2009 Media Thread

Re: Media Thread

there are three blokes it could be, one I would think is highly unlikely the other two are probable, am interested to see who it is.

edit: make it 5

im interested to see whether it has legs + a fat gut, a bald head and an annoying voice and is named "hutchy" and whether he covers it on TFS tonite

Do you guys reckon like maybe the reason everyone yells out Baaaallllllllllllll is because they are referring to Luke Ball when he gets it, and if so why do they do it in games he's not playing, is he really popular or are there lots of people that look like him?

thoughts anyone???

I think Luke Ball needs a haircut - he looked "odd" with hair on TFS last night

Do you guys reckon like maybe the reason everyone yells out Baaaallllllllllllll is because they are referring to Luke Ball when he gets it, and if so why do they do it in games he's not playing, is he really popular or are there lots of people that look like him?

thoughts anyone???

My thoughts are you're doing this wrong.

thoughts anyone???

So which players are "he _ucking threw it!!!" and "hasn't he got a back you freakin maggot???"

Didn't Choppeddaharmes play for Carlton some time ago?

:D

Matthew Head would have to be the most popular umpire going around, as I hear so many sentences with his name in it. Funny though, sometimes he isn't even umpiring that day.

:D

Matthew Head would have to be the most popular umpire going around, as I hear so many sentences with his name in it. Funny though, sometimes he isn't even umpiring that day.

Much like that Freo player Josh Head keeps getting mentions and yet he struggles every single week.

He must see someone butcher the ball, hear the crowd's reaction, and have a Bart Simpson moment "It wasn't me!!!". Poor bugger.

But at least the crowd gets it right, unlike Ray Ray Chamberlain who called Matt Maguire "Moose". Maybe he thought they weren't close enough friends for his real nickname.

Because Bullwinkle is just too much of a mouthful

Well when we play Brisbane at least we have Peabody's partner in Sherman!

Rejuvenated Gardiner to lock horns with best in the business9th April 2009

Dumped West Coast ruckman Michael Gardiner’s rebirth at St Kilda will be put to a brutal test on Saturday against the man he once almost forced to go to Moorabbin. Eagles big man Dean Cox was so frustrated at living in Gardiner’s hulking shadow in 2003 that he had all but agreed to move to St Kilda.

Coach Grant Thomas even considered it a done deal, but lamented that the failure to seal it ultimately cost the club a drought-breaking flag before he was dumped at the end of 2006 after their third-straight finals finish, including two preliminary finals. “I’ve got no doubt it would have dramatically assisted us,” Thomas said bluntly on the influence Cox would have wielded. “We had a significant gap there ... and with all due respect to the other ruckmen we had in those positions, we weren’t going to get sucked along in their slipstream. You look at our sides and you look at our performances … put a Dean Cox in there and tell me what you think may have happened?”

Cox had played just 36 games before the 2003 season after being elevated from West Coast’s rookie list three years earlier. But like Mark Seaby under him in recent seasons, Cox was forced to play little more than a bit role in 2003 as Gardiner dominated his way to Brownlow Medal favouritism with game-breaking ruck displays which included massive hit-out counts of 39-plus in four separate matches.

Cox, who was just a fraction of the running machine he is now when he first joined the club from Dampier, mounted one final resistance against the growing St Kilda overtures and his break came the following year in round three when Gardiner suffered a season-ending knee injury which ultimately triggered his unravelling at the Eagles.

Since that point, the football journeys for the former teammates could not have been more stark. Gardiner’s life on and off the field spiralled down to a point where he was sacked by West Coast and his career looked over, while Cox immediately nabbed the club’s No. 1 ruck mantle. Within a season he would lead the Eagles to their fourth grand final and, a year later, their third flag. Last year, in the worst season in West Coast’s 22-year history, the 27-year-old stood tall to claim his first club champion title and fourth straight All-Australian gong.

Cox’s manager and uncle, former WAFL star George Michalczyk, said in 2006 that his nephew saw little other option than to switch to St Kilda as Gardiner, the No. 1 draft pick of 1996, surged to the peak of his playing powers. “We got very warm about moving on when Dean was living in Gardiner’s shadow,” Michalczyk said. “St Kilda spoke to me a number of times in 2003 and we were ready to throw the whole thing away with the Eagles and go to the Saints. “Here was a 22-year-old kid getting no game time and he wanted to play AFL footy. He was only getting five or 10 minutes a quarter and sometimes hardly getting a run at all. “How was he ever going to improve or prove himself if he wasn’t getting game time? But how could you have played him ahead of Gardiner? You just couldn’t because he was so dominant and never, ever looked like not being the No. 1 ruckman. “Gardiner getting hurt was no doubt the only thing that stopped him leaving.”

Thomas confirmed the story. “We were extremely confident and of the opinion that the deal was a fait accompli,” he said. “It was really only right at the death knock (that the deal broke down) and, in hindsight, we were terribly, terribly stiff. But timing and fate is everything and Gardiner’s injury opened the door for Coxy to take the running mantle and that was a better option than his next best one, which was to come to us and lead our first ruck.”

Thomas said he would have an ironic feeling when he watched the two goliaths clash at Etihad Stadium on Saturday in guernseys which they went so close to swapping.

While he had no doubt Cox was now clearly the better player, Gardiner was forging a strong ruck partnership with 2007 Geelong premiership ruckman Steven King as St Kilda’s high 2007 draft pick Ben McEvoy developed his trade. “I don’t think Gardiner has anywhere near the same capability as Cox — Cox is an eight or nine out of 10 ruckman and Gardiner is a six or seven out of 10 ruckman, so I’d expect Cox to take the points,” Thomas said. “But Gardiner has started the year very, very well and if he’s able to maintain that form and even develop on it, it’s going to be a fantastic decision the club’s made to secure him.”

Whilst not Saints related, as there is not too many of us that share the Navy Poos love, thought this was pretty funny (sorry about the scan quality):

Inside Football utilised its cover last week to hail the re-emergence of born-to-rule Carlton, which the newspaper spruiked with a headline that took the mickey out of Carlton's recent marketing campaign. Yes, that's the one about "They Know We're Coming", and while it's clever, it's also very Carlton.

Anyway, Inside Footy's headline read: "Premature speculation", with a kicker underneath: "Those Blues are coming but have they arrived?" While the headline pushed the boundaries of taste, the newspaper's editor, Russell Holmesby, pointed out yesterday that the cover was an attempt at April Fool's Day humour.

However there is a little more to the story. When the staff at Carlton saw the cover, they were taken by the appearance of a mystery "player" on the right-hand side of the picture. There in the foreground was the maverick from Tassie, Mitch Robinson, getting plaudits from young ruckman Sam Jacobs behind him. But Ian Coutts, Carlton's general manager communications, was "absolutely mystified" as to the identity of the third "player" in the shot, on the right side.

So he rang Holmesby, who fessed up. The picture was digitally altered so that Carlton's zippy small forward Adam Hartlett's head was replaced. The "player" miraculously turned into none other than Peter North, an American pr0n star of some note. "A couple of blokes in the office know him," said Holmesby. "Just a little April Fool's thing."

Footnote from Squizzy : I used to stand near Russell Holmesby at Moorabbin, and know he is a massive Saints fan!

Rofl, did anyone else just get "premature" and the last bit of "speculation" when they opened this page?

No, I have never had that problem !

:eek:

(sorry, I couldn't resist)

"Sanits Media" posted this on Saints Central. Good to see the club has got us on all three main FTA channels this weekend!

SATURDAY: Lenny Hayes will be on 'Before The Game' (Ch10)
SUNDAY: Farren Ray will be on the 'Sunday Footy Show' (Ch9) and Leigh Montagna will be on 'Gameday' (Ch7)

I'm glad Ross cleared that one up :

Lyon said he was impressed by the performances of Xavier Clarke, who gathered 34 possessions, as well as Colm Begley, Robert Eddy, Ben McEvoy and Matt Maguire, who is edging closer to a senior return.

Maguire is playing football. In saying that, he is still building. We’ve rushed him in the past. It was the right thing at the right time but we’re taking a conservative approach. We don’t want to set him up to fail, we want to set him up to succeed,” he said.

Ross - Buddy - I'll bet you wished you didn't say that. Piss him off again and they will never find the body!

Ross Lyon wants to base St Kilda on Geelong
AAP | April 14, 2009

Before St Kilda tries to beat Geelong this season, coach Ross Lyon wants his Saints to become them. Lyon refers to the Cats as the AFL's "benchmark" team and is using them as an example for his players.

St Kilda made last year's preliminary finals, but there was a widespread speculation that they would falter this season. Instead, the Saints have started with three impressive wins and now Lyon is demanding they maintain their intensity.

The Saints will start strong favourites this Saturday night at Etihad Stadium when they host winless Fremantle. "All coaches, no doubt, want their players to perform with intensity week-in, week-out," Lyon said. "What we've spoken about is clearly the benchmark team is Geelong and they were able to tick that box off last weekend against Collingwood, in another big game.

"Where we want to head to as a team is towards the benchmark and we've spoken about our ability to reproduce that intensity consistently and what you've got to be able to do, to do that. "We believe it comes from preparation and preparing the mind and the body, each week the same."

Lyon also wryly noted that three weeks is a long time in football, adding that the hounds will be baying for his blood in three weeks' time should the Saints go without a win in that period. "All I know is the best team of the last two years is undefeated, they're still the benchmark team," he said. "Is is any coincidence that three of last year's top four are undefeated and Hawthorn have had significant injuries? I'm not sure it is a coincidence."

Lyon is looking forward to the big tests against those top-four sides, starting with the Western Bulldogs on May 3, but he is also acutely aware not to look too far ahead.

Lyon described Fremantle as a team under siege and said his players had to be wary of how that situation could galvanise the Dockers. The Saints are unlikely to make any changes this week as they try to build on their solid start. "We are pretty keen to promote the 22 who are delivering for us," he said. "There are a few pushing up (through the VFL), but they will have to bang down the door if everyone (in the senior side) keeps delivering on what they need to do for the team.

"It's not really a dilemma, it's a position we've worked hard to create."

Ruckman Michael Gardiner is certainly a reason the Saints have improved with his impressive start to the season. But Lyon has no intention to give the big man special treatment through the season, despite his history of injuries. "I hope the lacquer bands hold him together - Michael and I had a laugh about that today," Lyon said. "I'd rather him wear out than rust out."

For those suffering withdrawals already...

Ex-Saints putting the old into Old Haileybury

YES, the rumours are true: 37-year-old former St Kilda champ Robert Harvey will pull on the boots for Old Haileybury in A-section in the Ammos. "He'll play in the magenta and black at McKinnon on Saturday," said chairman of selectors Darren Seccull. And why wouldn't Harvey play for Haileybury (even if they do wear magenta)? Former Saints at the Bloods include Stewart Loewe (who's 40), Brett Voss and Tony Brown as well as Harvey. Shane Wakelin, who was a Saint before he was a Magpie, next month will play one game with his twin brother Darryl at their original club, Kimba, in deepest, darkest South Australia, before returning to Melbourne to sign with the Bloods. And Bloods coach Jamie Shanahan, the 41-year-old former St Kilda defender, is threatening to come out of retirement. "He's been talking himself up over summer," Seccull said. Perhaps Haileybury should be called not the Bloods but the Bloody Olds when they host Old Trinity in the opening round on Saturday.

I have it on good authority that Connor Harvey's application to Haileybury has already been accepted due to his father pulling on the boots.

Obviously the umpires department doesn't know that the Pies have been listening to Chicago a lot lately ("it's hard for them to say they're sorry").

Collingwood Magpie's apology sadly missing

Bruce Matthews | April 16, 2009

Like politics, sorry seems to be the hardest word to utter in football, too.
Maybe Collingwood forgot the most basic decency in its elation over Heath Shaw escaping with the bare minimum penalty for deliberately making contact with an umpire.

Surely, a brief public apology should have been an automatic reaction. Not only would it have shown genuine contrition by the player, but it also would have sent a powerful message through all football leagues that every umpire is untouchable.

Shaw can hardly be blamed; he simply did what he was told by legal advisers. But the Magpies should have insisted he apologise to field umpire Michael Vozzo, rather than as an almost by-the-way line in his defence advocate's spiel to the tribunal jury for leniency.

Ample opportunity was there at the hearing. Once Vozzo gave evidence, he walked right past Shaw on the way out. Yes, the umpire wasn't even in the room to hear the advocate tell the jury that Shaw "apologises to umpire Vozzo".

And, no doubt under instructions again, Shaw stood mute behind Geoff Walsh after the hearing while the Pies football manager thanked everyone for the recommended penalty, which was effectively a wrist slap.

To admit a wrong wasn't incriminating in this case; Shaw's advocate indicated from the start that he pleaded guilty. While Collingwood's defence is that there was no requirement for Shaw to comment, it seemed inappropriate we didn't hear a word of explanation, let alone remorse, from the accused during the 30-minute hearing.

Vozzo said it wasn't unusual for players to make light contact with him during his 218 games. But this one knocked him off balance.

When a young Queensland field umpire damaged St Kilda midfielder Robert Eddy's knee in a collision in the NAB Cup, he rang the Saint to apologise. The umpires' department contacted Saints coach Ross Lyon to apologise, too.

By Wednesday afternoon, no call had been made to Vozzo. It's too late now. The umpire has already moved on.

But Mick Malthouse says "After all that we've been through, I will make it up to you - I promise to".

Sorry for the posters who are too young for this song or think Chicago are kinda gay. AC/DC haven't done too many tracks I can think of about being sorry!

2009 Media Thread