Kangaroos
Bulldogs
Carlton:D

Originally posted by pav_is_god
i think that they over achieved this season and the more talented teams that finished below them will now run over the top.

Which more talented teams are below us exactly?

And as for Spook - did we draft hopelessly? Can you please tell me when the draft was? I must have been sleeping.. maybe I turned into Cinderella or whoever it was at the time of the draft.

Go Roos

Originally posted by Yianni
Get back to me after the draft...I agree, so far this year they have drafted noone of note!

Spot on mate, North have really let our supporters down with their drafting this year, absolute horse crap ;)

1. Port (Kings of the 22 rds, getting Francou, Primus back)
2. Collingwood (Will go about the same)
3. Brisbane (Kept their core in place, will make a run in the finals)
4. West Coast (Assuming Gardiner and Embley play all year)
5. Freo (Polak, Schammer will be big)
6. Adelaide (Their last crack)
7. Sydney (Won't repeat last year but will play finals)
8. North (The core is still there, youngsters will step up)

9. Essendon (Will just miss)
10. St Kilda (Just miss too, IMO need one more year)
11. Hawks (Same as 03, but Roos and Saints will improve)
12. Cats (Won't be bad, but IMO too many teams will be better)
13. Dogs (Grant back, Rawlings, Faulker in, should be better)
14. Tigers (Brown won't turn it around)
15. Dees (Will compete for Wooden Spoon)
16. Carlton (Recruiting isn't enough)

Originally posted by pav_is_god

i'm actually suprised no ones mentioned the fact that i've put the Dogs 11th!! i reckon with grant coming back, getting rid of dead wood (Brown) and picking up some handy players that they'll be the big improvers. 11th may be high but hey, look at the tigers after rnd 7 and where they ended up after rnd 22.

Calling Brown dead wood is stupidity

1. Essendon(Biased)
2. Port Power(Good Core of Players)
3. Brisbane( Got best player in league)
4. Fremantle( best list of youngsters)
5.Sydney( Consistant side)
6. St Kilda( big improvers)
7. Kangaroos( will be better than last year)
8.Collingwood( on the slide, did not recruit like they were going to)
9. Carlton( Recruited well, got a damm good coach)
10. Hawthorn( need more pace
11. Bulldogs( will improve)
12. West Coast( no KPP, did not recruit anyone to replace Macintosh)
13. Adelaide( rely too heavily on a ageing squad)
14. Richmond. ( put all eggs in one basket, did not recruit for the future)
15. Geelong( need more time)
16. Melbourne( need new ideas)

1. Port (will lose the GF to the Lions)
2. Collingwood.
3. Fremantle (every season needs a surprise bolter)
4. Brisbane (will take the flag from anywhere in the eight IMO)
5. Essendon (too well coached to drop out.)
6. St Kilda. ( There are no excuses for them in 04.)
7. Adelaide (Should muster enough wins at home & against crap teams
8. Swans. (overrated & will be smashed by Dons in EF)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
9. Richmond. (Some improvement to be back in their rightful place)
10. Weagles (won't win enough away)
11. Hawks (Blah)
12. North Melbourne. (the spirited ones are getting old- transition year.
13. Carlton. (Pagan is good enough to ensure some improvement)
14. Melbourne. (A year spent waiting for Daniher's contract to expire)
15. Western Bulldogs. (you hang in there Doggies)
16. Geelong. (Ablett jr. the shining light)

For the purposes of looking back at the end of next season.

Port Adelaide
Brisbane
-----------------
Kangaroos

Port Adelaide
Brisbane
-----------------
Kangaroos

My prediction for 2004 would be this

Port
WCE
Bris
Coll
Syd
Frem
Ess
WB

Ade
Hawt
NM
St K
Geel
Melb
Rich
Carl

WB will be the Fremantle of 2004

After round 22:

Port Adelaide (finish top two, then choke in finals)
Collingwood (see port)
West Coast (Gardiner is the key, if he's fit my tip for flag)
Fremantle (will push for top four, next big thing)
Brisbane (some kick left, but not enough)
St Kilda (will improve and play finals, though not threaten)
North Melbourne (see st kilda)
Essendon (enough class to play finals, not enough to threaten)
-------------------------------
Sydney (will not surprise again in '04)
Hawthorn (middle of the road, treading water)
Adelaide (team to slide in '04)
Geelong (still no forward line, may finish a little higher)
Richmond (may finish as high as 9th, not a lot there)
Western Bulldogs (will be better, but still bad)
Melbourne (not much to hope for)
Carlton (ugly, ugly list)

Can't see Carl/Melb/WB making the finals, every other team will depend on form, injuries, suspension and luck.

Originally posted by aaricho
Why would port finish tenth there list has hardly changed and if it has its for the better, i see no reason why they cant challenge for the premiership provided they get over the finals hoodoo

I felt with Port it was this year or not for a while, Their list is old, Paxman and Stevens are gone and i think port REALLY struggle in away matches and when they're playing quality sides they're not that good at home either. I think they'll win most of their home matches but not very many away.

Richmond supporter: rather be upfront and honest.

1. Brisbane (old age... my @rse! too strong, too good)
2. Collingwood (again. sorry pie supporters, but you need to find at least another 50 points and the trade week didnt help)
3. Fremantle (just love the way Connelly goes about business, top four birth but will lose prelim having to play interstate)
4. Essendon (totally reliant on how many games Hird plays)
5. Hawthorn (never rated hawthorn, however l think losing Rawlings will be seen to be a godsend)
6. West Coast (11 wins a certainty, forward line deficiency to push them any further)
7. Adelaide (experience to get them to finals, old age to knoc them straight out)
8. Port Adelaide (massive turnover to hinder depth when injuries occur... list getting older and older)

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

9. St. Kilda (sensational list, *****house coach... Thomas' stupidity to be Saints downfall)
10. Geelong (too much faith i know, but either they know something down there or they're smoking some decent weed to extend Thommo's contract)
11. Sydney (yep a suprise, but to be honest they still havent convinced me - Creswell another exp player to bite dust)
12. Kangaroos (forward line still lacks depth and lots of it)
13. Richmond (still need to strengthen a hell of a lot in a number of different areas)
14. Bulldogs (will improve, but 2007 should be there goal)
15. Melbourne (list suggests that they wont be getting any better in a hurry)
16. Carlton (lets not forget round 22, regardless of trading)

Originally posted by pozzo
This is mine. u heard it from me first

Brisbane
Port Adelaide
St. Kilda
---------------------
Kangaroos

Swap West Coast and Brisbanes positions, and Adelaide and Port Adelaides positions and I reckon you might be on to something.

For those of you who are too thick to think for yourselves and keep quoting unsubstantiated one liners:

Adelaide will have 4 players over the age of 30 at the start of next season. Most teams in the competition have between 2 and 6 players in this age group. Every other Adelaide player is at their prime playing age or has not reached it yet.

After round 22

1. Brisbane
2. Collingwood
3. Geelong
4. Fremantle
5. St Kilda
6. Port Adelaide
7. Essendon
8. West Coast
9. Adelaide
10. Sydney
11. Kangaroos
12. Melbourne
13. Hawthorn
14. Carlton
15. Western Bulldogs
16. Richmond

Originally posted by motumbo
1. Essendon(Biased)
2. Port Power(Good Core of Players)
3. Brisbane( Got best player in league)
4. Fremantle( best list of youngsters)
5.Sydney( Consistant side)
6. St Kilda( big improvers)
7. Kangaroos( will be better than last year)
8.Collingwood( on the slide, did not recruit like they were going to)
9. Carlton( Recruited well, got a damm good coach)
10. Hawthorn( need more pace
11. Bulldogs( will improve)
12. West Coast( no KPP, did not recruit anyone to replace Macintosh)
13. Adelaide( rely too heavily on a ageing squad)
14. Richmond. ( put all eggs in one basket, did not recruit for the future)
15. Geelong( need more time)
16. Melbourne( need new ideas)

If Essendon finish 1st and Adelaide 13th, I'll walk around Australia on my hands.

Seriously though, this throw-away line about Adelaide being too old is a load of rubbish if you ask me. Apart from Carey, everyone else in the squad is capable of playing their best footy in 2004.

Adelaide has a lot of experienced players, including finals experience. Since when was that such a disadvantage?

Originally posted by russ
he is allowed to have his own opinion, which in this case, is foolish

Predicting the ladder is like predicting the lotto. Anything can happen.

Anyway, here's my ladder...

Port Adelaide
Brisbane
St. Kilda

Kangaroos
Bulldogs

1. Port
2. Brisbane
3. Collingwood
4. Essendon
5. Freo
6. St. Kilda
7. Sydney
8. Geelong

9. West Coast
10. Hawthorn
11. Adelaide
12. Roos
13. Melbourne
14. Richmond
15. Footscray
16. Carlton

1. Port Adelaide
2. Syderney
3. Collingwood (don't think we will make the GF however)
4. Adelaide
5. Brisbane (depends on what happens to Lynch also - if he goes they will be lower)
6. St Kilda
7. Hawthorn
8. Essendon (will do just enough as always - however always a big threat once they get there)
9. North Melbourne
10. West Coast
11. Fremantle (Vic teams will start winning a few games at the house of pain)
12. Carlton
13. Bulldogs
14. Geeeeeelong (Thompson gone by round 15)
15. Richmond (Frawley gone by round 8)
16. Melbourne (Too much uproar in the board - will unsettle them even more)

1. BRISBANE ( Awesome side )
2. FREMANTLE ( Can now win on the road )
3. PORT ( Last chance for this group, defence a worry)
4. ESSENDON ( Lot of quality players, good depth)
5. COLLINGWOOD (Well coached, passionate,unfinished business)
6. HAWTHORN ( Need a better start to the season)
7. ST KILDA (No more excuses)
8. SYDNEY (Will continue to improve)

9. KANGAS (Rebuilding,one of the toughest teams to beat)
10. ADELAIDE (Experienced but need more youth)
11. GEELONG (Another small step, no forwards)
12. DOGS (Will improve but not enough to reach finals)
13. W.COAST (Will probably prove me wrong again)
14. MELBOURNE (Unpredictable, no idea about these guys)
15. CARLTON (Will win more games at Optus, backline a worry)
16. RICHMOND (Kick it to Judas)