Player Watch #2 Jacob Hopper

• Thread starter Thread starter Jimmy Jess

People clearly never watched any of his GWS exploits, there's a reason we paid up for him, he was a machine. Got thrown forward a heap which effects his stats when compared to other mids but when he was fit and playing pure mid he monstered it. People need to relax on this trade, literally nothing went right for him this year.
Thank god some people are prepared to give hopper more time. I didn’t want to recruit hopper, however, he was expected to improve us. He has good kicking skills and as you stated nothing went right. This coming season will tell the story. I have hope for him and a new coach may also do the trick. Not a loss yet.

He'll be great, relax.

GWS did the right thing clearing these 2 guys out. Whilst they are ok players the Giants have next level talent that they are much better off keeping ie Callahan and T Green.
I agree that it was a win/win although tough to take at the time. Just means we don't have to play guys like Taranto or Cogs out of position just to fit all the mids in the team.
I reckon Hopper will fire next year, he's seriously classy when he's in his flow.

I'd still like Taranto back but when it helps us sign Taylor and co you just have to take your medicine.

People talk about Lunch and Gibcus as our biggest "recruits" next year because of the footy they have missed.

But gee, Hopper never really got a proper run at it.

First part learning the game plan and the way players play together.
Was one of our best against Adelaide until he hurt himself late.
Then never really found rhtym, and to be honest, at times looked like he was trying too hard.

Another pre-season (hopefully injury free) with the boys, all learning together under the new coach, I think he will improve out of sight

Lynch
Gibcus
Hopper

Massive improvement coming into the side next year

People talk about Lunch and Gibcus as our biggest "recruits" next year because of the footy they have missed.

Then never really found rhtym, and to be honest, at times looked like he was trying too hard.

Another pre-season (hopefully injury free) with the boys, all learning together under the new coach, I think he will improve out of sight

Lynch
Gibcus
Hopper

Thought Gibcus retired....:think:

He's all of 22 and has signed two extensions the last taking him to free agency when he'll be the grand old age of..... 26. :$
We shall see in the fullness of time I guess but reading what he’s been saying and reports on how content he is up there, along with the fact that the Giants will never willingly part with him, I just don’t see him leaving there. Calling him a tiger at heart when he’s shown zero indication in that regard is just plain wishful thinking imo.

Hmm - publicly barracking for us in the 2019 GF while he was playing for their academy and reserves and knew he was going to be drafted by them , then declaring upon receiving his rising star nomination that the highlight of his career so far was playing with Lids in the NEAFL - after he'd already made his senior debut - would suggest otherwise and tells me more than straight bat comments his manager and the GWS media manager probably told him to say ...and of course they would never willingly part for him but it ultimately won't be up to them...:$

I hope you are right but signing a 4 yr contract was a pretty big statement of commitment to GWS. You would think 2 years would of been enough if he was really looking to move in the near future.

I'd say that signing up until he becomes a free agent would suggest he's at least keeping his options open. :thumbsu:

And using us as a bargaining chip to pump up whatever offer gws will give him

He won’t leave the Giants he has no link to Victoria and only link to us is that has grandad played for us when he has his own tangible links to gws being an academy product

He has had plenty of chances to make the move if that was his desire but unfortunately he’s not interested
Good on him for being loyal to the giants all the same

And using us as a bargaining chip to pump up whatever offer gws will give him

He won’t leave the Giants he has no link to Victoria and only link to us is that has grandad played for us when he has his own tangible links to gws being an academy product

He has had plenty of chances to make the move if that was his desire but unfortunately he’s not interested
Good on him for being loyal to the giants all the same
The same academy he was playing for while cheering for us in the 2019 GF...:$

LMAO at everyone thinking his made up his mind at 22 due to a contract that runs out when he's all of 26...as if he's going to publicly announce he wants to eventually play for Richmond...:drunk:

The same academy he was playing for while cheering for us in the 2019 GF...:$

LMAO at everyone thinking his made up his mind at 22 due to a contract that runs out when he's all of 26...as if he's going to publicly announce he wants to eventually play for Richmond...:drunk:
Wishful thinking mate
But ignorance is bliss I hear

The previous year we had failed to make finals, last year we rebounded to an elimination final and exited in the first week. In many ways following Hawthorn's post dynasty trajectory. Not of complete collapse but sputtering demise. Your stars start to age, the wins become more of a struggle, you start finishing lower down the ladder etc. Also many were convinced Jack was cooked and were convinced he shouldn't play another season. Why was this a concern because if Tom Lynch went down Reiwoldt would have to assume the number one mantle as key forward. And true whilst no one predicted that Lynch would have been absent for the almost the whole season, likewise no-one would have bet with Lynch's injury history that he might not miss part of the season, perhaps a lengthy part. There was actually a thread talking about what would be the most likely reasons for our season going wrong ie not winning the premiership. The most popular reason forwarded was Tom Lynch going down. The fact that we were so enormously dependent on 'one player' with Lynch's injury history should have rung deafening alarm bells about where we might finish on the ladder.

As for Prestia. The comparison is overblown. Hopper is not as good as Prestia, he was not as young and he cost us more. Moreover, when Prestia came to the club we had a generational back man in Rance and our elite stars Reiwoldt, Cotchin, Martin (all first round draft picks, something we most likely won't have this year) were all in their prime. When Hopper comes to the club they are all in their thirties, with the accompanying wear and tear of being six years older and not the players they once were. They were the core of the 'once in a lifetime team' and the trade reflected questionable list management at the very least. Again different player, different era, different trade.

So no it was not a 'good gamble' it was high risk, and all the stuff I have just written is not being wise after the fact. People were expressing these concerns when the trade was proposed. Taranto was a good trade, even for someone that loves the draft, given his age, talent, the fact that we knew what we were trading, it was not something you could criticise., However, Hopper was a lousy one and the two need not be conflated. You could have done one without the other, but we got reckless. I don't blame Hopper, he is ok, just not pick 6 and 31 ok, and I wish I was wrong. I have saved places on the wall in chronological order for more framed memorabilia eg WEG etc just in case I was. I am however dirty on Hardwick though. No doubt he was big on selling us a vision when we traded in Hopper and yet he still bails out halfway through the year and we don't have a pick 6. I honestly hope he chokes on his three elite academy selections and I wish him no success. How he left the club will leave a sour taste in my mouth for quite a few years to come.
I was happy to trade one mid fielder in. JH and TT looked like a reaction to Prestia injury in the final. Turn a weakness into a strength. We miss out on the draft for one year is no loss. Salary wise TT & JH will be cheap.

It backfired.

Was it Dimma's call or list management.

Dimma had been there 13 years and I guess deserved a crack. When it all failed he left the club. He did us a solid there. Mini had us close but too close to drop any player.

But when Prestia and Cotch stayed uninjured. Dusty returned to form. MRJ and Mansell get the small fwd positions,

Ross to wing left Pickett playing too much fwd.
I thought it'd be the end of Grahams career but he retained his spot.

Clarke, Cumbo, MRJ, Sonz didn't take their opps.

Ryan, Young Tresize, Banks did.

Lynch and Kosi great INs but we need rejigging the middle.

I hope Yze goes clean slate. Dow, TT & Prestia to the middle.

Graham, Kmac, Pickett VFL. Great depth if reqd. Maybe Hopper VFL too

Broad/Grimes to VFL.

One of Young/Miller to VFL.

Start with Kosi KPF, back up ruck.

Lynch
Gibcus
Hopper

good post, most of us had (6) lynch, gib, hopps, cumbers, MRJ and sonz walk up starts in our best team.... we got under 25 games in 1923 between the lot, jury is out on last 3 mentioned BUT with an injury free and attitude adjustment in 2024, no reason all 6 can't add another 20+ games each to their resumé.

GWS did the right thing clearing these 2 guys out. Whilst they are ok players the Giants have next level talent that they are much better off keeping ie Callahan and T Green.
Yep, same as when they cleared out Adams, Steele, JCameron and several others. Oh, and BHill and Hoskin-Elliot to the most recent premiership team.

GWS clearly had a lot better talent in their not-premiers squad.