2012 SC Forwards

• Thread starter Thread starter SJ

Will Motlop play?

Wondering if he is worth getting or not..

Re: Will Motlop play?

Yes he will play.

Has had a very good NAB Cup.

With no Wojo and Varcoe until round 8 he's every chance to get an extended run.

That said I wouldn't pick him, I don't think he will score highly.

Anyone with Cloke now worried about his pending move? Looks almost a certainty from what I'm hearing.

At the end of end of the season that is :D

Comments made on TFS, this is the OP on the main board, there's a big thread on it

Just listening to him speak on the footy show. Very non-committal and basically said very similar things to what Judd and Scully have in the past. He prefers to wait until the end of season 2012 before signing a contract which to me, means he would like to see what offer GWS put on the table before making a decision on his playing future.

The other alarm bell that rang, was he made mention that he just turned 25, and he needs to start to consider what he wants to do after football. Now this sounds like he is already thinking about how extra money that Collingwood cant afford, would contribute to his life once he retires from the AFL.

As an Eagles fan, maybe im a bit of a conspiracy theorist, as im sure some Melbourne fans are too. But reading between the lines (and perhaps more importantly) on the topic of resigning with Collingwood its not what Cloke said that casts suspicions about him leaving to GWS, but what he didnt say. No mention of being a Magpie for life, 100% committed to the club and potential success beyond 2012, etc.

Its too bad Sportsbet dont have a market for this, because for mine - he's gone

Also hearing alot of this talk discussed on the other main footy shows. Pretty much was said by the other big names before they left.

At the end of end of the season that is :D

Comments made on TFS, this is the OP on the main board, there's a big thread on it

Also hearing alot of this talk discussed on the other main footy shows. Pretty much was said by the other big names before they left.

Ahhhh yes... got ya mate

:mad:

I just don't buy the "tough early draw" argument. The history of SC consistently shows that the quality players score well against good teams.

Leaving out Buddy and Dusty at the start might yet prove to be a master stroke, but I seriously doubt it.

Totally agree. Certain players are likely to have quiter games against weaker opposition.

cant decide between robbie gray and mitch robinson, thoughts?

Robbie Gray will ave 100+ if he stays on the park, but that's the big question. If your willing to take a punt in that his injuries are behind him, then he could be an excellent unique choice, and one that i'm seriously considering.

but do you think robinson will also average 100+?

If carltons midfield stands up (murph,judd,gibbs, carazzzzo etc then robinson will average 75-85 IMHO)
if one or more of the above gets injured then robinson could slot into the mids and increase his average, If u pick him i reckon your gambling on injuries

If carltons midfield stands up (murph,judd,gibbs, carazzzzo etc then robinson will average 75-85 IMHO)
if one or more of the above gets injured then robinson could slot into the mids and increase his average, If u pick him i reckon your gambling on injuries

It has nothing to do with injuries. Carlton need huge wins for Robinson to score well. Look at his 2011 form. He average is poor except for when we smash some poor side.

Hey guys, quick dilema - which pair would be better in Supercoach world?

Fyfe / Petrie vs Pavlich / Cloke

Cheers :thumbsu:

6 of 1, half a dozen the other... I'd probably lean towards fyfe/petrie based on fyfe's scoring potential vs pavs age/speed restrictions and petrie's pre season > cloke's pre season...

I was thinking about getting Chappy then I had a look at Gray. Interesting fact...from round 15-24 (when gray moved into the mids) he averaged 94. Chapman 93.

Not to mention he had a injury interupted season which means his fitness base wouldn't of been where it could be. He'll only improve on that output.

David Hale.

Discuss.
tall bloke, dorky looking, plays forward and ruck for hawthorn, lol

apart from that great value given hawks list (until and if ruffy returns to the team fully fit, whenever that will be)

tall bloke, dorky looking, plays forward and ruck for hawthorn, lol

apart from that great value given hawks list (until and if ruffy returns to the team fully fit, whenever that will be)

The Hawks are thinking of including Roughy for rd 1.

thoughts on Jamie Cripps as F7?

decent cash cow?

IMHO i highly doubt this will occur, ease him back thru box hill, but who knows

HAWTHORN coach Alastair Clarkson has not ruled out selecting Jarryd Roughead for Friday night's preliminary final rematch with Collingwood at the MCG.

Clarkson has left the door slightly ajar for a selection surprise.

"He's available to play, and we've just needed to determine when's the right time for him to come back into the Hawthorn side," Clarkson said at Waverley on Thursday morning.

I think they'll hold him back for 1 more week to be honest, but at the same time it wouldn't surprise me to see him named in the side.

If you had to pick 4 premium forwards, who would they be?
At the moment I've got Franklin, Fyfe, Cloke and Johnson

If you had to pick 4 premium forwards, who would they be?
At the moment I've got Franklin, Fyfe, Cloke and Johnson

Johnson is probably over priced, should go alright, but cant see him matching last year. Pavlich has looked pretty comfortable over pre season, and apparently toned up over pre season.

If Chappy continues to play mid field his stocks will rise, considering he is fully fit, but he may end up playing alot more forward this year.

I would include Martin though, the guy is only going to improve on an outstanding year last year. Has been almost unstopable over pre season, without actually playing a full game, so that only should have you salivating.

For me Franklin, Fyfe, Martin and Pavlich (Cloke and Chappy missing by a bees shaft)

Thoughts on John Butcher? Think Port will improve this year and he'll be their main target up forward. Worth taking or better off saving the money on a rookie?