2nds 2012 Eagles WAFL watch thread - Part 2

bloody hell that game was cold.

mcgovern was solid without being outstanding

weedon looked clean and calm coming out of defence, doesn't look too bad there but doesn't look like he'll be challenging for a defensive position in our team for a long time

mckinley is still a stinker

lee still has something to offer at AFL level. actually would fit in nicely in our forward line, plays a bit like darling

Lee looked the goods, as did Gilligan.

Gov played ok without doing too much, why is everyone so keen to make him a ruckman though? Surely shorter than Majak who looks huge at first glance but is actually pretty small once you line him up to another ruckman.

Lee has some serious class about him, reminds me of the way Taylor Walker plays, very silky for a big bloke.

Taylor Walker is a brute by comparison. His one handed pick up and goal against East Fremantle in the last quarter on the weekend was freakish.

Lee looked the goods, as did Gilligan.

Gov played ok without doing too much, why is everyone so keen to make him a ruckman though? Surely shorter than Majak who looks huge at first glance but is actually pretty small once you line him up to another ruckman.

McGovern is no doubt being used as a part time ruckmen for Claremont because he is capable of pinch hitting like Lynch and he needs to improve his endurance so forcing him into the middle requires him to get on his bike more than playing him deeper as a forward.

No idea how tall Daw is? Perhaps around 196cm these days, but McGovern is clearly 192-193cm.

Is McGovern our most promising rookie KPF since Lynch? Thoughts on how long until he gloriously breaks into the best 22?

Apart from Wilson, Wilkes, Hamp and Gov what other KPF's have we rookie drafted since Lynchy?

Taylor Walker is a brute by comparison. His one handed pick up and goal against East Fremantle in the last quarter on the weekend was freakish.

I originally had 'moved' and changed it to 'played' but I guess 'moves' is probably the right the context, I guess the knock on Lee is his attack at the contest which may not stand up to AFL. The other player he reminds me of is Cale Morton, which isn't a good thing.

I heard he didn't take footy seriously enough which was part of the reason he was dumped by Adelaide, but he seems to have knuckled down a bit this year. Even when he was outpointed in a marking contest last night he still managed to knock it down and/or bring other team mates into the contest.

I liked what I saw last night and reckon he is worth giving a chance dependent upon the cost, but his cost is rising exponentially as the season goes on.

Like many here have said, Lee looks a prospect, Gilligan flashes of brilliance, McGovern strong in the contest and positions himself well, Weedon very clean the few times he touched the ball.

Noticed Stevenson was heavily rotated throughout the game. Perhaps fitness is an issue. Only reason why he shouldn't be getting a game as he's been excellent all year.

That McKinley lad for Werribee last night looks a likely sort - well built, ready to go, runs and tackles all day. Rookie spot maybe? :cool:

I was specifically watching when he went up to accept his medal from Barry Hall. There was no significant height difference between Hall and McGovern. Hall's listed as 194cm (wikepedia) so I reckon you're about right with 192/193cm.

Was Hall leaning forward though?
Was McGovern wearing lifts in his shoes to make him taller?
Was McGovern photoshopped in to make him look taller?

Clearly he's under 190cm

/Masto

I agree wholeheartedly with that sentiment, although, I reckon if he was with his mate Newman he might work harder in an AFL environment. This was my biggest criticism of him earlier in the year, wouldn't put his head over the ball, wouldn't work his butt off, and as a consequence was playing average footy for someone of his ability. Then Saturday, BANG, but let's see if he can do that against Claremont in 2 weeks time. I don't know anything about the misdemeanours.
I believe he was dropped this week for missing a recovery session. His resurgence didn't last long...

2nds 2012 Eagles WAFL watch thread - Part 2