AFLW West Coast Womens 2025

• Thread starter Thread starter Biggie

Squad's in. Pretty much just added Hooker and put the emergencies in. Suspect when they name the actual team tomorrow it'll be the same team as last week but maybe Hooker will come in for Lindgren and the emergencies will stay the same

The fact that I can look at our list now and not actively worry/cringe at our selections is a gooooood sign.

Still stuck with the Sunday graveyard match.

Guessing that Hooker in, Lindgren out is the only change.

They seemed pretty happy with Riggs presenting as a target up forward last week so I assume she'll be spending most of here time there.

Rentsch's contributions in driving the play forward are still a work in progress but defensively and tackling she's terrific. I wonder if she can be used to try to stop some of Scholz' follow-up work after the tap. Last week she had 710 metres gained which is a crazy high number for women's footy. She'll win most of the taps but her other work is where she can take over if allowed to.

At the rate the top kids are pouring through the draft, there will be some very good AFLW players who will go from hero to zero very quickly. I mean, look at how good our four draft kids were from last year. Another four this year, another four the year after... pretty soon they'll have replaced half the existing team. That's a LOT of very talented players who won't be able to get a game.
So, who do we delist at the end of this year to make way for them. There will be some interesting decisions made then.

They seemed pretty happy with Riggs presenting as a target up forward last week so I assume she'll be spending most of here time there.

Rentsch's contributions in driving the play forward are still a work in progress but defensively and tackling she's terrific. I wonder if she can be used to try to stop some of Scholz' follow-up work after the tap. Last week she had 710 metres gained which is a crazy high number for women's footy. She'll win most of the taps but her other work is where she can take over if allowed to.
Hate to say it, as I know she is a favourite, but Kavanagh for Rowley has to be a possibility. 6 possessions and she played a big chunk of midfield minutes. Kavanagh didn't set the world on fire first game, but, first game. We need to see more, and I don't know who else comes out for her.

However, no change is still most likely outcome.

So, who do we delist at the end of this year to make way for them. There will be some interesting decisions made then.

I reckon there’ll be some retirements - Smith, Gibson, maybe one of Hooker or Swanson.

Probably a bit of a question about whether McDonald plays on too.

That would give us a bit of room to play with before we have to start delisting.

I reckon there’ll be some retirements - Smith, Gibson, maybe one of Hooker or Swanson.

Probably a bit of a question about whether McDonald plays on too.

That would give us a bit of room to play with before we have to start delisting.
Yeah, pretty much. Drennan, Hosking, Lindgren, McDonald, Western, Hooker, Smith, Bakker... without any knowledge of their situations, it's hard to say, but there's plenty on the outer, either because they haven't been playing great, or are getting old, etc.

But then, Smith is great, she could remind us all just how great when she comes back, and play for another five years... who knows? The game's definitely catching up with Hooker and Drennan though, they're as fit as ever but everyone's just so fast and strong now. Rentsch is Hooker's young equivalent, and I don't think Hooker would fare well on her if they scrimmaged against each other.

And Franklin will go too if she doesn't improve, because there are plenty of kids coming through who want that spot... but she'll get a reprieve for a while yet, I think, because there's others you'd cut first. I reckon Gibbo's in no danger yet, either, because we're so short of forwards, and she's still looking okay.

The big thing I want to see is Lewis in the midfield, instead of being stuck in the forward line. She was huge for us in the last quarter against the Saints, some massive clearances that led to goals. We're so much better with her on the ball.

Unchanged from last week. Hooker first emergency. We are so...very...tall.

Roberts, Rentsch and Painter in the guts could easily be our midfield for the next 10 years and I still think we got a couple more drafts to go until we start making a real fist at finals. That's scary.

Absolutely sizzlin' Rentsch and Painter are so good already... Get 2 more seasons into them and 🥳👌 I'll be heavy on Big Riggz watch, she was getting some really good looks at it v the Saints, her movements and athleticism are there it's a matter of experience/development before she starts clunking and sailing snags through.

Interesting that Hooker wasn't straight in after missing last week for personal reasons. If she's struggling to make the squad at this time it might be tough for her to play on next year (when she'll be 35). The interstate trips lasting more than a week can also be tough with a baby and an older one in school.

If this ends up being her last year and she wants to stay involved with the club hopefully they will have some kind of role waiting for her in retirement.

Love that it's unchanged.
Girls got a good win, let them go to back it up.
Another game into Riggs.

Bring on Sunday!

AND, Lewis named on the bench as part of the midfield rotation, rather than in the forward line. Obviously, you can't trust the positions they publish, but from what we saw last week I reckon it means she's a proper midfielder again now.

Roberts, Rentsch, Painter and Lewis is about as talented a top four mids as anyone has. Need another year or two together to start clicking, but fun to watch.

AND, Lewis named on the bench as part of the midfield rotation, rather than in the forward line. Obviously, you can't trust the positions they publish, but from what we saw last week I reckon it means she's a proper midfielder again now.

Roberts, Rentsch, Painter and Lewis is about as talented a top four mids as anyone has. Need another year or two together to start clicking, but fun to watch.
Our problem is we still need at least one and maybe two of that group forward at any one time in order to threaten the goals. Really hoping to see Lindgren find her feet and become a threat. If Dalgleish, Lindgren, Wakfer and Rigg can start hitting the goals, our midfield becomes more dangerous immediately.

Yep, unfortunately we are just gonna have to grin and bear it til we develop some genuine key forwards. However, having the versatility of 2 high calibre mid/forwards is great in terms of being able to throw either of them forward if for nothing but to shake a tag or disrupt the oppos structures. So while it may be out of necessity RN, it provides us utility down the line.

2754.png
I am NOT accustomed to being tipped favourites against good sides. Looks like nobody rates the purps this year coming off the last few thrashings from fast moving teams off half back 😬.

View attachment 2417954
I am NOT accustomed to being tipped favourites against good sides. Looks like nobody rates the purps this year coming off the last few thrashings from fast moving teams off half back 😬.
10-0 for a Doggies side that went down, ouch.

Also, game day thread is up:

Going to watch the AFLW Freo game as we play them next week as well (nice and spicy after what just happened to the mens).

See how go after the belting they got last week.

Going to watch the AFLW Freo game as we play them next week as well (nice and spicy after what just happened to the mens).

See how go after the belting they got last week.
Tight contest, will be interesting to see if Swans pull any levers and if Freo can go with them in the 2nd half

Levers pulled and Purps have no answer.

I'm seeing a lot of similarities with the swans to how we play. The Round 11 match against them should be an absolute cracker.

Levers pulled and Purps have no answer.

I'm seeing a lot of similarities with the swans to how we play. The Round 11 match against them should be an absolute cracker.
Couldn't agree more 😎 bring it on!

I do believe they have a better list though, god I want a Zippy Fish and a Chloe Molloy