2012 SEQAFL Division 2 2012

As I stated, I was busy doing a runner to get supplies for the canteen
I'll be honest i dont enjoy playing Uni on the basis i have never come across a more arrogant and stuck up club in my life full of princesses who are mummy's boys who have been fed with a silverspoon! Any chance any of your players talking to any other clubs in this division or having a beer after the game? and reflecting on a good contest no! we quite often stay at clubs after the game and have a beer or 2 but on Saturday i would have rather gone to the pub to have a beer then buy one off you blokes.

Look in the heat of the moment we all say stuff which when you reflect on it maybe shouldnt have been said and quite often that does come from the boundary from both sides so i have no problem with that!

But Saturday was in a league of its own!

Nah, no sour grapes, can't grow grapes under powerlines.
Technically you can grow grapes under power lines........ As the vine isnt a tall growing plant! here is an example below.....
images

That is some quality googling there Chunk.

Lot of hate on here towards us at Robina - sure one bloke crossed the line which isnt condoned but that doesnt make the rest of us bad eggs.
We play hard at the footy, sledge like its going out of fashion but are the first to shake hands and enjoy a beer or three after the game.
Our ground has powerlines over it - kick it high enough and yep you will hit them - uni's is built on a tip - dig deep enough and u will find landfill.
Get over it - its div 2 footy... if your any good your not playing this level!!

That is some quality googling there Chunk.

Lot of hate on here towards us at Robina - sure one bloke crossed the line which isnt condoned but that doesnt make the rest of us bad eggs.
We play hard at the footy, sledge like its going out of fashion but are the first to shake hands and enjoy a beer or three after the game.
Our ground has powerlines over it - kick it high enough and yep you will hit them - uni's is built on a tip - dig deep enough and u will find landfill.
Get over it - its div 2 footy... if your any good your not playing this level!!

Spot on BOC, bad eggs and bad umps are a part of low grade football, if anyone thinks they have the right to play on lush grounds with perfect umpiring then they are a fool. Men don't whinge (sure, we get p!ssed off and crack it every now and then), they show strength in character and get on with it no matter what the situation.

Now can we get back to proper banter (instead of rubbish bins), it’s an embarrassment?
- will anyone knock over Kings/UQ to reach the final?
- Does anyone think Nambour have what it takes to challenge div 2 next year?
- Predictions for final 5?
Mine:
UQ
Coop
Alex
Kenmore
Aspley

Spot on BOC, bad eggs and bad umps are a part of low grade football, if anyone thinks they have the right to play on lush grounds with perfect umpiring then they are a fool. Men don't whinge (sure, we get p!ssed off and crack it every now and then), they show strength in character and get on with it no matter what the situation.

Now can we get back to proper banter (instead of rubbish bins), it’s an embarrassment?
Mine:
UQ
Coop
Alex
Kenmore
Aspley

The only thing embarassing here is that you support Melbourne :)
Kings will win the seniors. Robina to play UQ in the Reserves.
Nambour have to win div 3 before they consider being promoted last time i checked. Cant see them being compeititve - for reasons i will explain in more detail for those interested...
Think the rest of the teams below UQ and Coop are playing for pride to be honest.

Mine:
UQ
Coop
Alex
Kenmore
Aspley

ive been watching this thread for a while and its good everyone has their opinions but everyone can agree the standard of umpiring is as good as the footy from the teams.. i think the kings will win because they always get better later on and uq havnt won a game convincingly all year.. every team can go with them for 3 1/2 qtrs.. would be good to see an upset in the finals but im not sure there will be because i reckon alex are the 3rd best team (just).. and i duno if we'd beat the kings but maybe we'd beat uq..

i too have been watching this thread for a while and havn't posted till now. im not associated with any club but i live close by to uq and have moved up from melb a couple of years back so watch some uq home games if i get the chance. Was at the game on the weekend, and can honestly say the behaviour from robina was appalling. the guy that got sent off should get a year on the sidelines for the stuff he was saying to the umpire. i was standing right near it, and wow, i couldnt believe no-one from robina shut him down, and just let him keep hurling abuse for what seemed like close to a minute. what a disgrace.

after that robina started sniping uq blokes which is pretty predictable and dumb behaviour. credit to uq for not getting sucked in.

robina president or committee should impose a ban on the guy that carried on, even if the league doesnt.

as for the umpiring, i acutally didnt think it was that bad on the weekend, not nearly as bad as some other games i have seen. so cant understand why robina people are carrying on about it so much on this forum.

on another note, i did see the robina coach go up and shake hands with the uq coach which i thought was commendable given the firey conditions of the game and some of the banter that was getting thrown around between the benches. so that was pleasing.apart from that though, robina have a good hard look at yourselves because you will never be a threat if u have blokes behaving the way that one individual did.

The only thing embarassing here is that you support Melbourne :)
Kings will win the seniors. Robina to play UQ in the Reserves.
Nambour have to win div 3 before they consider being promoted last time i checked. Cant see them being compeititve - for reasons i will explain in more detail for those interested...
Think the rest of the teams below UQ and Coop are playing for pride to be honest.

Hey mate come over to our board and explain. I would like to know your thoughts as I think they are the best team I have seen in our Div.

I have seen Nambour play a few times and they look very good. Probably too good for the Div 3 comp. But you need to consider it in some context.

Granted, they won the flag last year, but they didn't win it as convincingly as you'd want to move up a division. You also need to remember that it is a weakened competition. The best two teams from 2010 were moved up into Div 2 so they were playing the equivalent of teams 3-10 in 2011 and 2012.

Look how other teams have gone in the past decade who have moved up.

Wynnum - convincing premierships (including undefeated) in 2002 and 2003, struggled for a couple of years before becoming a serious player in this division.
Robina - convincing premierships (including undefeated) in 2004 and 2005, struggled for a couple of years in the division up before dropping back a division and being above the standard again. Have come back up and are probably going to finish bottom 3 this year.
Kedron - premiership in 2007 and a top contender in subsequent seasons. Are really a bit of a joke at this level and will probably look to go back a division next year.
Kenmore - convincing undefeated premiership in 2006, made finals once (I think) since coming up in 2007. Have struggled in recent seasons, but will probably scrape into the five this season.

The above doesn't paint a pretty picture for teams moving up, even ones who were belting teams before they came up.

In saying that if Nambour continue smacking teams in the division below (percentage of 350% last time i checked), I'd say that they should definitely apply to move up in place of Kedron. They would beat a few of the lesser teams and would probably be tough to beat at home. Who really wants to travel to Nambour though?:eek:

Mine:
UQ
Coop
Alex
Kenmore
Aspley

Well I might be throwing myself to the lions (no pun intended RUL) but here goes, As an umpire in the community comps including div 2 I don't necessarily agree that we are Bad Umps in these lower division. I know that many of you who have had me as an umpire probably don't think much of me and hey that's up to you. We as umpires try to do the best we can ... are we perfect ... absolutely not ...do we make mistakes.... sure do just like the missed mark or the handball that misses a target..... Believe it or not we just love being involved..... It is just getting called cheats or C%$ts doesn't sit well just as it wouldn't if we called you the players those things. I understand the frustration I have been around footy a long time I just ask that you keep in mind we the umps are not perfect... will never be perfect and that we want to enjoy our footy too with out being continually abused or corrected for every little thing. Anyway that's it for now. I look forward to your thoughts

I have seen Nambour play a few times and they look very good. Probably too good for the Div 3 comp. But you need to consider it in some context.

Granted, they won the flag last year, but they didn't win it as convincingly as you'd want to move up a division. You also need to remember that it is a weakened competition. The best two teams from 2010 were moved up into Div 2 so they were playing the equivalent of teams 3-10 in 2011 and 2012.

Look how other teams have gone in the past decade who have moved up.

Wynnum - convincing premierships (including undefeated) in 2002 and 2003, struggled for a couple of years before becoming a serious player in this division.
Robina - convincing premierships (including undefeated) in 2004 and 2005, struggled for a couple of years in the division up before dropping back a division and being above the standard again. Have come back up and are probably going to finish bottom 3 this year.
Kedron - premiership in 2007 and a top contender in subsequent seasons. Are really a bit of a joke at this level and will probably look to go back a division next year.
Kenmore - convincing undefeated premiership in 2006, made finals once (I think) since coming up in 2007. Have struggled in recent seasons, but will probably scrape into the five this season.

The above doesn't paint a pretty picture for teams moving up, even ones who were belting teams before they came up.

In saying that if Nambour continue smacking teams in the division below (percentage of 350% last time i checked), I'd say that they should definitely apply to move up in place of Kedron. They would beat a few of the lesser teams and would probably be tough to beat at home. Who really wants to travel to Nambour though?:eek:

Well said but just on last years GF. They dominated that game like it was dry however they played in 6 inches of water. They couldn't have dominated any more IMO.

Other than that, all good points otherwise.

Agree Morro - taking past history as evidence that teams moving up can't make it is strange - surely it is on a case by case basis?? Some clubs won premierships in Div 3 previously on the back of spending some $$ i imagine - this sort of culture can never be sustained and especially when the going gets tough, players (generally the FIFO type) move on. Nambour is all home grown, no $$ pass hands. I think you would probably agree that if Nambour were in Div 2 this year they would be playing finals. You can't have a side this dominant to be otherwise IMO. The #1 reason why they didn't take the offer to go up was based purely on depth and playing in a tougher division certainly tests this more so as there are less soft games.
Surely a trip to the hinterland town of Palmwoods shits all over a trip to souless Robina...:)

Agree Morro - taking past history as evidence that teams moving up can't make it is strange - surely it is on a case by case basis?? Some clubs won premierships in Div 3 previously on the back of spending some $$ i imagine - this sort of culture can never be sustained and especially when the going gets tough, players (generally the FIFO type) move on. Nambour is all home grown, no $$ pass hands. I think you would probably agree that if Nambour were in Div 2 this year they would be playing finals. You can't have a side this dominant to be otherwise IMO. The #1 reason why they didn't take the offer to go up was based purely on depth and playing in a tougher division certainly tests this more so as there are less soft games.
Surely a trip to the hinterland town of Palmwoods shits all over a trip to souless Robina...:)

"Strange"? Of course it is on a case by case basis and I'm not saying they couldn't make it. All I did was point out that the previous four teams that came up a division didn't have immediate success and for all but Wynnum haven't been that succesful at all. If you can't use past teams who have dominated the division below as examples, I don't know what else you can base it on other than "well I reckon they look pretty good so they should go alright".

gotta love the "non affiliated" types who "just happen to come across this forum" and "just happened to be at the game". Minus the reserves players from both teams there wouldnt have been 40 people at the ground - guess this forum should think themselves lucky we have so many to contribute - thank god for coincidences.

Moro - without guys like u there is no game - congratulate you for being involved in any capacity. Have u umpired any of the Robina reserves games?

Chunk#5 - how do you feel about being relegated to 3rd on the goal kicking?

budstar - only thing anyone has mentioned about the umpires from saturdays game was the over ruling of a point called a goal (which is based on history of the 2 clubs in a reserves game last year) and that after a scuffle 2 robina players were sent off which as agreed by other forum posters seems unusual unless no one from uni was involved and they were fighting amongst themselves.

As previously mentioned Robina doesnt condone the abuse of umpires.

Redwhiteandblue - Agree that Kings will win the comp in my opinion - but think u should put the bong down if you think Alex are the third best.

the badger - liked your comments - probably a bit harsh on kedron ( there reserves are struggling yes, but the have won 3 games in the seniors ). Does anyone know if they have asked to drop back down? Don't see that fixing the byes in the fixtures if its a straight swap for them for the premiers in div 2.

SMY - Good old self appointed authority on everything afl in QLD / Australia / World :) Robina is probably a bit to developed for you... you just stay up there in rural buderim and look after your ginger :)

Morro - I dont want you to feel left out - but you havent given me much to work with - please be a little more controversial in your next post...

gotta love the "non affiliated" types who "just happen to come across this forum" and "just happened to be at the game". Minus the reserves players from both teams there wouldnt have been 40 people at the ground - guess this forum should think themselves lucky we have so many to contribute - thank god for coincidences.

Moro - without guys like u there is no game - congratulate you for being involved in any capacity. Have u umpired any of the Robina reserves games?

budstar - only thing anyone has mentioned about the umpires from saturdays game was the over ruling of a point called a goal (which is based on history of the 2 clubs in a reserves game last year) and that after a scuffle 2 robina players were sent off which as agreed by other forum posters seems unusual unless no one from uni was involved and they were fighting amongst themselves.

Redwhiteandblue - Agree that Kings will win the comp in my opinion - but think u should put the bong down if you think Alex are the third best.

the badger - liked your comments - probably a bit harsh on kedron ( there reserves are struggling yes, but the have won 3 games in the seniors ). Does anyone know if they have asked to drop back down? Don't see that fixing the byes in the fixtures if its a straight swap for them for the premiers in div 2.

SMY - Good old self appointed authority on everything afl in QLD / Australia / World :) Robina is probably a bit to developed for you... you just stay up there in rural buderim and look after your ginger :)

Morro - I dont want you to feel left out - but you havent given me much to work with - please be a little more controversial in your next post...

Thanks for the inclusion mate.

How does this work for you, "Robina suck" :cool: sorry mate I got nothing, i'll return to the safety of my own board now :(

Ps. Come on Chunk old boy, no prizes for 3rd, lift son, lift!

haha mate ive acquired a fairly thick skin to the robina slurs over the years - im no moderator or self appointed expert like SMY clearly is, but i think cross divisional forum contribution is healthy - particularly from people that are happy to have it known who they are.

Chunk will miss a week away this week in melbourne watching the pies hand the eagles a wake up call - another opportunity for me to put daylight between us!!

haha mate ive acquired a fairly thick skin to the robina slurs over the years - im no moderator or self appointed expert like SMY clearly is, but i think cross divisional forum contribution is healthy - particularly from people that are happy to have it known who they are.

Chunk will miss a week away this week in melbourne watching the pies hand the eagles a wake up call - another opportunity for me to put daylight between us!!

Haha cheers mate.

And I am sure you will be quick let him know :D

Thanks BOC for the comments and as you said there would be no game without us blokes to yell at. I haven’t done any Robina reserves games but I have done 2 or 3 senior games this year and I know I’m not the Roos favourite umpire in the world (you could add in all the other clubs here too)… either this year or from 2010 when I reported HK in a final and he missed the prelim. Now all the Roo boys are agreeing that YES I’m not their favourite umpire. As I’ve said previously we just want to be involved in the game and have a beer (and ciggies in my case) after the game with our running mate and believe it or not I enjoy talking to players after the game and having a beer with them too. We know as umps we will make mistakes and we will make decisions which some don’t like we just have to call it as we see it and as I said yes we will get the wrong call and we will never please every one …… in fact I am told with my umpiring that I never please anyone J All in all we take our job seriously not ourselves

moro - dont flatter yourself - intraclubs go ahead without official umpires so we would find a way to make do hahahaha
I dont think any club has a list of "favourite" umpires - but you are always welcome to have a dart and a beer provided one of your decisions dont cost us a game!!
with regards to the HK report - i remember that incident - honestly he had more chance of giving the bloke a cold then actually causing damage.... "attempting to strike" is a sh*t report to miss a final for considering some of the stuff that goes unnoticed / unreported in div's 2 and 3.
I think inconsistency frustrates players at all levels (look at the carlton tweeters) but do enjoy a bit of banter with the umpires. In fact one of the best sledges ive heard in recent times came from an umpire to a player a few weeks ago. said player asked umpire "are you going to give us a free kick today" umpires reply without hesitation of "are you going to get a kick today" not only saw us in stitches but also his team mates.

moro - dont flatter yourself - intraclubs go ahead without official umpires so we would find a way to make do hahahaha
I dont think any club has a list of "favourite" umpires - but you are always welcome to have a dart and a beer provided one of your decisions dont cost us a game!!
with regards to the HK report - i remember that incident - honestly he had more chance of giving the bloke a cold then actually causing damage.... "attempting to strike" is a sh*t report to miss a final for considering some of the stuff that goes unnoticed / unreported in div's 2 and 3.
I think inconsistency frustrates players at all levels (look at the carlton tweeters) but do enjoy a bit of banter with the umpires. In fact one of the best sledges ive heard in recent times came from an umpire to a player a few weeks ago. said player asked umpire "are you going to give us a free kick today" umpires reply without hesitation of "are you going to get a kick today" not only saw us in stitches but also his team mates.
Very funny BOC yes intraclubs do go ahead with club umpires. How about Uni v Robina seniors with club umpires …. How would that be????? There is enough people complaining about club goal umpires let alone if there were club field umps. And as for the report it was widely reported that it was attempting to strike but I can assure you he was reported for and suspended for “striking” not attempted. I agree there is some stuff which is missed but we as umpires always look to protect you blokes so sometimes a soft call is made but better to be a little soft then see someone end up in hospital and not able to work. I would like to think us umps pick up all these dirty behind play incidents but as I said we are no where near perfect and we can miss things unfortunately. Interesting you say “provided one of your decisions don’t cost us a game!!” I don’t think 1 decision can cost a game but hey I’m willing to give it agoJ I absolutely agree about consistency. We strive for consistency and we have to be consistent week to week but also try to be consistent with what the other umpire is doing ….. harder than it sounds sometimes. Just like the players who strive to be consistent so do we and just like the players who have off weeks so do us maggots. The next time I get you blokes a beer and dart it is ……… then you can tell me where I went wrongJ

I actually think you did them a favor in the end, the guy is a 6 5' gumby who couldnt mark a wall.

hahaha mate - i look forward to that convo - and ur advice on my performance!!

everyone knows that regardless of what happens in the other 79 minutes of a game the 1 decision that 1 team deems questionable always costs them the game.... always has and always will... no point wasting ur breathe trying to tell us otherwise moro :)

Morro - bit rough mate - yes u have history but runner up league b&f, club b&f and captain of a premiership team in 2010. The bloke might still have a tight mens perm as a haircut, but surely the number of different umpires who give votes and different people who do club b&f cards would suggest your opinion is slightly biased!!

everyone knows that regardless of what happens in the other 79 minutes of a game the 1 decision that 1 team deems questionable always costs them the game.... always has and always will... no point wasting ur breathe trying to tell us otherwise moro :)

Morro - bit rough mate - yes u have history but runner up league b&f, club b&f and captain of a premiership team in 2010. The bloke might still have a tight mens perm as a haircut, but surely the number of different umpires who give votes and different people who do club b&f cards would suggest your opinion is slightly biased!!

If you want to see a guy finish high in votes in lower divisions, make him Captain.

I have similar results in league medals mate, and I wasnt even the best player in my team. Doesnt mean much to me but just my opinion.

heath hymix king

hymix heaf has taken his talents to a whole new level this year. it must have something to do with the arm candy he keeps parading around and the smile he keeps wearing around scottsdale drive ;)