Player Watch #2 Jacob Hopper

I dont agree, TT is mid tier onballer at best, hopper hasnt proved himself yet.

This is not harsh, its just the reality of our midfield, hope our pups come along smoothly.
TT is a very good mid, as part of a group that includes skilled mids who can use what he provides.

Hopper is a very good inside mid when fit.

Together they can provide the basis of a good midfield.

IMHO of course. We'll see what happens

yes I would afteto that, but his poor disposal has nothing to do with injury.
If you think he is a 750$k player with poor disposal, the less he plays the better. Your Voodoo doll must be working.
The last game vs the suns did the job okay. Our midfield got the ball inside 50 60 times, for 10 goals. The absence of Lynch has killed us.

Last edited by a moderator:
No Prestia for a while be interested to see who plays. Hopefully not dow. Dow got games last year cos sonsie was suspended.may as well give sonsie a run there. And or Ross, McAuliffe. Or MRJ.

A few players would have to have crap years for that to happen. But make it 20 games of being fit and I reckon you are on the money
Out of interest, what players would have to have crap years for Hops not to win it assuming he stays fit?

I said 'crap' in relation to 15 games. So not necessarily they were crap, but were injured etc and so couldn't get the full 23 games and so a 50% bonus in games played. Or just didn't play enough good games consistently. Those extra 8 games means that someone who just has a good solid year should beat the 15 games vote total, unless Hopper crushes those games.

Players who I see should do better if they stay fit for 20+ games.
  • TT
  • Prestia (almost guaranteed he'll be injured for 1/2 of the year though)
  • Nank
  • Vlas
- Actually not that many experienced good players on the list now.

Guys who I can see doing very well in the JDM if they play 23 games are
  • Lynch (fitness?)
  • Ross
  • Mansell
  • Short (if he regains his old form)
  • Brown
  • Banks
  • Rioli (??)

That's a pretty short list of guys mature enough to 'break out', and who aren't KPDs. Balta should be in the list, but I just don't have the confidence.

Good question. I reckon we have heaps of talent on the list. But players who can play well for many games, not so much. You've given me a nice solid check on any optimism this year.

I said 'crap' in relation to 15 games. So not necessarily they were crap, but were injured etc and so couldn't get the full 23 games and so a 50% bonus in games played. Or just didn't play enough good games consistently. Those extra 8 games means that someone who just has a good solid year should beat the 15 games vote total, unless Hopper crushes those games.

Players who I see should do better if they stay fit for 20+ games.
  • TT
  • Prestia (almost guaranteed he'll be injured for 1/2 of the year though)
  • Nank
  • Vlas
- Actually not that many experienced good players on the list now.

Guys who I can see doing very well in the JDM if they play 23 games are
  • Lynch (fitness?)
  • Ross
  • Mansell
  • Short (if he regains his old form)
  • Brown
  • Banks
  • Rioli (??)

That's a pretty short list of guys mature enough to 'break out', and who aren't KPDs. Balta should be in the list, but I just don't have the confidence.

Good question. I reckon we have heaps of talent on the list. But players who can play well for many games, not so much. You've given me a nice solid check on any optimism this year.
Yeah it was a genuine question mate, when I thought about the list, its 85% potential on paper at this stage :(
Thats both exciting but concerning haha

If you think he is a 750$k player with poor disposal, the less he plays the better. Your Voodoo doll must be working.
The last game vs the suns did the job okay. Our midfield got the ball inside 50 60 times, for 10 goals. The absence of Lynch has killed us.
no voodoo here, Hoppers responcibility to play well is on him (im sure he knows that and wants to play well) , not my responsibility and i'm not on 750K a year.
Why are we making excuses? he gets paid to play and play well.

return on investment has been really poor, probably at 5% - 10% so far, I hope he turns it around this year.

A few players would have to have crap years for that to happen. But make it 20 games of being fit and I reckon you are on the money
If TT does not miss more than 6 games, he’ll win the JDM easily.

I'd guess you'r right.

But it was interesting to go through the list and see who I thought could beat a fit Hopper only playing 2/3 games. And it wasn't many players.

But a sort of decent list of guys who could step up.

We have a heap of space for players to step up and play plenty of games this year.

If I remember correctly a fit Hopper absolutely destroyed Carlton’s midfield rd 1 last year.
The bloke can play just had a shit run at it. Him and Lynch are the keys to us winning a few games this year.

Hard to argue, but their best v best, Hopper is the better player IMO.
Very keen to see how we use Taranto given we expect Lalor to play large stints forward.

Timmy can do very well drifting forward would love 20-30 goals from him. But that would mean someone else has stepped up big time as a mid.

How many of you Hopper lovers will jump ship to the dark side when he spuds it up again this year?
Never I’ll back him in the whole way. We got 3 flags I’m not gonna whinge if a gamble didn’t pay off after that. How many here would cry if he went to the cats and dominated? Swings and roundabouts.

I’ll whinge if our big draft gamble blows up in our face. But at least it’s made me excited for a new season

Player Watch #2 Jacob Hopper