Do Collingwood need to enter a rebuild phase?

• Thread starter Thread starter LeBronco

Clearly it did, otherwise why the discussion?

That's what happens when there are big moments for big teams in big games.

We have to go back nearly 50 years to 1979 for the most recent of these Carlton 'discussions'... and guess who the other team in that game was?

Back in the days when Carlton were a 'big team'.
The discussion is just to correct salty Pies supporters for the thousandth tone, but it's true that it would have had no influence on the result anyway. You don't win many prelims winning 1 quarter of football. Brisbane was well on top for the other 3.

I think you missed the point (unsurprisingly) - it's not me that is saying this, it's you guys who assess a game by a stats sheet and final score line...

'Nobody remembers'... except the dozens or so people who have been discussing a very controversial play in a big game between big teams.

All eyes are on the big teams when they're contending for flags. And that's why 'nobody remembers' many recent Carlton games.

Except Owen 60. (Which being a monor final, isn't really a big game, but a hilarious one nonetheless).
Dont know what a Monor final is but anyway ... blah blah blah owen60.
I do remember Daicos going missing when it mattered most in that last game, just sayin.

I think you missed the point (unsurprisingly) - it's not me that is saying this, it's you guys who assess a game by a stats sheet and final score line...

'Nobody remembers'... except the dozens or so people who have been discussing a very controversial play in a big game between big teams.

All eyes are on the big teams when they're contending for flags. And that's why 'nobody remembers' many recent Carlton games.

Except Owen 60. (Which being a monor final, isn't really a big game, but a hilarious one nonetheless).

You know every game, every stat and the passport number of every single Carlton player to ever pull on the jumper, let’s not kid ourselves by trying to include you in this ‘nobody remembers’ stuff.

Collingwood 2025 = Carlton 2023 as far as whether they were contending or not. Both had one strong quarter against Brisbane in a prelim after a win(s) against so-so opposition leading in. Carlton started their season poorly while Collingwood were poor in the last third. Neither were near the standard required and would have lost against both of the other prelim teams in a GF. Fake contenders.

What absolute tripe.

Your trolling is getting more and more pathetic and desperate.

What absolute tripe.

Your trolling is getting more and more pathetic and desperate.
No counterpoints, straight to adhom and nastiness. I'll take that as a concession.

You can't contend every year. Maybe 2026 Pies get back up there and even beat a decent side in September, or have 2 strong quarters against a top side. 1 isn't going to get the job done, as Carlton 2023 also showed.

I think the toxicity and abuse has levelled up in this thread as the Pies supporters realise 2023 was their last year of realistically contending for flags. 2025 was an unlikely shot to fluke one if 3 opponents fumbled their lines (sadly only 1 did).

All things come to an end eventually. It's time to start actually getting some quality youth through the door and possibly aiming for contention in 5 years or so.

Has anyone mentioned that Maynard was blocked in 2018?
Another example of umpires putting the whistle away late in a big final. Only 4 frees were awarded in the last quarter of the 2018 GF...

It happens in most finals series, frees that would be normally paid all season are let go late in a big final.

It isn't just a Collingwood thing, but Collingwood plays in the most finals so most often involved.

Cats uncompetitive in the Grand Final 2025, fake contender
The Cats smashed the premier in an earlier final and comprehensively outplayed a strong team in a prelim though. Neither of which Collingwood 2025 or Carlton 2023 got close to.

Good luck beating this Brisbane side in 2 finals within a month. Collingwood couldn't do it once so sadly Geelong didn't get an easy beat like Sydney 2022 in the GF.

Cats uncompetitive in the Grand Final 2025, fake contender
LOLOL.

8th placed Hawthorn a 'strong team', whilst 1st placed Adelaide, going into the finals series having win 12 of 13 matches, a 'weak team'.

I wonder if Adelaide would have been regarded as a strong team if they had have beaten Collingwood?

Probably not. Because Collingwood would have been the weak team.

He's quite brilliant.

The Cats smashed the premier in an earlier final and comprehensively outplayed a strong team in a prelim though. Neither of which Collingwood 2025 or Carlton 2023 got close to.

Good luck beating this Brisbane side in 2 finals within a month. Collingwood couldn't do it once so sadly Geelong didn't get an easy beat like Sydney 2022 in the GF.

Your argument is stupid, that's why i made my stupid comment. We won a final too against the top team on their home ground. That doesn't happen very often. There is a fine line between winning and losing and we fell on the wrong side of that line in 2022 and last year. I have no worries about being competitive this year if we get a decent run in injuries. We are still a well coached side with some game breakers. Winning a premiership is hard, if everything was equal we have a 1 in 17 chance of doing it. I reckon we have a 1 in 5 chance of doing it this year. Happy with that
There are 10 sides that have a 0 in 18 of doing it in the next couple of years. Sucks to be them

Your argument is stupid, that's why i made my stupid comment. We won a final too against the top team on their home ground. That doesn't happen very often. There is a fine line between winning and losing and we fell on the wrong side of that line in 2022 and last year. I have no worries about being competitive this year if we get a decent run in injuries. We are still a well coached side with some game breakers. Winning a premiership is hard, if everything was equal we have a 1 in 17 chance of doing it. I reckon we have a 1 in 5 chance of doing it this year. Happy with that
There are 10 sides that have a 0 in 18 of doing it in the next couple of years. Sucks to be them
Geelong beat the eventual premier and a prelim team (who had won 2 finals, and it was at their home ground) to make the GF. They got blitzed as the GF wore on yes, that'll happen in some GFs. But Collingwood's form line over the last third of 2025 was poor. There doesn't look to be great youth coming through but if there is, it's true they could remain competitive. Really contending and peaking in September is another matter.

Your argument is stupid, that's why i made my stupid comment. We won a final too against the top team on their home ground. That doesn't happen very often.
We were also a lot more competitive against the eventual premier in a cut throat final, didn't capitulate early, could be argued we were the second best team in 2025

Oh so only cut throat finals count? Looks like Collingwood's walk in the park against the worst ever performing finalist also gets removed then.

People will remember Geelong's pea-hearted GF effort a lot longer

Another beautiful Saturday afternoon in late September ruined by the gutless Cats, the 5th abomination in 34 years, that's about 1 in 7 grand finals soured by the softies from Sleepy Hollow

The scars are real, can the Cats recover? Do THEY need a rebuild after the Brisbane blow-out? Brizzy have just gone further ahead

Meanwhile the Pies enter the season with heads held high after another stirring finals campaign

IF there is to be a rebuild at the end of the year, I'm assuming Collingwood still has its first round pick. I don't know who will get snapped up through the academies and father / son but I assume they will snap up a top 10 pick. It then comes down to who gets potentially traded out for a first rounder (or multiples).

That will also likely lead to a number of their senior players retiring. Pendles is likely to finish up this year. Sidebottom? Howe? Is DeGoey worth a first rounder (assuming he plays a full season)? Maynard? Blokes like Maynard though are the heart and soul of the club. I hate him but at the same time, would love him at my club.

I don't know who the list manager is but he will have his work cut out for him at years end. What will be interesting is whether the Pies look to bolster support in this area through the year. Blokes in recruiting and list management are crucial to success.

Fascinating season all round.

And before you all jump down my throat, the first word in this post is...IF!

The fadgelow criteria has been clear, combine H&A with finals, to become the only "award" who does this from a league perspective.

Surprised Meow doesn't include that in his top 6, an obvious improvement opportunity.
Indeed.

As you can see, I certainly include it when ranking GTWEBcos against his peers, as per the OP in the GTWEBcos thread.

Only the most elite of the elite have won multiple Fadgelows in their careers. Since 2000 - GAJ with 4 and Judd, Dangerfield, Neale and Daicos with 2.

IF there is to be a rebuild at the end of the year, I'm assuming Collingwood still has its first round pick. I don't know who will get snapped up through the academies and father / son but I assume they will snap up a top 10 pick. It then comes down to who gets potentially traded out for a first rounder (or multiples).

That will also likely lead to a number of their senior players retiring. Pendles is likely to finish up this year. Sidebottom? Howe? Is DeGoey worth a first rounder (assuming he plays a full season)? Maynard? Blokes like Maynard though are the heart and soul of the club. I hate him but at the same time, would love him at my club.

I don't know who the list manager is but he will have his work cut out for him at years end. What will be interesting is whether the Pies look to bolster support in this area through the year. Blokes in recruiting and list management are crucial to success.

Fascinating season all round.

And before you all jump down my throat, the first word in this post is...IF!
For the 20th time, we dont go down that route because it doesnt work. We pick players to fit our system, a moneyball approach if you will. And that does work

this is absolute rubbish. collingwood do not have a moneyball recruiting approach. every year you chase the biggest & most expensive recruits - the complete OPPOSITE of moneyball.

the best was when you lot were calling Houston a 'moneyball' recruit.

2x reigning AA, 2x(?) 1st round picks, prime of his career and genuine superstar in his position.

yep, very moneyball. safe to say you guys don't even know what it means.

No. Here's why. I can expand on all of these points.

#1. Rebuilds don't work. The draft is not a viable way to re-build your club in the F/S, NGA and Northern Academy era.
#2. Collingwood is a destination club for mid-career players drafted to non-Vic clubs, We have brought in Bobby Hill, Dan Houston, Lachie Schulz and a few others as good examples of this. That is a Norm Smith Medalist and a few All Australian Blazers.
#3. We have too many good players, the Daicos brothers, Maynard, Schulz, Houston, Hill, Moore, Quaynor, Elliot etc etc. This is a club that has gone 17th - Prelim - Flag - 9th - Prelim - why would they gut their list to dwell at the bottom where there is no prospect of getting the best players anyway? There is no chance Collingwood would get a priority pick anyway so the draft is useless.
#4 Tassie. Rebuilding when you have an expansion club entering the comp is a recipe for disaster.