Player Watch Pick #12 (2018) - Zak Butters

• Thread starter Thread starter Forzaport

Butters is not the sort of guy to mess around with weasel words. I reckon he is honest when he says he will test drive the Carr before making a decision. If we finish somewhere in the top six, he stays. If we have a similar season to 2025 he will walk.
Probably has a bit to do with $ as well. He wants to make 100% sure we pay him every cent of what he's worth, and good on him.

Get over it! The AFL is a professional sport, for goodness sake.

It is something that EVERY top player goes through. They will ALL have massive offers thrown at them, and will go through media speculation as they weigh up their options - Think Dusty et-al ... Frankly, they would be stupid not to!

That is why I think Carr & Co have taken a great approach - Focus on making a great environment at the club, making it a place that he wants to stay in.
Our offer will be as good as any club will offer Zack.
That is an absolute certainty, it’s all about success either at Port or somewhere else.

Butters is not the sort of guy to mess around with weasel words. I reckon he is honest when he says he will test drive the Carr before making a decision. If we finish somewhere in the top six, he stays. If we have a similar season to 2025 he will walk.
I’d agree he’s a person of his word and he will honor his contract.
You don’t get that a lot in today’s footy.

Listening to Zak in the most recent interview, it felt like he was happy with our off-field changes. There really is a good vibe coming out of the club atm, every Port supporter I've spoken to is really positive about next season so it's no surprise the players are the same.

Too bad everyone in the media and the youtubes are already writing off Port based on vibes. 🤣

I wonder if on draft nights we will get any clues at which clubs could try for Butters :think:

Such as
  • a clubs trading picks from 2025 to 2026 or
  • big clubs like Cats / Collingwood drafting good South Australian players to add into the trade mix (e.g. Cats getting Phillipou to add with their 3 x 1st round pick offer)
Hawthorn positioned themselves very nicely for 2026 with getting 2 x 2nd round picks for bugger all difference on the 1st night of the draft. Before that they traded out their 2026 3rd Rd pick.

Between Pick 4 and 5
Hawthorn receives: Pick 18
Brisbane receives: Pick 21 and 2026 Round 3 .... OUT for Hawks, a likely pick around 50

Between Pick 13 and 14
Pick Swap
GWS receive: Pick 14
Hawthorn receives: Pick 16 and 2026 Round 2 .... IN for Hawks a likely pick in the low to mid 30's

Between Pick 16 and 17
Pick Swap
West Coast receives: Pick 17
Hawthorn receives: Pick 18 and 2026 Round 2 .... IN for Hawks a likely pick in the low 20's

Still wonder what it would be like if he was given the number 1 to wear.
Captains have walked out on clubs before.

Probably the main reason why he was overlooked for Rozee as captain was because he wasn't prepared to commit long term.

From memory both Rozee and Butters had signed their most recent contracts prior to the Captain and Vice Captain announcements. I don't think offering the captaincy would've changed Butters decision to only commit for two years. But if Butters had signed the same deal as Rozee he would've been my choice and would've made the decision for the club a lot harder.

I think it is pretty clear that he is strongly considering a return home and the club would've known that when they went with Rozee.

Captains have walked out/attempted to walk out on clubs before but it is not something that would sit well with me. The Merrett situation at Essendon was a mess and still probably is, would be best to avoid something like that.

Reeks of the soft easy decision typical of the Hinkley/Koch/Boak era. Rozee isn't ever going anywhere. His life is way too cushy here marrying into an OAF and having his favourite jeweller on beck and call. Butters is proper Captain material, they were just too scared to appoint him instead of backing the best man.

July 22nd, 2026: "Having watched Dougie Cochran play in the SANFL this year, I cannot wait to play alongside him" - Zac Butters, as he signs a monster 9 year extension.

well they got rid of the old bogan bumbling around the place with lolly teeth telling everyone to "work hardery"