2012 SEQAFL Division 2 2012

Dont take that the wrong way - not calling anyone soft or anything like that.

Just an observation that Kings were harder in GF and UQ loss this year to Yeronga who everyone is saying are more of an older, bigger bodied team then a fit fast moving team.

Question raised in good faith here:
Do many clubs pay players? Not looking to start WW3 - had a conversation with someone on committee the other day whether it is better to pay each play a very small amount or have sizeable incentives for BOG in both grades. Interested in other clubs policies and thoughts are.

Agreed on on the GF. It very much was an off day for UQ on that day, but that shouldn't take anything away from the Kings. They earned the win on the day and thats all the matters.

With the Yeronga game, I don't think the game was a fair indicator of UQ at the moment. The game came down to a crazy last 30 seconds where Yeronga were able to go coast to coast very quickly and kick a goal in the last 10 seconds of the game. I think it was more of a case of a great escape for the Devils (No offence to Yeronga blokes here) but my boys also do have themselves to blame. 17 behinds killed the seniors in the end.

As far as I am aware with your second question, I believe the top 6 players for UQ get themselves a cold beer post game. Not bad if you ask me, same reward to the hard working team manager :D

UQ should win flag by bout 20 goals, the real contest is to see who can make the grand final to get there hopes up only to be smashed by them. Murray will win the leading goal kicker, for those that asked yes he is the coaches son has been up north and we are glad to have him back. Kedron or yeronga for the spoon.

Fair point - isnt it the responsibility of the timekeepers to log the numbers of the goal kickers and this information is then given to the home club to enter online? Don't know if this is where the home club ie kenmore are manipulating the results or not.

No idea how to police it.... that said at our club the boys are pretty onto how many they have kicked each each week and have heard of requests made for the details to be changed.

Personally I think Coorparoo will win the comp again - their bigger bodies seem to intimidate UQ - UQ rolled by Yeronga suggests game may have been won in close. just my opinion tho.

I think Murray from Robina will win the Goal Kicking - what has happened to Weterings, Corrie and the small forward they had that used to kick their goals? Is Murray related to the coach at all?

corrie signed with beenleigh but works in the mines so can only play every 3rd week.

So does that mean both Coorparoo and Uni will be applying for the Pineapple cup next year?

Why would they bother? Don't really see what they would get out of it.

Both clubs have a back bone of a small number of volunteers that keep them afloat and basically are amateur as far as payments go.

Not sure it would be worth it to go up against teams that are backed by licensed clubs.

The Points system is being used this year in Div 1 which certainly will negate the influence of $$ to a degree. Basically clubs with a good junior program will start to prosper you would think.

As far as i know UQ have no juniors and cooparoo juniors are separate to the kings. probly would even put both clubs at a further disadvantage.

UQ this year have got our Under 18's program back up and running. In regards to an actual juniors club, the closest we has in our partner club West Juniors. Together we put togther the UQ Bulldogs U/18 squad which in the past has fed through a few handy players to the Red Lions

Is this for the really smart kids RUL :D

I love the so called dodgy decisions at Scottsdale drive because its a different goal umpire every week you morons..

Everyone knows to expect dodgy goal decisions down Scottsdale drive .... the main question is how many you get. Also from what I have seen down there the Coast Umpires treat them like protected species unwarranted free kicks just because them come from the coast

Come on Guys, like I said before, no club can claim perfection on club umpiring or umpiring in general. Let's move on.

I don't think its an issue that is going to disappear any time soon while clubs are seemly felt hard done by. I've already made steps to make sure that this can't take place by ensuring that UQ games have at least one volunteer that only keeps score for the game.

If there is any dispute between the goal umpires, we always have a third umpire who takes the progressive score for both games.

I don't think its an issue that is going to disappear any time soon while clubs are seemly felt hard done by. I've already made steps to make sure that this can't take place by ensuring that UQ games have at least one volunteer that only keeps score for the game.

If there is any dispute between the goal umpires, we always have a third umpire who takes the progressive score for both games.

interesting seeing the disputed decision that had the greatest consequences last year was at UQ against Robina.

Other teams could do what we had to and build a bridge and get over it. No amount of complaining will change it.

Volunteer positions are always going to give the benefit of the doubt to the club they are from - how many out of bounds on the fulls are not paid, how often does the siren go as the visiting team are in an attacking position, the quarter goes just a little bit longer when the home team are attacking. Its life and happens in all level of amatuer sport not just in footy.

Even in the AFL we still see interchange infringments and time keeping issues which shouldnt happen in a professionally run environment.

Dry your eyes and just get on with it!

Not sure you should be condoning cheating mate - call it what it is FFS. If you have umps that consistently pay decisions that obviously favour your side and everybody recognises it then change the person or ask them to grow some nuts. You aren't playing for sheepstations.

FFS - local cricket has relied on player umps for years at various levels and yes, there is bias involved but its not something ppl should just accept.

SMY as you well know in both grades of div 2 footy there is at least 1 and in most cases 2 league appointed umpires with the power to over rule blatent mistakes. we are not talking about goals going through the middle and being called points. we are talking about touched off the boot or over the post shots on goal. similar in cricket to caught behind, bump ball catches and line ball run outs. just as you say their is bias in cricket it exists in football.

Cheating is an interesting topic - brings to mind clubs naming senior players in the reserves to qualify them for finals or simply just dropping senior players back when there team cant make the finals. Or in UQ's case blokes playing in Div 3 when div 2 have the bye. Do either of these classify under cheating in your opinion?

You say we arent playing for sheepstations.... well **** me it certaintly seems like from all the carry on that we are!!!

wow sounds like there are some perfect players out there. Can we know your names now so when you get drafted we can say we had the pleasure of being in the same forum as you!

scottsdaledrive: dont think its cheating but probably not in the spirit of the game, although see where you are going with it.

smy: interested to know if you are a player or suppporter? you post in the NEAFL, Div 1, Div 2 and Div 3 forums with an assumed knowledge in all. just wondering how that is possible?

Everyone knows to expect dodgy goal decisions down Scottsdale drive .... the main question is how many you get. Also from what I have seen down there the Coast Umpires treat them like protected species unwarranted free kicks just because them come from the coast

Not sure where you are going with this but try travelling to Brisbane every second week to get sh*thouse decisions with your so called Perfect umpires! Look at the end of the day until the league gets serious about introducing goal umpires (which will never happen) there are always going to be crap decisions. We cop it every second week not once a year like the brisbane players when they come down to Scottsdale drive.

I also find it funny how at the start of the year we played UQ and a player told us that these GC umpires are sh*thouse and all know the Robina blokes... so i asked the umpire do you know who i am and he said "na mate sorry i drove down from Brisbane to umpire this game"... Case Closed.

Not sure where you are going with this but try travelling to Brisbane every second week to get sh*thouse decisions with your so called Perfect umpires! Look at the end of the day until the league gets serious about introducing goal umpires (which will never happen) there are always going to be crap decisions. We cop it every second week not once a year like the brisbane players when they come down to Scottsdale drive.

I also find it funny how at the start of the year we played UQ and a player told us that these GC umpires are sh*thouse and all know the Robina blokes... so i asked the umpire do you know who i am and he said "na mate sorry i drove down from Brisbane to umpire this game"... Case Closed.

Sorry Chunk I am certainly not saying the Brissie based umpires are perfect ….. couldn’t be further from the truth …(we run into some of these blokes every 2nd week and may I say they are incompetent at times but it is what it is)… haven’t met a decent umpire in this league yet but what I have seen in recent years is that the Gold Coast Clubs seem to get a good run from the umpires when playing at home. I’m not saying it’s a Robina thing either I have seen numerous PHC AKA div 1 games over the past few years and it happens there too. Whether they are GC based (which I assume most are) or make the trip down from Brisbane the Salt in the air must get to them as there always seems to be more lenient to the coast sides. I do agree league appointed goal umpires should be bought in but the peanut gallery at AFLQ couldn’t organise a %&*$ in a brothel so that won't happen unless all the clubs get together and demand better service from the league ........ as i said it won't happen as we will never get better service from AFLQ. I take on board everyone's comments and this will be my last post about this topic

SMY as you well know in both grades of div 2 footy there is at least 1 and in most cases 2 league appointed umpires with the power to over rule blatent mistakes. we are not talking about goals going through the middle and being called points. we are talking about touched off the boot or over the post shots on goal. similar in cricket to caught behind, bump ball catches and line ball run outs. just as you say their is bias in cricket it exists in football.

Cheating is an interesting topic - brings to mind clubs naming senior players in the reserves to qualify them for finals or simply just dropping senior players back when there team cant make the finals. Or in UQ's case blokes playing in Div 3 when div 2 have the bye. Do either of these classify under cheating in your opinion?

You say we arent playing for sheepstations.... well **** me it certaintly seems like from all the carry on that we are!!!

Yep fair enough mate... :)

wow sounds like there are some perfect players out there. Can we know your names now so when you get drafted we can say we had the pleasure of being in the same forum as you!

scottsdaledrive: dont think its cheating but probably not in the spirit of the game, although see where you are going with it.

smy: interested to know if you are a player or suppporter? you post in the NEAFL, Div 1, Div 2 and Div 3 forums with an assumed knowledge in all. just wondering how that is possible?

Smy has very little first hand info on anything regarding local footy, but always has a very strong opinion on all things footy related.

Bigfooty is a better place for having him on board :D on the topic of cheating, we over on the div 3 board are not happy to learn he has been seeing other forums.

Ps. Hello Chunk

Any early predictions for
-Flag
-runners up
-Leading goal kicker
-league medalist
???

Keep the banter coming blokes.[/quote]

Ealry Predictions

Flag - King Me's boys the Kings
R/U - UQ
Goal Kicker - Muzza from Robina or Brown from Yeronga (he's the only one capable of kicking goals for them)
Medalist - Gibson - Coorparoo or Darryl White if he plays enough games and doesn't get suspended for Kedron. He must have had 1000 touches at Aspley last week end and will be a very handy player in the comp if not the best player going around in the comp

Any early predictions for
-Flag
-runners up
-Leading goal kicker
-league medalist
???

Keep the banter coming blokes.

Ealry Predictions

Flag - King Me's boys the Kings
R/U - UQ
Goal Kicker - Muzza from Robina or Brown from Yeronga (he's the only one capable of kicking goals for them)
Medalist - Gibson - Coorparoo or Darryl White if he plays enough games and doesn't get suspended for Kedron. He must have had 1000 touches at Aspley last week end and will be a very handy player in the comp if not the best player going around in the comp[/quote]

As in Darryl white?? from the lions/Mt gravatt? surly not