2013 Rookie Draft

WW giving lesson 1 on how to twist what someone said to suit his own argument, even though what that person said is the actual reverse of what WW originally claimed. :rolleyes:

Mate, she said that he is super quick and very agile. She is definitely talking about his physical attributes.

On the Crows site, under his highlights video, they refer to Kelly as a jet.

Obviously the AFC, using WW logic, think that he thinks as quick as a jet. :rolleyes:

I haven't seen him play live, but he's quick enough on the video highlights and I'm prepared to accept the opinion of those who make a point of watching and evaluating players at this level.

Have you ever seen him play live WW??
I know what she F....g said !

I am not trying to argue any point you twit......i am making an observation, whereas your accepting what's in print as fact

Is it a fact Charlie Cameron is 183cm or 178cm ....they're both in print as fact :rolleyes:

If you haven't seen him play then stop with the bloody emoticons ......you're just embarrassing yourself

If he's a jet as you're quick to defend WHY isn't is continually referred to in print as his 3knm trial is ......would seem if he is as fast as you state as fact then that fact would be highlighted in copy :

Emma Quale
The 18-year-old played three games for Collingwood's VFL team towards the end of last season, including in an elimination final, and ran the third best three-kilometre time trial at the combine behind drafted midfielders Josh Kelly (GWS) and Nick Robertson (Brisbane Lions).

So the Combine results if Kelly is a jet should reflect this correct ......erh no
It says he has great endurance but doesn't support your jet theory ......oh sorry you don't have personal opinions just rehash other opinions as fact :rolleyes:

3km time trial
1. Josh Kelly 9m 32s
2. Nick Robertson 9m 46s
3. Jake Kelly 9m 51s
4. James Tsitas 9m 54s
5. Darcy Byrne-Jones 10m
6. Nathan Drummond 10m1s
7. Eli Templeton 10m5s
8. Alex Pearce 10m6s
9. Kade Kolodjashnij 10m10s
10. Nathan Freeman 10m15s

Beep test results
1. Billy Hartung (level 16.6)
2. Jake Barrett (15.6)
3. Alex Pearce (15.5)
4. Eli Templeton (15.3)
5. Darcy Byrne-Jones (15.2)
6. Nathan Drummond (15.2)
7. Jake Kelly (15.2)
8. James Tsitas (15.2)
9. Josh Kelly (15.1)
10. Nathan Freeman (14.10)

20m sprint
1. Jonathon Marsh (2.78 seconds)
2. Nathan Freeman (2.82)
3. Daniel Flynn (2.83)
4. James Sicily (2.84)
5. Karl Amon (2.88)
6. Jack Leslie (2.90)
7. Richard Bourne (2.92)
8. Tom Cutler (2.93)
9. Jake Barrett (2.94)
10.Darcy Byrne-Jones (2.94)

Agility
1. Zac Webster (7.97 seconds)
2. Daniel Flynn (8.08)
3. Richard Bourne (8.15)
4. Darcy Byrne-Jones (8.15)
5. Karl Amon (8.18)
6. Dylan Main (8.25)
7. Daniel Cox (8.26)
8. Dayle Garlett (8.29)
9. Ben Brown (8.29)
10.Tom Barrass (8.32)

Repeat sprints
1. Nathan Freeman (23.62 seconds)
2. Darcy Byrne-Jones (24.06)
3. Jonathon Marsh (24.18)
4. Daniel Flynn (24.25)
5. Josh Kelly (24.31)
6. Nick Bourke (24.31)
7. Daniel Cox (24.31)
8. Louis Herbert (24.38)
9. Tom Langdon (24.45)
10. Tom Vandeleur (24.49)

Disappointing response WW.

Personal abuse and a heap of irrelevant comments because I prefer to believe what those better qualified than the both of us actually said, rather than your garbled interpretation that it meant something totally different than what was actually said.

I thought you were better than that. Obviously not the case. End of story.

Disappointing response WW.

Personal abuse and a heap of irrelevant comments because I prefer to believe what those better qualified than the both of us actually said, rather than your garbled interpretation that it meant something totally different than what was actually said.

I thought you were better than that. Obviously not the case. End of story.
Well i was disappointed in your response to an opinion ......and given neither of us has seen the guy play you chose to attack me on the basis of print media ......and of course print media is always accurate isn't it Macca?

Your response was inappropriate ....end of story

Obviously i agree with Charlie .....he'll be an ace

But not sure anyone can be so sure of the other 3? .......none have standout qualities, but then again neither did Mathew Wright ?

Well, they do have some standout qualities. Battersby has practically unheard-of disposal efficiency figures. Kelly was among the most aerobically and athletically gifted players in the draft.

I don't know much about Spina so I can't really comment there.

Well, they do have some standout qualities. Battersby has practically unheard-of disposal efficiency figures. Kelly was among the most aerobically and athletically gifted players in the draft.

I don't know much about Spina so I can't really comment there.
I'm sure I read Spina was one of the better shots on goal and his disposal was very good.

One thing I love about our rookies is apart from Kelly they are all supposed to be great users of the ball.

I'll have odds now it won't resemble anything like that ....that's 10 players

Why not simply list the definites staying (under contract) ......really naming so many it's hard to be wrong

9 but what evs
The first 4 will not be there. Porp has a make or break year.
The other 5 depend on a few things.
Thompson and Reillys comeback from injuries.
Ruttens ability to match up on younger forwards.
Whether Smack can show hes an AFL player

We won't get Lycett. Personally I think WCE will make an offer he can't refuse to stay with Cox retiring and Nic Nat getting offered 1.5mill p/year from GWS. West Coast will be pulling out all the stops to keep Lycett. And if he does want home, he'll go to port. We won't want to trade a player and port will finish below us and have better picks to trade. Plus he's a port boy and port have been into him for some time. Nothing going in our favour in the Lycett equation.

Man you are the beacon of optimism here.

Money talks and I reckon in a lot of situations once a player enters the afl system they lose a fair bit of their attachment to their childhood club... So keeping that in mind, we are a chance..

I guess it's up to me to argue against Bigman then.

Obviously i agree with Charlie .....he'll be an ace

But not sure anyone can be so sure of the other 3? .......none have standout qualities, but then again neither did Mathew Wright ?

Kelly looks & plays like his father ....an undersized KPP who used plenty of muscle & physicality to overcome his lack of height and speed.

Kelly jnr is undersized for a KP and he will be a big physical boy when he grows up (like his dad) ......not sure he can play a flank.

For me the jury is definitely out as he isn't that quick by the looks ....terrific endurance, but not speed

He is 189cm the same height as Smith and 1cm shorter than Hendo. He is certainly not an undersized KPP. He hasn't played that position and doesn't play like a KPP player anyway. He played footy as a midfielder up until this year where he played predominately half back flank and a few big possession games on the wing.

Oh and his speed is pretty good. He covers the ground very easily with pace/endurance combo.

So the Combine results if Kelly is a jet should reflect this correct ......erh no
It says he has great endurance but doesn't support your jet theory ......oh sorry you don't have personal opinions just rehash other opinions as fact :rolleyes:

Interesting way of proving it. However, if Kelly was to finish 11-20 in those three categories that he didn't top in, he still is a jet...

And not only that, a jet with ridiculous endurance.

Though, it isn't the most concrete way of proving your point, which is what i was alluding to.

He is 189cm the same height as Smith and 1cm shorter than Hendo. He is certainly not an undersized KPP. He hasn't played that position and doesn't play like a KPP player anyway. He played footy as a midfielder up until this year where he played predominately half back flank and a few big possession games on the wing.

Oh and his speed is pretty good. He covers the ground very easily with pace/endurance combo.
They've mentioned he has played defensive roles ......with his endurance could he become a tagger?

Interesting way of proving it. However, if Kelly was to finish 11-20 in those three categories that he didn't top in, he still is a jet...

And not only that, a jet with ridiculous endurance.

Though, it isn't the most concrete way of proving your point, which is what i was alluding to.
You're correct ....i was just saying given the propensity of the media to get things horribly wrong, I'd like to see some evidence

Looking at his highlight tape it's hard to see he has speed by the way he plays .....the evidence of his endurance is via combine results there for all to see

Sure is, and so many keen draft judges are all saying the same. Ogilvie and co have done exceedingly well given the "restrictions" placed on them.:thumbsu:

Adelaide’s draft campaign was best recognised by being able to snag Matt Crouch in the second round to join his brother in South Australia. It was an incredible steal considering Crouch should never have slipped outside the top 15 let alone first round. While his weaknesses have been well documented, he is a ball magnet with elite vision and could be a very good player in the mould of a Luke Ball or Brad Sewell. While he might not come with the bells and whistles, he’ll be the nuts and bolts of a resurgent Crows midfield.

Adelaide’s performance in the rookie draft was nothing short of phenomenal, selecting four players: Charlie Cameron, James Battersby, Jake Kelly and Alex Spina. With all the talk about Darcy Cameron, the West Australian ruck, many forgot his namesake Charlie, the dangerous small forward. He’s a raw talent but has plenty of X-factor and speed to burn. James Battersby should have been taken in the second round of the National Draft. The fact he slid so low would have made a good dinner joke for the Crows recruiters. He’s a fantastic utility who has performed well across a number of positions and could be upgraded next season if the timing is right.

Jake Kelly is someone who the Pies looked long and hard at given his bloodlines, but decided to re-rookie Corey Gault instead, leaving the Crows to pounce on Craig’s son. Alex Spina is another one who could very well have been taken in the second or third rounds of the National Draft but instead, the Crows couldn’t believe their luck, snagging him with their fourth selection in the rookie draft. Again, it’s hard to predict how the players will develop, but the Crows have rummaged through a bargain basement and somehow found diamonds hidden amongst rocks.

While it is far too early to predict for sure how clubs fared in the draft; on exposed junior form, the Hawks and Crows have nailed their selections. It’s scary to think two teams who played in an epic Preliminary Final and one that is coming off a magnificent premiership, could do so incredibly well. The recruiting staff of both clubs and indeed all clubs, need a pat of the back for their incredible work throughout the season to pluck the best young kids from around the country.

Would be good if Graham can just have a fair dinkum crack full-stop! ;)
Would be good if the guy gets AFL fit ......then we may see what he really has to offer

He must have something ......Ogilvy coached him as a junior, so he may have gone off the tracks at Richmond.

Currently Graham is labelled by Crows supporters who in the main haven't seen him enough, certainly not at AFL .....but have labelled him on the back of Richmond supporter loathing

Get the guy fit, he knows this year is his last hurrah ......and then judge

I think there is a fair bit in him coming back to SA. Apparently at his 21st in Adelaide he spoke pretty passionately about wanting to come home. In saying that his party was at the Port Club. If Port were to take him maybe Redden would be worth a look. He would fall behind Lobbe and Lycett in the pecking order and would would be a solid back up.

Would be good if the guy gets AFL fit ......then we may see what he really has to offer

He must have something ......Ogilvy coached him as a junior, so he may have gone off the tracks at Richmond.

Currently Graham is labelled by Crows supporters who in the main haven't seen him enough, certainly not at AFL .....but have labelled him on the back of Richmond supporter loathing

WW you've really got to stop thinking you know what other posters base their opinions on. I was open to picking up Graham based on what I saw at Richmond. I then saw him play crap SANFL footy, this was backed up by our selectors, who I think would have picked Ormond-Allen to ruck instead of him. You just can't claim he wasn't fit, you do know Richmond also train?

Nope ...in an interview Graham said Adelaide trained harder than Richmond and he needed to get fitter .....someone must have that radio interview

EC I am a glass half full ......i am hoping the guy pulls his finger out & I am basing the optimism that Ogilvy knows the kid by coaching him & believes something is there.

Scott Stevens also spent an entire season in the Port magpies .....2nd year here i think .....this board after 2 years totally wiped him off ......so there is precedence

He may have well admitted he needed to get fitter, doesn't mean that's an excuse for spudding it up in the SANFL.

And your right there is a precedence, Jarhan Jacky.

Scott Stevens also spent an entire season in the Port magpies .....2nd year here i think .....this board after 2 years totally wiped him off ......so there is precedence

Well **** me drunk. If he manages to kick 6 goals in a losing home final and lives of that for the next 6 years, I'm going to shoot myself.

I have seen Graham play many games for the Tigers & he does not involve himself enough in the game nor throw his weight around.

He was probably good as a junior because he could us his height to advantage.

Now he is in the big league, you need more attributes than being a tall stoby-pole!

Well **** me drunk. If he manages to kick 6 goals in a losing home final and lives of that for the next 6 years, I'm going to shoot myself.
What are you on about ......you obviously think Stevens was no good :rolleyes: