Coach Do you still have any faith in Bevo? [POLL]

Do you still believe he should coach this side?

Some? You could count them on one hand. As opposed to the 100 that want Bevo’s head every time we lose?

The posts from those wanting to highlight the players being at fault, once every blue moon are insignificant compared to the noise the Bevo critics make after each loss Why do you feel the need to call posts like Lachy’s out but never those that call for blood regardless of whether or not it could be blamed on the coach?

Seems strange that that’s what you take issue with.
Ffs stop with the extremism! There are not "100 that want Bevo’s head every time we lose"!

Read the posts. People are critical of him, but very few actually want him sacked!

Who said that!!!!

Winning or losing is always a combination of both.

Analyse this game and how can you be outcoached. Winning just about every important statistic yet the ones that relate to clangers and missed opportunities.

Gold Coast did not change from the first bounce other than taking the many opportunities we presented.

Winning or losing is always at least 95% on the players either performing to their level or as close as possible. For 6 of the last 8 weeks enough of our players did. Sometimes not having a good enough team means no matter what the players do they will still likely lose.

Geelong lost today at home, that on their premiership coach too, or the Dee's for that matter.

Too many here think coaches have some mythical magical powers. They don't.

Btw that 5% that is the coaches can have some impact no doubt but not tonight

On SM-G996B using BigFooty.com mobile app

So those 95% and 5% stats are backed up by actual metrics, right?

Why do you 2 take everything personally when people criticise the coach? I don't see you in match day threads defending players.

Ended press conference tonight talking about the past 7/8 week run.

Spoke of our improvement in defence which is a positive but remained strong that our offence hasnt been coming along as theyd like it to. "we arent going to score 100 points every week but we feel like we are capable, we have felt like we have left some chances out there"
"Ultimately an encouraging period but certainly not satisfied"

If you think the coaches accept losing or a style of play get real. Theyre as competitive as anyone and want to win.
Its not ideal losing tonight but a lot of clear errors resulted in goals directly from players making trash decisions.

10 seconds left in Q1 dale plays on in D50 kick out doesnt go high to a contest and instead tries to pinpoint a kick to naughton, turnover goal
Obrien misses a simple target in D50 to Odonell, turnover goal
Obrien kicks up the middle down by a point with 2 minutes left to our players who arent set up for the kick, turnover goal.
The list goes on.

Set shot goal kicking needs to be coached better and more consistently we are currently worst in the league and this isnt acceptable.

Spoke of our improvement in defence which is a positive but remained strong that our offence hasnt been coming along as theyd like it to. "we arent going to score 100 points every week but we feel like we are capable, we have felt like we have left some chances out there"

If you think the coaches accept losing or a style of play get real. Theyre as competitive as anyone and want to win.
Its not ideal losing tonight but a lot of clear errors resulted in goals directly from players making trash decisions.

10 seconds left in Q1 dale plays on in D50 kick out doesnt go high to a contest and instead tries to pinpoint a kick to naughton, turnover goal
Obrien kicks up the middle down by a point with 2 minutes left to our players who arent set up for the kick, turnover goal.
The list goes on.

Set shot goal kicking needs to be coached better and more consistently we are currently worst in the league and this isnt acceptable.

I don’t disagree with this, but there’s a view that a) O’Brien shouldn’t be on the field, and b) even if he is, he absolutely shouldn’t be trusted with important kick ins.

How about he’s not in a position to make those ultimately game losing mistakes?

I’m not trying to absolve the players. But let’s have the best players in the right positions so we don’t have these ****ing ridiculous turnovers.

Unfortunately we saw another example of failing to adapt the game plan when the momentum swung, ignoring a necessary tag and not moving players out of positions when they're struggling.

I don’t disagree with this, but there’s a view that a) O’Brien shouldn’t be on the field, and b) even if he is, he absolutely shouldn’t be trusted with important kick ins.

How about he’s not in a position to make those ultimately game losing mistakes?

I’m not trying to absolve the players. But let’s have the best players in the right positions so we don’t have these ******* ridiculous turnovers.
Id agree if we had any other players to use.

Im not sure A.K or Bruce improve our result tonight when G.C are playing fast footy. They are much slower than Obrien/Gardner and honestly arent amazing kicks either.

Buss isnt ready but he will fill this role at some point.

Ive seen all our players cook enough kick ins to honestly not know if anyones that good at it/ Our kick ins generally cause a lot of scores and should be looked at. Apart from maybe Richards.

Bit of both player and coach as always.

Who said that!!!!

Analyse this game and how can you be outcoached. Winning just about every important statistic yet the ones that relate to clangers and missed opportunities.

Gold Coast did not change from the first bounce other than taking the many opportunities we presented.

Winning or losing is always at least 95% on the players either performing to their level or as close as possible. For 6 of the last 8 weeks enough of our players did. Sometimes not having a good enough team means no matter what the players do they will still likely lose.

Geelong lost today at home, that on their premiership coach too, or the Dee's for that matter.

Who said that!!!!

Reminds me of what the Buckley fan boy posters on the Collingwood board used to say ... Coaches don't really matter anyway... It's all the players. Then along came Craig McRae. Same list taken from a couple of games from a wooden spoon to a kick away from a grand final. I can guarantee you Collingwood would be in a full rebuild and slugging it out down with West Coast and North this year if Buckley was still coach.

I'm not saying Bevo is a Buckley coach, just pointing out that you are drastically underestimating a coachs importance.

Id agree if we had any other players to use.

Im not sure A.K or Bruce improve our result tonight when G.C are playing fast footy. They are much slower than Obrien/Gardner and honestly arent amazing kicks either.

Buss isnt ready but he will fill this role at some point.

Ive seen all our players cook enough kick ins to honestly not know if anyones that good at it/ Our kick ins generally cause a lot of scores and should be looked at. Apart from maybe Richards.

Bit of both player and coach as always.

Yep, don’t disagree. It’s wild that we have AA or at least experienced AFL players in the back line and midfield and I keep seeing basic ****ing mistakes in decisions and/or execution.

Nobody can be perfect in a game like this, but avoiding horrific turnovers at stupid times in the game has to be a higher priority for this team. That’s player execution but it’s based on culture set by the coach.

So those 95% and 5% stats are backed up by actual metrics, right?

Why do you 2 take everything personally when people criticise the coach? I don't see you in match day threads defending players.

Lachy’s coached high level local senior football. He’d have a far better understanding of the topic than most in here.

We'd won 7 out of the last 8 prior to this, with the only loss coming against the hottest team in the comp at their home ground.

We lost this game by 7 points in tropical conditions against a team who trains in similar weather 3-4 months of the year.

Time to stop sooking, take a massive chill pill and move the heck on.

The list goes on.

You can also add Liam Jones in the first quarter not rushing a point and taking it out for a throw in in d50 which they scored directly from.

Bevo was not the issue last night we dominated every aspect of the game we could've except the scoreboard which is 100% on the players.

For the ones also bringing selection up as the issue did you not watch the VFL?

You can also add Liam Jones in the first quarter not rushing a point and taking it out for a throw in in d50 which they scored directly from.

Bevo was not the issue last night we dominated every aspect of the game we could've except the scoreboard which is 100% on the players.

For the ones also bringing selection up as the issue did you not watch the VFL?
Players do hold some of the responsibility but so does the coach. Smith was assigned Cripps a few backs, played close to him and nullified his clearances and then ran off. Was good coaching. Last night he should have gone onto Rowell to lock him down. He also should have used Naughton who was getting smashed by Ballard as a decoy to get Ballard away. Blame is on both, we win if we lock down on Rowell.

Just as an aside and the odd suggestion that Gia (or insert former player here) would be good as coach etc, how many former players have returned to their clubs in recent times and been successful coaches there.

I can think of 7 recent examples, only two of whom were successful (and then only once), and only one of whom would be described as a favourite son (before winning a flag anyway)

Worsfold - success
Bevo - success
Hird - that was some sorta bust
Ratten - bust
Voss - bust
Lepa - bust
Buckley - bust
Clarkson - TBC at norf but probs a bust

but

Lethal - 4 flags at clubs he never played for
Clarkson - 4 flags at a club he never played for
Hardwick - 3 flags at a club he never played for
Thompson - 2 flags at a club he never played for
Scott - 2 flags at a club he never played for
Goodwin, Simpson and Roos - 1 flag at a club they didn't play for

Worsfeld and Bevo - 1 flag at a club they played for

In fact, it's as rare as hens teeth for a former player to win a flag as senior coach at the same club, and if you want multiple flags .... forget it.

So I pose the question. Why? Do Worsfeld and Bevo have something in common that sets them apart as former players coaching their old club? Do the many busts also have something in common?

The list goes on.

Thats been happening for many seasons now. I have zero faith it will be addressed Its likely not even on Beveridge's radar. He seems to believe that as long as the opportunities get created, then that's all he can do and ask. F that. The players need to be told that's its not acceptable for professional footballlers to do that and they need to own it and fix it, or they get dropped. But that won't happpen as Bevo has too high of an emotional IQ.

This is a long bow to draw. It didn't sound like it in his presser.

I read that the players need to be told this and told that a lot on here. How do we we know that they aren't being told and/or shown the very things you mention.

Let's not forget that encouragement, positive reinforcement and repetition is the one of the better ways of teaching anything and that there is also a degree of patience required in the mastery of anything. Are the personnel exactly the same over these many seasons?

And they get dropped...for who? And they (the players) don't want to improve or want to work hard enough to improve because if they did they'd be better by now? You show the guy the technique and then it's practice and repetition but what you can't replicate, other than through experience, is doing it under pressure, fatigued in front of 80 000 people with the game on the line.

This is a long bow to draw. It didn't sound like it in his presser.

I read that the players need to be told this and told that a lot on here. How do we we know that they aren't being told and/or shown the very things you mention.

Let's not forget that encouragement, positive reinforcement and repetition is the one of the better ways of teaching anything and that there is also a degree of patience required in the mastery of anything. Are the personnel exactly the same over these many seasons?

And they get dropped...for who? And they (the players) don't want to improve or want to work hard enough to improve because if they did they'd be better by now? You show the guy the technique and then it's practice and repetition but what you can't replicate, other than through experience, is doing it under pressure, fatigued in front of 80 000 people with the game on the line.

He either hasn't addressed it or doesn't know how to fix it because its been happening for years.

And no not its not the same players.

But it IS the same coach.

Its comes down to either how he manages the situation with the players or its an outcome of how he chooses to play. I'd love to see Beveridge's teams FWD50 efficiency over the journey at the club.

We'd won 7 out of the last 8 prior to this, with the only loss coming against the hottest team in the comp at their home ground.

We lost this game by 7 points in tropical conditions against a team who trains in similar weather 3-4 months of the year.

Time to stop sooking, take a massive chill pill and move the * on.
This.

He either hasn't addressed it or doesn't know how to fix it because its been happening for years.

Its comes down to either how he manages the situation with the players or its an outcome of how he chooses to play. I'd love to see Beveridge's teams FWD50 efficiency over the journey at the club.
2022 9th
2021 1st
2020 6th
2019 7th

The weekend was atrocious but since rnd 2 this year we're ranked 7th in the league (prior to the Suns game).

I simply don't accept that. We are talking about set shot kicking for goal as you highlighted initially.

And the players currently responsible for most of this inaccuracy are very young (JUH, Weightman and Jones) and reasonably young (Naughts). My contention is that they are all works in progress subject to fatigue, pressure and expectation as young people. They are honing their craft under the glare and spotlight of huge live audiences and in most cases and with most players, experience, exposure to and ultimately maturation in those situations teaches them how to cope with it between the ears. And let's face it, a significant amount of set shot success is between the ears and routine.

It may be that they execute extremely well and accurately in practice under practice conditions. However, in games, there are added pressures and levels of fatigue that can affect them physically and their concentration levels as young people.

Dickson for us and Mihocek for the Pies were and are extremely reliable set shots (it's hard to think of more reliable ones). Both came to their respective clubs as mature agers who'd honed their technique and routine away from the AFL spotlight and their maturity upon entry allowed them to focus on the task at hand in a way that is the envy of most fwds in the comp.

Hipwood has been in the system for forever and is a shocking set shot across a number of coaches. But most recently ****. How much do we sheet home to him. Jeremy Cameron couldn't kick goals or perform under pressure in big matches early in his career at GWS but now he's the second coming.

I think it's extremely unlikely that goal kicking and set shot kicking isn't a focus for our forwards and that Bevo is indifferent to it.

I believe it's a time and maturation issue (physical and mental) as much as anything and probably more than anything.

According to the poll at the head of this page, more want him sacked than want him to remain.
Probably dates back to round 2. People don't bother to change their vote if they've changed their mind or even come on this thread. You might as well remove it and start again.

I reckon those figures are relevant going back to Rd1 of last year. A lot of supporters expressing similar sentiment across the 37 different Bevo threads started since then.

With the half way mark of the season upon us, I've come to the conclusion that Beveridge has done pretty well so far, given the list he has at his disposal.
He has too many B and C graders, supporting a handful of A graders. He has persevered with quite a number of C graders in the hope that their development and exposure will pay off. Can't say any of them have improved to the next level, and a some of them gone further backwards.
His list is stagnant and there is absolutely nothing coming through the seconds. The cupboard is bare.
After an article in the Age today, I've read between the lines and Bev almost says that his coaching support is also sub-standard.
So, all things considered, he's done a good job and I expect us to be marginally better at the end of the year than we were at the end of last season.

Coach Do you still have any faith in Bevo? [POLL]

Write your reply...