Review Round 2, 2019 vs Carlton

Watched on tv because the wife was working and I was with the kids .
It was a struggle for sure . The kids are alright . Butters , Duursma and Rozee definitely do add that spark in their own way even if the odd howler comes in .
I can see a break out game coming from Rozee at some stage , his pace is very good , footy smarts tick ✔️ a leap with the best of them . When he gets a bit more body strength and endurance look out I reckon .
Duursma is very good with his getting to positions, little bit of work on his strike of the ball when he’s kicking and I think he can stay best 22 .
Butters yea for his spark and sheer will to make something happen . Love it .
Not forgetting Drew . Playing like a 100 gamer already I like him in the team as well , don’t know what that means when Ollie comes back but I want him in myself .
Loved Burton , so classy with his work .
Love Lycett , with that little touch of mongrel and willingness to work he looks like he’s loving being the main man and good luck to him .
He’s not the prettiest mover but good luck beating him physically for the next 5 years .
Now about the recruiting lol.
Would love to have Big Charlie out there . I thought we lacked a genuine target at full forward.
Marshall was a bit disappointing tonight , he did a couple of good things but he needs to be a little stronger in contested marking or lead up more if he’s not strong enough yet.
Boak was great , Rocky , Gray , Motlop . Byrne Jones , Powell Pepper , Clurey was excellent .
I’m worried about Jack Watts , if it’s anyth under 8 weeks I’ll be happy with the looks of that .
Sad for Amon too , just as he was looking in career best form , .
The great Hoff was surprisingly quiet .
Carlton aren’t far from being a good side . That Mckay looks like a player . S.P.S As well and Cripps is a superstar another one or two top level players wether on the list now or in the near future and they’ll be fighting for the eight . Not the sexiest of games but it was worth 4 points so I’m happy

It certainly wasn't pretty but it was a decent win under poor conditions and being 1 down for essentially the entire match. We overused the ball at times and gave it up too easily at others, but overall i'm pretty pleased that we got a result.

Carlton seemed to have more players at the drop of the ball a lot of the time, which was annoying and it felt like Cripps and Dow just dominated through the midfield and constantly won crucial clearances at just the right time. On one hand it felt like our defenders just couldn't cope with the height of McKay and the strength of McGovern, but I thought they came together well in the 2nd half and really took their marking power out of it.

What I did like was our ability to take the game on and always look at attacking. We found good space on the wings a lot of the time and tried to attack down the middle where possible. The poise of youngsters like Drew and Butters was inspiring in the last quarter. The form of Lycett was excellent, it was like seeing the second coming of Dean Brogan out there. Thought Clurey was outstanding early, one of his best games in a while. Rocky and Boak managed to find each other with ease all day.

I'll take it.

PLAYER REVIEWS:
Amon - Had a couple of decent moments to start with. A real shame he went off injured.

Marshall - A big step forward last week and a big step back this week. Too timid. Provided no marking target at all. He and Ryder seemed to get in each others way about half dozen times which was frustrating. Had a big chance in the third quarter to take a good mark 15m out in front and muffed it. Just needs to do more

Clurey - Thought he was very good early and was one of our best to half time. Slowed down in the second half, but overall defensively I thought he was very good, with the ball he was very good, made no real mistakes and was clean with the ball. Really liked his game.

Ryder - Nothing up forward, but was good in the ruck when in there.

Bonner - A frustrating game for him. Thought defensively he was good but was a bit of a nightmare with the ball. Poor decision making as opposed to execution.

Westhoff - Classic Hoff. Epic game last week. Epic fail this week.

Watts - Was not having a good game before getting injured. Hope his ankle isn't too disastrous but it looked awful on replay.

Jonas - Poor first half, better second half. Struggled with Carltons marking power and couldn't impact. I think he'll enjoy having Howard back.

Butters - One absolute horror moment, but overall was very good again. Thought he was calm in that last quarter and had some real crucial touches at critical times. Not as quick sometimes as he thinks he is. Kicked a great goal under pressure in that third. Was unselfish at others. Love him.

Houston - Probably the best of our defensive group across 4 quarters. Just a good solid 4 quarter effort.

Rozee - That 5 minute patch in the 2nd was pure gold and a sign of things to come. Great positioning, great pace off the mark, 2 nice goals, should have had a 3rd and just tore the game open. Is calm with the ball in his hands, you just know he's going to choose the right option. Gun.

Burton - Whilst so many of our players were fumbling in the wet conditions, Burton for me stood out as being one of the only one touch players on the park. Didn't phase him at all. Defended well, used the ball well. Another solid game.

Drew - From a negative point of view, I thought he got out played a lot at stoppages. On the positive side, he was another who was just so cool and calm with the ball and knew exactly what to do when he got it. Didn't panic, just continuously found teammates with the ball. Found myself saying Well Done Willem on quite a few occcasions. Great start to his career.

R Gray - Had a lot of the ball in the middle and did a lot of fine work further up the ground. Thought his forward play stunk tonight though and he was smacked by Plowman. Played for too many free kicks. If you don't get it the first couple times, don't then try it another 37 times.

SPP - How good's his form! Basically won us that game in the last quarter. Willed himself to the ball he was absolutely knackered by the end of it. One of our very best

Duursma - Very consistent across all 4 quarters. Had some indecisive moments, but overall I liked his game again. Runs hard and found plenty of space on the opposite side for the switch on multiple occasions.

Motlop - Thought that was probably his best game for the club. Thought he was great when it mattered and there were plenty of times where he just did the right thing at the right time. Whether that be a contested win, or a one touch pick up and effective disposal, or kicking goals. Great game.

DBJ - Got heaps of it and seemed to enjoy being that kick behind the play spot. Defensively was a concern at times and didnt use the ball as well as what he can do, but overall was a decent game and a good return to form after last week

Lycett - The beast! Seems to relish the new ruck rules where he can grab the ball and not get a free against him. Was perfect around the ground. The perfect foil for Ryder. Was he BOG? Just about. Hope he plays like that every week.

Rockliff - Unstoppable in the middle in the first half. Had a quiet second half but his ability to be in that spot just behind the play to get the ball is ridiculous. Is fit, is playing how we expect him to play, winning stacks of the ball, stacks of clearances and running his guts out. Great!

Ebert - Can't ask for much more from Ebo. Kicked 3, ran hard, was good with the ball, went through the middle and impacted there as well. Perfect game for the role we want him to play.

Boak - Some can point to his 6 turnovers and say that's not good enough, he's a momentum killer, he's a turnover merchant. I look at his 11 score involvements - the most of any player on the ground - and say well done Boaky. He ran his guts out, was great through the middle, a number of times he won the hard ball when Carlton had momentum. He was very good. Was he peak Boak good? No. But there shouldn't be too many complaints about his game today.

Votes:
9 - Lycett, Ebert, Rockliff, Motlop
8 - Clurey, Rozee, SPP, Boak
7 - Houston, Burton, Butters
6 - Duursma, Drew, DBJ
5 - R Gray
4 - Ryder, Bonner
3 - Jonas
2 - Watts, Westhoff
1 - Amon, Marshall

Uggghhh. Like pulling hen's teeth.
But we got the 4 points so job done. Scored crucial match winning goals by going long, direct and quick enough times, which wouldn't have happenedclast year.
Let's move onto next week now.

My best:
Lycett - sensational.
Rockliff - ditto.
Huston - best defender for the full game.
Clurey - great first half.
Jonas - good second half.
Motlop - delivered in the last qtr.
Burton - classy kicking.

Special mentions:
Rozee - that 7 minutes was just sexual chocolate.
Duursma - tenacious, committed and bloody quick.
Butters - all class with his footy smarts and decision making.
Drew -clean hands. Cool under pressure.
All of them knowno fear! :thumbsu::cool:

We got the result we wanted. I’d say 3/4 here said danger game and were worried about a loss.

Early out main issue was Carlton working harder off of the stoppage than us, however their only avenue to goal was via transition.

Everyone played their part, I’d suggest Marshall is under the gun. Lovingnojr new kids.

Sucks for Amon and Watts. Agree with the Frampton to FF, is the helmet a distraction for Ryder?

I notice that with SPP to he needs to sort his mental approach to the game out. I was wondering if the coach has been cramming stuff in his head that he has not been able to process properly. Like to see Monty or Schofield get in his ear a bit.

His coach is Schofield .

Mental approach you want to explain expand on a very broad brush comment ?

How well is Boak playing? Great to have him back in elite form.

Adore the young players. They are all bringing exciting football to the team.

Butters is fearless and prepared to take some shit to hand some out. And his footy smarts are astonishing at times.

Rozee showed how definitively he can impose himself on a game. Super talent overhead and at ground level.

Duursma works so hard and his speed and directness is breathtaking at times. That piece of play in the last when he was on the end of a piece of running play, and he pinned the ears back and sprinted down the ground then found Motlop with a long kick. Standing ovation time.

Drew is the blacksmith of the quartet. Does the hard work in the furnace room and is so tough but can produce some real art.

Lycett was so strong all around the ground. Really mobile for a big man and was virtually another on baller tonight. Real team leader and imposing presence.

I liked SPP's attack on the ball and assertiveness. Rockliff pigged it up again in the worst of conditions and used the ball beautifully. Burton looks so classy. Byrne Jones was fierce again and bounced back from aa quieter game last week. Motlop and Ebert were so dangerous up forward.

So disappointed for Watts. He was building on last week's game and to be injured like that was devastating.

Carlton played attractive footy and will be much better this year. Again we came back from tough positions by playing attacking footy and finding our defensive mojo at various times if not consistently. To score nearly 100 points in those conditions was a fair effort and testament to the promised new approach.

Not always on point but there is enough on show again to make you want to come back for more.

A crowd of 41,552 on a bit of a bleak day was a great turnout.

So I take it from reading this thread that I'm the only one who thought Jonas was really good tonight? Seems to have become popular to hate on him for no reason again this year, 2016 all over again.

He is a very intelligent footballer. In the last quarter he was in the back pocket hemmed against the boundary line with acres of space but waited for the three Carlton players to come at him, took the hit, timed the handball perfectly so it bounced in front of a flanker/winger and away you swept into the F50. He also delivered another rocket handball from the wing close to the pine into the centre square to open up the play.

Anyway, just wanted to pop in and wish that future 200+ gamer Duursma all the best. He is an absolute jet.

Carlton were much more competitive than I was expecting. The weather was ordinary but I was expecting a 30+ point win. 1st quarter was deja vu to last week. The 2nd quarter was impressive and at half time I thought Port were going to run over the top despite being a player down with Amon. Obviously it started raining and Carlton played much better wet weather footy than us. Surprisingly it was Lycett who seemed to handle the wet conditions the best and was one of our only players not fumbling with the ball. Late in the 3rd quarter we regained some composure and adjusted to the conditions. 4th quarter was close but I always felt confident that we would get the win and that proved the case in the end.

The most frustrating part of the game for me was our attack and forward line entries. Instead of aiming for targets the default option for most of the game (especially the 3rd quarter) was to bang it long into the pocket, which resulted in throw ins, turnovers and the occasional mark respectively. Rockliffe played an awesome game in the midfield and Clurey was easily our best player down back. Forward wise Ebert stepped up but Marshall and Westhoff were disappointing, which may have been the reason why the ball was always being kicked to the pockets. I wouldn't be surprised to see Marshall back in the SANFL next week. Overall a scrappy game but glad to come away with the win.

Edit- Wishing Amon and Watts a speedy recovery.