after 2 games. These are elite athletes as I mentioned earlier.

I desperately want to see more continuity this year which means picking the best 22 irrespective of age or status within the team. If that means guys like Henderson (who is clearly AFL standard), spend time in the VFL, so be it. We don’t need to “manage” players to get others in which is what some are advocating for around here.