Preview 2016 Fixture

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

Sponsors aren't stupid.

You can't polish a T*** - AFL is a business first - and we are on the discount shelves. Players have to realise that what they produce is a product called entertainment - and if all you can do is roll over and play puppy - you aren't entertaining anyone. may as well have some mates over and watch/ bet on flies crawling up my sheds wall- more fun than watching some of the absolute rubbish Carlton has delivered for years now.

Sponsors require exposure. Its the whole reason a sponsor does these things - that and tax write offs.

Its the whole reason North, Bulldogs, Saints and Dees have struggled for the last decade, and now we are gleefully joining them - all while trying to find a major sponsor. We are one step away from finding a goddamn charity to put on our jumper so we can pretend we have a sponsor. No club that has been inflicted with this kind of fixture has come out the other side without millions in extra AFL funding. North and the Dogs are two of the highest reciepients of AFL grants, the Saints are millions in debt and will add to that again this year. The Dees are taking money from the AFL AND the MCC. And us with our stupid coach appointments and subsequent sackings and loans to buy pokies and stuff will put us in debt by about 2 million+ when the annual report comes out - all with a good fixture - wait until next year.

I don't know that the players association would like the boys "working" during the bye

The club could marshall some of the former players that live over here though for a dinner or something. Ive often wondered why the clubs dont tap into the former players more to engage the fan base. Less restrictions and less strain on the current list, and keeps the former players close to the club.

Sponsors require exposure. Its the whole reason a sponsor does these things - that and tax write offs.

Its the whole reason North, Bulldogs, Saints and Dees have struggled for the last decade, and now we are gleefully joining them - all while trying to find a major sponsor. We are one step away from finding a goddamn charity to put on our jumper so we can pretend we have a sponsor. No club that has been inflicted with this kind of fixture has come out the other side without millions in extra AFL funding. North and the Dogs are two of the highest reciepients of AFL grants, the Saints are millions in debt and will add to that again this year. The Dees are taking money from the AFL AND the MCC. And us with our stupid coach appointments and subsequent sackings and loans to buy pokies and stuff will put us in debt by about 2 million+ when the annual report comes out - all with a good fixture - wait until next year.

Wot you think I am happy about the situation?

I could see the writing on the wall - even back when we were on the podcast a few years ago.. it was obvious what was coming with Malthouse given the keys to the Club - and it happened - the bloke was a class A Cluster**** and was promoted by a couple of similar types at Board level - within. Yeah we got a big name coach with a big name vendetta against a big name Collingwood- and all the drama got us exposure all right whilst it lasted and based on false premises..

Who is welcoming it? We were all expecting it after trudging off the field against the Hawks that Friday night. The club fixes its onfield performance and we get gifted the better fixture again.
Spot on. Following good results from 2009-2011, we had almost become the darlings of the AFL when it came to getting exposure. We peaked at 19 FTA games in one season & have had a stack of Friday night games, but after what we dished up this season, you can understand why the AFL have limited our exposure. In 46 years of following the club, no game has embarrassed me more than the 138 point drubbing we copped against the Hawks on a cold Friday night in July.

Footy followers deserve better than the crap we dished up on Friday nights this season. I can understand both the AFL & the broadcasters being disappointed with the number of people who changed channels once our games were going pear-shaped & by the large number of empty seats at both the MCG & Etihad for our games (just under 27k attended the aforementioned debacle against Hawthorn).

Melbourne have been on the bad end of the fixture for a number of years now due to their extended period of being crap. We have now joined them because of what we have dished up over the last couple of years.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...-real-winners-and-losers-20151030-gkmur1.html
Carlton might not be too pleased going from six Friday night games to none next year, but the considerable upside is the Blues have been dealt by my reckoning the easiest fixture in the AFL for 2016.

The Blues aren't happy with the short-term commercial outlook, but a more negotiable draw might be a far better starting point in public relations terms than some of the drubbings they received before wider audiences this year.

Like for like. I reckon we go after the 'Fresh Food People' as our major sponsor. We can rebuild together.

Improvement from the 2015 alliance version

"Down, Down, competitiveness is Down...."

We'll smack Richmond. They're more delusional than we were circa 2012.

Love that the media is starting to smack Cockchin around for his lack of leadership. In comparison Murphy is Sticks Kernahan.

We'll smack Richmond. They're more delusional than we were circa 2012.

Love that the media is starting to smack Cockchin around for his lack of leadership. In comparison Murphy is Sticks Kernahan.

It will be Gerard and Robbos nightmare scenario in the week leading up.

Might fly over for it.:cool:

Never mind, instead you can do as I am and look forward to seeing James Gwilt make Liam Jones look like Kernahan.

What? Liam Jones is growing a mullet and dying his hair black??