2008 Melbourne Cup

• Thread starter Thread starter goal sneak

weekend hussler?

i dont see anything wrong with kibbutz in front of efficient.

I want in on Leica Falcon where ever he is!

thanks mate
not sure think he will be $7 but he'll be racing like a 4-5yo if the injury is sound!

Apparently some nag called Phar Lap came back from his 1929 Derby win and took the Cup in 1930! Still the point stands. Has hardly happened!

True that. I did actually know that, but think I got carried away with my point!

Seeing that no one else has tipped him yet I'll claim Xcellent at the $41 dollars, I'd also only be interested in Efficient, Fiumicino (especially if Hanis is correct and it is raining) and the overseas horses. Also favourites seem to win the race every 4 or 5 years (this trend goes back a few cycles) and the diva was the last favourite to win so it wont be happening next year. Pretty sure Motonari wont be winning it so betstar should wind him out from $41 (correct me if I'm wrong but was he not put down at Sandown).

Tuesday, 15 January 2008: One punter is going to be an intent observer when multiple Group One winner Eremein makes his comeback to race at Rosehill on Saturday in the Festival Stakes.

The punter has shown his confidence in Eremein regaining his mantle as one of the best stayers in Australia by plunging on the Alan Denham-trained star to win this year's Melbourne Cup with Sportingbet Australia. Despite the race still being 10 months away, Sportingbet's Bill Richmond said the punter stood to win $400,000 should Eremein win the 2008 Melbourne Cup.

Eremein, who has not raced since his last March due to musclular problems, is a $51 chance in Sportingbet's first Melbourne Cup market and was among several horses who had already attracted considerable support. "The Tony Vasil-trained Doubly Sure has been backed from $301 to $81 with one punter backing him to win $120,000 and another to win $50,000," Richmond said.

Last year's winner Efficient and third placegetter Mahler have also come in for support. Efficient's younger half-brother Guillotine and Queen Elizabeth Stakes winner Zavite have also been backed at the early prices.

Richmond said punters had little to lose by backing their fancies early. "The punters are in a good position as Sportingbet Australia will refund all bets on those runners not nominated for the Cup," he said.

Victoria Derby winner Kibbutz is Sportingbet's opening favourite at $16 ahead of Caulfield Cup winner Master O'Reilly, VRC Oaks heroine Arapaho Miss and Irish stayer Septimus all at $17.

http://www.racingandsports.com.au/racing/rsNewsArt.asp?NID=119165&story=Punter_Has_Faith_In_Eremein

Has anyone heard of possible international entries for this year. Found last year that if you can get a good idea that the internationals are coming out and back them early you can lay them off for considerablly less closer to the date. Some risk involved but when isnt there.

Japanese horses came here once and ran 1,2 by a space and pretty sure they would have gapped them this year as well

Just hope the TAB has another double odds day for them next year

I'm hearing you Tassie Bulldog!

I jumped on Pop Rock and Delta Blues in the promo too. Only needed one of them to run a place to be in front. Safe bet until that damn EI rooted things up.

Given the hassles with refunds, I suspect TAB may keep it simple this year.

I think I'll be leaving everything by Encosta De Lago out of my Melbourne Cup bets - can't get 2 miles.

Ditto for Master O'Reilly.

Everyone hangs crap on Zipping as a 2 miler, yet only 2 Australian/NZ horses have beaten him home over 2 runnings of the Cup - what does that tell you?

I think the Australian contenders will come from:
- Efficient
- Kibbutz
- Maldivian

Maybe Better might be the forgotten horse. It obviously had problems last Spring.

Gallopin and Redondo Beach are the two bolters I think from the B Grader staying races, and I wouldn't totally write off The Fuzz

Don't get so defensive. He's just saying what he thinks.

Exactly Ricketts. He said Yeats was coming, I said he cant win (which he cant). My comment had nothing to do with anyone thinking he can win, it was purely a statement that he cant win. Someone needs to use their brain more me thinks however difficult that may be.

Im warming to Lords Ransom for the Melbourne Cup, recently been transferred into the Danny Obrien stable - where im hoping to see some improvement from him, been by jeune he will stay the trip, has all the right ingredients for mine, I like roughies..

Also have a soft spot for Heavenly Glow, she would need to improve - but I think she has improvement in her, last prep she came from winning 1000m races at port mac - to winning sydney oaks! next prep, she should improve further and Im hoping she gives it a shake..

Just reading other posts on here, ppl mentioning yeats, I think hed be a real contender - after watching his win the other night, dominant.