7 new rules - AFL Rule Changes for 2026

• Thread starter Thread starter crows dude
  • Featured

The ruck rule will be good for teams without a good ruck after all the PCL injuries.

I really like the ruck rule. Nothing annoyed me more than half the bounces going to the opposition and the umpires wave play on...say what? It's meant to be straight up! It is now. Sure the type of rucks may change, who cares. Teams may run with 'athletic' guys as a ruck.

2026 is time now to let the game flow now put the whistle away.

1990s also 1980s the game was so good as there was flow to the game.

A free was there only if its obvious to Jo Public.

Thats why the game was so good game was entertaining and flowed.

Like to see less frees.

More reward for effort.

Will take some time for the players get used to the rule changes.

But dont over umpire everything

Done with scoring reviews the goal umpire should position themselves for the right call as well.

First call stays.

I like the ruck rule however they have to stamp out actions like Grundys where he stopped (basically balked) and the opposition kept jumping. Loop hole needs to be closed

So if someone can find a loophole that quickly to make your new rule look like a complete farce, you don't double down on your BS, you go back to the drawing board and try again.

Be fair absolute GOAT work by Brodie though

Throwing the ball up in the middle of the circle would be a start.
Not saying it wasn't clever from Grundie but if the ball is coming down in the middle of the circle then the other ruck doesn't need to go past the midpoint 'line' to jump at the ball.

Throwing the ball up in the middle of the circle would be a start.
Not saying it wasn't clever from Grundie but if the ball is coming down in the middle of the circle then the other ruck doesn't need to go past the midpoint 'line' to jump at the ball.
so we're reliant on a perfect throw every time including in the windy conditions of many of the grounds. Chances of that happening perfectly throughout every throw up in the season = NIL

Just seen Latrelle Picket give a massive shove in the back to his opponent and the ump says it wasn't a push because it wasn't two hands............. prepare for another shit show

When we attend training and get observed umpiring we are always told one of the most important things we can do is be predictable and clearly communicate with the players. Generally umpires who make it to the higher levels have a great feel for the game where if they can see a player about to do something silly they can pull them back into line, like get their foot on the line after an out on the full or bringing a player back a step or two on the mark if it is incidental...the tricky thing is these are all judgement calls where it is drummed into us that we apply the rules within 'the spirit of the game'. Usually it comes down to does the extra movement actually impinge the player with the ball or can I just bring them back without any issue? In cases where to the spectator a free is paid for an innocuous movement is usually a player who has had a brain fade, tried to be too clever by moving too much before play on is called or run so far over the mark it's taking the mickey. I know a lot of people watching on the telly dont think umpires have a feel for the game but anyone who has played local footy can tell you, there is a world of difference between a good one who just pays the obvious and warrented frees compared to the ones who are black and white.

Players are allowed to jump up and down on the spot, they can wave their arms around they can call their opponent names (within reason) so that pressure is still there if they want to do something.

I would say defenders dominate the game today with scoring fairly flat for the last decade or so, im a bit surprised to see they are hard done by. Usually there is a spare man in the backline so they have the advantage.
Seriously when has an umpire been required to read players minds and characters and make judgement on emotional incidents on the ground ? Do you need a degree in Psychology to umpire and judge whether some one is "tacking the Mickey" Fair dinkum. Names withi reason ???? I remember amateur footy when things were said but never taken off the field. My screen has gone weird I had more to say, but really I think what you said is not what I think not what you think either, the free kick goals and scoring is the story, back men give away tons of frees and get sometimes crucified by some umpires, now we have things introduced so scoring would be higher that's what the arm tapping/punching was for, but kicking is either perfect or bloody terrible! a

And I am actually on here to ask why the first round fixture sees Hawthorn play twice, once against Giants , 7/03/2026 and then 13/03/2026, against Essendon.
With the comment, underneath, saying round one's last three games to be considered.

so we're reliant on a perfect throw every time including in the windy conditions of many of the grounds. Chances of that happening perfectly throughout every throw up in the season = NIL
I don’t disagree.
It is a massive flaw in the rules. I want to see rucks jumping at the ball.
I don’t want to see free kicks like that given away.

I don’t disagree.
It is a massive flaw in the rules. I want to see rucks jumping at the ball.
I don’t want to see free kicks like that given away.
Yeah its a joke, remove the centre line componenf of the rule and focus on players not engaging until they jump or make contact with the ball. The ruckman should be able to focus solely on the ball in the air, not worry about if their opponent is trying to coax them over the line.

The eyes are a dead give away. Hard for umps to watch everything

I remember that 2024 semi final where Port were penalized for fair tackles because the umpires were on edge about corporate "dangerous tackle" mandates was next level insane. Grant Thomas suggesting it's due to the higher ups using that as an example to shield themselves legally at court hearings over those brain damage lawsuits.
That litigation fear is exactly why the rules and contact are compromised.
But talking of fair tackles James Sicily's chase down of McCluggage in 2024 or 2023,
can't remember exactly ,but he ran McCluggage down caught him with a brilliant tackle and had another Hawthorn player fall over the top of the two players engaged, and ended up squashing McCluggage who couldn't finish the game, but played the next 3 weeks!
And who got three weeks off?
Of course, James Sicily, for the injury that was probably not even caused by him. Sicilygot a free kick for the tackle??????

Now I know I have raved about this incident before, and I am a Hawk, but that was the most unfair ridiculous call from OUTSIDE THE GROUND itself, the tribunal or what ever they call themselves I've ever seen.

I have never lost the plot like I did over that! I felt like Barry Hall in the Keith "parking space" clip, rock n roll song.

Now we still have new rules, that's a sport in itself from the AFL, 7 new ones now. And already the ruck situation is farcical, and we haven't even started 2026.

Ruck duels are the beginning of play in any area of the ground, but the centre is the be all and end all, I 've said this before the centre bounce's should be free kick....FREE.
Unless it is an infringement of serious consequences1
That's what ruckmen do, it's the craft used to beat the other giant, trying to tap or get the ball.

Yet we see problems and why?

Well, because the AFL hierarchy from Demitriou and McClachlan up to now with political correctness and mass numbers of rule changes!

Now the AFL is the greatest problem the game of Australian rules Football has now days.

Its a failed, over-killed by "doing the right virtues thing"
Right thing for who?

My thing is watching them annually ruin little bits of our sport yearly ,changing this or that, turning umpires into robots, giving umpires miles too much range in decisions with grey rule settings.

Then hoping they can read the minds of "mickey taking" players???

What the heck is that meant to mean. Being angry? Being frustrated ? Mouthing Off?

Look at the rules any wonder players get penalized for emotion!

THATS THE GAME! Try being a supporter or viewer the most frustrating over complicated game we've created has been destroyed! The good parts are the best in the world.

The bad parts created by foolish non-football knowledge people, has destroyed what people knew.
Soon they'll play it in a undercover court with a roof and 5 or 10 players??????????????????????????

So I still after 2 decades can't fathom what the end game for this AFL is, but, only maybe to try and save money from being sued for down the track brain injuries.

I see Dunstall's "caved in head" hasn't stopped him doing big things outside and inside of football.

The ruck rule will be good for teams without a good ruck after all the PCL injuries.
And that my friend is the down-falling of footy again, only one instance that will develop.
The downing of skills in certain areas. Which of course has been already seen with expansion.

And we now have 2 divisions of AFL teams. With no 19 team coming to an arena near you.

If the Tassie government doesn't go broke before too long?

That litigation fear is exactly why the rules and contact are compromised.
But talking of fair tackles James Sicily's chase down of McCluggage in 2024 or 2023,
can't remember exactly ,but he ran McCluggage down caught him with a brilliant tackle and had another Hawthorn player fall over the top of the two players engaged, and ended up squashing McCluggage who couldn't finish the game, but played the next 3 weeks!
And who got three weeks off?
Of course, James Sicily, for the injury that was probably not even caused by him. Sicilygot a free kick for the tackle??????

Now I know I have raved about this incident before, and I am a Hawk, but that was the most unfair ridiculous call from OUTSIDE THE GROUND itself, the tribunal or what ever they call themselves I've ever seen.

I have never lost the plot like I did over that! I felt like Barry Hall in the Keith "parking space" clip, rock n roll song.

Now we still have new rules, that's a sport in itself from the AFL, 7 new ones now. And already the ruck situation is farcical, and we haven't even started 2026.

Ruck duels are the beginning of play in any area of the ground, but the centre is the be all and end all, I 've said this before the centre bounce's should be free kick....FREE.
Unless it is an infringement of serious consequences1
That's what ruckmen do, it's the craft used to beat the other giant, trying to tap or get the ball.

Yet we see problems and why?

Well, because the AFL hierarchy from Demitriou and McClachlan up to now with political correctness and mass numbers of rule changes!

Now the AFL is the greatest problem the game of Australian rules Football has now days.

Its a failed, over-killed by "doing the right virtues thing"
Right thing for who?

My thing is watching them annually ruin little bits of our sport yearly ,changing this or that, turning umpires into robots, giving umpires miles too much range in decisions with grey rule settings.

Then hoping they can read the minds of "mickey taking" players???

What the heck is that meant to mean. Being angry? Being frustrated ? Mouthing Off?

Look at the rules any wonder players get penalized for emotion!

THATS THE GAME! Try being a supporter or viewer the most frustrating over complicated game we've created has been destroyed! The good parts are the best in the world.

The bad parts created by foolish non-football knowledge people, has destroyed what people knew.
Soon they'll play it in a undercover court with a roof and 5 or 10 players??????????????????????????

So I still after 2 decades can't fathom what the end game for this AFL is, but, only maybe to try and save money from being sued for down the track brain injuries.

I see Dunstall's "caved in head" hasn't stopped him doing big things outside and inside of football.
It's ridiculously overregulated, now, and it's losing the creativity from the players because that overregulation. Things like the 2004 goal of the year would be illegal, now, because of that lame ruck nomination rule. The centre bounces having different rucking styles before forcing ruckmen to position themselves the same in 2005.