Competitions 2012 AFC Draft Game - The Discussion and First Round Judging Thread

Hdecure's final Team!
The Crippled Crows

FF: G. Rohan, A. Walker, R. Gray
HF: J. McVeigh, S. Day, R. Douglas
C: T. McKenzie, S. Mitchell, N. Van Berlo
HB: M. Suckling, P. Davis, T. Mzungu
FB: B. Jacobs, M. Jamison, N.Duigan
R. M. Leuenberger, B. Moloney, N. Dal Santo
Int: J. Caddy, J. Giles, T. Mohr
Sub: C. Wingard
Emg: B. McKenzie, T. Mitchell, S. Morris

I feel my midfield is clearly my strongest area, with Elite Midfielders Dal Santo and Mitchell leading the way, with Moloney racking up the clearences thanks to the expert ruck work from Leuenberger.
Van Berlo also provides another very strong midfielder who can run all day, while McKenzie can provide me with that little bit of X-Factor with his booming left foot kick.

My forward line is probably my weakest point, but I still have some good weapons in Andrew Walker, Robbie Gray and Jarrad McVeigh. Youngsters Caddy, Rohan and Wingard can pick up the crumbs with their dangerous skills around goal. Sam Day is my leading forward target behind Walker, and this really is a lottery in terms of Day's output in 2012.

I think my backline is good without being rock solid. I've got three good KP Backs in Davis, Duigan and Jamison, but 2 of them are injury prone. Hopefully they stay on the park for me. Jacobs and Mzungu can provide that run out of defence. Suckling can give me that extra killer punch with his elite left foot kick.

Hmm, clearly I cursed Gray and Rohan, as both destroyed their legs in sickening injuries. Leuenberger also missed basically the whole year to.

Giles was easily my best selection, grabbing him very late in the draft. McVeigh, Mitchell, Van Berlo probably the other three that had great years. The rest were either par, below average or didn't play.

Looking forward to 2013 draft game! When do you think we should get the 2013 version started Kristof? I'm pretty much free for a month from the 11th of december.

Faiths Team:

F: Shannon Byrnes Tom Hawkins Leigh Adams
HF: Daniel Giansiracusa Justin Westhoff Andrew Embley
C: Bernie Vince Michael Barlow Travis Boak
HB: Shaun Grigg Nathan Bock NathanJones
B: Matty Thomas Daniel Merrett Tyson Goldsack
Foll: Aaron Sandilands Paul Chapman (vc ) Jude Bolton ( c )

Interch: Scott McMahon John McCarthy David Myers Chad Cornes

Emerg: Matthew Lobbe Kepler Bradley Matthew Bate

* Very happy with the way my team has ended up.

To get the best ruckman in the comp meant i didnt have to get another ruck til my emergency picks.
Given this game is for 2012 only i tried to overlook young players who are still developing, wanted as many big strong bodies with a proven record.
Sandles palming down to chapman bolton and barlow is mouth watering, and to have boak and vince on the outside just rounds of my midf beautifully.
Up forward would of liked a gun CHF to help Hawkins, but westhoff/Giansiru and Embley play small or tall so plenty of goals available there.
Byrnes and adams are tough and quick can play as crumbing forwards or move up field into the midf which is good flexibility.
In defence Merrett is a beast and will play on all the beast forwards, Bock is the attacking CHB i wanted (the best in the business), and goldsack would take the third talls and attack the game if required.
Thomas will take on the oppositions best small forwards, while Grigg is the skilfull HBF every team needs and Jones is the tough HBF who uses the ball well.
Good balance in defence.
Interchange: McMahon can take the oppositions best small HF when required and attack as well, McCarthy is my midf/wing and hf with nice skills and good clearance player.
Myers can take an oppositions forward and attack the game when needed while cornes is mr versatile.

Emergencies, Lobbe is my ruckman in case Sandles cant play, Kepler can pinch hit in the ruck or play KPD or KPF, and Bate is an attacking minded HFF.

Very happy with my team, my only weakness maybe is a gun CHF, but with Embley/Gian helping Westhff at HFF, i should be ok in terms of goals.

Would be happy if this 25 took the field every week representing Faith FC, reckon they would challenge any of the other 17 teams :thumbsu:

Not a bad team.
Best midf in the comp i think

Hmm, clearly I cursed Gray and Rohan, as both destroyed their legs in sickening injuries. Leuenberger also missed basically the whole year to.

Giles was easily my best selection, grabbing him very late in the draft. McVeigh, Mitchell, Van Berlo probably the other three that had great years. The rest were either par, below average or didn't play.

Looking forward to 2013 draft game! When do you think we should get the 2013 version started Kristof? I'm pretty much free for a month from the 11th of december.

I reckon we'll kick it off the Friday of that week - gets us past most of the "interesting" off season out of the way ...

The Lismore Lions

Hayden Ballantyne|Tommy Walsh|Mark LeCras
Ricky Petterd|Jack Watts|David Armitage
Hamish Hartlett|Tom Scully|Nathan Fyfe
Josh Drummond|Tom Lonergan|Nick Lower
Stephen Gilham|Brian Lake|Dyson Heppell

Orren Stephenson|Mark Murphy|Matt Priddis

Matt Deboer|Rhys Palmer|Jonothan Griffin

Jared Polec

Aaron Cornelius|Taylor Hunt|Simon Hogan​
Wow! Buzz's team got murdered with injury! Not much footy was played from that team.

You're not wrong mate. My first two picks- Murphy and Fyfe each missed two thirds of the season, LeCras missed the entire season, if I remember correctly- Watts and Scully were next and they both failed to develop whatsoever and Walsh didn't play a game FFS. On a final note, of my back 6- two have been delisted, and two have been traded after massively luckluster seasons.

Probably screwed this up more than anyone :D

I think he bumped his head a few too many times as a child
I thought he was a troll having a dig at our logo but as it turns out, Joe Flacco is an NFL player. He seems a few a sandwiches short of a picnic.

Competitions 2012 AFC Draft Game - The Discussion and First Round Judging Thread