Opinion Matthew Nicks: Adelaide's Coach

Is Matthew Nicks the right coach for Adelaide's rebuild?

• Firmly yes (I love what I'm seeing)

• Leaning yes

• Can't decide either way

• Leaning no (but don't sack him yet)

• Firmly no (he should be sacked)

Results are only viewable after voting.

Yeah but what about the coaching football bit

Yeah, that didn’t go so well

You talk about positive culture but I wonder what that means sometimes. Is it that players are no longer scared? I just see the same culture from the last 10 years

I agree. I think it’s true that Nicks has changed a lot of the tone & tenor of the place, but it hasn’t necessarily added to whole lot different in the end

The players are all professional athletes who would like to make something of their small window of their career.

They can get warm and fuzzies when they’re retired.

I wonder if a few are starting to get jacked off that they aren’t being pushed enough.
Would definitely explain some of the stagnation we are seeing.

Stagnation is something else that is part of our DNA. Players transition from Crusher to Backbone and once they are promoted out of there they put the cue in the rack and coast. Who was the last elite player in their position that we developed? Smith looked it, then had concussions and we've settled for the C+ version. I can't even think of a regular A grade performer in recent times. Sloane and Crouch got there in 2017 after Danger left and then we've embraced lesser versions since. We just don't put it on our senior players to improve past a point or deliver to their higher end.

ROB is the latest one to fall into this trap. He responded immediately after being dropped (showing that his poor form was due to lack of effort) but will likely revert to coasting again now.

we refuse to use selection as a tool to keep senior players honest. I'm not sure why. I'd drop ROB again, he was shit. A day where it's meant to be unclean and he ends up with 1 tackle and zero clearances. But we know he can dish that up for weeks and remain untouchable.

This may not be exclusive to Adelaide but given Jackson Edwards ' just run the lines' comment it seems appropriate

Imagine the sheer joy of Fogarty getting that ball and thinking ' duck this I'm going for it' and kicking it hard enough it lands 2 feet over the line for a great goal

Only for the review to point out that he shouldnt have been that deep in the 1st place , his better option was a handball and what if he missed etc

I see it with Chayce Jones - this mental block of playing football on instinct and curbing those instincts .

Hell even Tex was 'banished' because he wouldnt defend as much as Craig wanted

Imagine dropping Kevin Bartlett because he wouldnt handball

tl;dr maybe our development stifles instinctive talented footballers

This may not be exclusive to Adelaide but given Jackson Edwards ' just run the lines' comment it seems appropriate

Imagine the sheer joy of Fogarty getting that ball and thinking ' duck this I'm going for it' and kicking it hard enough it lands 2 feet over the line for a great goal

Only for the review to point out that he shouldnt have been that deep in the 1st place , his better option was a handball and what if he missed etc

I see it with Chayce Jones - this mental block of playing football on instinct and curbing those instincts .

Hell even Tex was 'banished' because he wouldnt defend as much as Craig wanted

Imagine dropping Kevin Bartlett because he wouldnt handball

tl;dr maybe our development stifles instinctive talented footballers

maybe? It's a rolled gold certainty. That's why we see these glimpses of talent but then the regression or failure to continue improving. Can't help but think Godden does a lot of one on one review work with our players.

The players are all professional athletes who would like to make something of their small window of their career.

They can get warm and fuzzies when they’re retired.

I wonder if a few are starting to get jacked off that they aren’t being pushed enough.
Don't confuse fun and positivity with having low performance standards. They are not exclusive.

Plenty (I'd say most) of high performing organisations focus on a positive culture.

Don't confuse fun and positivity with having low performance standards. They are not exclusive.

Plenty (I'd say most) of high performing organisations focus on a positive culture.

a cohesive group with low performance standards is about the worst work group you can have. You need individuals to challenge the standards, we don't have that because our senior players care only for themselves.

maybe? It's a rolled gold certainty. That's why we see these glimpses of talent but then the regression or failure to continue improving. Can't help but think Godden does a lot of one on one review work with our players.
I can almost post word for word a round 3 comment from next year

''what happened to Rachele - he is shit not worth a pick in the top 20 let alone top 10 - he's gone backwards and is drinking his own bathwater' etc etc

I can almost post word for word a round 3 comment from next year

''what happened to Rachele - he is shit not worth a pick in the top 20 let alone top 10 - he's gone backwards and is drinking his own bathwater' etc etc

what about, "Godden isn't a problem, he's great with the kids and he goes over and above what's expected of him to spend extra time with them helping their development as AFL players".

Drop him again. You keep dropping him until he performs. If he doesn't you trade him.

As much as he's not a sexy player by any stretch of the imagination, you could make a case for Rory Laird filling this criteria.

After all, he's spent a good portion of his career in the AA discussion. Two AAs in 2017 and 2018, AAx40 in 2016 and 2021. On track for an AA spot in 2022 seeing he's improved on 2021 (or at worse, another AAx40 spot).

Though it gets rather thin afterwards, nor does Laird disprove your point as our handling of him was the exception, not the rule.

Even Wikipedia knows Jordan Dawson is a midfielder 🙄

You might be right about Clarkson - I'm not so sure.

But I think if we do go for it both feet in then we have to concede control to him.

Clarkson will not put up with 'this is the Adelaide way'

Edit: And Adelaide wont allow Clarkson full control
I could never see him coming here. plus he would destroy the soft cap.

The question is whether Clarkson would pass the Roo BBQ test. I suspect not.
Who cares. Would Roo pass the Clarko "You need to go before I work at this club test"? I think Clarko wouldn't even consider it unless there were changes to list management and recruiting. Clarko is no Nicks desperate for any AFL head coaching opportunity.

If we hadn’t extended him last year do you reckon we’d be re-signing him right now?

I think so. I know it is cliche but we are the Giants without the high draft picks in their early years. A few decent older players and kids developing. Like all i am frustrated with Crouch’s reinclusion. We looked so much better with Hateley and Berry getting more cbas.
We clearly have a core bunch developing okay.
So yes I think they would resign him today - outside of Crouch not sure anyone else would be doing much different with this squad

Silvers said it himself on 5aa this arvo... (we want a team that will challenge for the 8) really ? Thats it ? pathetic messaging from a leader when he had the chance to pump the club up...
Because he knows we are shyt.

He couldnt even muster up a reply for Rowie we asked about JHF .. yeah we all know its delicate but you can say we want him without actually saying it.

Then he drops the old when i was at the hawks blah blah ...
Grab another beer out the esky at Roos rivershack ya bunch of muppets.

Silvers said it himself on 5aa this arvo... (we want a team that will challenge for the 8) really ? Thats it ? pathetic messaging from a leader when he had the chance to pump the club up...
Because he knows we are shyt.

He couldnt even muster up a reply for Rowie we asked about JHF .. yeah we all know its delicate but you can say we want him without actually saying it.

Then he drops the old when i was at the hawks blah blah ...
Grab another beer out the esky at Roos rivershack ya bunch of muppets.

Anybody with any idea about our club knows that our form of rebuild is purely about creating a list/best 22 capable of challenging for the 8.

Our rebuild is done, it's been done for over 18 months, I posted this back then. This is our culture, it's our DNA. It's about the 4 points this week and scraping into the 8. That is all we strive to achieve.