2012 Predictions

I'm not understanding why so many people are putting Buddy to not win the coleman but have Hawks high up the ladder? I reckon he's a fair chance next year to kick 100 again with the support in the forward line if they don't get injured.

1. Hawthorn - Hungry & determined to prove 2008 was no fluke
2. Collingwood - Too good of a side to slip, will rest players like Cats this year
3. Carlton - Unlucky to not have been in the prelim this year, will do next year
4. Geelong - Will win enough games to finish in Top 4 and then build towards September
5. West Coast - Unlucky to miss out on Top 4 but they will have a tougher draw in 2012
6. Essendon - Without injuries this year they would've given a fight will next year
7. Fremantle - Same as Essendon, will win more home games next year
8. Sydney - Always around the mark can finish higher with some luck

9. North - To just miss out on finals action again
10. Melbourne - A better coach will deliver better performances
11. Richmond - Can't see them finishing higher, will cause trouble throughout the year
12. Brisbane - With Brown back they will win more games
13. St. Kilda - Depends on what route the new coach takes
14. Adelaide - Will be inconsistent, can match it with top sides but will lose more than they win
15. W. Bulldogs - Lose their No. 1 goal kicker, their match winners are too inconsistent
16. Port Adelaide - Around the same mark again in 2012
17. Gold Coast - Will win the same amount of games they did this year
18. GWS - Will be lucky to win a game at all

Grand Final - Hawthorn v Collingwood
Coleman - Franklin
Brownlow - Jobe Watson

Everyone has injuries. Stanton finsihing 2nd is a massive concern. Your own supporters boo him and cheer when subbed. A player that under pressure goes to water rated as number 2 in 2011 is a worry.
How did he go against the dogs again?
I believe the term is ' Destroyed you '

1. Hawthorn
2. Carlton
3. Collingwood
4. Geelong
5. West Coast
6. Fremantle
7. Essendon
8. Melbourne

9. North
10. Sydney
11. Richmond
12. St Kilda
13. Adelaide
14. W Bulldogs
15. Brisbane
16. Gold Coast
17. Port Adelaide
18. GWS

As long as we draw Sydney at the g, we will only need to find another 10.5 wins

Lol cocky Richmond fans are so adorable, I remember one on our board a year or two ago coming to tell us our time in the finals was over and it was Richmond's time to challenge.

I don't remember the username, was that you?

and unlike you, we won't get GWS twice.

Making excuses already, classic Tiger.

1. Hawthorn
2. Carlton
3. Collingwood
4. Geelong
5. West Coast
6. Fremantle
7. Essendon
8. Melbourne

9. North
10. Sydney
11. Richmond
12. St Kilda
13. Adelaide
14. W Bulldogs
15. Brisbane
16. Gold Coast
17. Port Adelaide
18. GWS

Can you honestly see Melbourne finishing that high?

I'm guessing since he placed us there... yes, he can.

I'm guessing you're pissed off he put Melbourne ahead of North....

Who gives a ****?!?

Well I dunno, I'd be extremely surprised if you finished above us. But anyway, here's mine I guess

1. Geelong
2. West Coast
3. Hawthorn
4. Collingwood
5. Carlton
6. Sydney
7. Essendon
8. North Melbourne

9. Brisbane Lions
10. Fremantle
11. St. Kilda
12. Adelaide
13. Western Bulldogs
14. Gold Coast
15. Port Adelaide
16. Melbourne
17. Richmond
18. Greater Western Sydney

Hey!

That's pretty similar to my example of a typical North/Melbourne/Richmond supporter post earlier in this thread!!!

Plagiarism at it's finest.

Well I dunno, I'd be extremely surprised if you finished above us. But anyway, here's mine I guess

1. Geelong
2. West Coast
3. Hawthorn
4. Collingwood
5. Carlton
6. Sydney
7. Essendon
8. North Melbourne

9. Brisbane Lions
10. Fremantle
11. St. Kilda
12. Adelaide
13. Western Bulldogs
14. Gold Coast
15. Port Adelaide
16. Melbourne
17. Richmond
18. Greater Western Sydney

Can you honestly see Port finishing that high?

Saints
Kangaroos
Brisbane
Gold Coast
Port Adel
GWS

Going out on a limb:

1. Hawthorn (Bias yes, but with a full list (touch wood) have the firepower to finish top)
2. Fremantle (If uninjured, scary home proposition)
3. Collingwood (Decreased depth will sting)
4. Carlton (Will get its top 4 wishes)
5. West Coast (Senior players slowing down, will stagnate slightly)
6. North Melbourne (Bolter)
7. Geelong (Slowing down, depth of old players gutted)
8. Sydney (Borderline, similar year to 2011)

9. Essendon (Probably the most unpredictable, anywhere from 6-12)
10. St Kilda (Not enough quality from bottom 10-15 players in best 22)
11. Western Bulldogs (See above)
12. Adelaide (Depth in defense gutted, average midfield)
13. Melbourne (Could possibly rise, but most likely will stagnate)
14. Brisbane (Good complement of young players, questionable KPP depth though)
15. Richmond (Also a tad unpredictable; backline not strong enough)
16. Gold Coast (Incremental improvement)
17. Port Adelaide (Not enough quality anywhere on the ground)
18. GWS (Percentage: 35.7%)

1. Collingwood- Unless Buckley effs it, they will still be too good next year, but not by much

2. Hawthorn- Not really a factor of Geelong sliding, but more of Hawthorn just getting better, Lewis to have a breakout year

3. Geelong- see above

4. Carlton- For them to get into this spot they need to identify or pick up a decent Full Forward, I'm backing them in to do it

5. Sydney- A lot of people are underrating them IMO, still heaps of guns and McGlynn and Kennedy had pretty ordinary second half seasons. Reid to be a gun.

6. West Coast- Injuries may hurt them, other then that I just don't think they can mix it with the better teams next year unless they have another golden run like this year.

7. St Kilda- They won't have a shit start like last time, but will just mosey on through the season playing decent footy as they attempt to perfect a new game plan, be back in 2013

8. Essendon- They can easily get higher up if Watson and Hurley namely play fit, Zaharahkis could really establish himself this year, but they lack a decent bottom end of the list at the moment.

9. North, just miss out
10. Freo
11.Richmond
12.Adelaide
13.Melbourne
14.Suns
15.Bulldogs
16.Brisbane
17.Port
18.GWS

1 Hawthorn - Great list
2 Collingwood - Great list will be hungry for revenge
3 Geelong - Couple key retirees, a couple more on the way out in 2012 also
4 Carlton - Starting to emerge as top 4 contender and should show more in 12
5 Fremantle - Good team when not injured!
6 West Coast - Should follow up from this year, and have a decent go again
7 Sydney - Will win half their games probably
8 St Kilda - Got some stars that will win them half their games

9 North Melbourne
10 Western Bulldogs - sliding
11 Essendon - hit and miss
12 Richmond
13 Melbourne
14 Adelaide - poor midfield and a few key positions wanting out.
15 Brisbane - Clark and Power gone may be too much to get many wins
16 Gold Coast - should improve with possibly 4-5 wins?
17 Port Adelaide - basket case, I feel a bit sorry for this club the last 12 months.
18 West Sydney - no experience will be embarassed and demoralised. Poor recruiting so far. Watch this space though.

Cool story. Shame nobody in this thread has followed that formula.

The only real rule is:

"Place your team 3-4 spots higher than they finished this year".

How many people so far have backed their club to seriously decline?

(yes I'm guilty too)

How do I do that? ;)

1. Hawthorn - Goes without saying, but if they avoid key injuries they have the list to be top. Roughead, Gilham, Ellis all return to a side 2 points off a GF.
2. Carlton - 3 Points off a Prelim in '11 with KPP's Waite Jamison and Kreuzer having minimal input across the year. Will improve again and be right in the mix for the flag.
3. Geelong - List depth has reduced a little, but their core premiership players remain in tact for another campaign. Should notch a minimum of 14/15 wins without breaking a sweat. Will be once again a flag threat when the real stuff starts.
4. Fremantle - The most likely of those outside the top 8 in '11 to be the bolter and sneak top 4. Great list/blend of kids and mature stars. Lyon should add a hardness and defensive aspect to go with their natural flair.
5. Collingwood - Gut feel that they'll start slowly after two long campaigns and adjusting to Bucks. Will come home strong and be a real threat from just outside the top 4.
6 . North Melb - They had a horror year in '11 injury wise and weren't far off finals. Took it right up to Hawthorn and Carlton late in 2011.. Natural progression is to make the 8 in '12.
7. Sydney - Too good to fall out of contention. Not quite good enough to seriously contend.
8. West Coast - Slight fall as surely their luck with a soft fixture and dream run with injuries as seen in '11 can't be replicated.

===============================

9. Essendon - Hardest to predict, anywhere from 6-12 wouldn't surprise. Lack of absolute A graders is apparent. Although Hurley is coming along nicely.
10. Richmond - Possess a midfield that is the envy of many, but seem thin at key posts at both ends to seriously challenge the top teams
11. Melbourne - Developing. Will start and show some real signs at the back end of 2012, with 2013 to be their re-entry back into finals footy.
12. St Kilda - The slider. Top end talent is still very good, but no coach (yet) going into preseason and a reliance to be competitive based on a game plan that Lyon is now no longer there to oversee.
13. Port Adel - Will marginally improve, have promising young KPP's at both ends of the field
14. Bulldogs - If Lake and Cooney get back to their best, this could be very wrong. But I don't think they will.
15. Brisbane - All about getting games into kids, which means wins will be few and far between
16. Adelaide - Have been devastated in key posts to trades and the expansion teams in last 2 years. Loading up on draft picks and will focus on developing kids
17. Gold Coast - Will win 4 or 5.. expect a rise in 2013, but in 2012 the kids will still be a little raw.
18. GWS - I think they'll actually struggle to win a game. 1 win or 2 at the most would be the expectation.

8. West Coast - Awesome in 2011 but see that more as an aberration due to the fact they had Cox, Embley, Kerr and Glass all fit and firing for most of the season. Unlikely to happen again but may be compensated by natural improvement from their young guns.

5. West Coast - Unlucky to miss out on Top 4 but they will have a tougher draw in 2012

5. West Coast (Senior players slowing down, will stagnate slightly)

6. West Coast- Injuries may hurt them, other then that I just don't think they can mix it with the better teams next year unless they have another golden run like this year.

8. West Coast - Slight fall as surely their luck with a soft fixture and dream run with injuries as seen in '11 can't be replicated.

No idea.

Premiership will be won by 1 of Geelong, Hawthorn, Collingwood or Carlton. Can't see the rest making up enough ground, maybe West Coast

IIRC the only Top 8 team from this year that the Eagles played twice was Essendon who finished 8th. If the Eagles in 2012 are fixtured to play Collingwood twice, Carlton twice, Sydney twice and one of Geelong/Hawthorn twice as well as doubling up against the Dockers they will most likely win less games than 2011. Also, you can rely on a few unexpected upsets to occur in Melbourne such as the St.Kilda game this year. That's my opinion anyway, they should still make it in the top 8 but will likely lose out in the semi-final stage at the MCG/Etihad.

1. Hawthorn - Goes without saying, but if they avoid key injuries they have the list to be top. Roughead, Gilham, Ellis all return to a side 2 points off a GF.
2. Carlton - 3 Points off a Prelim in '11 with KPP's Waite Jamison and Kreuzer having minimal input across the year. Will improve again and be right in the mix for the flag.
3. Geelong - List depth has reduced a little, but their core premiership players remain in tact for another campaign. Should notch a minimum of 14/15 wins without breaking a sweat. Will be once again a flag threat when the real stuff starts.
4. Fremantle - The most likely of those outside the top 8 in '11 to be the bolter and sneak top 4. Great list/blend of kids and mature stars. Lyon should add a hardness and defensive aspect to go with their natural flair.
5. Collingwood - Gut feel that they'll start slowly after two long campaigns and adjusting to Bucks. Will come home strong and be a real threat from just outside the top 4.
6 . North Melb - They had a horror year in '11 injury wise and weren't far off finals. Took it right up to Hawthorn and Carlton late in 2011.. Natural progression is to make the 8 in '12.
7. Sydney - Too good to fall out of contention. Not quite good enough to seriously contend.

===============================

9. Essendon - Hardest to predict, anywhere from 6-12 wouldn't surprise. Lack of absolute A graders is apparent. Although Hurley is coming along nicely.
10. Richmond - Possess a midfield that is the envy of many, but seem thin at key posts at both ends to seriously challenge the top teams
11. Melbourne - Developing. Will start and show some real signs at the back end of 2012, with 2013 to be their re-entry back into finals footy.
12. St Kilda - The slider. Top end talent is still very good, but no coach (yet) going into preseason and a reliance to be competitive based on a game plan that Lyon is now no longer there to oversee.
13. Port Adel - Will marginally improve, have promising young KPP's at both ends of the field
14. Bulldogs - If Lake and Cooney get back to their best, this could be very wrong. But I don't think they will.
15. Brisbane - All about getting games into kids, which means wins will be few and far between
16. Adelaide - Have been devastated in key posts to trades and the expansion teams in last 2 years. Loading up on draft picks and will focus on developing kids
17. Gold Coast - Will win 4 or 5.. expect a rise in 2013, but in 2012 the kids will still be a little raw.
18. GWS - I think they'll actually struggle to win a game. 1 win or 2 at the most would be the expectation.

agree thats about were we are at but dont agree we are thin in the fwd line. jack/vicks key posts are pretty good. down back yes we are thin but getting better.

I love the way these threads work:

Step 1) Take the 2011 AFL Ladder
Step 2) You must make a change
Step 3) Decide to make a change between the top 8 and bottom 8
Step 4) Pick who you think is the best Bottom 8 Side (which is always 9th, thus North)
Step 5) Pick who you think is the worst Top 8 Side (which is always 8th, thus Essendon)
Step 6) Swap Them

This is always the case. Last year it was Carlton and North. People think that the Top 8 must change so just swap 8th out and 9th in.

I'm not saying the Top 8 won't change, but every year people just decide to swap 8th and 9th and change a bit of the order

And what's wrong with doing that? :confused:

Since we've had a final 8 there have been an average of 2.1 changes to the 8. Most of the time the team that finished 9th is a big chance to move up a spot or two- so the logical approach people follow is pretty close to what usually happens...