AFL Toast RND 5: Vanquishing Demons Whilst Donning Red Shorts

• Thread starter Thread starter Harlequin

Had to watch it again :)

First up I like the fact the put the brakes on the fast at all cost stuff. Playing the game at a bit slower tempo eliminated a lot of the poor errors and allowed us to set the ground bit better defensively. Still need to reign in the goals from turnover but it was a massive improvement from the 10 plus goals we gave up in the early games.

Playing Langford back got him into the game a bit more and he looked better.

Wright to the ruck is a good move. I do not think he actually played massively better than Blakiston did in the early rounds, but it gives him a chance to have more of an impact on games rather than what was happening when he was simply playing more time forward.

The result of the above is the forward line looked more mobile and functional.

Parish was good. First half a bit of a slow start but was in the engine room when the game was won.

Ridley did not have a huge influence but his presence down back with Reid and McKay looks a lot more balanced.

Did not think Tsatas did anything exceptional, but he came in and found a bit of the footy and was generally constructive in what he did. Disposal was a bit hit and miss. Bit of a gulf between his good and bad as far as kicking goes. Anyway, it will give him some confidence to step up to AFL level and not be out of place.

Roberts did turn a few over, but when you have it 42 times and trying to take the game on it will happen. 75% by foot. Still, a few he would want back but you can like with 75%.

Thought Farrow was good. Couple of early defensive issues but finished it off well after that.

Said last week I thought Merrett had been pretty good as far as his defensive efforts go in the last 3 games. Ditto again today.

Giving McGrath a role in the midfield was a winner. Allowed him to show the way as captain at the coalface. They should pick out a matchup for him in the middle every week.

Robey is well short of the AFL pace right now, but it is good to see him getting a game and showing a little.

Kako very good.

Edwards good. Mobile. Tackles.

Like how Day-Wicks is coming along.

Farrow is that ****ing good.
Feel very good about he and Roberts (and maybe Martin when he's back) with the ball coming out of defence.

Skill errors still there but my word has the effort improved over the last one and a half games. Senior players making a more solid impact and it feels like the training wheels are coming off some of the younger players. Nice to see Rids playing like that again.

20260411_202136.webp

McGrath, Parish and Tsatas were the main centre bounce trio. Minimal Caldwell and Merrett, with no Durham.

Looks like with McGrath in there playing a negating role, we can have our two best clearance players in Parish and Tsatas at the majority of centre bounces.

think of all the youth playing, ADW was my pick of them (first/second year players). i think farrow's excellent, but ADW just puts the effort in and works his ass off. his disposal was far from perfect, but there's a lot there to work with. lots of grunt, and looks like he can easily be a physical beast.

The best part in this win is that for the first time in years and years and years that it isn’t Merrett dragging us over the line, or Stringer pulling something out of his ass to get us the win, it was the youth stepping up.

Caddy, Kako, Roberts, Farrow all were in the best. All look like 200+ game players for this club.

If Robey, Sharp, Reid also turn out that way, we might we onto something.

I can see the light.

I’ve been pretty disenfranchised as a long time supporter of the club. It’s been a roller coaster of emotions and hope over the journey with no success coming our way.

Wins like this bring back a spark to the supporter base and build confidence into a very young team.

I thought it was pretty obvious that we had a very talented albeit very young squad. Some of the commentary in the media painted a very bleak picture of our list which I found laughable. I think we’ve found the crux of it and just need to give them games and guidance. Hoping we’ve got the people in place to execute that, time will tell.

Let’s enjoy the baby steps. We can’t change the past and it seems a lot of people like to live there and remind us of our ineptness.

When this club turns it around and becomes a competitive team week in week out, a sleeping supporter base will be awoken and I hope we all remember how hard this road has been for a lot of people. Football is just a game at the end of the day but my god it’s tribal and I can’t wait to see success.

I’ve been pretty disenfranchised as a long time supporter of the club. It’s been a roller coaster of emotions and hope over the journey with no success coming our way.

Wins like this bring back a spark to the supporter base and build confidence into a very young team.

I thought it was pretty obvious that we had a very talented albeit very young squad. Some of the commentary in the media painted a very bleak picture of our list which I found laughable. I think we’ve found the crux of it and just need to give them games and guidance. Hoping we’ve got the people in place to execute that, time will tell.

Let’s enjoy the baby steps. We can’t change the past and it seems a lot of people like to live there and remind us of our ineptness.

When this club turns it around and becomes a competitive team week in week out, a sleeping supporter base will be awoken and I hope we all remember how hard this road has been for a lot of people. Football is just a game at the end of the day but my god it’s tribal and I can’t wait to see success.
What an interesting user name.

Yeah I didn’t really put much thought into it. I’m more of a lurker so didn't think I’d have to defend it 😂
A mate of mine saw him filming his show when he was a kid. He gave Don a friendly hello. Don verbally abused him.

You don’t have to defend the username to me. I was kind of hoping you were the real Don Burke.

Foot to the throat, and just kept punishing them.

Feels like Melbourne went in with the mindset that they had already won, and the kids just torched them.

Just a really brilliant all round team performance. Everyone pulled their weight and our appetite for the contest was relentless. You felt like you could actually see what the coaches are trying to do and it resulted in wins all over the ground.

Ridley so composed.
Kako everywhere, had fumbles early but got it together and had a ripper.
Archie Roberts might be our best draft steal since J. Hird.
Langford down back is a huge win.
Parish turned back the clock after half time.
I always loved you Zach, what a goal.
Robey didn't get a ton of it but **** me what a rooster.
2MP, take a bow son, didn't have your colours lowered at all by one of the all time greats.
So many goal scorers, spreading the load equally.
ELIJAH TSATAS I KNEW YOU HAD IT IN YOU.
ADW hard as a cats head and a lovely shoe on him.
Farrow is just pure silk, great pickup.

No complaints. Just an incredible performance. Now to take this, pack it away, and run with it.

Bloody well done boys, enjoy the replay team!

View attachment 2579656

McGrath, Parish and Tsatas were the main centre bounce trio. Minimal Caldwell and Merrett, with no Durham.

Looks like with McGrath in there playing a negating role, we can have our two best clearance players in Parish and Tsatas at the majority of centre bounces.
Suspect McGrath was a temporary role just for Pickett