Analysis 2016 Draft...

• Thread starter Thread starter FAITH

Who do you realistically want @13?

Marty so far I have watched the first qtr of maccas cup Gf and Hayward has had 3 contested marks and 4 shots on goal , his vertical leap is enormous and hands vice like . Also a great run down tackle

He's at another level than any other kid out on that ground sharenberg included
Only concern though is that's ok at junior level ......but will an 186cm player cut it at AFL with Haywoods game .......last i can remember was Burton, has Haywood got a big leap?

Please do me one favour. If the Crows do not pick Sharenberg do not shit over 400 different threads about why we should have picked him and ''see he is already playing AFL while PP is still in the SANFL.'' Ok. :)
This is still one of the best posts in this thread .

Only concern though is that's ok at junior level ......but will an 186cm player cut it at AFL with Haywoods game .......last i can remember was Burton, has Haywood got a big leap?
This is definitely a concern and the reason he will be taken at 17-22 rather than higher

His clean hands should mean he can push into midfield but high half forward role might be his best go

Yes he's got a sensational leap and an excellent kick ( goalkicking and field kicking )

Ok, now i know we keep the #13 pick ..... just watched again the WA v Vic game

Happy to go early with a few names in order .......not yet in cement, but firming

1. Daniel Venables .......has that strength and speed that is similar to Dangerfield ....limited fitness due to injury streak, which is one concern ?

Has some footy smarts, and is under exposed playing predominantly forward ......but what he did in just a few snapshot plays is exactly what our needs are .......will get better with AFL fitness, and has a body type that says he's going to be a bundle of muscle in the AFL

2. Jack Scrimshaw ......didn't do much in this game, but is footy smart, tall, quick left footer .....can he go into the midfield .....has a huge upside though

3. Griffin Logue .........has that Adam Goodes look about him ......tall, fast with a huge leap
Played defense, ruck, and forward in this game and just has that "X" factor you love

4. Josh Battle ......elite 3km runner, great hands and 192 cm player .....most will see a Jack Darling type ....i of course see a midfielder :)

5. Powell Pepper .....this will be interesting, not on footy ability, but character ......think Dustin Martin and a tough footy journey so far ......has the ability to emulate Dustin Martin though on field

At #43 have a bit of affinity for South Australia Whimpress i think his name is

What do we know about Adelaide's recruiting style:
1. The player tends to feature well in combine testing
2. We like players with leadership skills (counts against Powell Pepper)
3. Good clean hands
4. Good decision making
5. Importantly .....not where they are now, but where they're projected to develop too (Scrimshaw)

Discounting
Galluci
.......yeah good steady player in the Douglas mould, but don't think that player type is our major need

Berry .....excellent player, future leader ......but can't see his straight ahead running style suiting our midfield
Some good points - Scrimshaw is a gun and should go top 5

Re Powell -Pepper - no probs re leadership , has already captained WA U16s , is school house captain and has been lauded in Australian academy set up for his leadership

Just found out he had 7 tackles and 4 goals in WA colts GF and has run a 16 beep before, sub 3sec 20m sprint . Serious fit weapon and leader on the track

His kicking is his issue but I think it's more a rushed decision making process and lack of composure rather than the kicking skill itself - he actually kicked 30 goals out of 30 shots to win the goalkicking test at combine in a canter . You can't actually do that if you are a poor kick so it's more about training the decision making and composure ( like Hartigan and Danger )

I liked the look of Doedee no doubt. But as it stands he's still high risk.

Whilst it's ok to say back your judgment to an extent, it might wise to avoid another high risk pick until the first one pays off.

Doodee was one out of the box, I too like the look of him and really wonder what the strategy behind taking him was at that pick.
In juniors he seemed to be playing a position that we already had numerous options in the squad .
Was he the next best player on Hamish's recruiting list or was a more long term objective in play?

By that did I mean did the Crows all along have it in their mindset to recruit a tallish back man to perhaps free up Smith for the midfield.
Doodee fitted our needs for this strategy and so they jumped. He definitely needed some senior experience last year but now that we've done nothing midfield wise in changing our structures( actually losing one ),Smith may have already been marked as the one to make the transition.
Or I'm reading to much into it.

Doodee was one out of the box, I too like the look of him and really wonder what the strategy behind taking him was at that pick.
In juniors he seemed to be playing a position that we already had numerous options in the squad .
Was he the next best player on Hamish's recruiting list or was a more long term objective in play?

By that did I mean did the Crows all along have it in their mindset to recruit a tallish back man to perhaps free up Smith for the midfield.
Doodee fitted our needs for this strategy and so they jumped. He definitely needed some senior experience last year but now that we've done nothing midfield wise in changing our structures( actually losing one ),Smith may have already being marked as the one to make the transition.
Or I'm reading to much into it.
From what I've heard there are no imminent plans to turn Smith into a mid

As far as doedee goes I think they might have earmarked him as a Ben Stratton type - a guy that is hard to play on and can play on different sized opponents ( I guess a more blue chip version of Cheney )

From what I've heard there are no imminent plans to turn Smith into a mid

As far as doedee goes I think they might have earmarked him as a Ben Stratton type - a guy that is hard to play on and can play on different sized opponents ( I guess a more blue chip version of Cheney )
That will be incredibly disappointing if it pans out that way

If he thinks he's rated 13 but knows we can grab him at 43 and grab a 16 rank while he's at it, that would be great

See this is the fundamental problem I have with this sort of thinking. You assume based on the moc drafts that this kid might be available at 43. We don't know if he will be available at 43. Given the amount of work clubs put into players, I find it hard to believe that if we do rate the kid that highly that he will be availabe at 43. That is 30 picks later. I can understand doing that calculated risk if there is half a dozen spots between the picks but when there are 30 other kids that will get selected before you next pick it's lunacy!

If Hamish and his team rate this kid as the 13th best prospect in the draft then pick him there and don't worry about the meltdown because you are always going to get people that not nor happy. The meltdown after Doedee pick last year was priceless. Based on what we have seen in SANFL it seems to be a pretty darn good pick.

See this is the fundamental problem I have with this sort of thinking. You assume based on the moc drafts that this kid might be available at 43. We don't know if he will be available at 43. Given the amount of work clubs put into players, I find it hard to believe that if we do rate the kid that highly that he will be availabe at 43. That is 30 picks later. I can understand doing that calculated risk if there is half a dozen spots between the picks but when there are 30 other kids that will get selected before you next pick it's lunacy!

If Hamish and his team rate this kid as the 13th best prospect in the draft then pick him there and don't worry about the meltdown because you are always going to get people that not nor happy. The meltdown after Doedee pick last year was priceless. Based on what we have seen in SANFL it seems to be a pretty darn good pick.

I agree it's a risk, but sometimes you have to take risks to get the ultimate reward. Particularly for a club that's as unsuccessful as we are.

He's a first round draft pick. If he ends up playing the role we have a journeyman playing but just a little better, I will be livid

From what I've seen, Doedee will be a mix between Lever and Smith. A versatile player who can both stop and rebound. Reminds me of Kade Kolodjashnij.

I reckon he'll be more Grant Birchall than Ben Stratton

Discounting
Galluci
.......yeah good steady player in the Douglas mould, but don't think that player type is our major need

Berry .....excellent player, future leader ......but can't see his straight ahead running style suiting our midfield

Straight ahead running style?

A guy that has run a 7.804 Agility Test, surely you're not serious...

http://www.foxsportspulse.com/assoc...20-0-0-0&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=41701624

On Saturday March 12, over 550 TAC Cup players were put through their paces as part of the annual TAC Cup Fitness Testing Day.

AFL Victoria, with the assistance of Rookie Me, tested each of the players across four different stations - 20 metre sprint, agility, beep test plus jumps (vertical & running).

See some of the top results in each category for the day - more details on the testing and a full photo gallery will follow.

20 metre sprint: Ben Ronke – Calder Cannons 2.829

Agility: Jarrod Berry – North Ballarat Rebels 7.804

Vertical jump: Bailey Morrish – Dandenong Stingrays 81cm

Running Vertical jump (left): Brodie Romensky – Western Jets 96cm

Running Vertical jump (right): Josh Hannon – Eastern Ranges 96cm

Beep test: Travis Bindley Gippsland Power / Jake Bradley - Northern Knights / Lachlan Huppatz – North Ballarat Rebels 16.02

To give you an idea just how good Berry's time was check out the all the Recent Combine bests..

http://www.topendsports.com/sport/afl/testing-draft-results.htm

Agility Run
year score (sec) name drafted
1999 7.91 Shaun Angeles
2000 8.16 Jordon McMahon
2001 7.89 Nathan Street
2002 7.95 Byron Schammer Fremantle #13
2003 8.08 Jacob Surjan
2004 7.79 Danyle Pearce Port Adelaide
2005 7.97 Jarred Oakley-Nicholls Richmond #8
2006 7.88 David Armitage
2007 7.91 Aaron Joseph Carlton
2008 7.77 Stephen Hill Fremantle
2009 7.95 Kane Lucas Carlton
2010 7.90 Billie Smedts
2011 7.80 Elliot Yeo
2012 8:00 Lachie Hunter
2013 7.97 Zac Webster
2014 8.09 Clem Smith
2015 7.90 Kieran Lovell
2016 8.15 Tom Williamson
best ever 7.77 Stephen Hill Fremantle

To see what an AGILITY TEST entails see link..
http://www.topendsports.com/testing/tests/agility-afl.htm

Some good points - Scrimshaw is a gun and should go top 5

Re Powell -Pepper - no probs re leadership , has already captained WA U16s , is school house captain and has been lauded in Australian academy set up for his leadership

Just found out he had 7 tackles and 4 goals in WA colts GF and has run a 16 beep before, sub 3sec 20m sprint . Serious fit weapon and leader on the track

His kicking is his issue but I think it's more a rushed decision making process and lack of composure rather than the kicking skill itself - he actually kicked 30 goals out of 30 shots to win the goalkicking test at combine in a canter . You can't actually do that if you are a poor kick so it's more about training the decision making and composure ( like Hartigan and Danger )
I really like the look of Powell-Pepper. Just has that game-breaking inside mid qualities about him. Like you said only thing that seems wrong with him is his lack of composure and rushing his kicking forward, aka the Dangerfield trait. His draft video reminds me a lot of Danger's too actually, lots of breaking the lines, taking people on but his kicking/decision making leaves a bit to be desired. Seems like he'll be a contested ball bull with the ability to break out of packs.... sound familiar?

Like the look of Venables too, the Shuey comparison has been thrown up for him and that's very accurate. Good kick, bit of toe about him and seems to be able to win his own ball too. IMO him and SPP are midfield types that he need the most, whether they're the best players available for us at our pick? Who knows. Our pick is at an awkward position to be honest, we are probably in the pick range where we get first dibs on a bunch of 10-15 players who are very similar in standard. Can see why so many teams wanted to keep a pick around the 20's cause the talent standard will still be there with a pick in the mid 20's.

He's a first round draft pick. If he ends up playing the role we have a journeyman playing but just a little better, I will be livid
I'll be very happy if Doedee turns into someone of the quality of Enright. Reckon he has some real potential to get there too, could be ten times the player Cheney is (and I like Cheney).

Well that will be the role he will take over , who else's ? he doesn't have smiths line breaking ability or kick . Just because he takes over Cheney role doesn't mean he plays it the same way . He's a great intercept mark and is very hard to play on with good agility

He's going to be good on those dangerous medium forwards

Just saw that Venables has a late-ish birthday, too (19/11)

Get on board the Venables bandwagon, all
Haha the old "late birthday" thing. I must admit I've liked plenty of draftees over the years only to say "oh dear, February birthday. Back to the drawing board."

Be interesting to see if there is any discernible trend in the afl player rankings by birth month.

Is there something wrong with the talking between the coaching staff and the recruiting manager Hamish, We are screaming for midfielders, you look at the teams like Hawthorn, Hodge, Lewis, Mitchell or Geelong Bartel, Ablett, Selwood or Brisbane, Voss, Aker, Lappin. These are the best teams of the past twenty years and they certainly have a common theme.

We look at the last three years of drafting with our first picks M Crouch (mid) 2013, Lever (backman) 2014, Milera (small Forward) Doedee (backman)

Is communication an issue?

WE NEED MIDS AND IT SHOWS HOW STRONG TEAMS HAVE BEEN WITH AN ELITE MIDFIELD!

Surely if you are going after building that the first round should be used for that!

Milera will be a winger in future IMO, he's got too much polish to waste his time as a permanent forward.

We've gone with the best available all the time which is fine, its allowed us to build depth at each end. But we have to pick mids.

Milera will be a winger in future IMO, he's got too much polish to waste his time as a permanent forward.

We've gone with the best available all the time which is fine, its allowed us to build depth at each end. But we have to pick mids.

Probably agree, but when we talk mids like Aker, Lappin, Voss or Bartel, Ablett, Selwood or Mitchell, Hodge, Lewis. They are genuine midfielders not wingman, Im thinking Sloane,B crouch and need another young player or even slightly older like CEY or Wigg to stand up or maybe Smith or laird. CEY certainly has the X factor, big body can run, is it worth the first 5 games giving him free range to go for it

Smith or Laird are valuable on the HB line but the mid is where it is won or lost, one of those guys if CEY isnt given the green light needs to be played there over a long perid if not both. We have Seedsman, Hampton ready to take over HB

I agree it's a risk, but sometimes you have to take risks to get the ultimate reward. Particularly for a club that's as unsuccessful as we are.
And if you miss out on the player and he turns out to be an absolute superstar you end up kicking yourself. One thing I LOVE about our recruiting team is they back in their judgement and they could not give a flying **** what the publicity behind their pick is going to be. This team has runs on the board and a great track record especially with early picks. If they reach for this kid, I am very comfortable with that decision and look forward to the kid absolutely killing it for our club.

But as is always the case expect massive meltdown on BigFooty spanning across 500 threads and 15000 posts :D