2026 Pre-Season Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Mr Ripper

Hi Section 5, I am afraid the Grasshopper is correct on this one, the technology definitely exists, but it is not a chip in the ball. It is a combination of 8k cameras positioned around the ground that capture and measure everything in real time, including distance travelled by the ball or player, out of bounds, kissing the post, and super close up vision of everything.
The guy In the industry i was listening to said both the NRL and the AFL were looking and Champion Data are introducing their version this season I think I heard, but the kicker is, it is very expensive.
This tech can pick the infringement quicker than the umpire but it requires another umpire who is operating the system to relay the decision to the on field umpire.

I think the below link is the one that the AFL are interested in. I could be wrong though.
Maybe it's all the other stuff that come with it they are interested in also.

I am all for the AFL trying something new like with Sportable a few years ago or a different model like Vello Technologies

I don't want to put much faith in automatic decisions over things like slight finger touches even though we do that in some goal reviews already, but it takes time. A few others i have previously mentioned.

Relaying the decision from a off field umpire to an on-field umpire does not sound great to be honest, if that's correct.

I would settle on getting the present review system correct and quicker no matter the system. That's the most important part, the scoreboard. This would also slightly reduce game time.

Scoring is the aim of the game in any sport to determine a result.

I think the below link is the one that the AFL are interested in. I could be wrong though.
Maybe it's all the other stuff that come with it they are interested in also.

I am all for the AFL trying something new like with Sportable a few years ago or a different model like Vello Technologies

I don't want to put much faith in automatic decisions over things like slight finger touches even though we do that in some goal reviews already, but it takes time. A few others i have previously mentioned.

Relaying the decision from a off field umpire to an on-field umpire does not sound great to be honest, if that's correct.

I would settle on getting the present review system correct and quicker no matter the system. That's the most important part, the scoreboard. This would also slightly reduce game time.

Scoring is the aim of the game in any sport to determine a result.

That looks and sounds very much like what was explained in the interview. This system makes the ARC obsolete, as there will be no need for a review, with any result needed delivered in real time, that is a lot of time and frustration saved right there.

Greg Swann has been over at the Super Bowl looking at the tech and how the NFL is using it, so I guess it is happening.

Cody had the same knock on him as Morris. Both were considered poor runners and not very fast.

Morris - 2024 debut - premiership
Gallop - 2025 debut - premiership
Curtin ?

Morris - 2024 debut - premiership
Gallop - 2025 debut - premiership
Curtin ?
it very early in the peace, but I have a good feeling about Curtain. It looks like he can leap, which with the new ruck rules is a great quality, as unfortunately experience and craft will count for less. With Draper always a bit of a question mark because of past injury woes (until he strings a good number of games under his belt), he could get a run sooner rather than later. But mostly because he seems to have a bit of physicality about him. I reckon that's what's holding Henry Smith back, but what i think Gallup has and hopefully Curtain is showing in the few glimpses I've got of him. Blokes who are not just tall but throw their weight around like big men. Bigger than his little older brother, too

Curtin not Curtain

Attended training Wednesday 11/02/2026
I arrived at 8.10 am. Temp 25.2 C (29.4 C) Training finished at 10.00 am. Temp 30.0 C (33.9 C)
Rehab- Payne, Hippy & a couple of others?
On their own – Answerth running, Rayner looked fine but did not do a great deal and left early.
Did not see Draper but he may have been there watching.
Linc & Lloyd did a bit of running under the eyes of the trainer but joined the main group after about 30 minutes.

Overall, i think this was their easy track session of the week. No running drills.
Also, no match sims which means the few photos i took can’t be classed as action shots.
Warm up and then kicking the ball around, nothing really structured. Lots of talk and banter.
Then the players split into 3 groups. Each group had a go at the 3 exercises
  1. - Slowly controlling the ball on the ground and getting a handball out to teammates. Opponent hanging off them waiting to tackle.
  1. - Short kick from the boundary infield. Mark and another short kick or handball forward then longer to forward line to leading player
  1. - Handball drills 6 v 6 in a small space like the center square. Aim get ball to other side
A touched player is a turnover. Then they changed it to a tackle is a turnover

Then players split into 2 groups. Each group got a go at the main drill
  1. - This group just kicking forward to goals, handballing, leading & marking. Anything with some movement waiting to be called to main exercise.
  1. - 12 v 12 across the ground covering about 1/3 of the oval. Aim to get from FB to FF without losing possession. If you lose possession, the other team starts from their end with the same objective. Also, when possession is lost, you have to go from attack to defense very quickly as the ball comes back into play immediately.
Lots of short kicks and handballs then a longer kick to FF
Next, they repeated the previous drill, but extended the playing area to 2/3 of the oval but still across the ground
Kicks become longer and more handball receives with the extra room to move.
Next up was the last 20 minutes of the session so a bit of a warm down with a few structured things happening.

Two types of long kicks to marking contests.
One is just a contested type of exercise with 2 or more players contesting the mark.
The other they used that padded dummy type thing that some poor guy wears so someone can take a big mark off his head and knee him in his back

Also, there were a few one-on-one instructions happening in front of me. Senior players instructing younger players
Fort & Curtin looked mostly about footwork positioning. No pushing up against each other.
Froggy and Torrent looked mostly about body work then pushing off your opponent.
Berry instructing Annable on footwork required when sitting under a high ball. Trainer kicked it high for Annable to mark with Berry observing. Berry clapping Annable when he did it to his satisfaction. That was only about 20% of the time.
Observations
Annable looks the goods and moves smoothly over the ground. We just need to see how he goes in the 2 trial games.

I just did not have enough time to give an opinion on all the other new young guys.
It's a hard team to break into so they have time to settle in and show what they got.

We all know that Oscar Allen is a good player. He appeared to struggle to get into a good position. I suppose the Lions play a different brand of footy to the Eagles. Let's see how he goes v Blues and Saints. He will fit in at some stage.

Darcy Gardiner looked very sharp in some drills and looked in great shape.

Darcy Gardiner looked very sharp in some drills and looked in great shape.”

Love this Section 5

Great stuff S5! Cheers for all that.

I think we have to be prepared for our forward line to look a bit clunky for a few weeks while Allen comes to grips with our system. Maybe even til the bye. Hopefully we are able to win enough games in that time to stay afloat in the race for a top 4 or top 6 spot.

Great stuff S5! Cheers for all that.

I think we have to be prepared for our forward line to look a bit clunky for a few weeks while Allen comes to grips with our system. Maybe even til the bye. Hopefully we are able to win enough games in that time to stay afloat in the race for a top 4 or top 6 spot.
A lot of the drills today suited the smaller players.
Oscar was fine with the marking drills but there was not a lot of pressure on players in that drill, just a contest.
I could not follow him all the time so it's likely he did some good things

Eagles, Essendon & Richmond all live streaming their intra club scratchies. We’re so far behind the ball in terms of fan engagement.

in this day and age where the club will have multiple cameras.
How hard is it.
You think a few injured players love to be commentators
Just do it on youtube or facebook etc

I also hate the AFL how bad the VFL streaming is. You cannot pause or rewind its crap.
We are a long way behind other codes in media

All 3 of those teams are also garbage so there’s thats

Selling hope and engagement when poor, so they can reap the rewards when they are good.

Its weird how some here get so defensive of others finding ways for the club to improve. If you aren't moving forward you will stagnate. Its not a criticism of the current success, its just trying to make sure we stay on top and keep improving

Merely meaning there may be football reasons as well why we aren’t showing that. You think the coach of the last place team cares who sees what they are up to in pre season?

If that’s not the reason then I don’t disagree