2014 QAFL

• Thread starter Thread starter Sir G

Your kidding Right? So I gather Mayne and Springwood are also being robbed for not being able to play off in the QAFL Grand Final this year?

No idea what you mean but the 2 best sides in SEQ U18 footy this year are playing in the GF. Not sure what your issue with this is?

Aspley played in a different competition all together to the QAFL Under 18's. North Colts, South Colts and the QAFL 18's should have their own final series.

See some unreal games unfolded today in the Northern conference GF and the NEAFL GF. Same in todays QAFL prelim final between Labrador and PBC.
Was a great enthralling tussle all day, with PBC having a good 2nd quarter and during the third quarter were looking like they will win this one.. but Labrador came out fighting in the final quarter where the lead changed some 4 or 5 times in the last 10 minutes, not to mention some 3 times scores were level. With no more then 20 seconds to go, with scores level, Labrador snagged a goal.... and that was it. Was a extremely competitive game and very exciting in that final quarter.
Was a good crowd in attendance, I reckon around 1100. And must comment, the day was well run by the Broadbeach football club...good atmosphere, the ground surface was a picture, plenty of food and drink facilities and no worries finding a park.

See some unreal games unfolded today in the Northern conference GF and the NEAFL GF. Same in todays QAFL prelim final between Labrador and PBC.
Was a great enthralling tussle all day, with PBC having a good 2nd quarter and during the third quarter were looking like they will win this one.. but Labrador came out fighting in the final quarter where the lead changed some 4 or 5 times in the last 10 minutes, not to mention some 3 times scores were level. With no more then 20 seconds to go, with scores level, Labrador snagged a goal.... and that was it. Was a extremely competitive game and very exciting in that final quarter.
Was a good crowd in attendance, I reckon around 1100. And must comment, the day was well run by the Broadbeach football club...good atmosphere, the ground surface was a picture, plenty of food and drink facilities and no worries finding a park.

Good players were Warren, Featherstone, Clarke , who did a great job not only in the ruck but marking all over the ground and Folan for Labrador,,, and for PBC, I thought Higgs was outstanding on a forward flank, kept PBC in the game, Pearson was good as was Derrick.

Aspley played in a different competition all together to the QAFL Under 18's. North Colts, South Colts and the QAFL 18's should have their own final series.

Disagree - it was a compromise based upon (some) clubs crying about having an elite U18 comp that would have meant their Colts didn't play at the same ground every week. It was a good system in the end, produced some good matches (todays was an example) and it ended up with the best side winning.

don't you mean the best 2 teams

You mean it was the best system for the elite clubs (Aspley, Southport, Morningside etc) with the larger player resources, coaching resources, development programs etc etc. Really what chance did the likes of Mayne, Caloundra, Springwood and Burleigh have against the proven Colts/NEAFL strength of Aspley, Maroochydore (virtually a Sunshine Coast rep side) Southport (75% of the surfers sharks), Redlands etc etc. The sooner they get back to having an elite Colts comp and a second tier comp the better in my opinion. Give the lower ranked clubs (Ipswich, Zillmere, Yeronga, North Shore etc etc) some sort of chance of playing finals and hopefully one day playing in a Grand Final. AFLQ got this wrong this year, 1 premier out of 28 teams!!! In what league/competition anywhere in Australia does this happen?

AFLQ didn't get it wrong Bunyip - clubs did. The AFLQ had an elite comp all sorted for start of year but were inundated with complaints from many of the clubs you just mentioned as "having no chance". Not sure Maroochy's team was a "rep side" either - considering nearly every player had played roughly 50 games of junior footy at the club previously, aside from a few from Kawana 16's who don't have 18's. 2/3 of the team was U17!!
I'm sure the AFLQ will look at the structure again next year but its a tough compromise - some clubs want their 18's to play on the same day as their 1's and 2's due to spread of volunteers and travel, some want an elite comp to ensure competitive footy every week. Not sure what your solution would be but as someone heavily invested with the 18's this year I thought it was a reasonable compromise at the years end.
BTW Damo - not sure what you mean there but you will find Aspley were very very fortunate to be playing on GF day and it had nothing to do with results on field..

AFLQ didn't get it wrong Bunyip - clubs did. The AFLQ had an elite comp all sorted for start of year but were inundated with complaints from many of the clubs you just mentioned as "having no chance". Not sure Maroochy's team was a "rep side" either - considering nearly every player had played roughly 50 games of junior footy at the club previously, aside from a few from Kawana 16's who don't have 18's. 2/3 of the team was U17!!
I'm sure the AFLQ will look at the structure again next year but its a tough compromise - some clubs want their 18's to play on the same day as their 1's and 2's due to spread of volunteers and travel, some want an elite comp to ensure competitive footy every week. Not sure what your solution would be but as someone heavily invested with the 18's this year I thought it was a reasonable compromise at the years end.
BTW Damo - not sure what you mean there but you will find Aspley were very very fortunate to be playing on GF day and it had nothing to do with results on field..
Wasnt aware of that SMY and not sure our club was either but if that is correct will accept that. Having played Maroochydore this year and knowing who was on their list yep agree many were bottom age but 16 or so of their best 22 have played rep footy in the last 2 years. We had 3. 3 of their boys are in the State squad. Big difference there. And yes Aspley very fortunate, a senior team in the Omeo league in Victoria a couple of weeks ago got booted from the GF for playing an ineligble player in the finals, Aspley only fined!! Wonder if that would have applied had it have been a lower profile club? Would hate to think so.

$1500 fine a joke. A Cairns team forfeited a game and the club received a 12 month suspension.

Found it odd that Todd Grayson was PBC runner yest. Would have played for Labrador if missed a game at a Southport. Off to Wodonga with Cresswell is he?

Chikka,
correct, he was. Some PBC supporters told me it was at a request of 3 or 4 senior PBC players who are great mates with Grayson... What one reads into that I don't know.
If he is thinking of moving to Wodonga Raiders with Cresswell, well good on him, but geez, the Raiders need 10 of him to climb the ladder in the O&M .iS going to be a huge job for Cresswell, but I hear they have some dollars again, so there is a chance they will make a number of big signings.

Not just in the finals series - in H&A games as well. He was turning 20 this year apparently!! Fair footballer too. Yeah agree re the lower profile club - reckon the AFLQ stuffed up on this one.
Yep maroochy had a few in the state squad but only 1 played in the finals (that played in the U18 champs). In fact we had 6 boys who were U18 eligible that we didn't even qualify for finals, never played a game for the 18s for the whole season. No doubt a very strong group and it was pointless playing sides like caboolture and Nth Shore, Noosa etc as you alluded to but hey, we voted for an elite comp only to be over ruled. Tough call for the AFLQ imo, not sure what is wrong or right, 19's coming in ext year, not sure how other clubs will view this, with 17's and 16's. Probably just a way to keep more guys playing longer, potentially moving into 2's footy as well, just trying to keep numbers up. Maroochy have worked hard to get these numbers but also appreciate damn sight harder in Nth Bris with 6 or so clubs within 20km of each other, maybe more?

The ground was in great nick stuyd1, good crowd and atmosphere. What a game, tough hard and unrelenting, how good was the speech at 3/4 time from the Labrador coach, the raw from the huddle when they broke was unbelievable. I felt like pulling the boots on? Creswell so close but no cigar, heard a few rumours after the game the he is taking about 5 with him to Melbourne? that wouldn't go over great with Palmy I wouldn't of thought, but could be just that rumour. Labrador v Morningside in the big one, sorry tigers even if your coach has won more flags than Malthouse and Mathews put together you wont win this one. Panthers by 8 goals Kinch best on ground.

Plenty of rumour that Derrick brothers, Cornish, Bryant and Grayson will be off to the Raiders.

If thats the case, Cressa hasn't quite realised the quality of the O&M league, because all due respect to those blokes - they won't climb the ladder much recruiting them.

Have a look at the Lavington, Yarra and Tigers playing lists just as a starting point - they would all beat Morningside by 10 goals.

Plenty of rumour that Derrick brothers, Cornish, Bryant and Grayson will be off to the Raiders.

If thats the case, Cressa hasn't quite realised the quality of the O&M league, because all due respect to those blokes - they won't climb the ladder much recruiting them.

Have a look at the Lavington, Yarra and Tigers playing lists just as a starting point - they would all beat Morningside by 10 goals.

You gonna be at the game on Sat arvo mate ??

Rumour is that Cressa has a reasonable salary cap to work with at Wodonga. Who may be in line for the PBC job?? Anyone have any ideas?

He would for sure, so better off recruiting from better leagues than the QAFL. As I said, some quality players running around in the QAFL, buts not where you would want to recruiting from to climb the O&M ladder, unless you're going for the absolute elite of the comp.

Reckon Labrador might have been a sneaky chance if the kid from Geelong didn't bust his knee in his first game, but Panthers too strong. Will get it done by 6+ goals