Play Nice Bye Bye Brad [v4.0] - IT'S HAPPENING!!!

• Thread starter Thread starter Mav

If I wasn’t going away I’d follow their lead and peel the North sticker off my car.

You put North stickers on cars in Adelaide?

I have had friends do that in the old West Lake Days Car Park only to return to their car and find it keyed from bumper to bumper

You put North stickers on cars in Adelaide?

I have had friends do that in the old West Lake Days Car Park only to return to their car and find it keyed from bumper to bumper
My brother lives in Collingwood, I’m more worried when I drive over and visit him.

Not a mention on 360, On the Couch spruiking another Dees chat fest. How does he do it? lol

The Melbourne thing on On The Couch is beyond a joke but what do you expect with a panel of four which includes their last coach, a long serving captain and club B&F winner.

Media wise we're a fail. Some would say irrelevent. We're open, but not transparent, and outside of our supporters, no one really cares. Former players are prominent in the media - King, Carey, Dal Santo - but none really get in behind the club. I don't think any are ever asked to. Current players show little charisma on or off the field. As a supporter base we're quiet. Games lack atmosphere and other club supporters would be swarming talk back in our situation.

Yesterday I was listening to Kingy and Gerard and they were talking about all matters non-North when a caller rang in with an excellent question about Brad, lack of player development, most issues covered in this thread etc. Kingy replied with "I feel your pain" and then they cut to the news and that was it. No one cared to answer it properly. A former North player should've come in off the long run the moment he sat behind the mic and shared his "pain" or have spent the night analysing the cause of it. But no. He was happier waffling on about Liam Ryan and the SCG surface.

If Brad's stripes were black instead of blue then the heat would be on. But because he coaches a small club that ruffles no feathers, tries to please everyone and never seriously threatens on field, apathy has grown externally and internally.

The club has totally lost its way. Yeah sure after '07 we had to plant roots and become an integral part of the community. I get that and that's been done very well. But the eye is now so far off the ball I wonder if the ball is a priority anymore. This isn't just sack the coach and we'll be right. There's a growing stench here. Ex-players are disenfranchised, media aren't interested, supporters are losing passion and members feel short changed with the total package they get, players have lost their appetite and the coaches are literally out of answers.

Like most cultural shifts this all happened so slowly that maybe most of us didn't even feel it moving. Did I feel this three weeks ago? Probably yeah but I was optimistic that a good start to the year would fix it all. Unfortunately for Brad, the losses heighten the alarm and are his responsibility, so his culpability in all this is most stark. The point about Dilena and Buckley not wearing a scarf may seem minor, but it all adds up. The soul is eroding and it's not all on Brad.

The Melbourne thing on On The Couch is beyond a joke but what do you expect with a panel of four which includes their last coach, a long serving captain and club B&F winner.

Media wise we're a fail. Some would say irrelevent. We're open, but not transparent, and outside of our supporters, no one really cares. Former players are prominent in the media - King, Carey, Dal Santo - but none really get in behind the club. I don't think any are ever asked to. Current players show little charisma on or off the field. As a supporter base we're quiet. Games lack atmosphere and other club supporters would be swarming talk back in our situation.

Yesterday I was listening to Kingy and Gerard and they were talking about all matters non-North when a caller rang in with an excellent question about Brad, lack of player development, most issues covered in this thread etc. Kingy replied with "I feel your pain" and then they cut to the news and that was it. No one cared to answer it properly. A former North player should've come in off the long run the moment he sat behind the mic and shared his "pain" or have spent the night analysing the cause of it. But no. He was happier waffling on about Liam Ryan and the SCG surface.

If Brad's stripes were black instead of blue then the heat would be on. But because he coaches a small club that ruffles no feathers, tries to please everyone and never seriously threatens on field, apathy has grown externally and internally.

The club has totally lost its way. Yeah sure after '07 we had to plant roots and become an integral part of the community. I get that and that's been done very well. But the eye is now so far off the ball I wonder if the ball is a priority anymore. This isn't just sack the coach and we'll be right. There's a growing stench here. Ex-players are disenfranchised, media aren't interested, supporters are losing passion and members feel short changed with the total package they get, players have lost their appetite and the coaches are literally out of answers.

Like most cultural shifts this all happened so slowly that maybe most of us didn't even feel it moving. Did I feel this three weeks ago? Probably yeah but I was optimistic that a good start to the year would fix it all. Unfortunately for Brad, the losses heighten the alarm and are his responsibility, so his culpability in all this is most stark. The point about Dilena and Buckley not wearing a scarf may seem minor, but it all adds up. The soul is eroding and it's not all on Brad.

Great post MM

Everything points to needing a new aggressive directive from the top down.

There have only been 2x aggressive hunters near the board in 10 years and both have been smoked out. That needs to change.

Eugene Arocca and Ron Joseph.

Yes I agree with you, in the case of Ron Joseph once the Joseph/Brayshaw ticket was successful and the brothers were on The Board I think Ron was too hot for them. Eug was an outstanding appointment for North and his departure probably marked the start of complacency at The Board level. With his departure they did away with a separate CEO and made a Board Member the CEO (effectively a Managing Director) being Carl Dilena. I have always had serious reservations about this model in a NFP, I believe there is separation required between the Board (the members representatives) and Operations for the sake of effective Governance and to provide a buffer between The Board when they have to make hard decisions and them being carried out by the CEO.

Well said

The lack of media care this year is worrying

It’s definitley doesn’t all rest with Brad but we should start there

We need a massive clean out

Just been going through pre season predictions makes for some interesting reading. Majority of posters had us making the finals knowing that B.Scott was the coach and his game plan would never change. So most posters must of had faith in him or the game plan pre season to predict finals.so what changed now before we say because we have lost the first 3 games it does not change the fact that most posters are saying he has been terrible for a long time and others saying he has never been ay good yet still had us playing finals this year with their predictions
I am not backing or knocking him just curious on posters thoughts .

Yes I agree with you, in the case of Ron Joseph once the Joseph/Brayshaw ticket was successful and the brothers were on The Board I think Ron was too hot for them. Eug was an outstanding appointment for North and his departure probably marked the start of complacency at The Board level. With his departure they did away with a separate CEO and made a Board Member the CEO (effectively a Managing Director) being Carl Dilena. I have always had serious reservations about this model in a NFP, I believe there is separation required between the Board (the members representatives) and Operations for the sake of effective Governance and to provide a buffer between The Board when they have to make hard decisions and them being carried out by the CEO.

It's called proper governance

Just been going through pre season predictions makes for some interesting reading. Majority of posters had us making the finals knowing that B.Scott was the coach and his game plan would never change. So most posters must of had faith in him or the game plan pre season to predict finals.so what changed now before we say because we have lost the first 3 games it does not change the fact that most posters are saying he has been terrible for a long time and others saying he has never been ay good yet still had us playing finals this year with their predictions
I am not backing or knocking him just curious on posters thoughts .
I've been pretty generous to Brad, I thought with the new additions and depth and a fresh preseason to shake out the various form slumps of our best 22 I figured this was the year we would be able to be ruthless at selection and also finally able to rotate out players with a suitable replacement.

I was also banking on the team being able to adjust playstyle on the fly, I remember Jed or someone after the 2018 JLT series where we had a terrible showing was quoted as saying something along the lines of "what we were doing wasn't working so we have had to make some changes to the game plan"
It feels like the same thing was attempted this year and we just ran with it. All the games last year that we won were won on the back of a strong methodical kicking style of play, but with the exception of Q1 v hawks we have left that plan on the floor too.

It honestly feels like the coaches believe in a game plan we are unable to execute and they are so stubborn that they aren't willing to make hard calls on players, positions and discipline.
Jed, Maj and Jacobs being out has hurt us a lot too but we have not even tried to put someone else into their roles- nobody we have on the field is demonstrating an ounce of the physicality these guys have to offer which is perplexing as we have a squad of 44 players, and surely it's not that hard to train a professional footy player to attack a contest.

My prediction of 6th was built on the factors of:
-natural player development
-the game plan being built on with added firepower on the wings
-Scott being 6-6-6 ready as he was one of the rule advisers
-depth/selection committee having good options
-the prospect that Brad is up for contract renewal at the end of next season and has a KPI of making finals bearing into that
-the Arden St development, womens team success, VFL team establishment and our 150th year giving an aura of optimism and expectation

But yeah nah, not every game is a must win, so it seems I could be wrong. I mean, we might still get there, 3 losses doesn't spell the end but I'm struggling to find the positive signs.

I did not enjoy clicking like on this one.

What is to be done?