2012/13 Nine Commentary team bagging thread

• Thread starter Thread starter JUBJUB

This (Healy) is the same arseclown that wanted Australia to declare 100 runs behind.

Get rid of him 9 FFS!

Even worse, he wanted it when they were 200 behind.

Another commentary team ripper 'Australia would love to get one of these two'. Now thats not stating the obvious at all.

*rhetorical question*
their commentary is far better except for Geoff Lawson who doesn't seem to relise that there is life out side NSW. it was always good to have the tv turned down with the radio playing in the back ground but you cant do it so much now days with the delay between the two

I can handle all of that, I just groan and roll my eyes. In fact, I find it hilarious listening to him stuff up. Like when he was mentioning that all the Saffer batters got a start, except for Smith, who wasn't as "starty" :p

The thing that I can't handle is that he talks through the delivery of a ball and only pays it the scantest regard.

There's an unwritten TV commentary rule for cricket that you pause your conversation as the bowler reaches the middle of his run-up and abandon it completely if there is an excellent shot or wicket. Healy commentates as though the action is secondary to his clown act. I can't concentrate, all I can focus on is whether or not he'll shut up when the ball is being bowled.
This a thousand times over. Such a basic rule. Surely the producer should be telling him to stfu with the non-stop gibberish?

He was ok when he used to commentate in England. Trouble is he adapts to whatever crew he is with so he's bound to be crap with nein.

Slats was fine in England. Unfortunately when he's with his mates he turns into that mouthy, small bloke in any group you just want to belt.

A couple of moments I remember from SA's first innings. Slater going on about how tricky it'd be for de Villiers to get off the mark with the difficult conditions, the de Villiers gets off the mark with a classic off-drive. lol.

Chappell defending criticisms of Kallis. Yet, in past SA tours over here, he is the one I can remember criticising Kallis, the same way everyone else does!

I don't know if I can hold out 10 days for tubbys test match intro with the iPad.

Looking forward to him talking about Peter siddle with Vernon philanders photo on the screen

New drinking game:

Take a drink whenever Slats refers to an older player as an 'elder statesman'.

Another new drinking game

Take a drink everytime they make a joke about Glenn McGraths batting

Mark Taylor is the worst of them all. So monotone it's not funny.
There are worse, he tries to say intersting things, but his speech is hard to listen to. Bloody hell, what is it with the way he pronounces the number "two" - it sounds like he is spitting his chewy out at the same time.....

their commentary is far better except for Geoff Lawson who doesn't seem to relise that there is life out side NSW. it was always good to have the tv turned down with the radio playing in the back ground but you cant do it so much now days with the delay between the two

Geoff "everything you didn't want to know about club cricket in NSW but I'll tell you anyway" Lawson. Overall I recon he is okay though. Love Kerry O'Keefe except he hates footy!

As for the radio / TV delay thing - it's annoying but you can make it work for you in a way. Have both on, but you are doing something else like cooking or whatever. When the radio announcers get excited you can quickly look up at the TV and still catch the shot/wicket etc. No good if you are watching it properly but ok if you just have it on in the background whilst doing other stuff.

They are probably about the same actually.

Tubby >>>> Healy.

At least Tubbs knows a bit about the game.

Healy seems to have come out of 10 years of test cricket knowing less about the game than the average punter.

Out: Healy
In: Joe the Cameraman

Wish they would go back to bringing in a commentator from the touring team's country like they used to do back in the day.

Then again it might be hard to convince anyone that's half decent to spend the entire summer sitting next to flogs like Taylor, Slater and having Ian Healy constantly dribble in their ear.

Wish they would go back to bringing in a commentator from the touring team's country like they used to do back in the day.

Then again it might be hard to convince anyone that's half decent to spend the entire summer sitting next to flogs like Taylor, Slater and having Ian Healy constantly dribble in their ear.

Get Pommie!

Get Colin Croft. He has a slightly threatening demeanour and can be rather unpleasant without seeming to be with the other commentators when they say things he doesn't like.

Apparently in the West Indies, the other commentators used to check when they were on with him then go and petition the producers to get the roster changed.

He'd be a cat amongst the bloody stupid pigeons at nein.