Preview 2013 AFL fixture released

Gotta learn to don't we!

I mean we can't control it, so we have to ride it basically.

Will be tough but, now I am over the initially shock, if you want to be the best you have to beat the best, so I hope the Hawks can do that.

But will we see how the Hawks can go. Will be interesting!

BTW, Good luck for 2013 :thumbsu:

Could have been worse of course, you might have copped NM's draw!

Yep. They were very hard done by. Because, I mean, they aren't a top side just yet. They don't deserve it.

It really puts there top 8 aspirations in jeopardy but for the sake I hope they make it.

But will we see how the Hawks can go. Will be interesting!

BTW, Good luck for 2013 :thumbsu:

not that my opinion matters to you, Hawthorn will not improve next year and the recruitment of Lake highlighted just how desperate the coach is and it's not going to be work I'm afraid.
Hawthorn's best shot was 2012 and they couldn't do it, now you will be up against West Coast who will welcome back a host of champion players, Geelong welcomes back upto 3 starters, Essendon will likely have a better year (injury-wise) and even Collingwood will attain a few starters who were missing this year.

not that my opinion matters to you, Hawthorn will not improve next year and the recruitment of Lake highlighted just how desperate the coach is and it's not going to be work I'm afraid.
Hawthorn's best shot was 2012 and they couldn't do it, now you will be up against West Coast who will welcome back a host of champion players, Geelong welcomes back upto 3 starters, Essendon will likely have a better year (injury-wise) and even Collingwood will attain a few starters who were missing this year.
Fair points. Though I do disagree but respect it :thumbsu:

Won't argue though, don't want to derail.

I've got very little doubt Guthrie has what it takes to be a 200 game player. I was stunned when I saw he'd played 18 games - being a sub frequently made me think he'd played less than I thought. He's unquestionably best 22 to me now, and will get better and better. Equally certain is that no one outside of Geelong will rate him for 5 years. Smedts looked so much better up forward. Another pre-season, can't see why he won't be further improved.

I like Murdoch, but to me he's still a bit raw and needs further VFL time. I'd happily slot Horlin-Smith straight into Round 1 right now. Was particularly impressed by his Grand Final performance, moreso of his improvement since the last time I'd seen him. Just as I think Guthrie is being groomed to take over from Enright, I think HS is being groomed to succeed Corey.

Sorry but can't agree. Stokes was terrible for at least the first half of the season. Picked up noticeably (like the team) from the Essendon game onwards, but a return of 15 goals for a small forward in 20 games isn't good enough. Especially an experienced player.

Stokes last year averaged less possessions per match than he has since 2006, and the lowest amount of goals since that year too. They aren't encouraging signs with strong competition for spots.

Guthrie is not showing the sort of improvement I would expect given the promise he showed early. 18 games and has not had an impact in one of those games.

I just can't get excited about him. I hope he gets games early in the season but I don't think he is nearly as good as most Geelong fans seem to think.

Murdoch is a far better prospect in my opinion, has better composure, is quick and is a beatiful kick for goal. And given he was picked ahead of Guthrie and Wojack (dubiously in his case) I think we can assume the coaches will play Murdoch again in round one and Guthrie will need to wait for Josh Hunt's spot.

I don't know how the Hawks do it.

Year, after year, after year, they fight the umps, the AFL, the other clubs, Jeff's mouth - and they still manage to finish in a position to contest the flag (couldn't win it this year of course, but they know they would have if they didn't have to fight themselves as well).

Now they have to drag themselves off the mat again, galvanize their massive Tassie following, pinch their Tasmanian tax payer funded pennies, hike the price on all their pokies, and battle the most lop sided draw/fixture any sporting club has ever faced, in any code, in any country, in any century.

And to top it all off, a few 10s of thousands of supporters rightly voice their disgust at this constant and unfair treatment (especially in light of this blatantly rigged FIXTURE); this treacherous - nay - surreptitious plan formulated by the entire population of non-Hawk supporting Australians, and led by the evil genius Andrew Demetriou; and are then rudely described as whingers and whiners on internet forums all over the globe.

People need to lay off the Hawks and their fragile fan base. They are struggling to recover from a monumental Grand Final seizure caused by the tension of overwhelming favoritism for the 2012 Premiership. If we aren't all very careful, we will doom them to a repeat performance next year as well.

I am sure none of us would want that on our conscience.

Murdoch is a far better prospect in my opinion, has better composure, is quick and is a beatiful kick for goal. And given he was picked ahead of Guthrie and Wojack (dubiously in his case) I think we can assume the coaches will play Murdoch again in round one and Guthrie will need to wait for Josh Hunt's spot.

really?
I reckon Murdoch lacks any inside game and gets exposed once physical pressure is remotely applied whereas Guthrie is strong through the core for his age, likes to go in hard and win his own footy and has been played at back pocket whenever he's come into the side.
Guthrie has more tricks as he takes a contested mark and can play midfield as I think we will see in 2013, but it's your opinion and was interesting to hear your views in comparison to Murdoch.

Murdoch is quick, and is a beautiful kick for goal, except when he exhibits his main weakness, lack of composure, and sprays it left.
Anyway, barring injuries, I don't think either of them are in our current best 22.
And the selectors would need to suffer from severe cognitive dissonance to pick Murdoch in Rd 1 after his last 2 games of the season.

really?
I reckon Murdoch lacks any inside game and gets exposed once physical pressure is remotely applied whereas Guthrie is strong through the core for his age, likes to go in hard and win his own footy and has been played at back pocket whenever he's come into the side.
Guthrie has more tricks as he takes a contested mark and can play midfield as I think we will see in 2013, but it's your opinion and was interesting to hear your views in comparison to Murdoch.

Possibly Guthrie is a midfielder and that might explain his struggles in the back half.

Murdoch was preferred to Guthrie for the last 5 or so games, so I dont think it is that surprising of an opinion. Guthrie certainly has not played a game as good as Murdoch's against St Kilda.

Most Geelong fans seem to like Guthrie, so maybe I have this one wrong. Hopefully!

Apart from the six day breaks it's fine. We have a dream mid-season run and a decent run at the end of the season, so if we can get through the tough start well we're set.

I'm in Wellington at the moment (surprisingly the AFL fixture isn't a hot topic over here) and only just the chance to have a proper look over our draw.

I'm very, very happy with it. It's the easiest draw we've had (on paper) since 2007. So pleasing we only have to go to WA once and the night games v Freo and St Kilda will be fantastic. Even the most pessimistic run through I can do has us winning 15-16 games. Top 4 is a definite chance.

I'm looking forward to this one too - haven't played you down there for a while. I'm assuming all the construction work will be complete by then?

I don't know how the Hawks do it.

Year, after year, after year, they fight the umps, the AFL, the other clubs, Jeff's mouth - and they still manage to finish in a position to contest the flag (couldn't win it this year of course, but they know they would have if they didn't have to fight themselves as well).

Now they have to drag themselves off the mat again, galvanize their massive Tassie following, pinch their Tasmanian tax payer funded pennies, hike the price on all their pokies, and battle the most lop sided draw/fixture any sporting club has ever faced, in any code, in any country, in any century.

And to top it all off, a few 10s of thousands of supporters rightly voice their disgust at this constant and unfair treatment (especially in light of this blatantly rigged FIXTURE); this treacherous - nay - surreptitious plan formulated by the entire population of non-Hawk supporting Australians, and led by the evil genius Andrew Demetriou; and are then rudely described as whingers and whiners on internet forums all over the globe.

People need to lay off the Hawks and their fragile fan base. They are struggling to recover from a monumental Grand Final seizure caused by the tension of overwhelming favoritism for the 2012 Premiership. If we aren't all very careful, we will doom them to a repeat performance next year as well.

I am sure none of us would want that on our conscience.
1324182733369.png

"Best" back six of Enright, Taylor, Mackie, J.Hunt, Rivers and Lonergan?

I reckon the only side that matches it...is West Coast with Waters, Glass, Schofield, Hurn, MacKenzie and Selwood (or McGinnity).
Collingwood's was excellent a couple years ago but losing Tarrant along with last year's Davis will hurt them even more in 2013.
Ben Johnson is not the same player after his knee reco's so they will drop back even more next year.

Pretty happy with the draw we ended up with, glad to see we aren't going to Perth twice this season.
Port Adelaide, GC, GWS, bye looks pretty handy in the middle of the year.

I'm looking forward to this one too - haven't played you down there for a while. I'm assuming all the construction work will be complete by then?

Correct, we don't play at home until round 10 as construction work will be finished shortly before then. It gives us a lopsided draw as 7 of our last 12 games are at Geelong.

From memory Freo hasn't played at Geelong since round 22, 2009. A long time between drinks!

It should be a cracking game, as have all the recent ones, with plenty of edge to it!

Do you think there will be many/any Freo fans in attendance?

Possibly Guthrie is a midfielder and that might explain his struggles in the back half.

Murdoch was preferred to Guthrie for the last 5 or so games, so I dont think it is that surprising of an opinion. Guthrie certainly has not played a game as good as Murdoch's against St Kilda.

Most Geelong fans seem to like Guthrie, so maybe I have this one wrong. Hopefully!

I think it depends on what traits fans like to see in young players. Certainly, if you were looking for explosive pace, or long penetrating kicks, you won't see it in Guthrie. You will see poise, composure and good decision making though - which I think he's shown plenty of. With any luck he'll end up in the mould of Enright, slow gradual development year after year, until the football world one day realise he's a gun.

Murdoch's a very different player, and I'm still nonplussed as to why people think he's going to be a defender. It's almost like "well Wojo was a defender, and he was quick, therefore Murdoch must be". I don't see that. I see in time one hell of a winger. Even in today's game he won't get that many chances to kick for goal in defence, but on a wing he'd be a real weapon.

As Mr. DeLeux pointed out too, his last couple of games were extremely forgettable. On form there's no way he's in our best 22 yet.

I think it depends on what traits fans like to see in young players. Certainly, if you were looking for explosive pace, or long penetrating kicks, you won't see it in Guthrie. You will see poise, composure and good decision making though - which I think he's shown plenty of. With any luck he'll end up in the mould of Enright, slow gradual development year after year, until the football world one day realise he's a gun.

Murdoch's a very different player, and I'm still nonplussed as to why people think he's going to be a defender. It's almost like "well Wojo was a defender, and he was quick, therefore Murdoch must be". I don't see that. I see in time one hell of a winger. Even in today's game he won't get that many chances to kick for goal in defence, but on a wing he'd be a real weapon.

As Mr. DeLeux pointed out too, his last couple of games were extremely forgettable. On form there's no way he's in our best 22 yet.

Was going to write this exact thing. Perfectly put Partridge, Nuff said.

GO Catters

I think Murdoch's goal sense and pace means he's easier to notice. As Partridge said Guthrie will end up being a good, solid footballer - although while I agree he'll play 200+ games not as sure he's best 22 just yet, particularly given we have a lot of smaller defender types.

Preview 2013 AFL fixture released