Play Nice Bye Bye Brad [v4.0] - IT'S HAPPENING!!!

• Thread starter Thread starter Mav

When you see regular last quarter capitulations like we have seen in the first three rounds, that is usually a sign that the coach has lost the players or at least can't motivate them. Even though we endlessly hear how much Brad is loved by the players, I sense that he is losing them, unless the protected favourites have become so complacent that they see footy simply as a path to a pay check rather than a fight to win. I agree that the next 2 games, with the Saturday night and Good Friday stages, will place an onus on North. No question, we could win those games by going in with a ferocious leave-nothing-in-the-tank approach, so these matches may tell us how much the players have had enough of coach Scott.

I'll be there, but probably as much as witness as passionate supporter.

I don’t think Brad has lost the players, I’d say they’d feel safe and comfortable in the fact that they’ll face little consequences for poor performance

Yesterday, I had a very good view from the seats I landed in the second level, Northern Stand. I went about trying to understand the strategies that were being adopted and how they were being executed.

In the first quarter, it was clear; The players were under instruction to hold the football and maintain possession, something that I thought worked well and caught Hawthorn off guard. We generally used the ball well and chose moments that were suitable for a thrust forward. Good strategy, kudos Brad.

From the moment Hawthorn kicked their first goal, I knew we would lose the game. Heads were down, confusion were apparent amongst the playing group, they were completely exhausted. How can you be completely exhausted late in the first quarter/early in the second? It was, to say the least, disheartening to know that although we were still three goals in front at this stage (and we kicked the next goal), that we would ultimately lose the game. It's not pessimism, it's reality.

There was a moment in the second quarter where Hawthorn moved the ball slowly down the members side wing, kick by kick, then eventually chipping it 40m to Breust who snapped a good goal from the pocket. The positioning of our backline and slow movement back from midfielders was appalling. How can there be three Hawthorn players behind their opponents with no one between them and the goal after a slow build up down the wing?

A few points further to the above observations:

- Brad Scott struggles to counter punch an opposition coaches moves.
- Brad is too easily figured out. We have no variety of game plan and have not for all of Brad's tenure.
- Brad I believe struggles to separate from his 'best 22'. His lack of observation toward a players ceiling is astonishing at times.
- Brad does not seem to be able to lift a player to fulfil potential.

I've enjoyed Brad's passion and to be honest, he's served the club well. He loves his players, he loves North, he loves fighting for us and what we're about, but ultimately, somewhere along the line he has fallen behind and become one of the lesser coaches in the league.

We cannot have one of the lesser coaches, we mustn't. It is too vital a time in our long history. We need success and soon.

It's time for a change.

Also, to Carl Dilena and Ben Buckley, If you are going to be President and CEO of our great club, how about you wear a North Melbourne scarf or at the very least a blue and white tie. You look like two accountants that rolled in after your tea and crumpet business meeting.

I don’t think Brad has lost the players, I’d say they’d feel safe and comfortable in the fact that they’ll face little consequences for poor performance

I'm not sure comfortable is the right word though. They look safe and miserable. 80% of the selected squad know that a form slump or confidence crisis means nothing more than a mix of stern instructions and reassurances. They aren't given a tangible impetus to elicit change. Not from the coaches in terms of being forced to reclaim their spot (or given time to get back into the swing of things vs lesser opponents), and more often than not they also don't get much in the form of onfield leadership. Shit, Jmac is league leaders for clangers and kills us all day long and JZ has the yips in front of goal and boots the shit out of it aimlessly when further up the ground. That's not inspiring. and if they get yelled at to pull their head in or pay more attention by their leaders? So what? If they do or don't it won't change shit and half the other blokes aren't fixing their own shit including the bloke telling you to do better so wtf is even the point in yelling at me?

And for the other 20% they look scared and miserable. Because they KNOW that most of the other blokes are locked in the squad and that if they don't do what the coach wants they're sent to Siberia to mine for whatever the **** is mined in Siberia. And apparently what the coach wants is to turn them into a ****ing robot playing in a position they aren't comfortable in. Yay. Doubleplus extra confidence building!

It's completely and utterly ****ed and has been completely and utterly ****ed for most of Scott's tenure. But, Scott is a nice guy. He looks out for them outside of football. He's a surrogate father and teacher. One you're used to disappointing and that is used to being disappointed. You can't bring yourself to hate the guy.

I think that changes soon though. The hole we are in now is majorly different to any we've been in before. We pumped ourselves up internally and externally and are literally performing worse than ever before under Scott. He's also ****ing over multiple young players in Ahern (not in the team because lololololol no idea), Simpkin (hey kid be an inside midfielder you'll ****ing love it), LDU (Now, we know you're an indisde bull but what we really want is you to have a rest on the bench and at the start of each quarter and not get in the zone, and then after you've done what you love in the middle you can go piss in the corner of the forward flank for 20 minutes). Bailey supposedly even got the joy of playing while shitting himself with gastro in his second game, ruining his red hot form and giving him a real taste for how football is meant to feel!

The crowds are quiet now too. And getting smaller.

Interesting times.

Yesterday, I had a very good view from the seats I landed in the second level, Northern Stand. I went about trying to understand the strategies that were being adopted and how they were being executed.

In the first quarter, it was clear; The players were under instruction to hold the football and maintain possession, something that I thought worked well and caught Hawthorn off guard. We generally used the ball well and chose moments that were suitable for a thrust forward. Good strategy, kudos Brad.

From the moment Hawthorn kicked their first goal, I knew we would lose the game. Heads were down, confusion were apparent amongst the playing group, they were completely exhausted. How can you be completely exhausted late in the first quarter/early in the second? It was, to say the least, disheartening to know that although we were still three goals in front at this stage (and we kicked the next goal), that we would ultimately lose the game. It's not pessimism, it's reality.

There was a moment in the second quarter where Hawthorn moved the ball slowly down the members side wing, kick by kick, then eventually chipping it 40m to Breust who snapped a good goal from the pocket. The positioning of our backline and slow movement back from midfielders was appalling. How can there be three Hawthorn players behind their opponents with no one between them and the goal after a slow build up down the wing?

A few points further to the above observations:

- Brad Scott struggles to counter punch an opposition coaches moves.
- Brad is too easily figured out. We have no variety of game plan and have not for all of Brad's tenure.
- Brad I believe struggles to separate from his 'best 22'. His lack of observation toward a players ceiling is astonishing at times.
- Brad does not seem to be able to lift a player to fulfil potential.

I've enjoyed Brad's passion and to be honest, he's served the club well. He loves his players, he loves North, he loves fighting for us and what we're about, but ultimately, somewhere along the line he has fallen behind and become one of the lesser coaches in the league.

We cannot have one of the lesser coaches, we mustn't. It is too vital a time in our long history. We need success and soon.

It's time for a change.

Also, to Carl Dilena and Ben Buckley, If you are going to be President and CEO of our great club, how about you wear a North Melbourne scarf or at the very least a blue and white tie. You look like two accountants that rolled in after your tea and crumpet business meeting.
Love your last couple of paragraphs spot on.

I'm not sure comfortable is the right word though. They look safe and miserable. 80% of the selected squad know that a form slump or confidence crisis means nothing more than a mix of stern instructions and reassurances. They aren't given a tangible impetus to elicit change. Not from the coaches in terms of being forced to reclaim their spot (or given time to get back into the swing of things vs lesser opponents), and more often than not they also don't get much in the form of onfield leadership. Shit, Jmac is league leaders for clangers and kills us all day long and JZ has the yips in front of goal and boots the shit out of it aimlessly when further up the ground. That's not inspiring. and if they get yelled at to pull their head in or pay more attention by their leaders? So what? If they do or don't it won't change shit and half the other blokes aren't fixing their own shit including the bloke telling you to do better so wtf is even the point in yelling at me?

And for the other 20% they look scared and miserable. Because they KNOW that most of the other blokes are locked in the squad and that if they don't do what the coach wants they're sent to Siberia to mine for whatever the **** is mined in Siberia. And apparently what the coach wants is to turn them into a ******* robot playing in a position they aren't comfortable in. Yay. Doubleplus extra confidence building!

It's completely and utterly ****** and has been completely and utterly ****** for most of Scott's tenure. But, Scott is a nice guy. He looks out for them outside of football. He's a surrogate father and teacher. One you're used to disappointing and that is used to being disappointed. You can't bring yourself to hate the guy.

I think that changes soon though. The hole we are in now is majorly different to any we've been in before. We pumped ourselves up internally and externally and are literally performing worse than ever before under Scott. He's also ******* over multiple young players in Ahern (not in the team because lololololol no idea), Simpkin (hey kid be an inside midfielder you'll ******* love it), LDU (Now, we know you're an indisde bull but what we really want is you to have a rest on the bench and at the start of each quarter and not get in the zone, and then after you've done what you love in the middle you can go piss in the corner of the forward flank for 20 minutes). Bailey supposedly even got the joy of playing while shitting himself with gastro in his second game, ruining his red hot form and giving him a real taste for how football is meant to feel!

The crowds are quiet now too. And getting smaller.

Interesting times.
They mine gold in Siberia. I have to go there for work soon.

I have been one of B Scotts fans no doubt but I am also a realist and yes the writing is on the wall And I am no different than most posters on here but I am more than happy to not bag him out and just send him on his way. Every coach knows at some time or another they will probably end up getting the sack. There would not be to many that have left on there own terms a handful maybe.

So............. " Cam Joyce is out of his depth".
No shit. He started just a year before brad and had very little experience. Since then he's worked with/under brad, probably being shaped by him, and is now supposedly working with/above him.

I have no doubt that Scott has far more influence over Joyce's job than he should.

C'mon Guys. The start of this season is only an Aberration. :stern look

I'm really starting to get sick of your unconditional support for Brad and the Board

No shit. He started just a year before brad and had very little experience. Since then he's worked with/under brad, probably being shaped by him, and is now supposedly working with/above him.

I have no doubt that Scott has far more influence over Joyce's job than he should.

Yeah but I used these " "

I have been one of B Scotts fans no doubt but I am also a realist and yes the writing is on the wall And I am no different than most posters on here but I am more than happy to not bag him out and just send him on his way.

I reckon most people are... the problem is that this isn't happening. All relationships end up the same in the end, once they start going bad they go toxic if left to fester.

"They came back as we expected.." Yet has no plan.

The message of "hang in there" doesn't just go for us, but the mentality is filtered down to our playing group as well.

He has no plan, and the players expect to be dominated. The coach and the playing group have accepted mediocrity.

Are we as supporters meant to accept this too?

I haven't felt such indifference like this in a long time, maybe ever? I expected the Round 1 loss, that is a Scott special every year. However usually I feel we can make it back to competing for finals and make something of the season. Now I feel at 0-3 and with the upcoming draw, the season is basically over?

Nothing excites me about the way we play either. For all the shit Wingard cops for acting like a flog; I wish we had a player capable of what he can do. Our game style is so predictable and boring. We recruited guys like Polec/Hall who should be streaming through the middle or down the wings, taking bounces and hitting up Brown/Ziebell.

I remember watching JLT2 and thinking I can't wait to see Ahern string 20+ games together, now hes languishing in the VFL.

At half time this week I placed a live bet on Hawthorn and went to have a punt, probably the first time in 10+ years I haven't sat through a game. I'm already over this year. Would love to see someone take over in the next few weeks and let the players have a bit more free reign. Respect to Scott for keeping us competitive for quite some time, but I feel that next step is beyond him.

I've kept my powder dry long enough, the signs have been pointing at this for a while, I'll put my hand up and say I left 2018 along with a number of you on here with a sense of hope and optimism heading into such a massive year for our football club, but there have been a list of issues which I've been watching grow since the middle of last season and to be honest the seeds for this were probably sown well before that.

Did the coaching and recruiting teams prepare themselves and our team for life after Jarrod Waite? The number of missed opportunities to develop players or just to even see what they've got to offer is quite astonishing, when Waite was injured last year for the middle part of the season, I thought it was the perfect opportunity to give Larkey, McKay or Durdin a chance to impress or even give them a taste of the action in the knowledge that this position would most likely be available in 2019, what was there to lose, be brave, be bold, but alas by the middle of 2018 we got the same old conservative Brad. Fast forward to 2019 and I cannot believe we're watching Tom Campbell playing in that position, he wasn't the only offender yesterday but he was a massive liability that kept growing as the match went on yesterday, surely this cannot be the way forward.

Our horrendous ability to deal with the opposition small forwards has been an issue for a very long time, the facts are there, each week I look as the opposition smalls and try work out which one(s) will do the damage, the honor role includes on some on more than one occasion Bruest, Wingard, Ronke, Cameron, Walters, Betts, Fantazia, DeGoey, Caddy, Greene, Rioli(s), some Gold Coast randoms, some Bulldogs hack(s), I could sit here all night listing them whilst I have flashbacks of Josh Hill of both Bulldogs and Eagles vintage always saving his best for us. Why is this always happening? Why haven't they addressed the need for some good ol' fashioned defending? McMillan, McDonald and Atley cannot not be depended upon to defend with any consistency from contest to contest, there have been many drafts and rookie drafts to try and address this issue. Marley Williams has had a crack but has been culpable on a number of occasions, EVW is so unlucky, but do we have any guys running around in VFL that could fill this void? We don't know because they never give them the chance.

This beloved club of ours has become stale, it saddens me to say it but I can't avoid the truth anymore, everyone from the top down appears too comfortable with themselves, how can we see how obvious it is whilst the people we trust to make the hard calls put their heads in sand and simply hope it will get better.

Every year I see the same players make the same basic mistakes, they never pay a price, by being made to go back to the lower level and improve, our skills are an absolute embarrassment.

Game by game, year by year I see the same lack of action taken on game day from those who control our destiny, if Plan A doesn't work then you might as well pack it up for the day.

It feels like we're in a infinite loop, like nothing will ever change, and how can i expect things to change when nothing gets changed to start with?

Brad has been a loyal servant, he's effort should always be respected and appreciated, but I don't see how any of the suits at the club can see how a coach who hasn't really delivered any notable success over 10 years will suddenly deliver it in year 11, 12 or 13, 13, 13. (more nightmares)

It is time for change, it is time to move forward, like a bloody Kangaroo can only do.

So do you guys think 0-5 after good friday will finally put heat on brad scott? If that’s what it takes I’ll take it. Still waiting for a petition, get the weak bastard out of our club, not a shinboner and never will be. He even said when he started he wanted to phase the shinboner spirit out of the club, **** you brad 150 years you can’t take our soul out of the club. Give Tudor the rest of the year and sign him on for next year if he performs. LDU needs to be in the middle every game, TT, Ahern and Bailey needs to play every game this year and Watson, Larkey, Murphy, Taylor need game time. We desperately need a coach who cares about the team and club long term

What really bugged me is the comment We just going to keep “hanging on”

I have no idea what Brad stands for anymore. Like what hang in there for another 10th or 9th spot? There is no talk of success, finals, just a “oh well we will fix it”

What I worry about is we are not a big enough club for anyone to care about blowtorching us. The media flogs are just as content and comfortable as our entire footy club is. We lack so much spirit, you can see it in the body language of the players

Kind of wish Brad would just fall on his sword, I think we all as supporters would respect that. We’ve had some good years but **** me, it is TIME

In saying this no matter what we do as supporters I doubt anything will change. The entire board and coaches are all chummy and patting each other on the back, it just won’t happen

So cynical but that’s where I’m at lol