1 Past Player

• Thread starter Thread starter NomadPie

This is my first thread, I've only recently become a regular on here so apologies if a similar thread is hidden away in past pages.

If you could choose 1 Collingwood player from the past to start their career again and be on our list this season who do you choose. Doesn't necessarily have to be to improve our team, could be just a player you loved to watch for some reason.

Mine is Scott Burns, an all time favourite player of mine. Was hard as a cats head, a great ball user and a very good leader as well... Very underated in my opinion... I wore 17 on my back in my playing days because of him.

Mark Williams also comes to mind being booed from Collingwood Supporters at a game against Fitzroy at the Junction Oval may have been his 1st or 2nd game,then he turned the game and there where cheers.

Chocco was a ripper. I often have difficulty not putting him in my "Team to play for my Life" because he was a contested ball FREAK. I'd have hated to be at training on a full contact night if Chocco, Millane and Rowdy were going to compete!
Lots better players (Bucks) just couldn't have stopped Chocco getting the first possession from centre bounce situations and other contested ball situations. Some claim Tony Shaw was tougher but I disagree. Chocco never took a backward step to anybody and he was actually quite a skilled player (could go forward, was a lovely mark and quite an accurate -- if UGLY set shot for goal)
Chocco was mercenary as a footballer. He went where the $$$ took him but I'd never blame him for that, it was the era of the overpaid!

Proved his footy smarts as a premiership coach, could have been a dual premiership pie if others had've played as well as he did in '79-81.
He'd kill it in todays footy where fitness and contested ball wins games. Loved the old 21.

Chocco was a ripper. I often have difficulty not putting him in my "Team to play for my Life" because he was a contested ball FREAK. I'd have hated to be at training on a full contact night if Chocco, Millane and Rowdy were going to compete!
Lots better players (Bucks) just couldn't have stopped Chocco getting the first possession from centre bounce situations and other contested ball situations. Some claim Tony Shaw was tougher but I disagree. Chocco never took a backward step to anybody and he was actually quite a skilled player (could go forward, was a lovely mark and quite an accurate -- if UGLY set shot for goal)
Chocco was mercenary as a footballer. He went where the $$$ took him but I'd never blame him for that, it was the era of the overpaid!

Proved his footy smarts as a premiership coach, could have been a dual premiership pie if others had've played as well as he did in '79-81.
He'd kill it in todays footy where fitness and contested ball wins games. Loved the old 21.

Why he went to the gold coast bears still shatters me.

The one opposition player I would have given my eye teeth to have had a Collingwood................

TONY MODRA.

From those I saw play:
Toss a coint between John Greening, Darren Millane and Peter Daicos. All for different reasons.

All great players. Daicos had unbelieveable skill. Greening the best all round player we've had in most people's memory that stretches as far back or further than the 1970's. Darren Millane becuase we need his combined skill and toughness more than at any time in our history.

Billy Picken! Peter McKenna! Neon Leon! Ronnie Wearmouth! Craig Davis! Paul Williams! Peter Moore! The Shaws! Tony Francis! Gavin Brown! Scott Russell! Pants Millane! Ray Gabelich! Murray Weideman! Bobby Rose! Coventry's! Colliers! Dan Minogue! Alby Panham! The Richards!

Where does it end?! Probably not enough cyberspace to name them all.

Gonna be greedy and go for 3
1) Bruce Abernathy - classy ball user.
2) Graham Wright impacted from the start - underated
3) Doug Barwick - stylish finisher and bull.

Ah G Wright, 1 vote off a brownlow IIRC - credit to Tassie for that production.

In my lifetime.

Bucks. The best player I’ve seen play for Collingwood. He could play almost any position. Kicked goals, racked up possessions, could take a grab, was strong, kicked it 65+ meters, provided leadership.........had it all!

Daicos. I was a bit young but wore 35 on my back when I was 6 years old because of Daics. Kicked impossible goals, took impossible marks, made the impossible look easy, was a freak.

Gavin Brown. Was just a competitive beast. Never got beat 1 on 1, like bucks could play almost anywhere on the field, in my opinion the best captain we’ve had in the last 30 years.

Dane Swan. We all saw what swanny produced. Was one of the best 5 players in the completion for about 5 years straight.

Honourable mention to both Rocca boys who were physical powerhouses that held down our forward line for the best part of 15 years. Paul Williams hasn’t gotten any love in this thread yet but was an amazing player for us before he went to Sydney. Scotty Burns was underrated his entire career but provided a reliable high standard for ten years.