Preview 2012 Expectations

As long as Bartel, Selwood, Scarlo, Chappy, Otto, SJ and Kel are at the club i won't stress.

Oh, and Maxxxy!

I wouldn't mind being complete smart arses by doing this.

Sitting in 9th spot for most of the year and then jumping into the 8 in the last round.
Then playing all over the country whilst smacking everyone we come up against.
Then becoming the first team to win the flag from 8th. That would cap off the dynasty just nicely :D

Re: Next Year Season 2012

Hayes could well be disappointing in his return. He's 32 (?), and coming back from a knee reco is usually tough, and more often than not the player has a quiet first year in return. If he has a quiet year, and the Saints go poorly, I reckon he'd pull the pin on his career at the end of 2012.
Hayes is losing his ability to convincingly stage for frees.
This will reduce his impact by 74.2% ;)
Saints are gone!

Sitting in 9th spot for most of the year and then jumping into the 8 in the last round.
Then becoming the first team to win the flag from 8th. That would cap off the dynasty just nicely :D

but I think even if we tried to lose, we'd still end up finishing between 4th and 6th so I doubt we will slip to 9th or 8th unless their hunger has miraculously vanished after 5 years and a chance at the ultimate greatness of back2back flags and hailed once and for all 'The greatest AFL team in history' :D

I think if we have a great run with injuries as we did this year, we will definitely be in the top 2-3. It will also depend on some of the up and comers, i.e. St Kilda. If the Saints get a good draw, and as they didn't finish top 4 might get 2 games a piece against the GWS and Coast, we may be pushed back by some of these teams as they get easier opportunities for wins.

Still, should be up there and with finals, anything can happen.

Hopefully we can keep Ottens in the lineup, and with him and Scarlo looking for their ends, perhaps we can go B2B.

It will be similar to this year, the media will hype up the hawks and the pies.

We will get more respect in 2012 but still behind those 2, maybe even carlton will get hyped up more than us.

As long as we blood youth, manage players well and not get too many injuries we should finish 1-3 again.

By the end of the year a couple of old guys will hopefully have been replaced in the best 22 by kids.

I think Hawthorn have a better chance of Defeating Collingwood in Round 1 then against you guys in round 2. But that's not my question. My question is Since 2007 you guys have had Ling Mooney King Milburn Harley Rooke Blake & Ablett (Traded) depart the club. IMO Ling is the biggest lost there.

1. If you guys notice that since 2007-2011 when the Hawks play Geelong Ling goes to either Hodge or Mitchell. If he goes to Mitchell then Hodge has an impact. If he goes to Hodge then Mitchell has an impact. So next year who goes to Hodge & Mitchell?

2. What about Joel Corey as a tagger run with player? He is an outstanding player and has been for a long time, his defence side to his game is actually pretty good. Not only is he good at finding the ball, but can also defend pretty well going the other way. Can he be used as a run with player next year?

If Geelong don't win next years premiership then Hawthorn will! :)

No , we will do that when we win our 5th or 6th flag. Our 4th flag (next year) will come the more traditional route -ie Top 4 finish -straight into the Prelim convincingly - and we all know what follows next. I actually got sick of Australia winning the Test Cricket-but i will never get sick of the Cats winning Flags

This. Just like every other year, clubs will try an emulate the best side.. the thing is only a few teams could do the finals game plan we have because of the big bodies around the ground.

I hope we go in with our h&a gameplan we had this year and then do the long kicking for the finals so it's not easy to work us out (unlike the press)

The only change from the GF Team is Ling and he is a big out because of shutting down guys like hodge,mitchell, judd, Kerr and Swan is not to be underestimated and also he is damn accuarate kick for goal

On Hunger I don't think it will be an issue, Menzel and Vardy will be hungry for success as well as Scarlett and Chappy. And there is one thing this amazing side hasn't acheived yet is back 2 back!

So if it was going to happen anytime and any team in this competition will do it it's Geelong.

GO CATS!!!
Menzel to a large extent, and Vardy maybe to a lesser extent, MAYBE, will not be influential next year. Vardy could have a good recovery, but Menzel is probably not going to get match fitness before finals next year, historically.

Could be a whole thread on Lingy's replacement. He reminded me of Max Rooke in the GF. Got the absolute
"max" out of his body 4 weeks ago today, now, just approaching half time.......... I feel another replay coming on! That's 6 now.

Agree about Scarlett, Chappy and back to back, surely the ultimate challenge for us now.

It all comes down to our young kids. Part of the reason why we won in 11 was that all those younger players injected some spirit into the side and actually made players have to fight for a position. If players like Duncan and Christensen and Vardy can continue their form and maybe even improve, we're in with a big shot. Not to mention if Hawkins can step up like he did in the GF more often.

The major thing is the bulk of our midfield is still around. Bartel, Selwood, Kelly, Corey. etc etc are still there, and the only one of those who is probably slowing due to age is Corey. You keep the midfield, have a decent chance at anything really.

It all comes down to our young kids. Part of the reason why we won in 11 was that all those younger players injected some spirit into the side and actually made players have to fight for a position. If players like Duncan and Christensen and Vardy can continue their form and maybe even improve, we're in with a big shot. Not to mention if Hawkins can step up like he did in the GF more often.

The major thing is the bulk of our midfield is still around. Bartel, Selwood, Kelly, Corey. etc etc are still there, and the only one of those who is probably slowing due to age is Corey. You keep the midfield, have a decent chance at anything really.

*Not to mention if Hawkins can step up, like he did in the entire finals series, more often...

I think Hawthorn have a better chance of Defeating Collingwood in Round 1 then against you guys in round 2. But that's not my question. My question is Since 2007 you guys have had Ling Mooney King Milburn Harley Rooke Blake & Ablett (Traded) depart the club. IMO Ling is the biggest lost there.

1. If you guys notice that since 2007-2011 when the Hawks play Geelong Ling goes to either Hodge or Mitchell. If he goes to Mitchell then Hodge has an impact. If he goes to Hodge then Mitchell has an impact. So next year who goes to Hodge & Mitchell?

2. What about Joel Corey as a tagger run with player? He is an outstanding player and has been for a long time, his defence side to his game is actually pretty good. Not only is he good at finding the ball, but can also defend pretty well going the other way. Can he be used as a run with player next year?

If Geelong don't win next years premiership then Hawthorn will! :)

Mate, as much as i love the rockling, i think little Gaz may have been a bigger loss just quietly! Imagine our team with Jnr back in? Scary huh!

Anyways...in the infamous words of Alistair Clarkson.....one soldier goes down another soldier comes back in. We have proven - much like Hawthorn - that we have the capacity to develop players to play team roles. My money is on a fit and firing Simon Hogan to resume the usual 'mature player' success story - following in the like of Tom Lonergan, James Podsiadly and Trent West. Kid can play - and is incredibly fit, would be a great run with player in my opinion.

Other than that - Josh Cowan, Jordan Schroder, Steve Motlop, Cam Guthrie, Billie Smedts and Mitch Brown will all have significant impact in the seniors next year. Menzel and Vardy will play, but probably won't have impact until after half way - but they are young and fitness comes back very quickly at a younger age....look for bigger bodies on both Menzel and Vardy. Going to be a very scary side when we have these kids coming into there third year at the club and already with the senior confidence behind them.

I can only see 3 teams in our way. Carlton, Hawthorn, Collingwood. I think Carlton can be a danger but i can't see them improving much next year. Hawthorn will get their injured players back and be the closest threat. Collingwood lost the 2011 because of there young players who just had a good year last year, and with Buckly to get them up wont be the same as Multhouse. The difference with Multhouse and Thompson is players had Thompson for a long time which allowed us to freshen up with Scott. Collingwood players still want Multhouse (therfore they can't really use the freshen up excuse). Therfore Geelong V Hawthorn Grand Finial rematch at the grand final. Geelong win, because we get Menzel back in the team. Duncan, Christensen get some size. Gillies and Guthrie come in and maybe Smedts who will have a big preseason.
In simple Geelong and Hawthorn have the biggest ability to improve out of those teams.

Carlton, Collingwood and Hawthorn I expect to play in prelims in 2012. Maybe Cats, WCE, Freo or Saints, but I expect us to start living up to Too old, too slow etc finally

I expect WC to be there as well as Hawthorn, Pies and maybe Carlton.

So much depends on injuries and unexpected events - but if we have a good run with these things - I expect we will be seriously in the hunt for back to back.

I have written this before - but it will depend on a few younger players stepping up next season - our key older players are just guns and again will perform.

I include Hawkins in the younger players - and I think he will be crucial if he can continue to improve. West surely will gain more confidence with more game time - and Duncan and Bundy also.

Then if one of THunt or Smedts or Guthrie or Vardy - just one other new player to the team that won the GF - can come in and add something to the team - we will do very well I expect.

Would love to say Menzel will be one of those new players but it seems unrealistic to expect him to make the finals next season. Hope I am wrong.

Surely next season will be a tighter affair re the top 4 and 8. So there will be more upsets I suspect with Collingwood and Geelong not winning so many H&A games as they did this season.

But when it comes finals time - if the Cats are top 4 - LOOK OUT. We know we can do it - and we know we would love going back to back (I do not think anyone has done that since the AFL came into being). What a statement about what sort of club we have become - that would make !

I'm in no way underselling Ling's value to Geelong over the premiership years, but I would say that when I look at the rest of the league, there aren't that many teams who have a dedicated tagger week in-week out. Just because Ling happened to be brilliant at it, doesn't mean we automatically have to find a replacement to do his job. Sure, it's an option and probably one we will use against Hawthorn, but it's not necessary to cement someone in as 'the tagger' from week one.

Having said that, it seems like the logical way for Simon Hogan to finally force himself into the team on a permanent basis. Tough, quick, elite endurance, just sometimes lets himself down with decision making when the ball is in his hands. If he's going to the opposition's best player, he doesn't have to worry about that so much. Another option would be Taylor Hunt, who became a bit of a forgotten man over the second half of the season. Would like to see Poodle reclaim his spot in the best 22. Joel Corey would do a good job, but personally, I reckon he's just too damn valuable to be focusing his efforts on chasing someone else around.

I love how some of your blokes can be so specific, but I obviously lack the crystal balls to do likewise.

I am very optimistic. If we get a sustainable injury count, I fully expect us to go at least as far as the prelims, if not the whole shebang. I am very much looking forward to witnessing the continuing evolution of our playing list, or how our coaching group once more leads the league in innovative list management practices. Especially after the loss of our oldest coach (Sando: 37yo). And Sell will win the Brownlow, Menz the Norm Smith.

And Jimmy, the Carji Greaves!!!

I expect the club to post another operating profit (despite the temporarily reduced capacity of KP), and for even more followers of other clubs to envy our continuing success but appreciate our playing flair, panache & general humility.

Other contenders: Hawthorn are obvious, Collingwood probable, & West Coast somewhere about. Can't see Carlton fulfilling Ratten's OTT promise, and have no idea who the inevitable smoky could be, although I'd love it to be Norths just to have Mrs Scott's boys lining up against each other (regrettably, I can only see North & Port teetering ever closer to the abyss). And GWS will amaze everybody by constantly outdrawing the NRL games scheduled to compromise the birth of the AFL's master stroke (just as the Gold Coast did in 2011).

I swear that I shall never, ever, underestimate the potential of our club again.

(Oh, and I expect Tom Harley to give me a job at AFL ACT/ NSW so that I can fully live, breathe, love footy. As David Bowie sang: "Can you hear me, Major Tom?") :thumbsu:

Lings retirement will be a loss , as much off field as on. His role although important , can be covered when we do need to have a run with by Kelly and maybe Bartel in a pinch. But we will probably try to groom Taylor Hunt in the role and see he can secure his position being a lockdown player.

Too old , too slow depends on if the key impact players are the older players , like Goodes in Sydney. If we were still super reliant on the 01 draft we would be more vulnerable. However we are now more reliant on 01 , imo. The 01 guys are still only 28ish , they should still be close to their best. So if we can slowly replace the 99's with fresh kids while the 01 are still elite we could still be top 4. Not to mention plenty younger that still have improvement in them

The area that must be replaced are ruck and medium forwards. Simspon, Smedts , Guthrie , Hunt are all capable of being in the finals side next year ( big call on Smedts but I'll risk it). Probably even 3 or 4 names that I have missed. If they are , then we will not look that old at all.

In 2007 we introduced a bunch of no names whom had only played a couple of matches or a few games in the previous year and look what happened that season.

A few of those newcomers are around today, Hawkins, Selwood, Varcoe, Stokes.

We introduced new blood once more in 2011, Christensen, Menzel, Vardy and I guess Duncan to a lesser extent as he played a few matches the previous year.
We have lost many champions over the past 4 years and it hasn't troubled us one little bit and the loss of Ottens & Ling particularly will not hurt us either in 2012.

Why can't we be the team to beat yet again in 2012?
I mean there will be much improvement from some of those guys who are about to peek aged between 23-24 years of age and there will be a few guys who will start to fade a little like Mooney and Milburn did this year.
You know what you will get from champions like Bartel, Johnson, Kelly and Scarlett and we will see a couple of genuine ready-made stars of Guthrie, Smedts and Brown jump onto the scene.

The only team who can genuinely beat us on the big stage is ourselves as we saw in 2010 and now we are again as solid as ever with a list boasting with ridiculous depth. We'll be there again next year :thumbsu:

Just finished watching the GF for the umpteenth time and one of the things I think we really could look at using more next year is having Jimmy play as our CHF.

That move seemed to really unsettle the Pie's as I think it might do with a lot of sides as there isn't really a natural match up for Jimmy in this role if a side play's a mid on him Jimmy's marking ability will see he come out on top and if they play a KPD on him his endurance an ability to work them up the field and loose them on the way back will see him come out on top of them.

Thoughts?

Just finished watching the GF for the umpteenth time and one of the things I think we really could look at using more next year is having Jimmy play as our CHF.

That move seemed to really unsettle the Pie's as I think it might do with a lot of sides as there isn't really a natural match up for Jimmy in this role if a side play's a mid on him Jimmy's marking ability will see he come out on top and if they play a KPD on him his endurance an ability to work them up the field and loose them on the way back will see him come out on top of them.

Thoughts?

Certainly an option CA...but with Pods at FF and Hawkins at CHF, Jimmy may not be needed as a CHF.

Unless of course, your suggesting Pods be permanently dropped ...Hawkins to FF and Bartel to CHF....

Try running that by PO...I am sure he will have an opinion on that :D:D:D