• Ryan Maric (6/9/04)
• Clay Hall (12/5/05)
• Harvey Johnston (18/8/05)
• Jake Miles-Wrency (??/??/05)
• Jacob Newton (20/3/06)
• Malakai Champion (17/5/06)
• Fred Rodriguez (10/7/07)

Interesting reporting on Inside Trading this arvo that BRI has launched talks with Cody Curtin for an early contract extension on top of his initial 2 year deal, looking at a 1 or 2 year deal?

Does this mean that WC have been sniffing around and the total lack of news of the so called extension of ZZ being imminent recently?
I think they are looking to lock in Curtin as ZZ is getting some strong interest from us??

ROFL, I get youre keen on ZZ, but that is some crazy ass logic to come to that conclusion 🤣🤣

crazy ass logic:rolleyes:

Not much gets reported by Twomey contract wise that isn't imminent and ready to be signed off by AFL house or leaked by a players manager as being imminent.

The noise around ZZ being on the verge of signing a 2 year contract at BRI weeks ago and the complete silence since and the pivot to sign Curtin quickly leads me to think that there has been significant interest in ZZ and he is assessing his options.
Crazy ass logic thinks a club that is decimated with KPD stocks and been throwing interest at everyone the last couple of trade periods thinks WC have had a long chat??

I don't want this to sound like sour grapes: but boy-oh-boy, Chesser just got dropped at Carlton. Not sure he took the right fork in the road there.

On the other hand, maybe he did. I'm beginning to struggle to see where we would have played him anyway.
Wafl

Good skills -> can't find the footy or don't defend. It's a seesaw and we have thrown in with picking up Ginbey/Baker/Allan/Robertson budget types over more complete footballers.

Rivers is a neat player, in a better side. He'd be a decent addition to the side but not worth overpaying for.

Given where the game at and our playing style and game evolution in general. I'd argue that Leg speed, tackle pressure, contested ball, contested marking are all more now more important than a decent kick. Outside skills are still important but more complimentary.

We have Lindsay who I think will be a better kick. T-Mac who's just as good but far quicker and Maric about the same level but still no a defenders arseh*le. (Neither is Rivers really and not suited to be a full mid in todays game for mine)

Duursma is hot/cold with his kicking but he's a few games in and getting used to the speed. He'll be better a better kick than Rivers too.

We could you a Lake right now more than a Rivers.

Arguing that Rivers would be better than Baker is just ****ing silly.

As Billy Ocean said - When the going get tough, the tough get Baker.

I'd also add that I think any of Ginbey/Baker/Allan/Robertson will add more to the side going forward than Rivers.

I don't want this to sound like sour grapes: but boy-oh-boy, Chesser just got dropped at Carlton. Not sure he took the right fork in the road there.

On the other hand, maybe he did. I'm beginning to struggle to see where we would have played him anyway.
He was on the delist pile until he put together that 4 week block at the end of last season playing for his career so getting anything out of him trade wise was a plus.

Well considering he up and left after we'd invested so much into him, it doesn't feel so bad if he's not living up to expectations there. What did we get for him?

If he stayed here, he'll be behind Davis and Duursma on the wings, but perhaps a chance to come in this week onto the bench with our injuries.

Surely straight back in after tearing up the VFL today though

1000003030.webp

Its a bit of a worry if we dont know if he can play forward yet

Yet no- one does. But we do know Shanhan can so why on earth would WC move Shanahan out of CHF to accomodate a person who really has shown SFA in his admittedly short AFL career so far.

If Shanhan wants to play CHB then different story, but with Waterman, CDT, Reid and Shanahan all fwd of the ball - there is no space for another tall no matter how agile.

If Walter can or wants to play CHB - then thats a different story.

For those keeping an eye on MSD options, near half time...

Noah Hibbins-Hargreaves: 4 disposals, 2 marks
Jack Petruccelle: 9 disposals, 2 marks, 1 tackle, 1.0

Arki Butler and one of the highly rated rucks this year or next could round us out.
Went to both the Bendigo Pioneers game and the Sandringham Dragons game today.
There is a sizeable difference in quality between Cody Walker and Arki Butler IMO.
If we can jump up a few rungs this year it is the opportune time not to try and pick an elite mid this year.

Blues supporter coming in peace (and depression). How much do you guys reckon you’d realistically be willing to pay to bring Patrick Cripps home?