2006 Draft profiles (mojo31)

Appreciate your frustration Mojo, but for every one bad egg there are many here who appreciate your insights and value your contribution. Please come back when you're ready.

Mojo....I'm also interested in your thoughts on Marcus Crook and Brad Kelleher....who are both at Box Hill Hawks this year. (Further to post No. 311 which does not appear to have been replied to yet). N.B... both players starred in the ressies against Werribee, especially Kelleher who had at least 33 disposals and dominated the backline.

MCGBEAST said:
Mojo....I'm also interested in your thoughts on Marcus Crook and Brad Kelleher....who are both at Box Hill Hawks this year. (Further to post No. 311 which does not appear to have been replied to yet). N.B... both players starred in the ressies against Werribee, especially Kelleher who had at least 33 disposals and dominated the backline.

Have you been paying any attention? Mojo is no longer posting.

Hi mojo 31

ive enjoyed quitely reading your post, especially the drafting one. I do hope you make it back here after a break. Should you return please know you have all of our support. Hopefully we could deal with that moron together....

Just a note for the moron who's ruined MOJO31 posting. Back off if mojo returns. Your behaviour is not exceptable, mojo is simply offering his opinion.

Mojo can you block that moron from sending you pm? If you can then the only he can contact you is through posting, making him more acountable for his actions.

Hope you return mate, job well done

mojo31 said:
Hawks 2004

Passed on Griffen to take Roughead. Looking to get a structure more over the best avilable player.
Took Frankiln at 5 but that was a given with Tambling gone. Lewis as a big bodied mature player with only decent athleticism was a surprise at 7.
Traded Thompson and went for youth. Serious rebuild.

Hawks 2005

Took Ellis at 3 when it was mooted a bit before they were looking at taking 2 more talls based on what they did in 2004. However if it was not Ellis it would have been Thomas. At 6 they took Dowler and if he was not there then would have been Kennedy. So it was going to be 1 runner and 1 KPP type. Took an utility at 14 with Birchall. Very outside but plenty of scope to improve. Both Ellis and Birchall are about as far away from a Lewis type as can be. So no real definitive strategy about what they are doing.
Then a ruck in Bailey was taken and another ball carrier in Muston. I do not think Beau Muston was in there planning. Just had a look around and what was left with the pick and nobody rated much and decided to take the risk on him.

So we have 2 KPP in Dowler and Roughead
2 Utilities in Birchall and Franklin who might become KPP but also might be almost like tall onballers.
1 HBF who is not a midfielder yet but is a great user of the ball in Ellis.
Muston as a bit of a freak who dropped with injury and Hawks loaded up on picks and could afford to take the chance.
A ruck taken pretty early in Bailey to replace Everitt.

So whats the pattern here?

There is none. They are taking the best available player for what they need. They needed a bit of size in 2004 and went that way. They went for skill and run in 2005.

They traded 2 KPP players who would not be around in the time frame when they would have the team who would be challenging for a premiership in Hay and Thompson.

The only thing that stands out for me is that all the players taken are all good kicks of the ball. Kicking still is clearly rated very highly by Clarkson and anybody with a question mark on it will not be picked. So guys like Wade Mills, Andrew Swallow will always be passed on.

Not surprisingly they went after Guerra who is a very good field kick for his small height. Camporeale would have been an option with his skill but he is far to old for Clarksons long term plan. So Guerra at 23 (?) is fine for what they are doing. Matty Lappin also could have been targetted to go into the PSD but he is also to old.

So basically your club will look for best fit/best player who has good kicking skill. No picks will be traded and maybe a mature aged player might be taken from another club but dont count on it. A complete and serious rebuild with no top ups.

Looking at your team. Croad as a versatile KPP who has reached the quality stage. He can be moved around depending on need. Roughead as a developing tall who might be better suited down back based on what I have seen of him so far.
Franklin still to fill out but his style is not really of a KPP. Maybe not the answer at CHF and the bullocking work but as a tall flanker/wing who can lead a long way up the ground and lose his opponents in traffic and run away from them. If he is manned up by a midfielder to match his athleticism he can stay in the F50 and use his height and reach more to advantage.
Dowler is perhaps more of a FF than a CHF. He is a very good mark in contested situations but his body work in congestion is not so good. Prefers space and to be 1 on 1 rather than up at CHF with a mass of bodies around him buffetting him.
Looks more comfortable on the lead. A bit of a mark and kick player at the moment who is pretty athletic and a sharp shooter for goal. Not as good in the physical stakes as for example Josh Kennedy (Carlton) is but has him covered in athleticism and skill.

So Dowler at FF who can move to CHF for a break and as he develops. Croad as a legitimate qulaity KPP who can play botht ends. Roughead as a tall defender. Frankiln on the flank pushing right up the ground. Williams out of the pocket.
So for me that leaves a gap wherever Croad is not. If he plays forward then you are 1 KP defender down and the same if he plays back. So you can either make a decision on where you want to play Croad and then look for the best alternative to replace him in the other position.

If you play him at CHF then Thorp/Riewoldt/Hansen are th best picks for CHB/FB depending on if Roughead takes FB or CHB.

But for me I would play Croad mostly back (his kicking fo goal is getting better but will still will never be great) and look for a CHF. The best one is Gumbleton who is about a rock solid a forward prospect as you can imagine. He can take CHF and Croad can play CHB and when there is no match up for Croad he can go forward with his athleticism and look to stretch opposition teams defenses.

I would not be concerned with your midfield to much. Lewis, Hodge, Mitchell, Bateman and then kids developing under them. Crawford will need to be replaced but you are not relying on him as much anymore. Hodge and Mitchell have overtaken him by a fair margin now.

The ruck situation is not resolved. Campbell is improving but has a long way to go. I dont think Taylor will make it. Spida not sure if he is going to stay or get the deal he wants? McEntee was an ok pick on the rookie list but wont make it if you are realistic. Bailey has a bit of talent but wil take a while.

So Sellar would be a possability but that type of player who is a little short for maybe a full time ruck and as an athlete who can play forward as well is a bit similar to Ryder who the Hawks passed on and went for the giant 205cm Bailey later on. Sellar is 197cms but unless he was 200cm by the draft camp and going to be a full time ruck and had no question marks on that I do not think your club would select him.

Gibbs has the footskills your club looks for but is not the quickest player around. I think Gumbleton, Thorp or Hansen would be better prospects for what you need.

With where you will finish it seems your pick will be 6 to 10 around about. So thats Selwood, Riewoldt, Leuenberger, Jetta material.
You have not picked 1 short player in the last 2 drafts early on. Birchall, Muston, Ellis, Lewis are all tall flanker/midfielders. So a player like Jetta would be a surprise.

Leuenberger would be a chance but after taking Bailey it would be a bit of a double up. Selwood as an inside clearance player not overly blessed with speed and his kicking skills are good but not in the Hidge class. Having Hodge and Mitchell would not make it ideal with him. Class player but not in the Luke Ball (2.87 for the 20m) for speed.

So for me that leaves Jack Riewoldt as a KPP who is best available/best fit who will be an option as your pick with where you are likely to finish and what your team needs.

If your form drops away or you get a spate on injuries then 1 of Thorp, Hansen or Gumbleton would be in the frame as forst choice picks.

Something like that off the top of my head.

You would know more than me anyway about your team but those are a few thoughts on your situation at this early stage.

Awesome summary Mojo31. Thanks for taking the time to do that.
I agree, another quality KPP will be the first priority. From what you wrote earlier Hansen sounds like he could play both ends (and be virtually interchangeable with Croad). Would that be right?

PS I do hope you come back soon and see how much you've been appreciated. I do wish we could all gang up on the boof-head(s) and get rid of them for you but that is the issues of cyberspace I guess....Anyway enjoy your break, hope to see your posts again soon.

mojo31 said:
18) Jackson Sheringham

Wing/midfield

178cms and 73 kgs.
22/6/88
Geelong Falcons

Geelong Falcons player and brother of Ted who was rookied by Geelong in the 2004 draft. Very pacy and skilled player who is capable of carrying the ball and breaking the lines. Very good disposal and is a classy winger who given space and time is damaging.

Had a good year in the TAC and finished 3rd in the best and fairest for the Falcons. Played mainly wing but also some runs on the ball and down back. Versatile and has had a good grounding with 18 games in the TAC last year. Averaged a touch under 20 possessions and rarely wasted any of them. Long kicking to advantage was a feature of his game.
Would like to see him grow some more and fill out and develop the inside part of his game and become more a contested ball winner and inside player to go with his running and skills. That would really round his game out in my opinion and make him more complete.
Good tackler who has a good work rate and stays involved in the game and is prepared to work both ways. Very good prospect who is very clean with his use of the ball and is clever and quick. When he adds some more weight to break tackles he will be even better.

Composed and a smart reader of the player and is a silky prospect. Looks like a natural wing with his speed and disposal and ability to find space and carry the ball. Hopefully as he gets stronger he can also develop the other parts of his game as well.

Certinally right there. I once saw Sheringham run 15.9, and that was only in year nine.

Whoever gets him will be very happy.

I think your better off with Gibbs or Selwood, much better. You have Lloyd, Lucas, Bradley (yeah, i know), and Fletcher. What you really need is a classy midfielder, something you are starved of right through the ranks. Gibbs would be perfect, and to a lesser extent Selwood.

tomthetiger said:
I think your better off with Gibbs or Selwood, much better. You have Lloyd, Lucas, Bradley (yeah, i know), and Fletcher. What you really need is a classy midfielder, something you are starved of right through the ranks. Gibbs would be perfect, and to a lesser extent Selwood.
we need a Key Position player imo as they are harder to get and we really struggled to have any forward target besides Lucas and we could then look at a quality midfielder with our 2nd pick and possibly 3rd being in the top 20.

Hmm yeah true, but I think the true potentially superstar midfielders are Gibbs and Selwood, and the rest are a little bit behind. However, if it's a KPP you want, you can have him :( are you saying you'd have Lloyd at FF, Hanson or Gumbleton at CHF, then Lucas on a half forward flank?

tomthetiger said:
Hmm yeah true, but I think the true potentially superstar midfielders are Gibbs and Selwood, and the rest are a little bit behind. However, if it's a KPP you want, you can have him :( are you saying you'd have Lloyd at FF, Hanson or Gumbleton at CHF, then Lucas on a half forward flank?
We could even play Lucas down back were he is very good at playing...

having Lucas as a 3rd option in the forward line would be very dangerous for any team to handle although abviously Hansen/ Gumbleton will still be a fair bit behind him when they start playing AFL.

well i reckon we need a young forward so i would want hansen or gumbleton but we should go for the best avilable player and if gibbs is still there i would grab him

I wonder who the roos will get with what will seemingly be a top 5 pick.

I can't help but think that it's time for a true chf after half a decade of breaking down there.

so that means... gumbelton?

what about luke copley does he stand any chance of being drafted this year. tall well built player with massive left foot can kick over 60 meters with ease. any chance

mojo31 said:
30) David Gourdis

Key Forward

14/3/89
191cms and 88kgs
Subiaco (WA)

Played well at the U16 Championships for WA. Played at CHF and showed an ability to take contested marks, use his body well and be strong at the contest. Shows good judgement in the air and either marked the ball or brought it to ground. Always gave a good contest and has a good work ethic. Physical type to go with a very well developed and strong body.

His kicking needs a little bit of work. Does not seem to have great agility and change of direction and is not very quick over the ground at this stage. Might get mobility problems as he gets even bigger in the future. Works hard below his knees but is a bit limited with it when the ball is on the ground and can appear a bit lost about how to go about it.

Pretty raw bottom aged key forward who is not overly skilful or athletic at this early stage. Has the appetite for the contest and is a very hard worker who keeps on presenting for leads and does not drop his head and stop trying. Just needs some more polish onto his game and to squeeze the maximum athleticism he can out of his body to make it as a centre half forward. Seems to have good endurance but it a little bit 1 paced at this stage. However anybody who has as good a hands overhead as David and can take a contested mark has a good starting point when they are 191cms and growing.
Schoolmate and club footy teammate of mine (doesnt play). He has the ability to completely dominate the game. When he was playing club footy, he would play ruck and would get 5 goals minimum every game. Then every now and then he'd just turn it on, and no matter whos on him, he'll beat them. Goin alright at Subi colts at the moment.

Dunno why Matt Virgo's name isn't being thrown up. Awesome player, ready made for AFL

I am not sure if you will have much information on this guy mojo, but i was wondering if you would be able to give me some information on a SA schoolfootballer named Toby Schulz. He was an AIS member last year and i have been told he is really stepping it up this season...

for all those people talking about jack riewoldt need to stop sucking up his ass about how good he is and focus on his ability of playing football then his name..i have played against him and with him and he is know where near as good as everyone is saying..

bigdogg said:
for all those people talking about jack riewoldt need to stop sucking up his ass about how good he is and focus on his ability of playing football then his name..i have played against him and with him and he is know where near as good as everyone is saying..

He is very slow.

Don't want him at Richmond.

Can someone give an example of a current player that each of the potential top 20 draftees can be likened to. At the moment, to me, it sounds like there are 3 jonothan browns in the top 5.