Religion Bondi shooting - 16 confirmed dead at Jewish event

being very urban, I can't understand why a farmer needs more than 10 guns. Presumably he is trying to kill an animal for some reason. Maybe a kangaroo, or a wombat, or some small marsupial...or a pig...or a tasmanian tiger...

does each animal require its own particular kind of gun?

Yes. It’s illegal to kill a deer with the same gun as a rabbit etc etc etc

In case a kangaroo steals nine of guns the farmer has a 10th gun thereby out thinking the marsupial.

well i didnt think of that. Although I'm speculating that you might be joking, perhaps farmers are forgetful and might lose their guns from time to time..... or they're in the outside dunny away from the main homestead and a marsupial appears at the dunny door and requires shooting, and so a gun needs to be permanently stationed behind the bowl.

Many American active shooters have been radicalized. Just not in the way we saw at Bondi. The same could not happen here. Handguns in the hands of gang members are responsible for the highest proportion of gun deaths in USA. Its not easy to get a Handgun legally in Australia.
IIRC, the highest cause of gun death in America is suicide.

So every gun club member can have their guns, but they have to be stored securely on site. Solved.

I'm not in favour of beating up on any sector of the community, but the convenience of these people with their inordinate fetish for lethal machines should be shoved way down the list of concerns.
Sport shooting enthusiasts should have as much rights as the geeks wanting real swords to use on their medieval dress up days.

IIRC, the highest cause of gun death in America is suicide.
TRIGGER WARNING

Just to fill this out a bit given it’s my area of expertise, suicide rates have been relatively stable over the past 25 years in Australia. However there has been a dramatic change in the method since the 1996 reforms. Hanging is now by far the most common method of suicide, and males are as always disproportionately affected.

S3_GRIM 02.png

Poor old Susan can’t get the timing and intonation right. Fake anger is hard to pull off when you’re not a trained actor.

Margaret, it’s a half a star out of 5 performance from me.

Ohh bad numerology, it’s Sussan … she needs the extra ‘s’

So wouldn't you focus on excluding those minute groups of people who are prone to using them irresponsibly, rather than blanket removal of liberties? Be targted in your approach?

Because many of the proposed reforms would not have done anything to prevent Bondi, and yet i see plenty of city types all ignorantly supporting them. If the aim is to stop another Bondi....why arent the proposed changes to Gun laws targeted in that manner? and why isn't there more investment in targeting, monitoring, deporting and rehabilitating those involved with radicalization?
Many of the proposed actions to prevent antisemitism won’t do anything to prevent a massacre either.

You ask “why isn’t isn't there more investment in targeting, monitoring, deporting and rehabilitating those involved with radicalization”, and there will now no doubt be plenty more of that in future, but if you’re implying we’re not already doing plenty of that, you’re wrong.

You’re proposing increased scrutiny of people on the basis of their religion. As an atheist, I think that’s incredibly reckless, specially when a quarter of the worlds population follow one of those religions.

I’m proposing that a group of people who have been unduly privileged in society, gun owners, are told to just get back in their box and stop acting like some sort of entitled elite. Because when the thing they want easy access to causes violence and mayhem, it does so to a truly awful degree.

The purpose of guns is to kill or maim. That should be at the start of every discussion about guns.

I've been giving money to Doctors without Borders (MSF) for a number of years now. I do it, in part, to help repair some of the damage done by Israelis in Gaza.

Israel is in the process of freezing MSF out of Gaza. I'm not happy. If someone were to express their love for Israel in front of me, I might disagree. Will that be legal in Australia in the future?

Many of the proposed actions to prevent antisemitism won’t do anything to prevent a massacre either.

You ask “why isn’t isn't there more investment in targeting, monitoring, deporting and rehabilitating those involved with radicalization”, and there will now no doubt be plenty more of that in future, but if you’re implying we’re not already doing plenty of that, you’re wrong.

You’re proposing increased scrutiny of people on the basis of their religion. As an atheist, I think that’s incredibly reckless, specially when a quarter of the worlds population follow one of those religions.

I’m proposing that a group of people who have been unduly privileged in society, gun owners, are told to just get back in their box and stop acting like some sort of entitled elite. Because when the thing they want easy access to causes violence and mayhem, it does so to a truly awful degree.

The purpose of guns is to kill or maim. That should be at the start of every discussion about guns.

So you agree then, that the proposed gun reforms wont prevent a massacre? Wow!

I'm proposing increased scrutiny of small, radicalized segments of many groups who cause mayhem because of their ideology. It has no place in our society. Yes, this would include some religious groups, it would also include white supremacist groups, sov cits, far left groups and many others.

The gun only causes 'violence and mayhem' when in the hands of a radicalized nutter, just like a car is harmless until a deranged lunatic decides to mow people down in Bourke St. Comparatively worldwide we have significantly low gun violence rates and some of the toughest gun laws that are about to get tougher....i dont see that as being "unduly privilaged".

If you ever want to come out on a hunt with me mate, i'd be happy to take you and show you how 99.99999% of gun owners treat their elite privilege. I honestly think you have very little concept of reality in this space, as do most city dwelling left leaning head wobblers.

I think you've missed what I meant, but the reason why I think it's sad is that you don't see people coming together as the correct response.

You don't like it when I psychoanalyse posters, so I'll refrain from doing it here. Just, people look at that George Castanza quote from Seinfeld - "It's not a lie if you believe it" - as a negative when in reality it just illuminates how powerful any one of us can be if we believe.

And I'm not talking about religious belief. Those people giving blood - a part of themselves - believe in the idea of Australia. I'm a bit sad that you don't seem to.
The Australian “spirit” is absolutely something worth defending. But we can our own worst enemy sometimes; our supposed laid back attitude has a tendency to appear at the worst times. Again, giving blood is a good thing. My issue is when these heart warming headline grabbers (much like the lionising of a local hero - no matter how much it’s deserved) become the perceived solution to a problem - a problem that we individual citizens are fairly powerless to solve. Like sure, make an online and get a needle. Big bloody deal.

It’s like the way we are sometimes expected to tackle climate change. Remember Earth Hour where we all turned our lights off at the same time? It’s not a terrible idea to get the population to be more conscious of our energy usage. But fixing our climate is a mammoth task that we can’t fix as individuals. We need governments to step in and say “we’re making big changes, and many of you aren’t going to like them”. But they’re the ones who keep letting us down. And they will never do the right thing so long as that would cost them votes.

You really are a terrible troll.

actually I think i'm pretty good compared to most of the people who post in this thread, although I particularly like the wise sage types who know just about everything. Me wonders why they spend so much time educating a small cohort of people in a footy forum. The other fascinating type is the israel lover, who professes israel's right to kill children to protect itself. I represent a group of 5 year olds that get terrorised by people in tanks, so I understand that I might have a limited audience.

The Australian “spirit” is absolutely something worth defending. But we can our own worst enemy sometimes; our supposed laid back attitude has a tendency to appear at the worst times. Again, giving blood is a good thing. My issue is when these heart warming headline grabbers (much like the lionising of a local hero - no matter how much it’s deserved) become the perceived solution to a problem - a problem that we individual citizens are fairly powerless to solve. Like sure, make an online and get a needle. Big bloody deal.

It’s like the way we are sometimes expected to tackle climate change. Remember Earth Hour where we all turned our lights off at the same time? It’s not a terrible idea to get the population to be more conscious of our energy usage. But fixing our climate is a mammoth task that we can’t fix as individuals. We need governments to step in and say “we’re making big changes, and many of you aren’t going to like them”. But they’re the ones who keep letting us down. And they will never do the right thing so long as that would cost them votes.
There's a marked difference between giving blood and turning your lights off, ElectricG.

So you agree then, that the proposed gun reforms wont prevent a massacre? Wow!

I'm proposing increased scrutiny of small, radicalized segments of many groups who cause mayhem because of their ideology. It has no place in our society. Yes, this would include some religious groups, it would also include white supremacist groups, sov cits, far left groups and many others.

The gun only causes 'violence and mayhem' when in the hands of a radicalized nutter, just like a car is harmless until a deranged lunatic decides to mow people down in Bourke St. Comparatively worldwide we have significantly low gun violence rates and some of the toughest gun laws that are about to get tougher....i dont see that as being "unduly privilaged".

If you ever want to come out on a hunt with me mate, i'd be happy to take you and show you how 99.99999% of gun owners treat their elite privilege. I honestly think you have very little concept of reality in this space, as do most city dwelling left leaning head wobblers.
LOL the overwhelming majority of Australians are city dwellers so that’s not quite the sick burn you might think it is.

Also, in a democracy, the majority tends to get the final say. That’s just how it is and that ain’t changing, coz we all love democracy.

And incidentally, an overwhelming majority of Australians are in favour of tighter gun controls, so better get used to it.

When I called gun owners “unduly privileged” I’m referring to the fact that they’re allowed to participate in civil debate without acknowledging up
front that the things they’re talking about easing access to, are devices for killing and maiming.

No I don’t agree the proposed new guns laws won’t prevent a massacre.

That’s something no-one can predict, and the best anyone can do is take sensible steps to prevent most circumstances.

And given gun owners’ quasi-religious fetishisation of their lethal apparatuses, I’m not convinced they should be our first port of call for suggestions of sensible steps.

I seem to have set you off kilter a little with my antipathy to these hugely dangerous objects. It’s great that you appear to be level headed with one in your hands.

But the purpose of guns is to kill or maim, and we’re being wildly reckless towards the safety of our Australian community if we let very many people easily access killing devices.

Religion Bondi shooting - 16 confirmed dead at Jewish event