News 2019 St Kilda Media Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Fehring

Just listened to the Bassett/ Barrett interview on the AFL site. Think our president handled it very well. And good on him going and fronting that bloke.

But if it is at all possible my dislike for the Purple knob rose. I know I am biased, but I felt he was snide, condescending and patronising. He had a list of what he obviously considered ‘hard hitting’ questions, and after considered answers just in a bored way said ....’sure’. As if he didn’t really like or consider the responses. Rather than interact properly he just went on to his next what he thought was a probing question. The bloke is not that bright.

Frankly, I can’t see the guy changing his attitude towards us. Well done to the Prez for trying. And I certainly won’t be changing my attitude ..... I absolutely can’t stand him.
He will never change, no. The most we'll get from him would be patronising faint praise with a side of snide resentment.

And that's fine, the guy is a total knob. Him and Kingy are two flogs I would kick off the bandwagon.

SEN this morning...

Mike Sheehan: The Saints appointing Billy Slater was a masterstroke.

Gary or Tim ( can’t remember): What did you feel about it when it first happened?

Mike Sheehan: I didn’t know who he was! :rolleyes: :D

SEN this morning...

Mike Sheehan: The Saints appointing Billy Slater was a masterstroke.

Gary or Tim ( can’t remember): What did you feel about it when it first happened?

Mike Sheehan: I didn’t know who he was! :rolleyes: :D

My good mate worked with Nick Hind before he was drafted and they still catch up regularly. Nick reckons you’ve never seen ego’s until you step foot into an AFL locker room but says that when Billy Slater walks in the players are absolutely star struck and hang off every word he says. There is quite literally a line of players waiting to chat to Billy, about anything from footy to life.
He is having a bigger influence on the players than what has been reported. Brilliant appointment.

I'd say that there is a stigma attached to being outside the private school system when it comes to drafting. The irony is that hearing stories like Eddie Betts making his own way to footy training 45 minutes each way because his family couldn't afford a car and him not even being able to read or write until he became at AFL player suggests it's a narrow viewpoint that doesn't stack up to reality. I'd rather the committed kid who will give his all than a spoiled kid who will just go work in finance or fall back on a degree if footy gets too hard.

Agree with what you are saying although painting all private school kids with the same brush would also be a mistake, Goddard was a private school boy but doesn't fit that stereotype of of not wanting to work hard etc and I'm sure there are plenty others.

The APS I'm guessing is also seen as being at a higher standard then TAC Cup footy although that's a different conversation all together.

I'd say that there is a stigma attached to being outside the private school system when it comes to drafting. The irony is that hearing stories like Eddie Betts making his own way to footy training 45 minutes each way because his family couldn't afford a car and him not even being able to read or write until he became at AFL player suggests it's a narrow viewpoint that doesn't stack up to reality. I'd rather the committed kid who will give his all than a spoiled kid who will just go work in finance or fall back on a degree if footy gets too hard.

There seems to be more and more kids being drafted out of the private school system... I'd love to know how many of those kids began their secondary schooling at a public school before being offered a scholarship.

The APS I'm guessing is also seen as being at a higher standard then TAC Cup footy although that's a different conversation all together.

Highly doubt it. I played APS which speaks to how crap it is. Most of the first teams have a couple of good players who are outside chances of being drafted, a bunch of guys who are OK but nowhere near AFL standard, and a whole other bunch of triers who probably won't play organised footy after school finishes. TAC is miles stronger than that.

My good mate worked with Nick Hind before he was drafted and they still catch up regularly. Nick reckons you’ve never seen ego’s until you step foot into an AFL locker room but says that when Billy Slater walks in the players are absolutely star struck and hang off every word he says. There is quite literally a line of players waiting to chat to Billy, about anything from footy to life.
He is having a bigger influence on the players than what has been reported. Brilliant appointment.
collingwood will probably snatc him from us and pay him a million dollars.

Warnie fmd.

Would only let him.MC a few nights, look after the end of season trips and make him cheersquad President.

He's one of the smartest sporting minds ever and he only accepts winning. Tick and tick.

He makes sweeping statements in the media now because he misses the attention he used to get. Channel his energy the right way and he would be very, very good.

He's one of the smartest sporting minds ever and he only accepts winning. Tick and tick.

He makes sweeping statements in the media now because he misses the attention he used to get. Channel his energy the right way and he would be very, very good.
Commercially he raises the profile of our board and club. He isn’t Shane Warne the supporter of hopeless at Kilda.

He is Shane Warne St Kilda board member cricket legend who is providing a 2:1 for any potential sponsors.

Commercially he raises the profile of our board and club. He isn’t Shane Warne the supporter of hopeless at Kilda.

He is Shane Warne St Kilda board member cricket legend who is providing a 2:1 for any potential sponsors.
Play a game of AFL in India and we have am extra 200 million supporters [emoji106]

Just listened to the Bassett/ Barrett interview on the AFL site. Think our president handled it very well. And good on him going and fronting that bloke.

But if it is at all possible my dislike for the Purple knob rose. I know I am biased, but I felt he was snide, condescending and patronising. He had a list of what he obviously considered ‘hard hitting’ questions, and after considered answers just in a bored way said ....’sure’. As if he didn’t really like or consider the responses. Rather than interact properly he just went on to his next what he thought was a probing question. The bloke is not that bright.

Frankly, I can’t see the guy changing his attitude towards us. Well done to the Prez for trying. And I certainly won’t be changing my attitude ..... I absolutely can’t stand him.
Agree with all this.
Purple kept asking stupid questions which Bassat basically kept saying I am not the CEO! Then he tried questioning his hearing. Bassat just said well they will just repeat themselves if need be. Purple is a flog

?? Was a pretty big hit the last one.

It was quite innocuous, but it would've been immediately known if that knock was worse, as mild TBI (concussion) is distinguished from moderate or severe TBI with some initial tests. It's more likely that he hadn't fully recovered from his last concussion, and perhaps some interplay with the sub-optimal physiological environment due to his diabetes. Quite sad.

Maybe my memory is shite but i thought Longs hip hit his head and then his head hit the ground? I thought he was out before he hit the ground.

In the press conference Richo said “Paddy wants to keep playing”. Richo wasn’t asked whether Paddy’s career is in jeopardy so interesting that Richo volunteered Paddy’s intentions to want to keep playing. It sounds like Paddy has already had he reality check that he may not play again. Poor bugger.

Maybe the poster on here had some good mail.

Said the club had pretty much told him he's done but he said he wanted to wait and get more scans. Problem is he can't have the scans until the symptoms go?