AFL Player 1: Andrew "Pidge" McGrath (c)

• Thread starter Thread starter boncer34

Every time one of you flys the flag for him he just drops you in the shit on field
So you’d rather him just kick it straight back to the opposition like Perkins just did or at least try to create something with a chance of not turning it straight over? Open your eyes to the bigger picture

He doesn’t though, he gets caught and gives the opposition a shot at goal inside 50. He’s the VC and you’re comparing him to a guy who is a fringe player in the side?

You clearly missed the part about trying to create instead of basically guaranteeing it gets turned over.
He’s gone at 96% tonight….

He creates his own pressure, he’s a headless chook. Keep sticking up for him, it’s mediocrity manifest
Never mind what’s happening in front of him, I’ll give you a tip brother, wise up to the bigger picture instead of the minuscule one that you are choosing to focus on.

Every time one of you flys the flag for him he just drops you in the shit on field
And sure as shit you’re here to do this every single week in this thread.

McGrath frustrates me much of the time but you cannot ever find it in yourself to give him any credit when he does deserve it, and that reflects on you, not on anyone else.

And sure as shit you’re here to do this every single week in this thread.

McGrath frustrates me much of the time but you cannot ever find it in yourself to give him any credit when he does deserve it, and that reflects on you, not on anyone else.
No i conceded when he was playing good footy and suggested we trade him

You clearly missed the part about trying to create instead of basically guaranteeing it gets turned over.
He’s gone at 96% tonight….
And then go and look at all his touches individually and look what they got us or what team mate he sold into trouble. Couple that with his weak spaghetti arm tackles.
I thought giving parish a long term deal was the worst thing this club has done, but giving McGrath a long term deal has topped it. He’s a genuine cancer that optimizes what essendon have been, we aren’t going anywhere as long as he’s our vice captain.

He is so ****ing good at collecting a loose ball and winning 1 on 1 ground balls but he is so ****ing bad at at using it.

He has some many options when you watch him live but he can't ever find them despite having so much athletic ability to make space for himself.

He is so ****ing good at collecting a loose ball and winning 1 on 1 ground balls but he is so ****ing bad at at using it.

He has some many options when you watch him live but he can't ever find them despite having so much athletic ability to make space for himself.
What would he be like as a half forward/forward? Would he be as panicky? Won't have to stress about turning it over so close to oppo goals I guess. In all serious i'd give him a go next to Kako. I think he'll be a decent pressure forward and pinch a couple snags as well.

Could McGrath play a role as a pressure forward/tagger, he takes the oppositions best half back every week

Or as a high half forward like Shaun Mannaugh?

Looks no different to when we have our starting backline in, he does the same shit week in week out week in week out
I think the ego still makes him think he's some creative running defender who's also a bit of a midfielder

He always reminds me of when I used to play Frogger and get into trouble.

He undoes his good work trying to go that extra step. When he got caught last night he needed to get a kick off quicker.

He always reminds me of when I used to play Frogger and get into trouble.

He undoes his good work trying to go that extra step. When he got caught last night he needed to get a kick off quicker.
Ah yes. That rush of blood to jump onto that fast moving log that should not :)