Essendon fans booing.

• Thread starter Thread starter Adz

Respect for who? Who was disrespected? It was a bloody boo. Respect had been shown to the Anzacs at dawn services. If people booed there, that's disrespectful. Booing at a footy game that latches on to Anzacs, and accusing them of being disrespectful to Anzacs as somehow representative of booing Anzacs is a very long reach my friend.
Maybe if you don't promote the ANZAC medal as
"the player in the match considered to best exemplify the ANZAC spirit – skill, courage, self-sacrifice, teamwork and fair play – has been awarded the Medal"

As it is now, you are literally booing the ANZAC spirit by booing Pendles.

Disgusting behaviour by all posters who act like they've never heard booing before. Grow up and go to the football. What a soft generation.

Couldn't give a toss if we get the crap booed out of us by any other fan base. It's sport and it's the fans game, not the medias!
There are times for it
When the president of the rsl is at the mic, or the medal winner of the day, let it pass.

In game or at the umps if you have to

After the siren, it's bad sportsmanship

so you agree anzac medal presentation ceremony 10 minutes after the game is the right time to boo do you?
Any time at a footy match is. Except the minute silence for anzacs.. And even that is something the afl have contrived to link themselves to the anzacs to make themselves feel OK about making money on a day of respect for the anzacs.. Don't play footy on Anzac day if you don't want booing AT THE FOOTY on Anzac day. Hypocrites. Useless ones at that.

Good post.

FWIW the Bombers can gain a lot of positives out of today. Thought they played pretty well.
Yeah, after the 1st qtr I was quite happy with our efforts
If shiel could kick on goal (or raz was playing) reckon we would have won.

That bodes well.

At the end of the day, it's a footy match. You pay your money, you can boo. The elites haven't been able to pass the ' vocal cord removal of the masses ' bill just yet!

We got the rub of the green early from the umps but geez did they make up for it in the last.

OMG. No one booed Pendlebury. Stop twisting it and coming up with a narrative that wasn't there.

Bullshit mate. As soon as his name was called the booing got worse, as it did when he was talking.

Classless losers.

Why does it matter if the umpires had left -i said they were booing the game as a whole. Today was a farce. People were angry & they expressed it. You are completely enforcing my point - the booing was not directed at the individuals, it was a boo to display a total dissatisfaction of the total crap the AFL rolled out today. They ruined it for everyone watching in the stands and on the TV. I can assure you where i was watching the game, as Pendles was making his speech, no one cared what he was saying, we all were talking about what a travesty that final quarter was.

Anger doesnt just disappear when the instigator leaves the room mate - this website and forum is total proof of that. The game finished an hour ago and there are still 100's of people talking about it.
Exactly. And people basically take sides or make assumptions about what people are booing about - like there's several hundred/thousand people there they must have all been booing because of XXX... God if you can't take some booing what the hell do we have left? Angry clapping? Angry facial expressions? Seriously...

The problem at the core is they believe they are above us. And how dare we boo anyone of them. That's it. Well I say get ****ed to that. People boo their own team. Such a stupid discussion and issue the media and the afl and clubs and players have created.

Any time at a footy match is. Except the minute silence for anzacs.. And even that is something the afl have contrived to link themselves to the anzacs to make themselves feel OK about making money on a day of respect for the anzacs.. Don't play footy on Anzac day if you don't want booing AT THE FOOTY on Anzac day. Hypocrites. Useless ones at that.
right fair enough, well my opinions different if that's allowed?

boo all you want during a game what ever, even directly after a game but 10 minutes after a game when there is a medal presentation isnt a good look in my opinion, look at the camera shot of the essendon supporters in the shot when Pendles is speaking as well, yelling and pointing, and they are trying to say they weren't booing Pendles, absolute laugh.

Fact of the matter is, if Essendon won on the last kick of the day, on a dubious free kick/missed free etc, Collingwood fans would have been exactly the same.

It’s not an issue, and it’s vertainly not an Essendon issue

100% true, some of the collingwobbles flogs need to get off their high horse lol