Unofficial Preview 2013 Draft Watch

Emma Quayle rates Josh Kelly number 2 pick :((((((

She also says Luke is absolutely good value at pick 8 and that Dayle Garlett isn't a surety to get drafted this year, apparently didn't turn up to club interviews last week, seemed to think a rookie spot was more likely.

Emma Quayle rates Josh Kelly number 2 pick :((((((

not-listening.jpg

She also says Luke is absolutely good value at pick 8 and that Dayle Garlett isn't a surety to get drafted this year, apparently didn't turn up to club interviews last week, seemed to think a rookie spot was more likely.

IMHO, we should take Garlett as our #2 pick in the main draft.

Take the risk, the upside is all good. And if it doesn't work, we will already have McDonald and maybe NDS.

Plating safe will not get us anywhere.

IMHO, we should take Garlett as our #2 pick in the main draft.

Take the risk, the upside is all good. And if it doesn't work, we will already have McDonald and maybe NDS.

Plating safe will not get us anywhere.

do your friends call you blinkie? if we take Garlett and that is a big if, I doubt we would throw our first live pick at him, but then if we don't he will have to still be around at pick 61 as you are happy to trade our third rounder for NDS who should be a FA.:(

After careful consideration this is my wish list for the draft period is:

Round 1: Luke McDonald
Round 2: Dayle Garlett
Round 3: Delaney and pick 3 for NDS.

do your friends call you blinkie? if we take Garlett and that is a big if, I doubt we would throw our first live pick at him, but then if we don't he will have to still be around at pick 61 as you are happy to trade our third rounder for NDS who should be a FA.:(

Blinkie?

What I see is that our picks, year in and year out, are good kids that take several years to reach a stage where they are getting regular games in the main game.

And they are only going to get a first's game if they enhance the team. Consequently, if you are happy to use a round 2 pick on a skinny, speculative kid that will be ready in 3 years, go right ahead.

Me I would rather see us roll the dice at least once. Garlett sounds like a ripper. Been playing senior footy for 12 months now, just like McDonald.

People complain that we can not get players to come here. And part of the reason is that the crap attitude of 'he should be a FA', so we will wait. And then some other team comes along and gets a quality player, because they are willing to pay something.

Being reticent will not get us where we want to go.

I just get the feeling you are more then happy to blink first and pay overs for everything you want.;)

What I see is that our picks, year in and year out, are good kids that take several years to reach a stage where they are getting regular games in the main game. And they are only going to get a first's game if they enhance the team. Consequently, if you are happy to use a round 2 pick on a skinny, speculative kid that will be ready in 3 years, go right ahead.
MacKenzie and Garner will become more prominent features in our senior team next year, scott always brings them on nice and slowly, but when they get there they are ready.

Me I would rather see us roll the dice at least once. Garlett sounds like a ripper. Been playing senior footy for 12 months now, just like McDonald.
from what I have read and I am by no means an expert, I believe the quality of kids available at 26 could be very very good, this draft appears to have about 30 really good kids in it. so yeah I would take a kid without baggage over a kid with baggage that apparently no one else really rates.
People complain that we can not get players to come here. And part of the reason is that the crap attitude of 'he should be a FA', so we will wait. And then some other team comes along and gets a quality player, because they are willing to pay something.

Being reticent will not get us where we want to go.
the only reason a club would be interested in NDS would be as a free agent, do you really think out of all the players to target NDS would be what you would look forward to trading for, especially if pick 19 can't get it done as a FA, what the hell do they want?

...the only reason a club would be interested in NDS would be as a free agent, do you really think out of all the players to target NDS would be what you would look forward to trading for, especially if pick 19 can't get it done as a FA, what the hell do they want?

He will move for a first round draft pick, his manager Marty Pask confirmed on Trade Week Radio.

That would see the Bulldogs get pick 21 and 41 in the upcoming draft, with Hawthorn picking up pick 27 and the player.

Lake is a two-time All-Australian and won the club's best-and-fairest award in 2007, and will finish his time at the Bulldogs having played 197 games there.
Turning 31 next year, Lake would have been a free agent next year.

Seems to me, that being 'bold', especially with older players can have benefits.

Garlett was rated top 10 last year, and apparently ripped it up in the WAFL. What's not to rate?

He will move for a first round draft pick, his manager Marty Pask confirmed on Trade Week Radio.

That would see the Bulldogs get pick 21 and 41 in the upcoming draft, with Hawthorn picking up pick 27 and the player.

Lake is a two-time All-Australian and won the club's best-and-fairest award in 2007, and will finish his time at the Bulldogs having played 197 games there.
Turning 31 next year, Lake would have been a free agent next year.

Seems to me, that being 'bold', especially with older players can have benefits.
where we are this year is completely different to where Hawthorn was this time last year, so if you are trying to say the Lake and NDS scenarios are the same, no they aint. explain to me what we could and would offer stkilda that would be better for the saints then pick 19, would you give up pick 8 if by some miracle Duke goes round 2? or do you really think pick 44 and Delaney is a better trade for NDS then pick 19? there is no logical reason why the saints would prefer a trade then making him a FA and there is absolutely no logical reason why we would what to trade for NDS. but please explain how trading for NDS is a great idea.

Garlett was rated top 10 last year, and apparently ripped it up in the WAFL. What's not to rate?
interesting he did not go top 10 last year or even as a 4th round rookie for that point.

So our pick 26 is going to be around 30 due to the compensation picks. I'm tipping the club might try trade greenwood/Anthony to try downgrade that pick to the earlier twenties. However I doubt this will happen. After that we have currently have 47 and 65. Hopefully we can improve our standing with Delaney moving on.

So at 30 we'll either be looking for a mid with good skills, or an exciting half forward. Or perhaps we'll just take best available. I'm tipping a number of these guys will be available:

Dayle Garlett - creative goal kicking mid/hf with exceptional skills and pace.
Jay Kennedy-Harris - natural crumbing foward, good skills and impressive defensive effort.
James Battersby - small creative mid/half back with elite skills.
Jarmen Impey - small crumbing forward, elite pace and agility exellent vision and skills.
Eli Templeton- skinny puremid who knows how to find the footy. Tough with good leadership credentials.
James Sicily - creative half forward/mid who is excellent in the air. Has a lot of tricks.
Dwayne Wilson - inconsistent but a real game breaker. Excellent skills and elite pace.

With 47 I'm tipping we will look to pick up a key defender. I think there won't be many left come pick 65. There are a number of solid prospects that sould be around the mark. If we don't pick up a kid I could see us rookie listing someone like Joel Tippet, Scott Clouston or Jake Wilson.

Daniel McStay - excels at reading the play. Tall, athletic and can swing forward.
Fraser Fort - tough agressive Fb who creates as well. Excels as a lockdown me back.
Cameron Giles - good rebounder with exceptional closing speed. Backs himself to be third man up.

So our pick 26 is going to be around 30 due to the compensation picks. I'm tipping the club might try trade greenwood/Anthony to try downgrade that pick to the earlier twenties. However I doubt this will happen. After that we have currently have 47 and 65. Hopefully we can improve our standing with Delaney moving on.
I'm not up with the junior talent, but if we're looking to trade out the likes of Greenwood and LA, then pick upgrades, rather than extra picks, will be the way to go, especially with our first pick.

Interesting read about this bloke. saw him nominated on a phantom draft as our first selection. Never heard of him. Could be one to hear Pykie thoughts on him.

Draftees in Focus: Cameron Conlon
by Paige Cardona · August 13, 2013
Draftees in focus takes a look at the big names set to be drafted in 2013, and more imortantly the future rookies you’ll become familiar in SuperCoach next season, and the potential players your club could draft come November. We profile the big names from each state representitive squad so that you can get a better understanding of each player invited to this year’s National Draft Combine in October.

CAMERON CONLON

Height: 198 cm
Weight: 87 kg
Team/Club: Vic Metro/Northern Knights
Position: Forward/Ruck
Player Comparison: Paddy Ryder
Draft Range: unknown

Player Profile
One of the hard-luck stories of this year’s draft crop, is Northern Knights product and AFL-AIS Member, Cameron Conlon whose final year in the under 18 system has been one he’d rather forget. Earmarked as a top 10 selection in this year’s draft after an explosive showing for the Knights in 2012 as a bottom aged player, Conlon had all the traits to go highly – a strong marking forward, a dead-eye on goal, brilliant at ground level, athletic, huge leap and able to go into the ruck – Conlon was to be alongside Tom Boyd as the best two key position products in 2013. However, after being named late last year as part of the 2013 AFL-AIS intake, Conlon badly dislocated his knee doing squats in the gym ahead of the European Tour, which subsequently ruled him out from the squad, extending to his TAC Cup and Vic Metro teams. His knee injury was horrific; his dislocation was a nasty one, and it stemmed to his cartilage and other minor ligaments, which all but derailed his start to his 2013 campaign. Despite the heartbreak, Conlon’s strength of character prevailed, and instead of approaching the situation as ‘woe-is-me’ he got stuck straight into his rehabilitation, which he is now at the back end of, with hope of returning for at least one game of the remainder of the TAC Cup series. Although Conlon has had no form to speak of, nor judge in 2013 – it’s his numbers from 2012 that still have still kept recruiters interested. A bit like Gold Coast’s Jarred Brennan – Conlon is capable of some freakish moments, appearing as though he has the ball on a string, with his one hand ball control, he boasts plenty of excitement. However, it’s Conlon as a key forward that is the most exciting, he is a genuine forward, who puts his throat to the neck of the opposition when in control, proving very hard to stop. Conlon’s aerial ability for the Knights last year, was a key talking point. He’s got a wonderful leap and strong hands, and his burst off the mark is Kurt Tippett like, he is a monster of a prospect.

Strengths
Strong bodied, great hands, brilliant set shot, great footy IQ, good at ground level, offers multiple leads, very hard working forward, unbeatable 1v1, can kick bags of goals, very physical, big leap and athleticism in his lateral movements and sidestep makes him an exciting forward.

Weaknesses
An injury riddled junior career is something that recruiters will approach with caution, given his body just hasn’t coped at the moment. Although, the upside in Conlon is frightening and he’ll be hard to resist as the second and third rounds roll over. He’ll spend a while developing in a reserves system before he sees any type of senior action. Very much a long-term prospect, rather than a forward who would come in and impact in the first one or two years. A club will need to be very diligent in his recover and his development.

Honours
AFL-AIS Member 2013

Interesting read about this bloke. saw him nominated on a phantom draft as our first selection. Never heard of him. Could be one to hear Pykie thoughts on him.

Draftees in Focus: Cameron Conlon
by Paige Cardona · August 13, 2013
Draftees in focus takes a look at the big names set to be drafted in 2013, and more imortantly the future rookies you’ll become familiar in SuperCoach next season, and the potential players your club could draft come November. We profile the big names from each state representitive squad so that you can get a better understanding of each player invited to this year’s National Draft Combine in October.

CAMERON CONLON

Height: 198 cm
Weight: 87 kg
Team/Club: Vic Metro/Northern Knights
Position: Forward/Ruck
Player Comparison: Paddy Ryder
Draft Range: unknown

Player Profile
One of the hard-luck stories of this year’s draft crop, is Northern Knights product and AFL-AIS Member, Cameron Conlon whose final year in the under 18 system has been one he’d rather forget. Earmarked as a top 10 selection in this year’s draft after an explosive showing for the Knights in 2012 as a bottom aged player, Conlon had all the traits to go highly – a strong marking forward, a dead-eye on goal, brilliant at ground level, athletic, huge leap and able to go into the ruck – Conlon was to be alongside Tom Boyd as the best two key position products in 2013. However, after being named late last year as part of the 2013 AFL-AIS intake, Conlon badly dislocated his knee doing squats in the gym ahead of the European Tour, which subsequently ruled him out from the squad, extending to his TAC Cup and Vic Metro teams. His knee injury was horrific; his dislocation was a nasty one, and it stemmed to his cartilage and other minor ligaments, which all but derailed his start to his 2013 campaign. Despite the heartbreak, Conlon’s strength of character prevailed, and instead of approaching the situation as ‘woe-is-me’ he got stuck straight into his rehabilitation, which he is now at the back end of, with hope of returning for at least one game of the remainder of the TAC Cup series. Although Conlon has had no form to speak of, nor judge in 2013 – it’s his numbers from 2012 that still have still kept recruiters interested. A bit like Gold Coast’s Jarred Brennan – Conlon is capable of some freakish moments, appearing as though he has the ball on a string, with his one hand ball control, he boasts plenty of excitement. However, it’s Conlon as a key forward that is the most exciting, he is a genuine forward, who puts his throat to the neck of the opposition when in control, proving very hard to stop. Conlon’s aerial ability for the Knights last year, was a key talking point. He’s got a wonderful leap and strong hands, and his burst off the mark is Kurt Tippett like, he is a monster of a prospect.

Strengths
Strong bodied, great hands, brilliant set shot, great footy IQ, good at ground level, offers multiple leads, very hard working forward, unbeatable 1v1, can kick bags of goals, very physical, big leap and athleticism in his lateral movements and sidestep makes him an exciting forward.

Weaknesses
An injury riddled junior career is something that recruiters will approach with caution, given his body just hasn’t coped at the moment. Although, the upside in Conlon is frightening and he’ll be hard to resist as the second and third rounds roll over. He’ll spend a while developing in a reserves system before he sees any type of senior action. Very much a long-term prospect, rather than a forward who would come in and impact in the first one or two years. A club will need to be very diligent in his recover and his development.

Honours
AFL-AIS Member 2013

Have never seen Conlon, but have heard some amazing stats which suggests if his knee is okay he will make an excellent prospect. 8 + contested marks in a game as an under-ager is super impressive.

Sounds amazing to me. Surely as good a punt as Garlett, which I'm up for as well btw. I think with NDS now on board the desperate need for outside class has subsided somewhat.

Really?? Couldn't get a more awkward looking prospect IMO.

I'll show you LB2Snake. In fact I think he'll kick 2 goals against the reigning premiers next season. There will be a lot to work with. Saintly31 will even start a thread about him as he's a fellow Tasmanian.

Remember this post because I'll dig it up one day

My apologies meant Clouston

With the club Having been in close contact with werribee all year I'm tipping we'd be looking closely at a number of their players. Clouston didn't even get invited to a state screening which tells me there isn't much interest. But a few posters on here have said we have been in close contact with him, brown, Sherlock and Wilson all year.

Jarrod Moore played with them all year so I'm sure he'd have a strong idea of all their strengths as weaknesses.

Sounds amazing to me. Surely as good a punt as Garlett, which I'm up for as well btw. I think with NDS now on board the desperate need for outside class has subsided somewhat.

The good thing about Garlett is that you could play him as a forward pocket/specialist sub.

I'm not sure the club would be willing to take a punt on Conlon if he is still injured. Simply because we can't really afford to have two talls on the long term injury list (curran as well)

The good thing about Garlett is that you could play him as a forward pocket/specialist sub.

I'm not sure the club would be willing to take a punt on Conlon if he is still injured. Simply because we can't really afford to have two talls on the long term injury list (curran as well)
Really odd injury for Conlon huh, dislocating knee whilst doing squats. He sounds like a far more promising prospect than curran though.

With Luke Delaney's move looking imminent, I wouldn't be taking against a KPD with our second pick if Darcy Gardiner is still available. For those who don't know about him this is an outtake about him from the AFL website (which has him going at 20)...

Darcy Gardiner
Pushed back down the list a touch but remains one of the better defenders available this year. The 193cm prospect is competitive, resilient and aggressive, and is a fighter. As a key defender he wills himself to contest after contest, and throws himself at the ball.

With Luke Delaney's move looking imminent, I wouldn't be taking against a KPD with our second pick if Darcy Gardiner is still available. For those who don't know about him this is an outtake about him from the AFL website (which has him going at 20)...

Darcy Gardiner
Pushed back down the list a touch but remains one of the better defenders available this year. The 193cm prospect is competitive, resilient and aggressive, and is a fighter. As a key defender he wills himself to contest after contest, and throws himself at the ball.

I reckon he'll be gone. 2nd best KP prospect in this drAft if you ask me