NFL 2012 NFL Draft - Discussion

I mistakenly gave pick 98 to the Vikings earlier. That pick went to the Ravens along with our 2nd round pick to move up into the 1st round.

The Vikings picks are:

Round 3 (66)
Round 4 (118, 128, 134) - 128 and 134 are compensatory picks and aren't tradeable
Round 5 (138, 139)
Round 6 (175)
Round 7 (210, 211, and 223)

That limits the Vikings 2nd round options quite a lot. Picks 66 + 118 + 138 + 139 would still only be enough to get to pick 51. A package deal of the 4th and two fifth round picks would be good for pick 91 in the 3rd round.

Spielman is bound to move around in the draft as it is part of his drafting DNA.

According to Scott Wright's overall rankings (NFLDraftCountdown.com) here are the top prospects leading into day 2 of the draft.

on the list are:

9 x CB
9 x WR
8 x DT
7 x OT
6 x RB
5 x DE
5 x OLB
5 x TE
2 x C
2 x ILB
2 x OG
2 x QB
1 x S

The lack of safeties on the list puts the Vikings move on Harrison Smith into perspective.

The first number is their overall ranking

15. Cordy Glenn OT Georgia
19. Courtney Upshaw OLB Alabama
22. Janoris Jenkins CB North Alabama
23. Stephen Hill WR Georgia Tech
25. Jerel Worthy DT Michigan St.
28. Amini Silatolu OG Midwestern St.
29. Lavonte David OLB Nebraska
31. Coby Fleener TE Stanford
32. Alameda Ta’amu DT Washington
33. Zach Brown OLB North Carolina
34. Peter Konz C Wisconsin
36. Reuben Randle WR L.S.U.
37. Kendall Reyes DT Connecticut
38. Mike Adams OT Ohio St.
40. Devon Still DT Penn St.
42. Bobby Massie OT Ole Miss
46. Orson Charles TE Georgia
47. Jonathan Martin OT Stanford
48. Andre Branch DE Clemson
49. Kirk Cousins QB Michigan St.
50. Brandon Thompson DT Clemson
51. Trumaine Johnson CB Montana
52. Mychal Kendricks ILB California
53. Vinny Curry DE Marshall
54. Josh Robinson CB Central Florida
55. Lamar Miller RB Miami (FL)
56. Brian Quick WR Appalachian St.
57. Jeff Allen OT Illinois
58. Ronnell Lewis OLB Oklahoma
59. Alshon Jeffery WR South Carolina
60. Brandon Boykin CB Georgia
61. Brandon Brooks OG Miami (OH)
62. Mohamed Sanu WR Rutgers
63. Dwayne Allen TE Clemson
64. LaMichael James RB Oregon
65. Bobby Wagner ILB Utah St.
66. Kelechi Osemele OT Iowa St.
67. Dwight Bentley CB Louisiana-Lafayette
69. Jared Crick DE Nebraska
70. Mike Martin DT Michigan
72. Chris Givens WR Wake Forest
73. Casey Hayward CB Vanderbilt
74. Mitchell Schwartz OT California
75. Derek Wolfe DT Cincinnati
76. Jamell Fleming CB Oklahoma
77. George Iloka S Boise St.
78. Brock Osweiler QB Arizona St.
79. Ryan Broyles WR Oklahoma
80. Alfonzo Dennard CB Nebraska
81. Chris Polk RB Washington
82. Michael Egnew TE Missouri
84. T.Y. Hilton WR Florida International
85. Bernard Pierce RB Temple
86. Josh Norman CB Coastal Carolina
87. Olivier Vernon DE Miami (FL)
88. Robert Turbin RB Utah St.
89. Marvin Jones WR California
90. Josh Chapman DT Alabama
91. Ben Jones C Georgia
92. Isaiah Pead RB Cincinnati
93. Ladarius Green TE Louisiana-Lafayette
94. Sean Spence OLB Miami (FL)
95. Tyrone Crawford DE Boise St.

Would love to get John Martin or Silatolu in the 2nd round with pick 49.

And somehow get DB Dennard or trumaine Johnson in the 3rd.

That would be an unbelievable 3 picks for san diego if we could get two of those players.

The more I look at the AJ Jenkins pick for the 49ers the more I like it.

Dude was 2/3rds of the entire passing game for Illinois in his final year with terrible QB play and no supporting cast.

As for the second round Amini Silatolu woould be nice.

49ers could then use the rest of the draft speculating.

Hate the Rams pick but there was nothing there to pick. DL was a need but would of loved Clarborne.

Always expected Jenkins to be available in the second, so if we pick up Jenkins and possibly Randle with a TE the pick we gained from the Cowgirls we will be in a great position.

peyton-hillis-terrell-suggs-haloti-ngata-jarret-johnson-ray-lewis-2010-9-26-15-50-50.jpg

welcome to the AFC North Trent Richardson

peyton-hillis-terrell-suggs-haloti-ngata-jarret-johnson-ray-lewis-2010-9-26-15-50-50.jpg

welcome to the AFC North Trent Richardson

He has been in the SEC so hard hits will be nothing new to him, i think he will adapt fast. He is a hard boy to bring down and i dont remember seeing him fumble the ball much

According to Scott Wright's overall rankings (NFLDraftCountdown.com) here are the top prospects leading into day 2 of the draft.

on the list are:

9 x CB
9 x WR
8 x DT
7 x OT
6 x RB
5 x DE
5 x OLB
5 x TE
2 x C
2 x ILB
2 x OG
2 x QB
1 x S

The lack of safeties on the list puts the Vikings move on Harrison Smith into perspective.

The first number is their overall ranking

15. Cordy Glenn OT Georgia
19. Courtney Upshaw OLB Alabama
22. Janoris Jenkins CB North Alabama
23. Stephen Hill WR Georgia Tech
25. Jerel Worthy DT Michigan St.
28. Amini Silatolu OG Midwestern St.
29. Lavonte David OLB Nebraska
31. Coby Fleener TE Stanford
32. Alameda Ta’amu DT Washington
33. Zach Brown OLB North Carolina
34. Peter Konz C Wisconsin
36. Reuben Randle WR L.S.U.
37. Kendall Reyes DT Connecticut
38. Mike Adams OT Ohio St.
40. Devon Still DT Penn St.
42. Bobby Massie OT Ole Miss
46. Orson Charles TE Georgia
47. Jonathan Martin OT Stanford
48. Andre Branch DE Clemson
49. Kirk Cousins QB Michigan St.
50. Brandon Thompson DT Clemson
51. Trumaine Johnson CB Montana
52. Mychal Kendricks ILB California
53. Vinny Curry DE Marshall
54. Josh Robinson CB Central Florida
55. Lamar Miller RB Miami (FL)
56. Brian Quick WR Appalachian St.
57. Jeff Allen OT Illinois
58. Ronnell Lewis OLB Oklahoma
59. Alshon Jeffery WR South Carolina
60. Brandon Boykin CB Georgia
61. Brandon Brooks OG Miami (OH)
62. Mohamed Sanu WR Rutgers
63. Dwayne Allen TE Clemson
64. LaMichael James RB Oregon
65. Bobby Wagner ILB Utah St.
66. Kelechi Osemele OT Iowa St.
67. Dwight Bentley CB Louisiana-Lafayette
69. Jared Crick DE Nebraska
70. Mike Martin DT Michigan
72. Chris Givens WR Wake Forest
73. Casey Hayward CB Vanderbilt
74. Mitchell Schwartz OT California
75. Derek Wolfe DT Cincinnati
76. Jamell Fleming CB Oklahoma
77. George Iloka S Boise St.
78. Brock Osweiler QB Arizona St.
79. Ryan Broyles WR Oklahoma
80. Alfonzo Dennard CB Nebraska
81. Chris Polk RB Washington
82. Michael Egnew TE Missouri
84. T.Y. Hilton WR Florida International
85. Bernard Pierce RB Temple
86. Josh Norman CB Coastal Carolina
87. Olivier Vernon DE Miami (FL)
88. Robert Turbin RB Utah St.
89. Marvin Jones WR California
90. Josh Chapman DT Alabama
91. Ben Jones C Georgia
92. Isaiah Pead RB Cincinnati
93. Ladarius Green TE Louisiana-Lafayette
94. Sean Spence OLB Miami (FL)
95. Tyrone Crawford DE Boise St.
Surely Osweiler is a joke?
Pead should be higher, same as Broyles......Geeze, that injury really pushed him off the face of the Earth, he could be a massive steal in the 2nd.

Surely Osweiler is a joke?
Pead should be higher, same as Broyles......Geeze, that injury really pushed him off the face of the Earth, he could be a massive steal in the 2nd.

Osweiler is a pick that would be made on potential, but it certainly is there.

Broyles is an overrated possession receiver. There are at least 10 WRs imo that are better prospects that he is

He has been in the SEC so hard hits will be nothing new to him,
He played for the 1 team in the SEC who had a consistently strong Run D defence.....
Hard hits will be a shock to his system, he's used to having a massive OL that dismantles 90% of the opponent.
How I wished we could of seen him play the Trojans (USC not SJSU) Horned Frogs or Bronco (BSU not WMU) defences.

Browns had a good draft. We got who we wanted, trading up was an aggressive move to ensure we did. Nothing wrong with that.

People will always find things to wrongly complain about. Who cares about Weeden's age anyway. He'll probably be in the league longer than a Clausen or Locker, so what's the issue? Probably would have gone ahead of Tannehill if he wasn't 28.

Pick 22 is a small price to pay for what could well be an immediate improvement.

I am wrapt weedon got the chance and I reckon The browns is a great fit..

Bears fans like the pick for McClellin?

Certainly unexpected the white farmer boy.

Seems like he's got some ticker, don't know a great deal about him, hopefully someone can tell me more, not just what I saw on today's show.

Hoping Seattle gets Mychal Kendricks and Kirk Cousins tomorrow. Need another linebacker and could do with a backup qb with potential. T-Jack is useless

I don't think T-Jack is useless; he played behind a crumbling (and young) O-line, played in a new team with his most well know team mate out for most of the year, Williams underperforming/on a gimpy ankle for most of the year, with a torn pectoral muscle for most of the year and still got the team to 7-7 (Whitehurst was 0-2 as a starter) which is the same record that Hasselbeck lead us to a couple of years back. Not elite by any stretch of the imagination but certainly not a dud.

Having said that I still expect Flynn to beat him out in training camp. Do agree with you though a linebacker would be top priority at the moment and I am expecting a back up QB to be picked. Schneider will be used to overstocking in the most important position on the team from his Green Bay days. However I'm hoping that man is Russell Wilson, followed by..............Kellen Moore.

Irvin is an interesting pick, probably could have picked him up a bit later so I'm a bit disappointed not to see us try to move down the order a bit more. Performed impressively at the combine and seems over his off field stuff and fills a need (according to Carroll the best pass rusher in the draft). I'll back our guys. Also knowing what they've done in the past with late picks; Sherman, Baldwin (technically not but whatever) the extra couple will come in handy.

The NYGs very own Dancing Queen*. If only he turns into half the player the original turned out to be.

*50 points for classic BF reference.

I have to admit, I still look back fondly on your non-rating of Shady.

We'll see how this one works out for you. Giants have a very very good draft record unfortunately, so its pretty hard to doubt you.

I have to admit, I still look back fondly on your non-rating of Shady.

We'll see how this one works out for you. Giants have a very very good draft record unfortunately, so its pretty hard to doubt you.
Shady stopped dancing and actually manned up.

Still, thought he would be good as a receiving back, but not nearly as good in the general scheme of things. Not enough to play full time at least.

Still, his compatriot RB I was spruiking at the time turned out all right.... (Rice :p)

Certainly unexpected the white farmer boy.

Seems like he's got some ticker, don't know a great deal about him, hopefully someone can tell me more, not just what I saw on today's show.
Good in zone coverage
Good pass rusher
Can chase plays down from behind
Unproven in man coverage.

you probably reached for him with your scheme
as a 3-4 OLB he'd be worth about where you took him.
But you took him 30-50 picks too early if your aim is as a 4-3 DE........

..........Though, he might make a good linebacker in your Defence, but it might be more of a project.

.......I think Tyrone Crawford would of been a better fit for Chicago.

Shady stopped dancing and actually manned up.

Still, thought he would be good as a receiving back, but not nearly as good in the general scheme of things. Not enough to play full time at least.

Still, his compatriot RB I was spruiking at the time turned out all right.... (Rice :p)

No, he really didnt stop dancing. Dude dances around in the backfield like he's bringing disco back. He just has unbelievable jukes, and manages to reverse plays alot after hes finished dancing in his backfield.

I don't think T-Jack is useless

Alternatively, we could have hired Kevin Kolb or Carson Palmer. Oh. Wait.

T-jack is a perfectly adequate backup, who is being paid backup money.

As to the draft ... Dwight Freeney mark II, maybe :)

Yeah, all the kid can do is rush the passer and take their head off. OK. When we need the run stopped, thats what Red is for.

No, he really didnt stop dancing. Dude dances around in the backfield like he's bringing disco back. He just has unbelievable jukes, and manages to reverse plays alot after hes finished dancing in his backfield.
He hits holes that he doesn't deserve to be hitting based on his first year and size. Dude's a straight up beast. No bitch there.

We drafted a guy who is a third down player.

At 15.

Christ I hope Carroll knows what he's doing.