2012 Draft wish list

I still don't get how O'Brien > Shaw. Seems the knock on both of them is that they don't get to enough contests, but Shaw would a vastly superior kick. (Also Shaw's highlights aren't against Tassie and the NT!). Is it just because O'Brien's rawness makes him theoretically more versatile?

Dunno how Shaw usually plays, but the main thing I saw in his highlights vid is the fact that he virtually never judged the ball well enough in flight to take the mark off one leg. He marked it above his head from two feet over, and over again.

Maybe they left the running marks out of Shaw's highlights reel, but O'Brien took several speccies from two or three men deep. He can clearly judge the ball reasonably well in flight.

Quigley's writeup of Shaw also suggested that he was easy to work under the ball, and often misjudged it. I haven't seen either kid play at all except for the highlight reels. Much easier for AFL level opponents to counteract Shaw's height advantage, and then run off him. Much harder to spoil a guy that already has a couple of metres gap, and then takes a running mark at full extension. And then try to run away from him with the ball when he can run a 20 m sprint in comfortably under 3 seconds.

Laughable to me reading people making youtube clip assessments on a players ability to jump at balls or get worked under it by opponents...

What do you think drafting and developing is all about? If a skinny kid being worked under the ball a little or not being perfect at jumping at it is his biggest flaw at age 17 with a rake body i am hardly concerned.

The only players we can genuinely stress about are Menzel (knees) Stringer (Leg) Simpson/Garlett (personal lives...as feeble as that is)

Just did then. Most of the names so far have been the same, so I thought I'd go for the outright win with some of my selections.

I see you went Mcintosh and Marsh as your two possible KPD from WA Chris - any thoughts on these guys versus Alex Howson or Rodda - i.e. what ranking would you have the WA KPD's in.

Shaw has been playing football for three years if I'm to believe what I've heard.

Three years produced that. Imagine what he could do in with five years development.

I believe that is correct. He is very raw and could potentially be awesome.

It's gonna be hard to follow the draft with the Cricket awesome to watch. C'mon Clark for the double century record. Two runs to go!

Was a brilliant day for Australia no doubt. I do feel a bit for SA (only a little) with Philander and Kallis both going down with injury. At least Steyn recovered (albeit at the expense of Huss :mad:) after his scare.

Made me so pumped for the WACA test too, but I digress; how bout them footy players eh? Hope we pick some good ones up.

Some big names still on the board although don't know much about the talls left on offer:

Garlett
Nelson
Pongracic
Colqhoun
M Haynes
Matt Campbell (maybe)

You reckon the clubs would spend some time on Garlett as a PSD and I would be keen. Would be happy to rookie two of the above.

2012 Draft wish list